April 27, 2024, 02:55:19 AM

Author Topic: That Player Who Never Reached Their Potential!?!  (Read 25895 times)

That Player Who Never Reached Their Potential!?!
« on: November 09, 2006, 02:20:21 PM »
This might seem a bit negetive but I was talking to a friend (He plays Pro Ball over here)
and we were talking about players that never reached their potential....

One that came to mind was
Daniel Montenegro He played for Argentina Under 20's he was a bad baller Attacking Midfielder he's made a Decent Career For himself but I always thought he could do alot better.

Darius Vassell is another.

I might get slewed for this one Aimar is still young (hes doing ok at the mo) but I wonder WTF happend at Valencia because is was obviously better than showed.

I know everyone doesn't & can't be the best but I just thought this would be an Interesting topic.

There was lots we mentioned but I haven't got all day!

Re: That Player Who Never Reached Their Potential!?!
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2006, 02:30:43 PM »
interesting post, this list could go on...sadly

Kleberson
Diego Tristan
Dwarika
Dwayne DeRosario if he doh get out of the MLS

more to come later

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2006, 02:32:22 PM »
Hardest

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2006, 02:33:48 PM »
Hardest

ah win $5...ah know you waoulda say first...but ah tort you woulda post first

« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2006, 02:38:01 PM »
Russell Latapy.

And, no, I don't mean it as a joke either.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2006, 02:45:47 PM by Jahyouth »

« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2006, 02:42:49 PM »
daniel addo (ghana)
nii lamptey (ghana)

http://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/SportsArchive/artikel.php?ID=101140

dwarika (t & t)

« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2006, 02:51:58 PM »
Russell Latapy.

care to clarify...... :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2006, 02:55:21 PM »
Russell Latapy.

Don't think he need to.... Yorke is undoubtedly the most SUCCESSFUL baller from Trinidad... when you look at the pure talent of Russel Latapy, jahyouth clearly believes this should have translated into even greater success and world acclaim than say Yorke!

« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2006, 03:00:37 PM »
Russell Latapy.

Don't think he need to.... Yorke is undoubtedly the most SUCCESSFUL baller from Trinidad... when you look at the pure talent of Russel Latapy, jahyouth clearly believes this should have translated into even greater success and world acclaim than say Yorke!

respect  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2006, 03:09:47 PM »
I would add silvio spann

« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2006, 03:09:58 PM »
hardest
Nixon
Dwarika
Bert neptune
Chet hewit
Roger castle
Bertram O Brien
Ron la forest
Alvin corneal
Ian Clausel
Verron Skinner
walter Allibey
Russel latapy

Int. scene

Michael Owen
¨El burrito ´ Ortega
Pablo Aimar
....Diego maradona !!!

« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2006, 03:15:27 PM »
Dwarika... I really thought he had more in him. After seeing him in Canada a few years back.. he easily stood among the 22 that were on the field.

Who knows, maybe he did reach his potential ... one can only be as good as one wants to be.

I also thought that Kanu and Kluivert was going to be abit bigger!

« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2006, 03:19:14 PM »
from T&T  Nkosi Blackman, Ian "de dread dribbler" Clauzel, Nixon, Colvin Hutchinson, Sean Boney....infact dat whole under 20 squad dat make it to de u-20 wc.

international players would be... Veron, Owen, Rai(brother of Socrates),Aimar,Kluivert...it havetomuch.....

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2006, 03:34:09 PM »

Vijay Samaroo

« Last Edit: November 09, 2006, 03:35:57 PM by marcus »

Offline ANC2

« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2006, 03:42:08 PM »
hardest
Nixon
Dwarika
Bert neptune
Chet hewit
Roger castle
Bertram O Brien
Ron la forest
Alvin corneal
Ian Clausel
Verron Skinner
walter Allibey
Russel latapy

Int. scene

Michael Owen
¨El burrito ´ Ortega
Pablo Aimar
....Diego maradona !!!

