April 28, 2024, 08:35:05 AM

Author Topic: 1966 youth team photo? Anyone can tell me why!  (Read 1939 times)

Offline Coach

1966 youth team photo? Anyone can tell me why!
« on: October 22, 2006, 03:50:03 PM »
When comparing the youth team of 1966 to our our present youth team, which has the more talented players. If we say that the 1966 youth is more talented, then, what has happened in the past 40 years of our football development that we are not producing the wealth of talented players as 40 years ago. Looking at the 1966 youth squad, I would say that some of those players can play in any one of the top leagues in the world today. Our present day players, how many we have in the top world leagues none. TTFF has really mess up with our football development over the years.

Re: 1966 youth team photo? Anyone can tell me why!
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2006, 05:00:36 PM »
If some of those players could play in the top leagues of today ,how come none  of them played in the top leagues of there day .

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2006, 05:04:24 PM »
ah feel yuh jus tryin to generate some talk, cause we talk this ad nau.
anybody could argue that any TEAM of yesteryear, let's say Brazil '70, better than the Brazil of today, does that mean the BFF mess up...Sure the TTFF mess up, but to say our yesteryear players could make and not today's is not only due to TTFF, there are more Brazilians, Africans, overall football emigrants, plying their trade all over the World...Competition for few, and few football jobs has become stiffer and stiffer...the reason why many foreign leagues have introduced legislation to prevent too many foreigners taking away places from local players...in addition, a greater population playing...40 yrs ago, a smaller %age of the North Am. population was playing. meanwhile our pop. and pool of players have not changed that much...therefore more Canadians taking aAm. scholarships...etc..etc..
So it hard to judge that our youth players are that much worse that those of yesteryear, but that the programs in place not allowing them to maintain the ability to maintain as much a competitive level as the opponents in our region....before the Can pool was 2-3 hundred thousand, and now a few million, besides we weren't that dominant, as we all the major players went to every major before us, and we have never beat anybody in a major regional competition. buh we have always been big in our pond.

plus as the man say 
If some of those players could play in the top leagues of today ,how come none of them played in the top leagues of there day .

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2006, 05:09:06 PM »
When comparing the youth team of 1966 to our our present youth team, which has the more talented players. If we say that the 1966 youth is more talented, then, what has happened in the past 40 years of our football development that we are not producing the wealth of talented players as 40 years ago. Looking at the 1966 youth squad, I would say that some of those players can play in any one of the top leagues in the world today. Our present day players, how many we have in the top world leagues none. TTFF has really mess up with our football development over the years.

Decent enough argument,maybe this group eating to much kFC, TGI and Tony Romas and not enough yam,dasheen,and dumpling,and of course most of all plenty partying,There was something I noticed when I looked at that picture of the 1966 team Photo,everyone appeared much bigger,taller and stronger than our players of today........      

« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2006, 05:19:25 PM »
maybe we could blame TTFF for it having so much murders...or how about that we have more players on Scholarships than yesteryear...how about a larger pool than in the past... oh more emigration....look although TTFF may be guilty of not doing the bestjob they may be cxapable of...I think people should be careful in blaming them for all of the football ills in the Country...ah whole bunch ah similar results could be presented, even if they had taken care of the game in an exceptional manner, possibly due to even more scholarship winners or players being drafted in foreign leagues, and then who would have developed the rest..
amyway...

« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2006, 05:35:21 PM »

Define "talented" please.

I would not be surprised if 90% of the present youth team could reproduce the skills the 66 players had but very few if any on the 66 team could reproduce some of the things the present players can do with the ball.

So once again....please define "TALENTED".

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 05:37:06 PM by palos »

« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2006, 06:03:36 PM »

Define "talented" please.

I would not be surprised if 90% of the present youth team could reproduce the skills the 66 players had but very few if any on the 66 team could reproduce some of the things the present players can do with the ball.

So once again....please define "TALENTED".

Thanks

Tough love they palos,but I go define it for you,It's a natural endowment or ability of a superior quality.

In short palos, not everyone posesses talent,but sure enough some are born with it ,in the case of latas or yorke or archibald aka twinkle toes, de leon,corneal, those guys are anomalies of there time,but I think what he was trying to emphasize is there was more of that type of talent back in 60's than there're presently.If I remember correctly the great pele that visited our country and played in an exibition game,said that teschiera and archibald were two of the best players he's ever seen and if they were on his team they'll never lose a game,now fast forward today latas is great and so is yorke,but you don't hear that kinda acknowledgement from any outside source like ah pele endorsing our present day players.

