April 18, 2024, 12:59:24 AM

Author Topic: Wha allyuh think go be de startin lineup fuh Wednesday's game?  (Read 8705 times)

Seein dat Yorke missin.....who allyuh think go partner Stern up front?

Dis is my lineup....

____________________________-Shaka_______________________________

Atiba Charles_________________Dog_________Lawrence________________Avery

Carlos Edwards________________Spann_________Birchall_________________Cornell Glen

________________________Kenwyne Jones________________________________

_____________________________Stern John_________________________________

I would like to see Scotty start but me eh know how much "chemistry" he and Stern have if allyuh know wha ah mean.

Ah take a chance wit Cornell on de leff.  Cornell could play de position offensively no problem.  Ah jes eh know how much trackin back he will do.  Unfortunately, Densil so far hasn't done de business over dey.  Maybe Samuel might get a bligh in dah position too.

Ideally...a mobile forward like Scotty would partner Stern but ah hear dem 2 have issues.  Besides....young Kenwyne have a athleticism about him dat could jes unsettle de opposition not to mention he could help cover de leff side if Cornell pullin stones defensively.  In addition, Dwight has been doing a lot of work in that supporting striker role and Kenwyne have de athleticism and youth if not de expereince and skill to perform dah role.

Ah give Spann de nod over Whitley/Seaton only because ah tink Beenie go want to see wha he have to offer in game conditions and he did have a decent gane against Costa Rica.

Ah hopin Avery learn some lessons wit regard to movin wit de back line because he was at fault a few times against Mexico not moving up with the rest of de backline thereby keeping the opposition forwards onside.  De one he clear off de line was a prime example.  He recover but he cause it in de fuss place by gapin.

Re: Wha allyuh think go be de startin lineup fuh Wednesday's game?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2005, 05:45:44 PM »
Good line up Palos But I think Beenie will go with who he know and who pass tru the fire.

I still feel Shaka ent ready, Jack in goal and take out Spann and put back Whitley. I feel glenn could get the nod on the left as we having trouble there.

Is how the subs perform in the first and second game will dictate a changed squad in the third and final game.

Hopefully by then we done qualify and men will get a rest and the coach will be trying combos.

Final lineup for wed looking like this.

-----------------------Jack

Charles-----------Dog----------Tallest-----------A John

Edwards-------------Whitley------------------Glenn

-----------------------Birchall-------------------------

----------------Stern---------Jones------

Subs......Scotland for Jones, yes we know Stern ent coming off the field

Samuel for Glenn

Spann for Whitley

Shaka, Wolfe, Theobold, Rahim and Sancho to get the sub run in the second game and to start in the final game when we rest the majority of the starting squad. Dog cyar run 3 games in the space of a week. Plus we have to keep in mind cards and injuries, I feel the back will get juggled in the second and third games with Wlfe and Sancho being slotted in.

« Last Edit: July 04, 2005, 05:50:02 PM by Touches »

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2005, 05:54:06 PM »
Not bad line ups palos and touches, but i think that samuel (not cause we carry de same name lol) will start. Jack eh going and start over Shaka..ah just cyar see it touches.

Ah agree with palos and i think that spann go get de role in fron de defence but ah feel whitley go get he chance tuh play behind de two strikers.

Samuel have experience playing on de left wing so he might get de nod and since glenn in season and most likely will be fitter, it seems that he will get the nod over an out of season kenwyne jones who eh play since panama.

Final lineup for wed looking like this.

-----------------------Shaka----------------------

Charles-----------Dog----------Tallest-----------A John

Edwards------------Spann-----------------Samuel

-----------------------Whitley-------------------------

----------------Stern---------Glenn------

scotland for stern
birchall for whitley

« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2005, 06:16:16 PM »
In reply to andre samuel

You droppin Birchall breds?  Yuh brave.

« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2005, 06:25:43 PM »

----------------- hislop -------------------

---- charles -----              ------ sancho-----       ------ lawrence ------             -------- avery --------

---- eve ----                    ------- spann-------     ------ birchall ------                --------- edwards -------

------ jones---      ------- stern --------

« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2005, 07:22:50 AM »
if me i woulda go with the following but we all know LEO running things

jack

charles             andrews          avery

birchall     spann     theoblad          samuel

whitley

glenn             

scotland

yeah we want to win and cut out the losing but i still would try something different just for this game at least
definitley give the dundee boys a run they might be hungry and real play
jack in goal cause shaka just come back ( still no contract that he leave we for) next game shaka in though
try birchall right side, that he club position-let we see what he could do for us there- give the option to move edwards left

main thing for this tourney hope somebody catch fire up front and we come out with a clear winner for the left side position.

« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2005, 07:26:57 AM »
In reply to andre samuel

You droppin Birchall breds?  Yuh brave.

i eh dropping him, remember dat although we want tuh win, we still have tuh use these games as practice leading up to de game against USA.

whitley never get ah chance tuh play behind de strikers in ah high intensity game.  We already know what to expect from birchall.  leo had admited that whitley is not an out and out defensive midfielder but he thought that he was the best person to put in that role for those two WCQ games.  Now that spann is here, things might be different.

by de way football king, why u want tuh disrupt dat backline? 

« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2005, 07:33:21 AM »
true it mean disrupting but man i just want to try everything possible b4 the qualifiers so i ain't 2nd guessing hope yuh could see where ah coming from-just looking for more punch int he attack but fair enough stick lawrence in with andrews pull off theobald.
go 4-4-2 or switch to that 2nd half.

jack
charles       lawrence   dog      avery

birchall      spann    whitley         samuel

glenn        scotland

just trying a thing boss

« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2005, 07:39:36 AM »
point taken football king, and ah realise dat yuh subbing stern too.  lol

« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2005, 07:45:52 AM »
yeah without any doubt stern sitting not for punishment although i would let him think it is because of performance and hopefully light a fire under him.

cause ah need to see dundeee boys and give glenn a real shot at this spot.  if 2 outta these 3 (scotland samuel glenn) step up with yorke coming back tt looking good.

« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2005, 07:50:25 AM »
GK: SHAKA   HISLOP

DF: MARVIN   ANDREWS
DF: ATIBA      CHARLES
DF: DENNIS    LAWRENCE
DF: AVERY     JOHN

MD: SILVIO     SPANN
MD: CHRIS      BIRCHALL
MD: CARLOS   EDWARDS
MD: COLIN     SAMUEL

FW: STERN   JOHN
FW: CORNEL GLENN

SUBS: K. JONES, B. SANCHO, A. WHITLEY.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2005, 07:57:42 AM by Jayerson »

« Reply #11 on: July 05, 2005, 07:57:12 AM »
i might be still hungover but that only 10 men they boss

« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2005, 08:06:47 AM »
i might be still hungover but that only 10 men they boss

Talking about being hungover, last night drinking with some Dutch nationals, those guys following the progress of the team closely and was able to name a few players from the squad, Edwards, Andrews, Stern and Birchall got special mention. What got me mad though is that they knew we have a game tomorrow and some of my brethrens back home not even aware that the Gold Cup starts tomorrow, they are 'supposed' football fans but only talking about whehter Robihno going to Real or who Chelsea will sign next. That's a sin a my book.

« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2005, 08:29:24 AM »
Jayerson

These supposed football fans making up 80% of our population

They sitting or trying to stay an emotionally safe distance from the team. All they waiting for is the team to flop up for them to say.........see me breds not me again I learn my lesson already in 89.

But anytime we win the flicking Gold Cup or buss USA arse they runnin to the stadium and bawling..........boy I following this side long time, is since 89 I with this team.

« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2005, 08:46:12 AM »
Jayerson

These supposed football fans making up 80% of our population

They sitting or trying to stay an emotionally safe distance from the team. All they waiting for is the team to flop up for them to say.........see me breds not me again I learn my lesson already in 89.

But anytime we win the flicking Gold Cup or buss USA arse they runnin to the stadium and bawling..........boy I following this side long time, is since 89 I with this team.

