April 26, 2024, 05:18:57 AM

Author Topic: West Indies vs. Australia - Final  (Read 23412 times)

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
West Indies vs. Australia - Final
« on: November 03, 2006, 05:18:13 PM »
What are we doing for the final?  Would there be any reliable TV links available?

Please, no BBC and Cricket Info links, we already have those.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Offline dervaig

Re: West Indies vs. Australia - Final
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2006, 05:44:16 PM »
Same as Thursday.

Start time 3:45A EST.
Sopcast channel 12736, and/or TVU channel 30477 or 30325.

Time for B Lara to fire, won't you say?

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2006, 05:50:49 PM »

BELIEVE THAT!
If Brian shine, Gayle pick-up hurricane force winds, and BBC lash-out, we good to go!
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2006, 05:56:47 PM »
Same as Thursday.

i dont think lara will score big, he will come een at number 6 till further notice, depending on the performance of the top order; like brian said he dont want tuh peak now, after pakistan he wants to be in prime form for the upcoming world cup, we will see him at his bess for thwe WC and the test matches....

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2006, 06:10:47 PM »
Same as Thursday.

i dont think lara will score big, he will come een at number 6 till further notice, depending on the performance of the top order; like brian said he dont want tuh peak now, after pakistan he wants to be in prime form for the upcoming world cup, we will see him at his bess for thwe WC and the test matches....

Peak? Lara should be looking to perform now.  When next will he be playing in a one day competation where we would face top teams like this-not until the WC?

The Pakistan series is small ting.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2006, 06:37:58 PM »
TI i hadda disagree...if yuh a top player yuh want to score big in every game....so i hope lara want a big score against australia as will shud gayle and the rest!

« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2006, 03:45:26 AM »
Same as Thursday.

Excuse me. When did LARA or for that matter anyother batsman ever say when they wanted to peak ?
You ever play any sports before ?
A sportsman (not track and field ) strives to be at the top of their game all the time.
You really are a joker.

« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2006, 10:03:46 AM »
Channel 5 TV6

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2006, 11:06:00 AM »
Same as Thursday.

Excuse me. When did LARA or for that matter anyother batsman ever say when they wanted to peak ?
You ever play any sports before ?
A sportsman (not track and field ) strives to be at the top of their game all the time.
You really are a joker.

Lara said it in an interview a few weeks back, i read all cricket articles from many diff sources, he is striving to be at his peak, jus like what latas and yorke say, dey dont want 2 peak too early for the world cup in the warm-up games; allyuh dont read enough; oh and another ting i play more sports than yourself bredda, basketball could have gone div 1 ncca in the US, tand d cricket league in toronto where dey select the canadian team from and of course football, so yea i do play sports since i was 7 years old actually, alot more than yourself and at a hight level...

« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2006, 11:10:12 AM »
TI yous the man u know ,u have CBN you can stream the games for us

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2006, 11:23:10 AM »
West Indies v Australia, Final, Champions Trophy

Australia face resurgent West Indies
The Preview by Anand Vasu in Mumbai

November 4, 2006

And so the tournament they said no one cared about is nearing conclusion, and the best team in the world is up against a team playing the best cricket it has in a long time. Australia, still very much the favourites, and by far the most consistent team about - their sweep of the ICC awards was indicative of that - have a resurgent West Indian team and a Brabourne Stadium pitch to worry about before the match that could hand them the one big trophy that has so far eluded them. The formbook has been of little use in this tournament but, equally, West Indies have only ever lost when they have had nothing to play for. Here it's all or nothing and it's a fair bet neither Ricky Ponting nor Brian Lara now think, if they ever did so, that this was just another one-day tournament staged too close to the World Cup.

The pitch

One bad pitch, in the game between New Zealand and South Africa, where the top came off in the second half really set the cat among the pigeons, raising somewhat disproportionate concerns about the pitches that would be used in the tournament. So much so that the ICC had to fly in Andy Atkinson, their pitch expert, to assist with the preparation of the pitch for the final.
With a gap of almost a fortnight between the last match played in Mumbai and Sunday's final, Atkinson and the crew at the CCI have had plenty of time to work on the surface. Naturally, though, there has been concern about what sort of strip awaits the teams for the big game. "The pitch was very dusty and dry earlier on. Now we've allowed it to take in plenty of moisture and dry out naturally," said Atkinson on match eve. "We're using the strip that has the most even growth of grass on it, and the aim is that it should hold together for the duration."
Ponting, though, didn't seem too worried about the pitch. "I've not looked too closely because the covers been on pretty much all the time," he said. "It wasn't the best wicket to bat on for the first couple of games but they've had a chance to put a lot of work into it. Looks nice and hard." Lara, who was rushed in for a press conference upon arrival at the ground, only said, "Clive [Lloyd] spoke to us and he thought 40 years ago the pitch didn't play too differently. So I'm not sure how much of a difference the last fortnight would have made. I have to take a closer look at it."

