March 28, 2024, 04:18:13 PM

Author Topic: Women Warriors Thread  (Read 129045 times)

Re: Women Warriors Thread
« Reply #450 on: February 06, 2017, 06:55:07 PM »
Morace call it like it is:

Players unfit (Palos highlighted this in the other thread)
Individual technical ability is lacking
Individual tactical ability (wrong or random choice of technique)

This is an indictment of the grassroots local coaching as well as the individual player ethic back home.

Equally applies to our male players

Assessment as well as Indictment

That said...there ARE players that try very hard.  And there ARE coaches who do yoeman service with footballers.

What is needed is for as many coaches as possible to get themselves current with certifications etc and for administration to provide resources, pathways, assistance etc to help them get there.
What is the story on the ground? Our females probably play less than 12 games a year....what is the incentive to maintain peak fitness? Historically they don't have camps either... strange ol' world.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2017, 07:00:37 PM by doc »

« Reply #451 on: February 09, 2017, 03:51:26 AM »
Morace: Women players passing technique poor.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Women footballers in T&T have been using the wrong technique, new national women’s coach and head of the Women’s Development Programme Carolina Morace has said, following her first week of training at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Balmain, Couva yesterday.

It was one of few observations made by the Italian coach who has been recruited by the T&T Football Association (TTFA) to help develop local women’s football and take the country’s senior and under-20 teams to the World Cup.

Morace pointed out that players’ passes were inaccurate because of the techniques being used were not the right one. “The technique that they use is just random. The players passes were not accurate and the technique they use was not the right technique. Sometimes it’s just a suggestion, a little suggestion, that goes a long way.”

Assistant coach Nicola Williams called on players to work on their technical abilities, saying how the players pass and receive the ball are areas that they will have to develop. “Their natural ability in the match, the dribbling and fake is already good, but we have a journey to go on”, she explained.

Because of this Morace and her team intend to work hard with local coaches to show them the right techniques in passing and receiving the ball, and how to impart it to young players. She describe it as a critical part of their programme. Morace who is head of the programme is being assisted by Williams who is also coach of the country’s under-20 team, while another Italian Manuela Tesse is coach of the under-17 team and Betty Bavagnoli will also provide assistance to Morace at the senior team level.

They are expected to be joined by a number of local coaches soon. It is understood this is being organised by the T&TFA which is being led by David John Williams, the man behind the overall development of women’s football in T&T.

Only recently John-Williams announced that his association will look at offering women footballers and coaches contracts.

Morace, who coached the Canadian women’s team to the Concacaf championship in 2010, said another observation she made was that the local players were not fit. “What we can say is that the players are not fit. They need something. If you want to show your ability you have to be fit.”

As Morace continues her search for the country’s best players, she will continue with an open-door policy in which any and all players desirous of representing the country, will have the opportunity to try out. However she noted her policy is not a guarantee that anyone will make it on the national team, saying to make it on the team you have to have something more than a normal player.

According to Morace “It is about sacrifice and understanding what we want. I think there are many potential players here. We have to keep the potentials and improve the potentials. We have to be able to transform the potentials.”

« Reply #452 on: February 09, 2017, 02:52:51 PM »
Like I said, top down do not work.

Why invest at the top when the grassroots is in shambles. We've had decades of observations with the men's team and years of observation with the women's team and yet we continue to purposefully not learn anything.
Here it is stated in no uncertain terms, and I promise we will not take heed.

You cannot have a NP with players who do not know the game.

Our players (both men and women) cannot compete at/in the game, they can only play it.

« Reply #453 on: February 09, 2017, 03:59:28 PM »
another observation she made was that the local players were not fit. “What we can say is that the players are not fit. They need something. If you want to show your ability you have to be fit.”

"Good observation", coach.

« Reply #454 on: February 13, 2017, 04:36:56 PM »
TTFA to host U-17 Women Tryouts on March 4th and 5th.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association will host tryouts for National Under 17 Women selection on Saturday March 4th and Sunday March 5th at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium.

All interested players must register online via this LINK

The closing date for registration is March 1st and all players must register online by 5pm on Wednesday March, 1st, 2017.

Players will not be able to register after 5pm on March 1st and those not registered will not be accepted at the venue on the two days of tryouts.

Director of Women’s Football Carolina Morace and her staff have already conducted screening for the Senior Women and Under 20s and have commenced training sessions with the two squads. These are all part of the programme for the respective national teams for future qualification tournaments and other  international activities.

