April 25, 2024, 02:30:37 AM

Author Topic: Luton Trinis...waiz dah 5 bout..  (Read 2111 times)

Luton Trinis...waiz dah 5 bout..
« on: October 29, 2006, 10:56:34 AM »
How dah really happen ? Lack of prep ? Coaching ? management ?what / what ? ;D
Seriously, Ah thought we woulda be sittin nice after today, now back down to 9 th...damn

Re: Luton Trinis...waiz dah 5 bout..
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2006, 11:26:01 AM »
well theyre coming off the big game to everton so maybe it was a letdown game.

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2006, 11:32:11 AM »
how yuh mean ? Lack of professionalism ? Lil chilrren ting ? I didn't see the game, so I was more wondering if is choice of tactics, wrong selections, injuries, rain.....but Everton ? ???  expand please !

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2006, 11:35:12 AM »
Well they had Everton at Goodison Park this past week in the Carling Cup. You know Luton and their fans circled that match on the fixture list and were eager for that one. Well they got beaten badly and today's Ipswich game is the 'game after' this Everton debacle. So they kinda back down to earth in the Championship Lg.

In other words, lack of professionalism. happens to alot of teams.

« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2006, 11:40:25 AM »
In other words, lack of professionalism. happens to alot of teams.

I ain't sure bout dat nah...respect yuh observation still

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2006, 12:27:29 PM »

Canadian U-20 player, Jamie Peters scored the 3rd goal for Ipswich Town. 

« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2006, 01:04:53 PM »
Luton defender Davis suffers stroke

Ipswich's convincing 5-0 Championship win over Luton was overshadowed by news that 27-year-old Hatters defender Sol Davis had suffered a stroke.

Davis is in a specialist unit at the Addenbrookes Hospital in Cambridgeshire after suffering the stroke yesterday on the Luton team coach on the way to Ipswich.

Luton manager Mike Newell said: 'We kept quiet about it until after the match but it puts everything into perspective.

'It happened 25 minutes after leaving Luton and I am told that it might take six months before he makes a complete recovery.

'He has had an MRI scan but I am not qualified to talk about that.

'I am not going to use it as an excuse for our performance but we will never know what effect it had on the lads.

'Sol has made a bit of an improvement but he lost feeling in his left side and it has affected his speech.

'It was apparently a blockage to the brain that has caused it, but I will not go into full details as I am not sure what they are.'

Newell had seen his side concede five goals but refused to make any excuses.

He added: 'We could have been beaten by even more. We weren't at the races today. Credit to Ipswich, they played some good stuff and took their chances.

'How crucial it was that we had a goal disallowed for offside after the interval. I don't think it was offside but have had no explanation as yet.

'It would be papering over the cracks to point to one incident but obviously an equaliser would have helped us. It could have been all over by half-time and we were lucky to still be in the game.

'There are not many occasions we have been beaten by that scoreline, certainly not since I've been at the club. We had a very young back four, what with illness and injuries, but I don't want to make excuses.'

Ipswich manager Jim Magilton wished Davis a speedy recovery.

Magilton said: 'I had no idea of what had happened before the game.

'For 45 minute we were excellent and created lots of openings but we came in at half-time only one up which is always precarious.

'Once we got away with a lucky break after the interval we were excellent again. If their disallowed goal had counted it could have changed the game. I am relieved that it didn't.

'It was a game of basics. We did the simple things very well. I think that is where we got our joy.'

Alan Lee scored a hat-trick with the other Ipswich goals coming from Sylvain Legwinski and Jaime Peters.

soccernet.com

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2006, 01:44:14 PM »
thanks...explains a lot.

« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2006, 02:01:30 PM »
definetly tells the story. Hope he makes a full recovery.

Luton defender Davis has stroke
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2006, 07:34:22 PM »

Davis has made over 150 appearances for Luton
Luton Town boss Mike Newell has revealed that Hatters defender Sol Davis suffered a stroke on Saturday.
Davis, 27, had the stroke on the Luton team coach on the way to Sunday's game at Ipswich and is in a specialist unit at Cambridge's Addenbrookes Hospital.

