March 28, 2024, 08:04:32 AM

Author Topic: Utd v Liverpool  (Read 3381 times)

Utd v Liverpool
« on: October 22, 2006, 08:09:41 AM »
Utd completely outplayed dey ass today

2-0 FT      Scholes and Rio

We r back on top....    UNITED UNITED

BBC

Paul Scholes scored on his 500th appearance to set Manchester United on their way to a deserved victory over Liverpool at Old Trafford.

The midfielder forced the ball home after Jose Reina had got a hand to his initial shot after 39 minutes.

That came after Dirk Kuyt had wasted the Reds' best effort with a free header from Mark Gonzalez's cross.

Rio Ferdinand smashed in a second to make it 2-0 after 66 minutes as United returned to the top of the Premiership.

It leaves Liverpool trailing their bitter rivals by 11 points, but on the evidence of this display, the Reds cannot claim the gap is deceptive.

United were never at their best, but it was still enough to cope with an uninspiring Liverpool.

With just Kuyt up front, Liverpool set out to stifle United in midfield, making for a scrappy opening to the game.

The hosts had the better of the first half, with Louis Saha looking particularly dangerous up front, but Liverpool did have their chances.

After just seven minutes, Kuyt stole into the box unmarked but Steven Gerrard's cross was too high.

Kuyt was again involved on the half hour mark when Gonzalez rocketed past Ferdinand on the left and crossed for the Dutch striker, who headed too close to Edwin van der Sar.

While Gonzalez's speed was impressive, his shooting was far less so, the winger twice fluffing long-range efforts, and a minute after his second effort, United went ahead.

Scholes found Wayne Rooney before stealing into the box to get on the end of Ryan Giggs' cross.

Reina half-stopped his initial shot but the midfielder followed up to make sure of his 132nd goal for the club.

The Liverpool keeper dived at full stretch to prevent Saha making it 2-0 before the interval and it was a buoyant United who headed in at the break.

Rafael Benitez watched only five minutes of the second half before making his first substitution, bringing on Jermaine Pennant for Gonzalez.

That allowed Gerrard to move into the centre, but the changes failed to inspire Liverpool and United scored a deserved second after 66 minutes.

Jamie Carragher, injured in a tackle minutes earlier, mishit his clearance and the ball came to Ferdinand, who sidestepped John Arne Riise and confidently swept the ball into the top corner.

Wanker! Wanker! Wanker! Wanker!
Benitez introduced Peter Crouch as Liverpool looked desperately for a spark of inspiration, but it failed to materialise as United easily held on.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 04:46:44 PM by Small Magician »

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
Re: Oh i wonder where are the liverpool fans? lol
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2006, 08:44:05 AM »
Liverpool's play look just as jokey as they bright yellows today.  And ah know men here does exalt Benitez as some great technician, but Pool' looked horrible. Imagine you down 8 points in the league and come to Old Trafford, playing for a draw from the first whistle? Everybody sitting back, except for the counter attacking, lone striker, "speedy" Dirk Kuyt? That reeks of a manager not confident in his bunch. Take a blasted page outta FC Reading's book have a go @ United! Pool' never had a chance, with that game plan Benitez.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 08:49:03 AM by SOBRIQUET »
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2006, 09:25:05 AM »
Barring a drastic drop in form from Man U and Chelsea, I don'y see the Reds winning this season. We're too far behind and this defeat definitely doesn't help. Congrats to Man U. I hope that Man U or Arsenal finish ahead of Chelsea...I can't stomach another season of Mourinho's gloating.

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2006, 09:44:32 AM »
Liverpool's play look just as jokey as they bright yellows today.  And ah know men here does exalt Benitez as some great technician, but Pool' looked horrible. Imagine you down 8 points in the league and come to Old Trafford, playing for a draw from the first whistle? Everybody sitting back, except for the counter attacking, lone striker, "speedy" Dirk Kuyt? That reeks of a manager not confident in his bunch. Take a blasted page outta FC Reading's book have a go @ United! Pool' never had a chance, with that game plan Benitez.
I didn't see the game but everything you described typifies Liverpool this season.

« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2006, 10:44:14 AM »
benitez is changing his team way to much this season...they ahvent had time to gel yet. every game is anohter team. that may work in th euefa cup and well it did last year but is not wokring this year. he should try at least let the same team play for 3-4 games..in the premiership see what happens. seems he is over thinking, thats y i think he changes his team so much instead of organising hsi tactics around one team.
but  i eh know world class coach so..i jus talking:)
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2006, 01:40:03 PM »

Sounds like Beenhacker and the Socawarriors.

« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2006, 03:35:22 PM »
ManU rules.

Offline dervaig

Re: Utd v Liverpool
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2006, 05:09:08 PM »
United won't win the League.
United won't win the FA Cup.
And the one everyone wants, United won't win the
Champions league.

