March 28, 2024, 04:03:31 AM

Author Topic: TnT Greatest Players  (Read 18642 times)

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
Re: TnT Greatest Players
« Reply #30 on: May 18, 2005, 07:48:16 AM »
NC, I think Dwight did not get special attention against the US, because they knew there was no one to create for him. Dwight dots I's and crosses T's. He is not an orchestrator, a play maker (on the ball - so to speak). He makes plays off the ball and finishes. That is his greatness. And when he suits up for TnT, I think we place unfair expectations on him. That is why I segued to the TEAM. Dwight in the midfield??? That, to me, is an act of DESPERATION.

I don't remember the team that was robbed in Haiti and almost qualified for (I think) the 74 world cup. I don't even remember the Strike Squad because in 89, I was in the Gulf gettin ready for war. I mentioned those teams with the hope that someone might chime in and talk about the great players on those teams. I went to Saints with Nakhid. I knew Latapy as a 14 year-old. Other than that, all I know of them of players beyond those days, was bits and pieces of news. Angus Eve is from Carenage, as I am so we have mutual aquaintances (and Leo drop de man). Besides them, all the players on the team are just names to me. The last TnT game I saw live was when we beat Mexico in Trini (I happened to be visiting). So I want to hear about which player could step up and define themselves as worthy of a TnT Great. 
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #31 on: May 18, 2005, 08:00:14 AM »
Slates, the problem with your arguement is that your focus is on the team while the discussion started about individual players.  Secondly, while Dwight accomplished a lot in club football, T&T have yet to benefit from his years of playing professionally.  Whenever, he plays for T&T he has been unable to influence those games in the way that Zidane would in the French team or Falcao did for the Brazilian team to name a few.  Imagine, in the USA game they did not even find it necessary to pay him any extra attention, why, because his game was average.  Did he play badly? No, but he was not special either.  I agree with your arguement that most of his accomplishments came as a result of playing with a good team.  Not to undermine his ability to put the ball in the back of the net, that is not easy to do consistently, eventhough the goals are being created by others.

Yuh know when ah think about it, there is not really a problem with slates argument. Cause those individuals also had better teams and team camaraderie than more recent years. Dwight although blessed with good players on T&T was not blessed with the same Team spirit, ala British teams, ala the old days. T&T better players today are basically journeymen, "passing thru". Even in our local PFL. Steve David, Archie, Gally etc.. had basically 2 teams for the most part... Whey dey grow up, and Trinidad....when the guys went to the NASL, they basically hooked up with many older World Class players, who could contribute to their successes.
So for eg. when a young potential star like a Lovelace ran out for Colts, although Colts may not have been all top class ballers ala a Maple or so...the whole of that colts team, would do everything in their favor to push and support MR. Lovelace son from up the road, and help him stand out as the star he should be...
This occured with many of our better footballers in the past...The rest of his team will give it their all for him, and in so doing the team as well..

Today, everybody is aspiring to that stardom,as the new motifs are "Just do it", "The potential is within", and thus very few are willing to play that supporting role. Especially so, they way our mentality, culture has developed....
I and I, taken to the literal sense..we are the master copiers, but sometimes the things we copy, may look real, sound real, but no real substance...

So we used to sing stuff like, "So Jah say, not one of my seeds, shall sit on the sidewalk and beg no bread"...we chant the words, but few try to fulfill the ideas...

So our football has evolved, a bunch of talented I & I individuals, not all mind you...but very few I & WE.

I would like to express some more personal views, but I am at work...

So to conclude, it is very difficult to compare the greatness of individual players, across different times and societal evolutions, in my view.

Offline NC

« Reply #32 on: May 18, 2005, 09:34:45 AM »
"I don't even remember the Strike Squad because in 89, I was in the Gulf gettin ready for war."

Slates, why did you do that?  I cannot imagine a justification for that when you cannot fight to defend yourself or your family.

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #33 on: May 18, 2005, 10:37:48 AM »
Ay allyuh, I playin in a lil county league up dis side wit Slates... last week de man net up 2 big big goals...so I adding Slates to the "TnT Greatest Players" list...any problem wit dat! 

But on a serious note, I play for CIC back in de late 80's so I my recollection of great players include;

Nixon - gustine
Wise - st.anthonys
Sherwood - pres
Shawn Garcia - qrc
checkey - qrc
Kona -CIC
Colin Rocke - CIC
Mickey - RIP brethren!
Yellowman - San Juan
Legendre - gustine

How dem fellas rate (if at all) to dem vintage men from back in de day...now I know enough to recoginse that Trini hey days was well before my time..so allyuh take it easy when comparing..we all on de same side!

De best national team I see rep trini was when Latas and dem was under16...

"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

Offline trininess

top fove trini players eva....
« Reply #34 on: November 24, 2005, 10:01:59 PM »
ok i want all yuh tuh list who all yuh tink is trinidad's top 5 players 1-5 ...den after that put who yuh tink iz d al time best player this land has produced ...lets see..shud be interesting...

Re: top fove trini players eva....
« Reply #35 on: November 24, 2005, 10:53:58 PM »
 Deleon, latapy, yorke,stern john, and spann

« Reply #36 on: November 24, 2005, 11:28:12 PM »
Yorke.
Latapy.
Archibald.
Steve David.
Spanner.