« Reply #455 on: March 06, 2017, 04:58:20 AM »
TTFA holds Women U-20, U-17 Screening in Tobago on March 11th and 12th.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association will conduct screening sessions in Tobago on Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th of March, 2017 for National Women Under 17 and Under 20 players.

Director of Women’s football Carolina Morace will lead her staff in the sister isle with the sessions carded for Courland Ground, Black Rock. Saturday’s session will run from 4-6pm and from 9-12 midday on Sunday.

Accompanying Morace will be Under 20 head coach Nicola Williams and Under 17 head coach Manuela Tesse along with the rest of the women’s programme staff.

All players are requested to walk with a white T-shirt, black pants and red socks. Players must register online via the link below and registration must be completed by 5pm on Wednesday March 8th, 2017. No player will be accepted on the day of the sessions.

TTFA Online Registration Link

« Reply #456 on: March 06, 2017, 05:00:27 AM »
Tesse begins duty as Under 17 Women’s head coach.
TTFA Media.

Manuela Tesse, another italian women’s coach has begun her duties in the National Women’s football programme as head coach of the Under 17 Women’s Team.

Tesse arrived in the country recently to join Director of Women’s football Carolina Morace and the rest of her staff and her first bit of business involved overseeing tryouts for national under 17 players during a two-day trial at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium training pitch this weekend.

Players were required to register online before turning up at the venue on Saturday evening to be assessed by Tesse and the rest of the staff. Also involved were Morace and assistant coach Nicola Williams who is also the Under 20 head coach.

“I wanted an experience outside of Italy and this is an opportunity to serve. I am thankful for the opportunity and thank you to the TTFA and the President David John-Williams to believe in the programme and Carolina Morace,”Tesse told TTFA Media.

“This weekend we looked at the players 16 and 15 years old and we looked at their technique and coordination and individual tactical awareness. This was the first objective, We have a lot of work to do but we have much potential,” Tesse said.

Tesse was part of the Italian national team at the UEFA Women’s Euro 1997, 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup and UEFA Women’s Euro 2001.

Williams who has been here from the start with Morace said the women’s programme has intensified over the past couple weeks.

“Last week was a very successful week. We had the Under 20s play against the Senior team and we saw a lot of the work done in the practice sessions shown on the field during the game. The senior women team train every day of the week with one day in the gym.  On the other days they have physical preparation and technical where we work on ball possession and non-ball possession,” Williams said.

“The 20s follow a similar model so what is good is that the work we do with the senior team, the methodology we follow and the types of principles we install in our team, we follow that with the under 20s and my assistant, Manuela Tesse follows that at the Under 17 team. We have already seen some players move between the under 20s to the senior team and they are able then to adapt into the same environment,” Williams stated.

Both the Senior and Under 20 Women have separate pools of around thirty home-based players and another ten that are based overseas.

“The buses are set up in Port of Spain for transportation with local connections on the way and they come to Mannie Ramjohn Stadium for training. We also have meals involved. The project is very exciting. There is a lot to do and there is a lot of success that can come with that and so as a coach and as part of the coaching staff it is very rewarding the be here. The culture and with the players and staff… everyone is very receptive,” Williams said.

« Last Edit: March 06, 2017, 05:14:14 AM by Flex »

« Reply #457 on: March 06, 2017, 10:09:33 AM »
I find this wholesome programme totally amazing, and at a loss as to how it can only be afforded now.
add: Again I ask (maybe no one here knows), do we have any understudies operating with this team of coaches ? or we keeping them for life ? or we start a new program when they gone ?
« Last Edit: March 06, 2017, 10:14:27 AM by maxg »

« Reply #458 on: March 06, 2017, 10:58:49 PM »
Very good question... I like this progress

So it seems, build and develop women's football and sabotage men's football lol

« Reply #459 on: March 07, 2017, 01:31:41 PM »

This is one expensive attempt to sabotage men's football, could have been done much easier, quicker and cheaper. I don't think so.
Team Staff
Head Coach – Dennis LAWRENCE (TT)
Assistant Coach – Sulzeer “Sol” CAMPBELL (ENG)
Assistant Coach – Stuart Charles Ferrier (St Lucia)
Coach – Stern JOHN (T&T)
Goalkeeper Coach – Ross RUSSELL (TT)
Fitness Conditioning Coach- Riedoh BURDEN (South Africa)
Team Doctor-Israel DOWLAT (TT)
Football Therapist- Dave ISAAC (TT)
Massage Therapist- Saron JOSEPH (TT)
Sport Scientist – Stephen BRADLEY (Ireland)
Match Analyst- Matthew HAWKES (ENG)
Media Officer – Shaun FUENTES (TT)
Equipment Manager- Michael WILLIAMS (TT)

add: what is more interesting to me, is how we can go from unreliably paying past men and women football staff, and lack of finances for games and tournaments to the present extravagant staff appointments.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2017, 01:36:07 PM by maxg »

« Reply #460 on: March 07, 2017, 01:42:08 PM »
maxg, what does a "football therapist" do that distinguishes him from a "massage therapist"?

