March 28, 2024, 03:04:30 AM

Author Topic: What is your lowest moment as a football diehard?  (Read 10155 times)

Re: What is your lowest moment as a football diehard?
« Reply #30 on: November 08, 2006, 10:41:43 AM »
The whet we  get in Saprissa from Costa Rica under Porterfield it was about 4.......Cyd was labelled the ultimate shithound and never recover until Beenie give him a chance...he still tootoo down heself in the goldcup but that day Medford and Wanchope beat him and rinse him inside and out.The side just show no fight no ambition nuttin.

With all due respect, even though i sure this topic get beat out on this site back in dem days, that was all PORTERFIELD fault... i mean, how you will watch medford continuously abuse one man for so long and do nothing to stop it? that is torture! sadomasochism!!

cyd even try to cuff down de man and escape a red.. then still get beat.....

hurt a man confidence like that?

Angus Eve also have tuh take some responsibility. He wasn't helping Cyd ah tall, he was exposing him.

SOME responsibility?  Cyd shoulda buss he flikkin head.  None a de central defenders did come across to help him needah.  Dem Ticos was playin dey own lil game against Cyd in dat game...especially de 2nd half...and not a man move to give he some help.

« Reply #31 on: November 08, 2006, 10:45:01 AM »
1) Nov 19th

2) Losing to JA in T&T while trying to qualify for USA 1994...and we had just res' three on them in the Caribbean Cup final..play all over them and loss 1-2, 2 weeks later. Went JA and draw and we were out. steeups

3) Fatima collecting 5 from St Mary's in the last game of Big 7 after beating everybody. Went Tobago and mash up Yokie and Signal Hill (the favorites). Just needed a tie in that last game and Kona Hislop run we ragged. (We had mash up Saints going and coming in the league...but oh lawd..dat was tears

4)Brazil losing to Argentina in 1990. Brazil was looking robotic all WC, but against Argentina they came to life. If you see knock..ball hit the post or crossbar a total of 4 times and just wouldn't go in..And them Maradon and cannigia salt dem

5) Brazil v France 1998 Final..steeups

6) T&T losing to Canada in a GoldCup semis after dominating the game. Nakhid even miss a penalty

« Reply #32 on: November 08, 2006, 11:01:40 AM »
Other worse moments in no particular order.
Like yuh fuhget how yuh feel after we draw 1-1 with Bahrain. Yuh didn't even want tuh lime after de game  :devil:.

« Reply #33 on: November 08, 2006, 11:15:44 AM »
Yep, as with everyone 89...but also Pres losing tuh El'do in 87 after bussing up CIC in the semi. Ah get lef by the coach at the stadium with no money being to busy feeling sad....(when dey do name check some arse say yes when meh name call). That was a long and memorable journey back tuh the southland.

And in the UK ....having tuh watch Forest get relegated to league one with two crap QPR goals. It was even worse cause ah was in the QPR fans section (easiest way to get a seat). So instead of just feeling like shit, only a set of thoughts bout mass murder going through meh head. Thankfully, ah aint that brave/stoopid. Ah went home and cry like ah prick with meh wife only making joke after joke....suicide was considered till ah realised most options required me to experience pain.  :'(

« Reply #34 on: November 08, 2006, 11:29:23 AM »
Nakhid even miss a penalty

Dat was a surprise to you?

« Reply #35 on: November 08, 2006, 11:45:53 AM »
Like yuh fuhget how yuh feel after we draw 1-1 with Bahrain. Yuh didn't even want tuh lime after de game :devil:.

Its true I was meaning to type dat one........ how could I forget that.....setta shit dem men play.

No only did we have dem fellas to hang, but the effort and the drama to get ticket and den get into the game and den see dat shit....steupppsss.

« Reply #36 on: November 08, 2006, 11:47:08 AM »
2002 qualifiers when we find out latas and yorke staying seperately from the team and we to costa rica, which killed our WC campaign, sortly after yorke and latas announced retirement, i was depressed for months... this is also added to our poor campaigns in the 90's....

« Reply #37 on: November 08, 2006, 11:51:19 AM »
Actually, any loss to Jamaica has been a really low point as a T&T football fan. Anytime we don't beat Bimshire is also quite depressing.

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #38 on: November 08, 2006, 11:52:37 AM »
Were can I start. I do it by Decade

70's

Peru sellout to Argentina.
Holland lost in the final.