« Reply #37 on: November 24, 2005, 11:41:45 PM »
trininess since ah assuming you mean "trinidad top 5 ever"ah going back in dey 'ole' days

Yorke
Latas
Stern John
Brian Williams .......rastaman coulda jump like flying fish
Clayton Morris.

meh all time best...ummm Jerren Nixon

who vex...well kiss my ass  :beermug:

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #38 on: November 24, 2005, 11:46:15 PM »
Latas
Yoke
Claton Morris
Stern John
Marvin Faustin

« Reply #39 on: November 25, 2005, 12:07:54 AM »
Latapy #1 for sure.  :beermug:

« Reply #40 on: November 25, 2005, 05:39:59 AM »
This topic will always be debatable,i can see you guys that responded here seem to be young guys or just recently start watching T&T Football,this country although they may not have qualified for a WC in the past have always been blessed with talented players,i personally have played against,coached and seen so many of them that it's very difficult to select a five but if i have to single out any one player i'll give Steve David the edge.

« Reply #41 on: November 25, 2005, 05:48:12 AM »
Coops, yuh know Steve was working in Trinidad with Bechtel on the ALNG project in 98' as Safety Manager ? I think he spend some money trying to revive PFCC but they let him down.
Real nice man Steve no big boaster about himself.

« Reply #42 on: November 25, 2005, 05:50:47 AM »
Dwight Yorke  (did it at de highest level)
Russell Latapy  (one of the worlds best midfielders in his generation)
Stern John   (our greatest goal scorer ever)
Warren Archiball
Steve David

special mention to dennis lawrence and ian "de deadly dribbler" chauvel (or someting so)

« Reply #43 on: November 25, 2005, 06:00:56 AM »
   special mention to dennis lawrence and ian "de deadly dribbler" chauvel (or something so)

Clauzel. Fantastic at colleges but did not perform de same at national level.
Nice to remember him though.

« Reply #44 on: November 25, 2005, 06:13:52 AM »
Coops, yuh know Steve was working in Trinidad with Bechtel on the ALNG project in 98' as Safety Manager ? I think he spend some money trying to revive PFCC but they let him down.
Real nice man Steve no big boaster about himself.
I did not know this,what i remembered was he left home and was playing in the NASL and i always wondered where he ended up or is today,one good thing i can say about those guys is we used to have our battles on the field(Football),and that stays there we were always friends regardless of what team you played for.Where is Steve know?

« Reply #45 on: November 25, 2005, 06:17:34 AM »
1.  yorke
2.  Latapy
3.  Steve David
4.  Noel Sammy Llewelyn
5.  Warren Archibald

« Reply #46 on: November 25, 2005, 06:34:43 AM »
Where is Steve know?

I think he is back in the States, I am not sure if he is still with Bechtel. Somebody told me he was coaching now, not sure how true that is.

Offline Sixth Avenue

« Reply #47 on: November 25, 2005, 07:01:13 AM »
Latas
York
Steve David
Doyle Griffith
Archibald

« Reply #48 on: November 25, 2005, 07:59:45 AM »
   LATAPY 10 ( the best ever....EVER)
  dwight yorke
   stern john
  leonson lewis
  joel rahim ( because he was a good friend of mine and the best left back for tnt for the past 25yrs)

and thats the players i saw in my time.....but hats of to the archies and deleons and the rest

Offline ANC2

« Reply #49 on: November 25, 2005, 08:36:47 AM »
Latapy, DeLeon, Yorke, David, Cummings

« Reply #50 on: November 25, 2005, 08:43:26 AM »
Cummings has to be in that mix,

Yorke - Latapy- Cummings- David- Archibald

« Reply #51 on: November 25, 2005, 08:50:27 AM »
Latapy
Yorke
Deleon
Sookram
Nunes

« Reply #52 on: November 25, 2005, 08:51:36 AM »
Yorke
Latapy
Deleon/Archibald [never see them play but this is for mih father]
Cummings
Stern John [Could be Steve David but it hard to leave out a man with the strikerate Stern has]

« Reply #53 on: November 25, 2005, 09:01:20 AM »
Dat impossible because of de different eras.Have you guys heard about Mathew Nunes,Shay Seymour and Carlton "the general" Franco ?

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #54 on: November 25, 2005, 11:17:40 AM »
latas
yorkie
stern
leonson lewis
marvin faustin

« Reply #55 on: November 25, 2005, 11:22:00 AM »
me
yorke
spanner
latas
dexter lee ;D

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #56 on: November 25, 2005, 11:52:56 AM »
me
yorke
spanner
latas
dexter lee ;D

I want to see some clips from the #1 on your list. Where I could find dat?

My top 5:
Latas
Yorke
D original Spann
Archibald
Jamerson
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

« Reply #57 on: November 25, 2005, 11:54:58 AM »
me
yorke
spanner
latas
dexter lee ;D

I want to see some clips from the #1 on your list. Where I could find dat?

i'm putting a disk together of me bussing spanner on men all over de world

and is latas better than yorke?

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #58 on: November 25, 2005, 12:05:09 PM »
i'm putting a disk together of me bussing spanner on men all over de world and is latas better than yorke?

For me he is... I ain't choosing this by what the masses think, iz my personal opinion... at least ah see we both have spanner as #3.
Ah waiting to see that disk!
« Last Edit: November 25, 2005, 12:14:49 PM by Tallman »
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

« Reply #59 on: November 25, 2005, 01:28:38 PM »
any top 5 hadda include Leonson Lewis...

TnT has not had a striker like that since...That man was bad and under-rated. Speed, skill, technique and could score bucket loads. When Leo converted from a left winger to a center forward he was deadly and did things not even Yorkie or Stern ever did for TnT....He made otheres around him look great because the defense couldn't res' when he was on de field.

Leo and any other 4.