Tough one on Berta because he was boss and is injury that lick him up.
What about Brian John, Keito Joseph, Wendell Moore and Carlyle Andrews

How about England  ;D ;D

« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2006, 03:43:23 PM »
Brent Rahim
Clint Marcelle
Leslie Fitzpatrick.
Angue Eve.
Garvin Lewis.

Gascoigne he was ah waste of talent. He decided that he wanted to be a tempermental artist and he did. f**k him self up.

Joe Cole people still waiting for him to be the next Gazza.

I idolized Ivan Sampson, Wesley Webb and Marvin Faustin but since they only toyed abroad i will add them too.

Man does talk about C. Ronaldo, and R. Carlos bullet free kicks. I remember back in de day for Rangers, when Faustin size up for a free kick, no body move. Man afro and high top fade use to be leaning from the direction the ball flew in. So I feel he never reach that full potential.

All de players in de Strike Squad, you all gave us hope but....

« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2006, 03:44:55 PM »

Vijay Samaroo

I played against him many times and feel he was only hype for de leagues..... I think that he reach whey he was supposed to be.

« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2006, 03:49:53 PM »
I would add silvio spann

True Stories

« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2006, 03:52:24 PM »
I just surprised this specific subject passed as many as 2 posts without someone mentioning Hardest.

Hardest is quickly becoming an expression for failure...

Dred ah coulda bin ah rel could footballer... buh ah pull ah hardest.

Dred ah coulda graduate from college... buh ah pull ah hardest dred.

Man ah coulda take care ah meh chile... buh ah pull ah rel hardest.

« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2006, 04:17:47 PM »

Vijay Samaroo

I played against him many times and feel he was only hype for de leagues..... I think that he reach whey he was supposed to be.

I beg to differ. This fella was real good ... played against him while he played with Gasparillo Youths .....man was genuine ... not sure what happened

« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2006, 05:04:04 PM »
I  cannot agree with some of the big names mentioned because most of them had successful careers.
Some names do come to mind is Denilson from Brazil. Palermo of Argentina, some may say Anelka and all of Holland is waiting on Van da Vart.

« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2006, 05:14:35 PM »
Me   ;)

« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2006, 05:19:45 PM »
croc

« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2006, 05:22:36 PM »
Jughead

« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2006, 05:38:01 PM »
I would add silvio spann

True Stories

when spann signed in itlay i say to meh self he would be ah big one.....
« Last Edit: November 09, 2006, 06:16:47 PM by triniman »

« Reply #25 on: November 09, 2006, 06:05:56 PM »

Vijay Samaroo

I beg to differ. This fella was real good ... played against him while he played with Gasparillo Youths .....man was genuine ... not sure what happened

OK I with DC on this one man.  I played against Vijay for years from form 1 till we leave school and the man fed up eat beat and get out played.  I no saying he wasn't good but not what this topic is about he not even close to it.

« Reply #26 on: November 09, 2006, 06:09:43 PM »
Colin Rocke,
Dwarika
Terry "jughead" St. Louis

Always expected Faustin and Hutson to play abroad.

Doh blame Ngosi, he break a leg and was never the same after dat.

« Reply #27 on: November 09, 2006, 06:31:55 PM »

Vijay Samaroo

OK I with DC on this one man.  I played against Vijay for years from form 1 till we leave school and the man fed up eat beat and get out played.  I no saying he wasn't good but not what this topic is about he not even close to it.
ah have to add me 2 piece here too
that fella was overhyped big time.

Tenorsaw..what ever happen to Blacksmith Gomez..wasnt he in your time also?
i think he was one of the best to ever come out of South zone.

« Reply #28 on: November 09, 2006, 06:47:24 PM »
I'd have to go with shawn garcia , brent rahim , marcelle , jamerson , sherwood , ivan sampson , kona hislop....faustin didnt really get an opportunity ya know but he talented i guess dwarika...on an international level I'd go with ariel ortega , anelka , cisse , god this is an endless list to be real

Offline legal alien

« Reply #29 on: November 09, 2006, 06:58:33 PM »
 I wonder if it's o.k to include  denilson?