April 25, 2024, 04:01:45 PM

Author Topic: Flyin Kite  (Read 20541 times)

Re: Flyin Kite
« Reply #30 on: November 12, 2006, 03:00:47 PM »

« Reply #31 on: November 12, 2006, 03:27:00 PM »
dem wing flaps have to ben the nex way an den ya good to go
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #32 on: November 12, 2006, 03:30:05 PM »
dem wing flaps have to ben the nex way an den ya good to go

as know, but is wa snose diving so i bend it de other way to see what would happen, an it fly better .. not supposed to  .. ad tink the nose too heavy

« Reply #33 on: November 12, 2006, 03:51:13 PM »
maybe if you fold it in half and sort of flatten out, see if dat would work
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #34 on: November 12, 2006, 03:55:04 PM »
maybe if you fold it in half and sort of flatten out, see if dat would work

nah man .. all ah getting is stange looks from me daughter ...

« Reply #35 on: November 12, 2006, 04:16:45 PM »
what about this one ... ah see meh daughter's friend had one yesterday.

yup! I was ah pro at this as well.

Dais the damn thing self...you know how much look ah lok for one ah dat..til finally ah got one last year at toy r us when rubix wascelebrating they 25 aniversary...ah tink ah only got all colours once in my whole life...now all ah good get is 2 or 3 colours  ;D. Long time I used to take it apart and put it together perfect  ;D

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Emergency Kite Information needed!
« Reply #36 on: May 25, 2009, 04:13:08 PM »
Before I lose my one last marble.
Tell me how to make a chicki-chong kite!

Re: Emergency Kite Information needed!
« Reply #37 on: May 25, 2009, 05:14:01 PM »
All yuh need is some copybook paper. Use one sheet for de face of de kite. Take ah next piece and start tearing it from around de border (from outside to inside); dis go be de tail. buss ah hole at de bottom of de first piece; take de tail and tie it through dat hole. Den take some thread and pass it through ah lil hole at de top of de first piece and den run down de road as fast as yuh could witout falling down.

Maybe somebody else could come and explain it so it make sense  :rotfl:.

« Reply #38 on: May 25, 2009, 05:56:18 PM »
tallman, a technologically advanced man such as yourself coulda put an instructional video on youtube easy breezy.

« Reply #39 on: May 25, 2009, 05:58:19 PM »
tallman, a technologically advanced man such as yourself coulda put an instructional video on youtube easy breezy.
but yuh know, daiz ah good idea. yuh have any Trinpad copybook cover up wit brown paper?

« Reply #40 on: May 25, 2009, 06:38:36 PM »
no brown paper, but funny you should ask as I am actually using a trinpad copybook right now.  In fact, I do all my important calculations in trinpad copybooks.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #41 on: May 25, 2009, 06:46:28 PM »
all yuh trying to get me put out.
The little woman demanded a chiki-chong and all yuh talking copybook and youtube. It was an emergency request... :rotfl:
Anyway, we put something together and run up and down screaming AIYO!

The neighbours looked out and shook their heads but we din mind. It was fun except for when one of my trees jumped out in front me and knocked me silly...

A good day was had by all.

Thanks for the info and YES, T'Man, out up a youtube for people like me who have long term memory loss.

« Reply #42 on: May 26, 2009, 03:42:06 PM »
Queen
we had dis talks long time
 ;D ;D

check this post here
This is de best one, you can download a copy of KiteLines  WINTER-SPRING 1983 (Vol. 4 No. 3)
magazine here that has an article about kite flying in Trinidad
"Kites of Trinidad by Judith Johnston. KiteLines Magazine, Winter-Spring 1983, p.40-45."

I tried to copy an paste but no luck
VERY GOOD ARTICLE. Pictures an plans for all kinds of kites. Even a "flyin Chataigne leaf kite"
http://www.kitelife.com/kitelines/welcome.htm

look local articles  http://www.trinidad-tobago.net/Article.aspx?PageId=16   
http://www.caribbeanfreeradio.com/blog/?p=412

*** NOTE ---- NEW INFORMATION: go here to register and download the KiteLines  WINTER-SPRING 1983 (Vol. 4 No. 3) issue that I mentioned in my post above...they even have chicky chong plans ;D ;D
« Last Edit: May 26, 2009, 04:08:13 PM by Werklmann »

« Reply #43 on: May 27, 2009, 08:39:06 AM »
Yeah trinity, the bottle on the thread was called mange.

Offcourse it wasnt just bottle on the thread, u had to use something to stick the crushed bottle on the thread......thus dog shit mange was born  ;D . For those who wasnt so adventurous, yuh coulda use boil rice or dasheen or even eddoes to make yuh mange.