Totally agree with you. In '89 i was nine years old, I remember crying for the whole evening. Nowadays I literally have to beg some friends of mine to go to the games, is always some shit excuse, 'the money too much', 'they going to lose anyway', 'we ain't going nowhere, remember '89'. The media have some responsibility also to help generate some hype around the team and T&T need to change our mentality a bit, sometimes you see England lose a game or draw with a 'minnow', the public & media lambast them but every man Jack back out to support them for the next match. I'm getting a good vibe from back home so I think people paying a bit more attention to the team, once we get some good results and the public see the effort the team putting in, supporters will come back out but sometimes you wonder if it might be too little too late.

Offline Benjie

« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2005, 09:10:23 AM »
HISLOP
SANCHO ANDREWS  LAWRENCE AVERY
BIRCHALL SPANN WITLEY EDWARDS 
STERN JONES

« Reply #16 on: July 05, 2005, 10:18:11 AM »
GK: SHAKA   HISLOP

DF: MARVIN   ANDREWS
DF: ATIBA      CHARLES
DF: DENNIS    LAWRENCE
DF: AVERY     JOHN

MD: SILVIO     SPANN
MD: CHRIS      BIRCHALL
MD: CARLOS   EDWARDS
MD: COLIN     SAMUEL

FW: STERN   JOHN
FW: CORNEL GLENN

SUBS: K. JONES, B. SANCHO, A. WHITLEY.

I backing this lineup 100%.  I feel Whitley could take a bench after that Mexico performance and let Beenie have a look at Spann at defensive mid.  Whitely could replace Birchall 2nd half in the more attacking mid role.  Glen should get the start over Jones since he is in mid-season form now.  I would give Scotland and Jones or Eve a run in the second half depending on the score.  Try Samuel on the left if he's fit enough to run a wing.  Sancho can start in place of Dog on Saturday to give him a rest.

« Reply #17 on: July 05, 2005, 08:57:45 PM »

Hopefully we get 2 or 3 revelations from this tournament.
Spann and Glenn have their chance now.  Hopefully Jones could get a break and score.

Not sure what Shaka looking like but he have some time now to catch himself.

I think people will agree we cud be sure Beenie go come good with the lineup.
I cah predict....he doh say much.

Offline More fire

« Reply #18 on: July 05, 2005, 09:44:47 PM »
Line up for the game is:

Hislop

Charles     Lawrence   Dog     Avery

Rahim    Whithley    Birchall     Theobald

John      Scotland

« Reply #19 on: July 05, 2005, 10:25:43 PM »
Line up for the game is:

Hislop

Charles     Lawrence   Dog     Avery

Rahim    Whithley    Birchall     Theobald

John      Scotland

Wit Carlos out....dat lineup wouldn't surprise me aldoh Fuentes suggested dat Jack would retain he place.

Offline triniwings

« Reply #20 on: July 05, 2005, 10:56:50 PM »
As Carlos is injured.......dis is my probable lineup

Jack

Charles              Dog             Lawrence          Avery

Eve                     Birchall          Spann                Theobald

Stern           Jones

I think Beenie will stick with Theo on dee left and try him one more time
Eve accustom playin right wing for us, let him jus fill in for carlos for now, he can be taken off in dee 2nd half
I think he would give Spann a run and bring Whitley off dee bench.
I find Birchall is better at a defensive midfielder than an attacking one, but we will stay with a flat 4 in dee middle for argument sake
Wa alya say?

« Reply #21 on: July 06, 2005, 04:58:16 AM »
I don't see Jones starting this first game especially as he just coming off an injury that forced him to miss some training.  I'll go with Glen.
I also don't see Eve starting, I feel he mostly there for locker room presence and maybe a little 20 mins at the end.
The injury to Carlos would give us a chance to use Birchall in his regular club position on the right but perhaps Beenie would want him to get a bit more experience in the middle and stick with him there.
Theobald could switch to the right as he might look more comfortable there?  Still feel Samuel is the ony one on this team with enough experience on that left side but he can play right side too.
Also Spann plays a more attacking midfield role for his club now so he could be used there too.