Chelsea or Arsenal probably will take the League.
Some jokey team will probably win the FA Cup.
And I do hope they keep Lyon away from Barca/Chelsea/Arsenal,
in the K.O. phase, so we can somehow get Lyon to the C-League
final they long for.

« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2006, 05:14:41 PM »
Champions league.

final they long for.

ummm....  f**k off

Offline dervaig

« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2006, 05:54:08 PM »
Moderator, is wagering allowed on this board?

Small Magician, obviously you are a Untied fan.
Do you remember 1999?
In wine terms, it was a vintage year for Untied.
Vintage years are like blue moons, they come
once in a .................

If you care to make a wager, let me know.
Until you can put your money where you speak,
Untied will remain an also ran.

« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2006, 05:56:53 PM »
Moderator, is wagering allowed on this board?

Small Magician, obviously you are a Untied fan.
Do you remember 1999?
In wine terms, it was a vintage year for Untied.
Vintage years are like blue moons, they come
once in a .................

If you care to make a wager, let me know.
Until you can put your money where you speak,
Untied will remain an also ran.

I highly doubt anyone will do a treble again for a while....   but why you just banish off utd from winning the league in your last post

we r playing the best football in England this season thus far....

we r on top of the league

we won 3 outta 3 CL games so far

so doe just come on and bannish d team like if dey playing like liverpool...

once again..... f**k off

and stop crying to the moderators...  be a man

« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2006, 07:19:35 PM »
my liverpool  :'( :'( :'(

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2006, 07:22:19 PM »
Did belammy play today?

Offline Trezegoal

« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2006, 10:14:19 PM »
LoL @ Cesspool

Still a fairly young season, but you guy shave virtually knocked yourselves out of Championship contention.
You guys will be in the same situation Arsenal was in last year......fighting for your Champions League lives.....
 And the way you guys are playing, you may actually be discussing how you're going to beat teams like Sevilla and Blackburn in the UEFA Cup come next year :-\

« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2006, 10:52:38 PM »

Sounds like Beenhacker and the Socawarriors.

Soca, you must be a football genius. short and sweet. I couldn't say it better myself. Hopefully Wim wont just try to play for a draw or better yet, not a loss (not a win, but not a loss)as did his predecessor.

Offline dervaig

« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2006, 05:18:21 AM »
Magician, wasn't referring to the treble, but to the fact Untied hasn't
won ANYTHING of significance since '99.
Under current ownership, and saddled with the kind of debt the
club has, they won't be able to compete financially with Abramovich's
Blues, or even Portsmouth for that matter. That means, Untied will
continue to buy fringe players, a la Vidic, Evra, etc.

Kudos, they've won all their C-League games, but when they hit
the top bend, with 3 furlongs to go, let's see how they do.

As for playing the best football in the Prem, mark these two dates,
October 28th @ Bolton, and November 26th, a visit by Abram's Blues.
Two solid tests, and probably will tell the tale on how good Untied
really are.

To be continued ............

« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2006, 06:12:03 AM »
Magician, wasn't referring to the treble, but to the fact Untied hasn't
won ANYTHING of significance since '99.
Under current ownership, and saddled with the kind of debt the
club has, they won't be able to compete financially with Abramovich's
Blues, or even Portsmouth for that matter. That means, Untied will
continue to buy fringe players, a la Vidic, Evra, etc.

Kudos, they've won all their C-League games, but when they hit
the top bend, with 3 furlongs to go, let's see how they do.

As for playing the best football in the Prem, mark these two dates,
October 28th @ Bolton, and November 26th, a visit by Abram's Blues.
Two solid tests, and probably will tell the tale on how good Untied
really are.

To be continued ............

We will see

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2006, 07:14:33 AM »
Alot of teams are playing better football than Liverpool in the Prem..I watched Fulham and Blackburn play and the pace was hot and fellas was making plays..Liverpool are flat and predictable ..looks like Benitez is losing his players ...I know Gerrard will want out if they do not make CL this season .. 

I am a Liverpool Fan but I have to give it to United, they are playing good ball, Ronaldo is their main threat right now.  Team to watch is Everton, they have a nice brand.. 

To be 11 pts back at this early stage is ridiculous ..benitez could end up on the hot seat
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2006, 07:53:21 AM »
Why Ronaldo didn't play this game?

« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2006, 09:06:42 AM »
Why Ronaldo didn't play this game?

he was sick...   and he was experiencing high fevers  so dey didnt bother....   apparently he has a slight calf strain  so fergie didnt want to risk him

guess what.... we didnt even need him lol     

« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2006, 09:28:59 AM »
I need him, he on my fantasy side.

« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2006, 09:42:34 AM »
To all ManU haters

:flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2006, 10:15:42 AM »
I need him, he on my fantasy side.

for real  >:(

« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2006, 10:16:10 AM »
Champions league.

final they long for.
man u winnin atleast 2 of them titles.