April 28, 2024, 06:37:40 PM

Your favorite Christmas toy from back in the day!

Six Million Dollar man
3 (15%)
GI JOE
5 (25%)
Scaletrix
5 (25%)
CORGI JUNIOR
0 (0%)
Barbie (for the girls)
2 (10%)
The plastic army men
1 (5%)
Roller skates
1 (5%)
Skateboard
0 (0%)
Atari
3 (15%)

Total Members Voted: 19

Voting closed: January 12, 2007, 08:22:13 AM

Author Topic: Christmas toys !!!  (Read 9402 times)

Christmas toys !!!
« on: November 13, 2006, 08:22:13 AM »
Six million dollar man was the ultimate but I used to sneak a play on my big bros Scaletrix until I got a little older.

Re: Christmas toys !!!
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2006, 08:24:36 AM »
Atari 2600 jed ,easy most popular kid on the block  ;D

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2006, 08:48:21 AM »
My plastic army men was the bess.. especially the ones that had the parachute. However, somehow whatever my brother got always seemed better than mine  >:(

I would add lego to that list as well.

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2006, 08:52:48 AM »
Evil Knievel wind up chopper

Star Wars action figurines...........$5.00 each at 'discount city' in woodbrook, circa  1980

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2006, 09:11:36 AM »
i too ole for dese toys ..

my favourite was bicycle rim and stick

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2006, 09:16:26 AM »
Evil Knievel wind up chopper

Star Wars action figurines...........$5.00 each at 'discount city' in woodbrook, circa  1980

OHHH YESS HAD ONE OF THOSE TOO. Man I make that thing jump everything from chairs to the kitchen glasses

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2006, 09:17:06 AM »
FORGOT TO ADD

SLINKY
PLASTACINE

« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2006, 09:28:59 AM »
Yeah boy dutty...a wind up chopper.....I make all kinda ramp and ting with mine.

I had every star wars figurine...real he man too.

Meh Atari 2600 was the top toy....but second place was d scaletric, I even enter competition in West mall and on the final lap when I crash a Bepsy girl put meh car on d wrong track...sabotage I tell yuh.

What used to give scalextric compe was the tyco racing sets, with the funny track like cliffhangers and den yuh had the racing train and 4 wheelers and thing. Tyco was good but they had a lil pin that used to grind down fast.

Scalextrix....see dem damn metal strips connectors, yuh always had to go long circular mall in a store opposite Kams record shop and buy dem.

« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2006, 09:32:58 AM »
Yuh remember using sandpaper to keep the metal on trak clean?

« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2006, 09:41:50 AM »
i had one gi joe...Gung Ho...and i lost the sword within minutes of my mother purchasing him ::)

« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2006, 09:45:37 AM »
i had one gi joe...Gung Ho...and i lost the sword within minutes of my mother purchasing him ::)

Now the real GI JOE was back in the 60's and 70's (movable limbs, interchangeable gear) not that little 4" one from the late 80's

« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2006, 09:52:58 AM »

ah bet yuh get ah cut-azz fuh dat

« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2006, 10:02:24 AM »
Yeah boy dutty...a wind up chopper.....I make all kinda ramp and ting with mine.

I had every star wars figurine...real he man too.

Meh Atari 2600 was the top toy....but second place was d scaletric, I even enter competition in West mall and on the final lap when I crash a Bepsy girl put meh car on d wrong track...sabotage I tell yuh.

What used to give scalextric compe was the tyco racing sets, with the funny track like cliffhangers and den yuh had the racing train and 4 wheelers and thing. Tyco was good but they had a lil pin that used to grind down fast.

Scalextrix....see dem damn metal strips connectors, yuh always had to go long circular mall in a store opposite Kams record shop and buy dem.

yea my brother had the super cliffhangers with glow in the dark.. rite now it sittiing in my garage. Ah maff it ah couple years ago and brought it back to Canada. me and my youngest daughter used to run real race with dat.

You know it still have real men collecting scalextric eh..last year when my sis was here she was looking for one for her fiance.. hobby shop here was putting you on waiting list oui!

« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2006, 10:14:09 AM »

Now the real GI JOE was back in the 60's and 70's (movable limbs, interchangeable gear) not that little 4" one from the late 80's

GI Joe - Storm Shadow, Snake Eyes, Tunnel Rat and I have a bunch more
Starwars - Ah had de big Millennium Falcon  wit Han Solo and Chewbacca, Lando Calrissian, Lobot,  Darth Vader with the retractable light saber, C3PO and R2D2, de princess when she was in Jaba palace.  Lors, brings back real memories
Ah also had Spiderman, Batman, Superman and a bunch of super heros
Transformers LOL ah had nuff of those

« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2006, 10:25:08 AM »
i ent vote for it but i had a skateboard too. i used to use it like a canal cart sometimes :D

i had an atari also...that was like the neighbourhood toy...i used to carry it by a pardner house and them fellas used to peong whole day

« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2006, 10:37:30 AM »
Can't forget everybody must have!! A BMX is ah must and doh try and come with no 10 speed eh lol .
« Last Edit: November 13, 2006, 10:47:22 AM by CV:5 »

« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2006, 10:37:38 AM »
ah remember christmas when ah was age 7

meh brother million dollar man with he one eye dat have glass ya coulda see tings closer.
snakes and ladders
hoola hoop
skippin rope
marbles
books and more books
ah bible and rosary (meh grandmudda)
ah puff from ah tobacco pipe (meh grandfadda)
panty (meh mudda)
ah bicycle (meh fadda)
ah tief meh brudda 10 dollars
and ah tief meh sista roller skates ;D

« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2006, 10:54:12 AM »
what about them frico toys? i had almost the whole collection, now i know they aint x mas toys..but allyuh rbing back memories there.
my fav toy was remote control cars. it started off witht he oens witht he cord attached. but one x mas ah get the full rmeote one.
but if u see yuh boy doing all kinda stunt ind e yard with meh car.
needless to sya it eh last even 2 weeks..lol
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2006, 11:40:56 AM »
obviously dis list is fuh de under-30 crowd!!  Ah couldn't vote fuh none ah dem ting.

My favourite Christmas present was a big dolly and a tea set and it didn't have no brand name back den.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #19 on: November 13, 2006, 11:44:01 AM »
 I is OVER 30 madam ...ketch yuhself  8)

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #20 on: November 13, 2006, 11:46:12 AM »

Well yuh memory must be better dan mine, or yuh was richer dan me because ah never had none ah dem toys on de list dey.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #21 on: November 13, 2006, 12:07:16 PM »
talking about x mas..
lemme put out meh x mas list

To anyone on the forum
i want the first complete season of Allo Allo ON DVD.

to alld e WOMEN ONLY.
I want a raost fowl....see i eh asking for much  ;)
jodie? cana? coco....ladies ;D
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #22 on: November 13, 2006, 12:27:59 PM »
talking about x mas..

To anyone on the forum

to alld e WOMEN ONLY.

raost fowl ???
wha is dat ???

« Reply #23 on: November 13, 2006, 12:30:08 PM »

raost fowl ???
wha is dat ???

*setting up popcorn bowl, mauby bottle and camcorder*

« Reply #24 on: November 13, 2006, 12:32:39 PM »
talking about x mas..

To anyone on the forum

to alld e WOMEN ONLY.

raost fowl ???
wha is dat ???

forgive me(yeah right cana)
but i think u responding as sister mary gertude..
so i'll please haveu refer to marcia miranda's parang to serve as enlightenment
if its to subtle as yuh fren coco..i hear fomr dutty she know bout dem thing..lol
Redhowler any links to recording of that particular marcia miranda parang.about what she giving she man for x mas.. ;D

« Reply #25 on: November 13, 2006, 12:44:05 PM »
yeah man ah Ji GOe with the kung fu grip
jes this morning I get up early and see it showing on channel 25 G4 TV
I remember when meh moms use to carry meh Discount City on Wrightson Rd. and they were $19.99. As fast as she buying one for me I pushing 1 in her handbag.

I had real He Man to, I remember I get snake mountain and I real like meh self.

Then now meh moms real bless meh ah Xmas. I get the 2600 and 4 games and ah next controller.
Inside meh house turn into ah arcade after that.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #26 on: November 13, 2006, 01:29:30 PM »
talking about x mas..

To anyone on the forum

to alld e WOMEN ONLY.

raost fowl ???
wha is dat ???

if its to subtle as yuh fren coco..i hear fomr dutty she know bout dem thing..lol
Redhowler any links to recording of that particular marcia miranda parang.about what she giving she man for x mas.. ;D

Yuh right...since is a "subtle" message yuh seem tuh be sending fuh de women on de forum.  Ah go need further clarification.  ah have ah suspicion it eh have nuttin to do wid a pot and stove which might be a good ting.

« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2006, 01:33:23 PM »
talking about x mas..

To anyone on the forum

to alld e WOMEN ONLY.

raost fowl ???
wha is dat ???

Yuh right...since is a "subtle" message yuh seem tuh be sending fuh de women on de forum.  Ah go need further clarification.  ah have ah suspicion it eh have nuttin to do wid a pot and stove which might be a good ting.
It have alot to do with eating, am..shoudl i say this..maybe even jueices flowing..(ah looking ot get ban)
and a feeling of satisfaction, although similar to niggeritis,much more innately pleasurable ;D
lemme go home oui..lol

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #28 on: November 13, 2006, 01:59:01 PM »
talking about x mas..

To anyone on the forum

to alld e WOMEN ONLY.

raost fowl ???
wha is dat ???

It have alot to do with eating, am..shoudl i say this..maybe even jueices flowing..(ah looking ot get ban)
and a feeling of satisfaction, although similar to niggeritis,much more innately pleasurable ;D
lemme go home oui..lol

Ah not surprised at all!!

« Reply #29 on: November 13, 2006, 02:53:38 PM »

so am I