80's

Def Force lost to Argentino Juniors
Brazil lost to Italy
France lost to West Germany
who remember the jump kick the german keeper give the french midfielder.

France losing to West germany again.

Trini lost to USA

90's

Trini beating jamaica to take the shell cup and lose the next week in WCQ.
second leg draw to jamaica at the office.

00's

Gold Cups lose to canada
my boy nakid miss the penalty

05 gold cup in miami.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #39 on: November 08, 2006, 12:49:11 PM »
90's

Trini beating jamaica to take the shell cup and lose the next week in WCQ.
second leg draw to jamaica at the office.

Yeah...dah was a harsh one in trute.  JB and Maurice combne to score a own goal in de Stadium in de fuss leg.  We rell trow way goals in dah game sah.

Offline Slade

« Reply #40 on: November 08, 2006, 01:00:34 PM »
It's got to be 1989

« Reply #41 on: November 08, 2006, 01:22:35 PM »
seeing stern throw away d penalty in the first half against mexico an den herin from forumites panama on top by bout 2

dat england lorse did real hurt meh too d first goal after so much work was pain

5-1 although that score help meh find dis board i was shame in my area cuz real men kno i is a die hard
and d land a chewing gum beat we

rudd and becks leavin untd

yorke forcin stern out birmingham

« Reply #42 on: November 08, 2006, 01:52:00 PM »
Peru selling out to Argentina in '78

John D beating Mucorapo in de Oval

Brazil losing to Italy in '82.....when all they needed was a draw!! HEARTBREAK!!

Moving to the US on '85 and having nothing but Mexican football to watch on tv (no Inter-col, no English, Brazilian football, nutting!!)

Brazil losing to France in '86

1989! say no more!!  I was playing for one of the top ameteur teams in El Paso at the time and after we drew with the US on their soil i was SURE!!!!! we was going to win that game and I used to PONG the only american that was on our team in anticipation of a sure victory (ironically, he was trying to unseat me from my position) and after that game I had to avoid that man for days....but he was in the same company as me......he pong me for weeks

....That Maradonna defense-splitting through pass to Caniggia in '90

WC Final in '98

« Reply #43 on: November 08, 2006, 01:53:33 PM »
Like yuh fuhget how yuh feel after we draw 1-1 with Bahrain. Yuh didn't even want tuh lime after de game  :devil:.

Fuh real Tallman. When all dem stars also use to dis we team and say they cayr come home because they need to focus on their career. Plus everytime the TTFA screwing with de team.

« Reply #44 on: November 08, 2006, 02:03:54 PM »

Outside of the 98 final, 86 quarterfinal and the 2-0 to T&T loss to Paraguay I eh think it have another WC match that hurt meh so much.

Men talking about that 2-0 to England, but we defended whole game and except for Glen and Edwards we never showed any attacking intent. That game ended as it should when one team only wants to defend, tough as that may be for us to take.

« Reply #45 on: November 08, 2006, 02:14:24 PM »
Men talking about that 2-0 to England, but we defended whole game and except for Glen and Edwards we never showed any attacking intent. That game ended as it should when one team only wants to defend, tough as that may be for us to take.

Fuh real.   De 6 we coulda colleck had we done otherwise woulda be preferable.

« Reply #46 on: November 08, 2006, 02:20:48 PM »

Outside of the 98 final, 86 quarterfinal and the 2-0 to T&T loss to Paraguay I eh think it have another WC match that hurt meh so much.

Thanks for reminding me, I forget to put this on meh list: Not seeing Latas get more playing time in the WC.

I honestly thought after the Sweden and England games that we would have done better against Paraguay in truth.  The atmosphere in that stadium was priceless.

« Reply #47 on: November 08, 2006, 02:32:38 PM »
Fuh real.   De 6 we coulda colleck had we done otherwise woulda be preferable.
tell meh de winning 649 numbers for tonite nuh ;)
tirtysix million Canadian oui...i go geh ya a little sumting

buh wait din we come close to scoring in dat game?
"The longer the half went on, the more jittery England appeared to become and they reached the end of the opening 45 minutes grateful not to be a goal down after Trinidad twice went close to scoring.
Their best chance came on the stroke of half-time when England needed a goal-line clearance from John Terry to rescue them after Stern John had tried to bundle in a looping effort from Carlos Edwards.
John had sent English hearts fluttering in the 37th minute, when Dwight Yorke's corner from the left eluded everyone
only to be headed wide by the Coventry striker at the far post.
"
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=17819.msg179771#msg179771
It is Obvious that we did have some offence!!!
I STILL proud no arse of de Warriors.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2006, 03:36:11 PM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #48 on: November 08, 2006, 02:38:46 PM »
Ah real low point for me was when one of my friends who doh really care about de warriors went germany.
And to make matters worse he came back home in ah england jersey. I ask de man to name two players other than Yorke and Latas and he say he know St. John, de tall man and de white boy.  >:(