The teams

With the pitches being such a dominant factor - and, occasionally, the dew - teams have played different players on different occasions, and the big question is whether Australia will go with their best bowlers - the pacemen - or take the conditions into account and make place for Brad Hogg. "I think the conditions are more suited to spin than anywhere else, so Hogg and Dan Cullen may come into the picture," said Ponting.
The other aspect that has raised some questions is Shane Watson opening the innings; he has had a few low scores, getting out pulling early on but has contributed with the ball consistently. "The pull shot is fairly instinctive and I'm a fan of it," Ponting said. "He's been undone because of the variable bounce in the pitches. It's important to pick up the bounce in the wicket before going for the shot." Simon Katich may be the better player of spin, but for the moment it looks like Watson will keep his slot.
West Indies, as it invariably is with teams that are winning and in high spirits, are a settled side. With no specialist spinner in the squad, and Chris Gayle, far and away the man of the tournament so far with three centuries and 434 runs, and Marlon Samuels, doing the slow bowling work, the only thing to think about is the experience of Corey Collymore. Wavell Hinds and Fidel Edwards have barely done enough to displace others who have contributed at one stage or the other. So, it will come as no surprise if Hinds and Edwards, and most likely Collymore, miss out.
The big stage Much has been made of Australia having never won the Champions Trophy in the past, but Australia have won so much else that it's not something Ponting and his men will worry about. If anything, Ponting said it was crucial for his team to be relaxed going into the big game. "I think it's important to be as low key as possible before entering a big final," he said. "It's important not to hype it up too much. I remember the World Cup final last time and we know the mindset to take into these games. Ponting also agreed that the West Indies might have come into the tournament with a tag of being an unpredictable team, but they had been rather consistent in the tournament. "I don't think they've been unpredictable in this series, probably were before that," he said "Through this series, there players are becoming more consistent, lot more even contribution from their players."
When asked if he thought the final was a time for Lara to impose himself on the game, and the tournament - as he has barely had a go at bat so far - he once again spoke of team over individual. "The team has grown and the team needs to impose itself and take control of the game, not any one person," he said. "Everyone knows their responsibilities." And Ponting too denied that West Indies were a one-man team, or that opposition would be thinking more about Lara than anyone else, thereby giving others a chance to perform. "I don't think the West Indies are a one-man team anymore," he said. "Gayle's been the star of the tournament. Bradshaw and Taylor have been very good. First time we played them, Morton came out and played very well. We need to play well to beat them."

Teams:
West Indies (probable) 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 3 Ramnaresh Sarwan, 4 Brian Lara (capt), 5 Dwayne Bravo, 6 Runako Morton, 7 Dwayne Smith, 8 Marlon Samuels, 9 Carlton Baugh (wk), 10 Ian Bradshaw, 11 Jerome Taylor.

Australia: (probable) 1 Shane Watson, 2 Adam Gilchrist (wk), 3 Ricky Ponting, 4 Damien Martyn, 5 Andrew Symonds, 6 Michael Hussey, 7 Michael Clarke, 8 Brad Hogg, 9 Brett Lee, 10 Nathan Bracken, 11 Glenn McGrath.

Anand Vasu is assistant editor of Cricinfo

© Cricinfo
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Offline monty

« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2006, 11:42:12 AM »
Last time West Indies beat Aus in ODI final (best out of 3) :

Aus vs WI

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2006, 11:52:28 AM »

Aus vs WI

Thanks Bro!  That was nice of you.

I eh fackin sleepin tonight!  Is beers....
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2006, 01:25:31 PM »

Aus vs WI

To raise yuh sprits even more:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-3570573155858316155&q=australia+in+west+indes&hl=en

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2006, 03:27:29 PM »

Aus vs WI

To raise yuh sprits even more:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-3570573155858316155&q=australia+in+west+indes&hl=en

Oh FACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Bowl em fuh ducks.........."
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2006, 01:19:08 AM »
I can't wait for the game

« Reply #16 on: November 05, 2006, 01:20:46 AM »

skins man... yuh owlin it in de early mornings like myself??