After the days of the type writer, men start to use video tape as tail to make they largie.
The kinda kite paper u getting now real thin and cheap.....and for some reason they cant be folded symmetrical to be cut. Like is rejects they selling now.

Anyhow, how much of allyuh know bout:

boiled flour paste?
using thread instead of scissors to cut the kite paper?
what happens when yuh kite: Shookshak, Tush and it carping?
« Last Edit: May 27, 2009, 08:42:05 AM by sammy »

« Reply #44 on: May 27, 2009, 10:17:27 AM »

Offcourse it wasnt just bottle on the thread, u had to use something to stick the crushed bottle on the thread......thus dog shit mange was born  ;D . For those who wasnt so adventurous, yuh coulda use boil rice or dasheen or even eddoes to make yuh mange.

After the days of the type writer, men start to use video tape as tail to make they largie.
The kinda kite paper u getting now real thin and cheap.....and for some reason they cant be folded symmetrical to be cut. Like is rejects they selling now.

boiled flour paste?

yes ah used to use flour to put merh crush bottle and to stick meh cokeyea...and coarse thread was meh sisssors.

When yuh kite spinning leaning to one side......and if it top heavy it only nose diving.....what yuh does call dat?  ;)

« Reply #45 on: May 27, 2009, 12:03:47 PM »

boiled flour paste?

yes ah used to use flour to put merh crush bottle and to stick meh cokeyea...and coarse thread was meh sisssors.

When yuh kite spinning leaning to one side......and if it top heavy it only nose diving.....what yuh does call dat?  ;)

it one sided.
but how yuh does fix it?   :thinking:  :)

« Reply #46 on: May 27, 2009, 02:15:18 PM »
cut ash little piece ah kite paper and put it on de odder side tuh balance it out...easy fix.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #47 on: May 27, 2009, 02:24:05 PM »
all yuh trying to get me put out.
The little woman demanded a chiki-chong and all yuh talking copybook and youtube. It was an emergency request... :rotfl:
Anyway, we put something together and run up and down screaming AIYO!

The neighbours looked out and shook their heads but we din mind. It was fun except for when one of my trees jumped out in front me and knocked me silly...

A good day was had by all.

Thanks for the info and YES, T'Man, out up a youtube for people like me who have long term memory loss.

what you feeding dem trees to make dem move so??

Anyhow, I was never much on de kiteflying, Like looking at dem, suck at keeping control.

I used to love making dem circuit boards in science class though :idea:
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #48 on: May 27, 2009, 03:48:24 PM »
cut ash little piece ah kite paper and put it on de odder side tuh balance it out...easy fix.

or you could buss a piece of tail (cloth) and tie it on the bow on the opposite side of the lean.

« Reply #49 on: May 27, 2009, 04:48:20 PM »

or you could buss a piece of tail (cloth) and tie it on the bow on the opposite side of the lean.

true dat

« Reply #50 on: May 27, 2009, 06:36:28 PM »
hear this one...

if yuh kite stick, and u tie yuh thread to a stone and lasso the kite and pull it down, what u call the lasso action?

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #51 on: May 27, 2009, 08:11:07 PM »
ah get ketch with the title oui!

I say it was the rated version of the "babes" thread.

"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

KITE MAKING
« Reply #52 on: April 03, 2012, 05:47:37 PM »
Well meh daughter see kite selling on the highway and wanted one. playing man i say we not buying no kite we making it. bounce meh head they cause like i forget everything. ketching meh ass so i just venting here..................

Re: KITE MAKING
« Reply #53 on: April 03, 2012, 05:54:47 PM »
Yuh need flour water paste as yuh glue, cocqyea broom sticks for the frame, paper and thread. And a razor blade for zwill!
« Last Edit: April 03, 2012, 05:57:56 PM by Giggsy11 »

« Reply #54 on: April 03, 2012, 07:35:18 PM »
Boss thread.

« Reply #55 on: April 13, 2012, 06:45:29 AM »
check dis fella
http://www.kitelife.com/videos/demo/bethell_promo.htm
i car get my chikichong to do nuttin so ;D ;D ;D ;D

Yuh using the wrong cocoyea  ;D

« Reply #56 on: August 07, 2014, 12:31:45 PM »
go big or go home....

The largest kite in the world, Hohhot, is flown in Inner Mongolia, China. The octopus shaped kite weighs around 200kg and covers an area of 1,500 square meters on the ground. Photograph: Imaginechina/Rex Features

credit: www.theguardian.com