Offline Remie

« Reply #49 on: November 08, 2006, 02:45:40 PM »
Ah real low point for me was when one of my friends who doh really care about de warriors went germany.
And to make matters worse he came back home in ah england jersey. I ask de man to name two players other than Yorke and Latas and he say he know St. John, de tall man and de white boy.  >:(

St. John.

Boy, that is a good one  :rotfl:

« Reply #50 on: November 08, 2006, 02:55:36 PM »
ST. John that good. It sad that the real diehards could not make it but the waggonist did add colour. Like the guy who I told see u in 2010 and he ask me weh the next Wc will be.

So all diehards start to save for 2010

Offline fatman

« Reply #51 on: November 08, 2006, 04:18:02 PM »
 the lost in 1989 touched an entire nation this was not a club, that this is a country where your navel string is buried, all the intercol ,savannah football , defence force trintoc games ,all you had heard about gally ,all the asl games ,basically your entire football life destroyed in front your eyes essentally piece of you died on that day.

« Reply #52 on: November 08, 2006, 05:54:54 PM »
when de costa rica man turn-up cox last year :rotfl: :rotfl:

when glen hit de bar

when jamrock beat we in de oval and latas and yorke say dey dun sweat

« Reply #53 on: November 08, 2006, 06:12:56 PM »
when jamrock beat we in de oval and latas and yorke say dey dun sweat

Yuh have it in de wrong order.  Latas and Yorke say dey dun sweat and DEN nex game, Jamrock beat we in de oval.

« Reply #54 on: November 08, 2006, 06:34:07 PM »
when de costa rica man turn-up cox last year :rotfl: :rotfl:

Spann was guilty of letting de man pass him jes after de half-line without any sorta challenge.

« Reply #55 on: November 08, 2006, 06:49:56 PM »
November 19th.
That time when we lose to Jamaica after winning Shell Cup the month before.
Nahkid penaly miss against Canada.
Hand of God 86.
Everytime Spain fail in the WC
When Pres and Benedicts used to cut we arse for Intercol..(no more ah dat shit now eh?) ;D

« Reply #56 on: November 08, 2006, 06:52:10 PM »

« Reply #57 on: November 08, 2006, 06:55:10 PM »

70's

Peru sellout to Argentina.
Holland lost in the final.

Bredo, I remember watching Peru play dat game and was so mad dat Brazil going home without losing a game.  I remember reading in the papers dat the the only man dat could have travelled home to Peru was Cubillas (most likely ah spelling the brother name wrong), but he fight hard agains Argentina in that game.  Big time sell out.  :'( :'(

As for the final.  As much as I did liek Kempes and Ardilles, ah really wanted the Dutch to win.  Dat game had really drama.  Wicked memories but a low point nonetheless.  :'( :'(

The funny thing is that it had real people pile in home by me to watch the game on a little black and white television. :rotfl: :rotfl:

Blessings

« Reply #58 on: November 08, 2006, 08:09:17 PM »
November 19th.
That time when we lose to Jamaica after winning Shell Cup the month before.
Nahkid penaly miss against Canada.
Hand of God 86.
Everytime Spain fail in the WC
When Pres and Benedicts used to cut we arse for Intercol..(no more ah dat shit now eh?) ;D

You should be on suicide watch by now  ;D

« Reply #59 on: November 09, 2006, 10:52:39 AM »
November 19, 1989
that was the lowest of low and if we had lose to Bahrain I think I might have given up on football for ever.

Fuh real, I woulda lost all hope of ever seeing TnT in World Cup....but dey time it right too cuz ah was planning to go to this World Cup loooonnnggg before TnT qualify (always wanted to go to a WC).....so ah was in real heaven when we beat Bharain....

Ah does look back at the newspaper clippings of dem Bharain players crying...and ah keep thinking....yes man somebody else cry for a change....  :)

Also, dat England goal after holding on for so long was really hard to take but like another post said....by de time I hit de stairs and see de sea of red.....all feelings of sorrow gone yes....aint no fans like us!!!..... ;)