The best part of all this is that a regular starter gets injured and instead of scrunting to replace him, we have several viable options - Birchall, Eve, Samuel, Theoblad or Rahim can fill in ok on the right.  Squad have some nice depth in the middle.
------------------Shaka----------------------
Atiba-----Dog-----Lawrence----Avery
Birchall---Spann---Whitley---Samuel
------------Stern------Glen---------------

Eve for Whitely, Scotland for Glen, Jones for Stern

« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2005, 07:17:47 AM »
Well it seems Scotland starting with Stern upfront

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=2216.0

So 90% of alyuh wrong.........only more fire have that combo up front.

Plus Edwards out so we go see who have the closest side.

« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2005, 07:40:34 AM »
I'm getting rather concerned over Marivn Andrews, he can't possible keep putting heavy ice-packs on his knee regularly, no wonder Alex McLiesh is so concerned. Rangers went out and bought two defenders so I hope Dog comes out this tournament not too fatigued or injured. I know we all want to see Marvin play in next season's Champions League.

« Reply #24 on: July 06, 2005, 08:01:28 AM »
Well I was thinking that Beenie like to keep faith in his people so the Scotland thing catch me offguard, but I feel that's because Jones coming off the injury and Beenie probably sees Honduras as the weakest team in the group(although I feel that is wrong as Colombia send a weak team and I still doh rate Panama). With that thinking, he will probably start Samuel on the left, especially cause edwards out and the rest of the midfield was not doing much attacking in the last few games for us.

----------------------------------Jack--------------------------------
Atiba----------------Dog-------------Tallest---------------Avery
Bleeder----------Whitley---------Birchall-------------Samuel
--------------------Scotty------------Stern------------

I haven't read anywhere where Beenie admitted Birchall wasn't a natural ball winner. If he did say that though, i would not be surprised to see Spann and Whitley in the middle with Birchall on the right, especially cause he give Spann the #10(although rahim had it for the other games and bench anyway).Theobald will get the nod on the right cause Beenie was willing to start him on the left, despite no great displays in the warmup games, even tho he has no left foot and is a centre mid. That sounds like he was trying to find a spot for him. And he obviously see something in Whitley to have him starting over Theobald and Rahim in the middle in all the games he's been in charge of so far, so i don't see him benching him jus so at this point. Besides, Whitley only going to get better with more games at this level...

Offline More fire

« Reply #25 on: July 06, 2005, 08:41:06 AM »
seeing that Shaka not starting the only change i will make to my earlier lineup is Jack in goal:

Jack

Charles       Lawrence         Dog              Avery

Rahim          Whitley        Birchall          Theobald

John         Scotland

I am 99% sure this is the line up.  Good luck fellas

« Reply #26 on: July 06, 2005, 08:46:00 AM »
Jason Scotland must have been working his ass in training as it seems he might get a starting position in front of Glen. I'm glad to see that there is some nice competition for a starting role in the forward positions. Glen to me was in good form from the MLS games I saw so that should mean Scotland playing like hell.

« Reply #27 on: July 06, 2005, 08:50:13 AM »
I also think Leo should rotate the goalkeepers Hislop & Jack like Klinsamann did with Oliver Kahn & Jen Lehman, one man start one game and the other start the next. He thought this would increase competition as no one would feel they own the # 1 shirt.

« Reply #28 on: July 06, 2005, 08:52:32 AM »
I go try meh hand

Jones not startin up front cuz he go be on the right wing

----------------------Jack---------------------

Charles-------Dog------Lawrence------Avery

Jones-------Birchall--------Spann------Whitley

---------------Stern--------Scotland

If no Jones then shift everybody over and put back Theobald on the left with birchall on de right...

However ah getting a sneaky feeling that Eve starting in de middle maybe for Spann.

jusme

« Reply #29 on: July 06, 2005, 09:08:19 AM »
                Jack

Atiba      Dog    Grasshopper    Avery

Jones       Spann            Whitley
                  Birchall
         Stern        Scotland

« Last Edit: July 06, 2005, 09:11:03 AM by jusme »