Or maybe I miss something,but i still love meh boys all the way to 2010.........     
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 06:05:25 PM by saga pinto »

« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2006, 06:37:01 PM »
Some times I have to ask myself where some of these topics does come up from.  Too often men try to compare generations when the circumstances are not the same.  Think about this, the 74 team would have been in the World Cup if there were two teams from the region in the mix like in 1989.  Or the 89 team would have been in Italy if three teams from the region in the mix like 1998. 

archibald aka twinkle toes

Not true.   Leo "Twinkle Toes" Brewster

Blessings.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 06:43:54 PM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2006, 06:45:46 PM »
Some times I have to ask myself where some of these topics does come up from.  Too often men try to compare generations when the circumstances are not the same.  Think about this, the 74 team would have been in the World Cup if there were two teams from the region in the mix like in 1989.  Or the 89 team would have been in Italy if three teams from the region in the mix like 1998. 

archibald aka twinkle toes

Not true.   Leo "Twinkle Toes" Brewster

Blessings.

My bad with the twinkle toes dey meh bredda,thanks for the correction...........

Offline Coach

« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2006, 07:47:15 PM »
My point is simple, way back then we didn't have that much players playing the game, than if you compare ratio of today's population. The other thing is today we are much more advance in overall science and technology to help develop players, but back then we accomplish more with player development.

I just think that as a soccer nation with a huge passion for the game we should be should be much more advance in this game.

I don't know how much FIFA ranking means to you all, but the last time I check we were RANK 80. Talented players and good coaching help to produce a winning combination.

« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2006, 09:58:14 PM »
My point is simple, way back then we didn't have that much players playing the game, than if you compare ratio of today's population. The other thing is today we are much more advance in overall science and technology to help develop players, but back then we accomplish more with player development. ....

Excuse meh, on ah stat. level, what were the ppl playing ? What were they doing ? As ah older fella, ah could tell yuh for a fact, men  played either track, football or cricket, or all...fewer played hockey....an the rest played wappie, all-fours,etc...very few golf,tennis,swimming etc...Today we have plenty more specialist, therefore less per sport...yet our later records are more competitive than in the past...
Look at the demographics of the fan/ support of our game today, and in the past ...look at the countless distractions and entertainment industry we partake in today and yesteryear...look at most of the big teams today...and tell meh what is still their major distraction, and pastime...look at the crowd/financial turnovers, etc..and compare to our diversification in all aspects of social life today...from alcohol, drugs and electronic technology...and then tell meh again how few ppl used to play/support the game in the pass..as opposed to say, Canada, and their growth in # of players of the game..

« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2006, 06:31:04 AM »
My point is simple, way back then we didn't have that much players playing the game, than if you compare ratio of today's population. The other thing is today we are much more advance in overall science and technology to help develop players, but back then we accomplish more with player development.

I just think that as a soccer nation with a huge passion for the game we should be should be much more advance in this game.

I don't know how much FIFA ranking means to you all, but the last time I check we were RANK 80. Talented players and good coaching help to produce a winning combination.

Coach I don't really believe T&T as a Nation have a huge passion for football. We are more fair weather football fans. Ok the National team at times has support but overall football in T&T suffering. Colleges, Club and zonal football do not have the following they had in the late 60's, 70's and even early 80's.
I agree back then we accomplished more in terms of player development but that was largely due to one man's initiative. His vision brought the most up to date methods to T&T Youth football, leading to an Academy from which the Nation gained.
Now once again you are right! Today we have better science and technology but is it being applied to our football?

« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2006, 06:59:08 AM »
It has become abundantly clear to me that a country of 1.3million people will never be football crazy as we were in the past,say the late 50's and the 60's simply because back then there was only maybe cricket or football to choose from and as a result more than half the country got involved,here's an example my mom and dad products of the 40's,50's,and 60's were very much involved in football and cricket,to the point where some if not all the local footballers and cricketers were household names,now you could argue back then the population was half of what it is today in terms of numbers,but here's the mystery now we have double or tripple in population growth and we have not grown really in support,and as someone said earlier there's much more to choose from,but should that hinder support,I think not,we are short of 1.3million footballers and 1.3million supporters and that my friends will never happen,so it is what it is,size makes all the difference.