April 19, 2024, 06:29:34 AM

Author Topic: Rangers stunned by 2-1 defeat at Dundee United  (Read 1953 times)

Rangers stunned by 2-1 defeat at Dundee United
« on: November 05, 2006, 10:34:40 AM »
Rangers stunned by 2-1 defeat at Dundee United

(Adds details, quotes and byline)

By Kenny MacDonald

GLASGOW, Nov 5 (Reuters) - Rangers were booed off the pitch after losing to lowly Dundee United 2-1 on Sunday and fell 15 points behind leaders Celtic in the Scottish Premier League (SPL) title race.

ADVERTISEMENT

Manager Paul Le Guen was baffled by the defeat.

"It is unbelievable to lose such a game," he told the BBC. "I am so disappointed because we controlled the game.

"We had so many chances but we needed a second goal to be at ease...with a second goal I am convinced we would win the game."

Dundee United bounced back from a goal down to win with two goals inside five minutes and give new manager Craig Levein a dramatic debut day win.

Nacho Novo missed two first-half chances for Rangers while United came close with two efforts inside a minute.

Spanish forward Novo ran in on goal only to lob his shot over advancing keeper Derek Stillie and the crossbar from 15 metres. He then slashed a 10-metre shot across the face of the goal from the right with only the keeper to beat.

Then United's Trinidad & Tobago forward Collin Samuel whipped in a low cross from the left which Bosnian defender Sasa Papac slid just past his own goal from six metres.
When the corner was cleared to the edge of the box United's David Robertson fired in a fierce volley which Rangers keeper Derek Stillie brilliantly turned away.

Rangers opened the scoring with a Charlie Adam goal in 50 minutes when he swept a six-metre shot beyond Stillie from Novo's low cross from the left.

United surged back with two goals from defenders to move off bottom place.

Garry Kenneth headed a Barry Robson corner down and through keeper McGregor's legs at the back post in 77 minutes before Lee Mair glanced in a six-metre header for the winner from a deep Craig Conway free-kick.

United manager Craig Levein told the BBC: "This can be one of two things, it can be a catalyst to push on to bigger and better things or it could be a blip and we go back to what we have been doing previously."

Champions Celtic top the SPL standings with 34 points from 13 games after beating nearest rivals Hearts 2-1 on Saturday. Hearts have 21 from 13 while Rangers now have 19 from 13. United have 11 points from 13 games.

Inverness Caley are at home to Aberdeen on Monday.

Re: Rangers stunned by 2-1 defeat at Dundee United
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2006, 10:35:49 AM »
 :applause:
well done samuel!

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2006, 11:08:04 AM »
Glad to see Samuel's team get that 3 points. Hopefully this big win and their new coach will boost morale and start the move up from the bottom of the SPL.

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2006, 11:17:28 AM »
samuel went off at half time

« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2006, 11:20:40 AM »
:applause:
well done samuel!

u congratulating him for ALMOST provoking an own goal from the other team?  ???

« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2006, 11:21:30 AM »
i congratulating him for de win....
they needed it

« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2006, 03:37:08 PM »
i congratulating him for de win....
they needed it

ah hard luck dey... in that case, well done dundee  might be a better phrase

« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2006, 03:55:02 PM »
allyuh rough boy.  Big up samuel..if yuh did not cross de ball..no goal.

Big up.

« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2006, 04:22:37 PM »
lol men really picky yes!

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2006, 05:50:03 PM »
allyuh rough boy.  Big up samuel..if yuh did not cross de ball..no goal.
Big up.

hoss read the article carefully. Samuel action had nothing to do with the goal

Then United's Trinidad & Tobago forward Collin Samuel whipped in a low cross from the left which Bosnian defender Sasa Papac slid just past his own goal from six metres.
When the corner was cleared to the edge of the box United's David Robertson fired in a fierce volley which Rangers keeper Derek Stillie brilliantly turned away

As a matter of fact Samuel wasn't on the field when the goal score... ::)

« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2006, 07:40:59 PM »
Once a team have 1 of we boys and they win we happy like pappy. Congrats Samuel

« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2006, 12:26:26 PM »
Le Guen struggling in Scotland.  Did wonders at Lyon, but it's a different game in Scotland.  He'll have to weed out some of the players that he has now, because they're obviously not suited to his type of game. Hopefully, Rangers will stick with him, cause I think he's a good manager.  But yuh know how management is a fickle thing nowadays.

« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2006, 12:34:53 PM »
Why he (Le Guen) leave Lyon anyway?