I was talkin tuh Sarwo about about half an hour ago and he says the mood is alittle tense... but i have a good feeling about it.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #17 on: November 05, 2006, 01:27:55 AM »
I've been trying Sopcast, but channel 12736 not even on the list. :( what time the game starting.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2006, 01:37:35 AM »

I was talkin tuh Sarwo about about half an hour ago and he says the mood is alittle tense... but i have a good feeling about it.

u talked to Sarwan.. I have a good feeling myself but i not taking the Aussies for granted.

« Reply #19 on: November 05, 2006, 01:39:09 AM »
I've been trying Sopcast, but channel 12736 not even on the list. :( what time the game starting.

At the moment the channel offline. I watch the last game on that channel so i am hoping that when game time reach the channel might come back online. I hoping so we because i ain't wanna be reading live text all morning..

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2006, 01:49:00 AM »
I've been trying Sopcast, but channel 12736 not even on the list.  what time the game starting.

At the moment the channel offline. I watch the last game on that channel so i am hoping that when game time reach the channel might come back online. I hoping so we because i ain't wanna be reading live text all morning..

I hear that, I'm on Toronto at the moment. I wondering if I try to get an hour snooze, I'll be able tuh wake up for the start of the game.

« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2006, 01:58:12 AM »

u talked to Sarwan.. I have a good feeling myself but i not taking the Aussies for granted.

yeah ah bowled tuh him in de nets during ah rained out ODI versus England and we've kept in touch... yeah im not taking them lightly either but he agreed with me that for whatver reason... this team seems to be the only team that has the formula to beat them...

That for the Aussies is an unfimiliar fear... and we are scared most by the unkown... I think the Aussies fear us alot more than them... they have an empire to crumble... we have only one to gain... even if we lose... we still are improve undoubtedly and will take alot of pride out of it... We have beaten the Australians on a regular basis recently... with the odd loss... and this probably scares the shit out of them...  Our top order batsman have also gotten over the McGrath factor in a sense... Lee is still quite dangerous... Bracken certainly isnt nearly as effective as he once was against us...

Im predicting a Gayle Century again... I know it sounds alittle unlikely he'd pull it off....AGAIN.

However i just have a feeling and i have 50 bucks down on Sarwan makin ah half century... I told him that too... he chuckled and said "he'll try his best but he already promised about twentyfive  other people he would make a half century or a century so i shouldnt feel too special if he did... haha

Atleast he's jokin most of the time before matches he barely talks.

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2006, 02:26:32 AM »

Yeah Skins is true I watch the South Africa game on that channel as well. It off-line now but it will come on when the game start just like the last time don't worry mam. Any way skins by chance you is a Benedict's man???

« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2006, 02:29:05 AM »

Yeah Skins is true I watch the South Africa game on that channel as well. It off-line now but it will come on when the game start just like the last time don't worry mam. Any way skins by chance you is a Benedict's man???

yeah i is a benedict's man. i went there from 1997 - 2002.

« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2006, 02:34:22 AM »
here we win the toss and choose to bat

Offline Remie

« Reply #25 on: November 05, 2006, 02:49:56 AM »
One change for WI- Dwayne Smith out, Collymore in
One change for Aus- Johnson out, Hogg in

WI Line up-
Gayle, Chanderpaul, Sarwan, Morton, Lara, Bravo, Samuels, Baugh, Bradshaw, Taylor, Collymore

Aus Line up-
Gilchrist, Watson, Ponting, Martyn, Hussey, Symonds, Clarke, Hogg, Lee, Bracken, McGrath
« Last Edit: November 05, 2006, 02:51:49 AM by Remie »

Offline Strip

« Reply #26 on: November 05, 2006, 02:54:31 AM »
anybody have a link? allyuh using sopcast?

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #27 on: November 05, 2006, 02:57:09 AM »
You guys getting anything on SopCast. Channel not online from my end of the world. >:(

« Reply #28 on: November 05, 2006, 03:01:28 AM »
same thingg here we have to suffer...lol....and use cricinfo..hope it ocmes onlien soon
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #29 on: November 05, 2006, 03:04:05 AM »
text start to run on cricinfo. game start