Newell said: "Sol has made a bit of an improvement but he lost feeling in his left side and it has affected his speech. He has had an MRI scan.

"It might take six months before he makes a complete recovery."

Interview: Luton boss Mike Newell

Newell was speaking after his side's 5-0 defeat at Portman Road.

Davis suffered the stroke soon after he and his team-mates left Luton on Saturday to travel to Ipswich.

"We have kept quiet until now but that puts everything into perspective," added Newell. "I don't want distorted reports or sensationalism.

"Although we are not making excuses for our performance, our thoughts are all with Sol. I am not sure if that has had an effect on the players but it cannot really have helped."

Ipswich boss Jim Magilton wished Davis a speedy recovery and said: "I had no idea what had happened before the game."

Davis moved to Luton from Swindon for £60,000 in 2002 and has made over 150 appearances for the Hatters.

Luton star suffers stroke
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2006, 10:13:26 PM »
Luton star suffers stroke
By Tom Adams -  Created on 29 Oct 2006
SKY BET
New customers can claim a £20 FREE bet at Sky Bet - sign up now!

Related links
Team Pages:
Luton Town
Player Pages:
Sol Davis
Luton Town boss Mike Newell has revealed that Hatters defender Sol Davis was absent for the 5-0 defeat to Ipswich because he suffered a stroke on Saturday.

The 27-year-old is currently in a specialist unit at Addenbrookes hospital in Cambridge after suffering a stroke less than half an hour after the Bedfordshire-based team left for the game at Portman Road.

The Championship club have released no concrete details about Davis' condition as they await further news, although Newell did state that the former Swindon Town man had improved somewhat after losing feeling in his left side.

However Newell has been told it could take up to six months for Davis to make a full recovery.

"We kept quiet about it until after the match but it puts everything into perspective," said Newell.

"It happened 25 minutes after leaving Luton and I am told that it might take six months before he makes a complete recovery.

"He has had an MRI scan but I am not qualified to talk about that.

"I am not going to use it as an excuse for our performance but we will never know what effect it had on the lads.

"Sol has made a bit of an improvement but he lost feeling in his left side and it has affected his speech.

"It was apparently a blockage to the brain that has caused it, but I will not go into full details as I am not sure what they are."

Newell won't stop player exits
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2006, 11:36:46 AM »

Mike Newell admits he will not stop any of his Luton Town players from moving to The Premiership.

The Hatters have enjoyed a superb start to the Championship season and sit in fifth place following last week's 5-1 thrashing of Leeds United.

Kenilworth Road is home to several promising youngsters, with striker Rowan Vine among those taking the plaudits after scoring nine goals this term.

Newell has praised the former Portsmouth forward's displays and concedes he would not block Vine, or any of his players, from accepting a move to the top flight.

"Rowan has done really well this season," Newell told Sky Sports News. "Everybody has been noting his goals, some of which have been spectacular.

"But what I'm really pleased about is he has got a few scrappy ones of late. I've been on at him to get those for a long time.

"If he continues to do that he might end up with 20-odd goals at the end of the season.

"It always worries me (bids from The Premiership) and he won't be the only one. We've got some good young players who are all progressing, are all learning, and are all hungry and want to do well.

"I maintain that I won't stand in anybody's way. We know what it was like when we were players and, as long as we get the value we would want for those players, we wish them well when they move on."

Luton travel to Ipswich Town, live on Sky Sports 1, on Sunday and Newell expects his players to bounce back from a midweek drubbing by Everton in the Carling Cup.

He added: "We're not going to dwell on it too much. We played against a strong Everton side in good form that didn't take us lightly at all.

"We had a couple of players missing and it was probably a result a lot of people were expecting.

"We had three away draws in the Carling Cup and you can only go so far."
http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=424882&CPID=10&clid=102&lid=4&title=Newell+won't+stop+player+exits

Offline UnWiseSage (aka Jahyute)

Re: Newell won't stop player exits
« Reply #12 on: October 30, 2006, 04:55:16 PM »
Carlos for Watford.