« Reply #461 on: March 07, 2017, 02:46:12 PM »
I think the "Football Therapist" = "Sport or Athletic Therapist", specialization in football studies
Responsibilities
A sports therapist may be involved in any or all of the following:

conducting an assessment of the fitness level of players, athletes or participants and advising on exercises prior to an event or fixture;
testing joints for ease and range of movement, pain and dysfunction;
mentally and physically preparing players, athletes and participants before a competition and using strapping, taping and massage techniques where necessary;
providing emergency aid in a sport and exercise environment;
examining and assessing injuries and determining whether the athlete or participant can continue safely with the event or activity;
treating and mobilising injuries to alleviate pain;
rehabilitating injuries by using manual therapy techniques, apparatus and electrotherapy;
designing and monitoring rehabilitation programmes appropriate to the injury and/or sport and level;
deciding whether athletes, players or participants need extra treatments and coordinating referrals to other practitioners;
advising players or athletes on diet and nutrition (when therapists are appropriately trained);
working alone or with coaches, trainers and/or fitness advisers to implement exercise, conditioning, core stability and injury prevention programmes, so that athletes, players or participants reach and maintain peak performance;
liaising with other healthcare professionals in the sports sector and in mainstream medicine.

Ref: https://www.prospects.ac.uk/job-profiles/sports-therapist

what I think therefore is overkill on this team, if finances are an issue, obviously it is not
Coach – Stern JOHN (T&T)
Fitness Conditioning Coach- Riedoh BURDEN (South Africa)
Team Doctor-Israel DOWLAT (TT)
Sport Scientist – Stephen BRADLEY (Ireland)
Match Analyst- Matthew HAWKES (ENG)

especially as since we not going WC yet.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #462 on: March 08, 2017, 06:48:46 AM »

I find this wholesome programme totally amazing, and at a loss as to how it can only be afforded now.
add: Again I ask (maybe no one here knows), do we have any understudies operating with this team of coaches ? or we keeping them for life ? or we start a new program when they gone ?

Morace has already added Joanne Daniels to the staff & to answer your question the long term plan is identify & develop more females with in the program to continue with the curriculum that is set in place by Morace & her entourage. One would hope that if Morace contract is not renewed that the infrastructure  set in place will continue. ( That remains to be seen). There are many current seniors that with the right development and counseling by Morace & her entourage will leave the program from highscool , U15 through to senior in good hands. Personally 2.5 years is a short time as don't forget Morace is heavily involved in her TD duties however if anyone can do it well it is her.She is one of only a handful of women in the world that holds a UEFA PRO License and is a FIFA Instructor for coaching Women’s Football. We are in good hands as long as DJW leaves well enough alone.

Cheers 19

« Reply #463 on: March 08, 2017, 01:50:37 PM »

Morace has already added Joanne Daniels to the staff & to answer your question the long term plan is identify & develop more females with in the program to continue with the curriculum that is set in place by Morace & her entourage. One would hope that if Morace contract is not renewed that the infrastructure  set in place will continue. ( That remains to be seen). There are many current seniors that with the right development and counseling by Morace & her entourage will leave the program from highscool , U15 through to senior in good hands. Personally 2.5 years is a short time as don't forget Morace is heavily involved in her TD duties however if anyone can do it well it is her.She is one of only a handful of women in the world that holds a UEFA PRO License and is a FIFA Instructor for coaching Women’s Football. We are in good hands as long as DJW leaves well enough alone.

Cheers 19
thanks Soccer 19 (yuh mus be 20 by now). Joanne Daniels and a few snrs should be able to know and maintain the program. So no , Shabazz, Charles or Community service fella. Sounds good, now if only we can see the plan to fruition.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8Q52AjNLd0
« Last Edit: March 08, 2017, 02:12:26 PM by maxg »

« Reply #464 on: March 08, 2017, 06:18:43 PM »
WATCH: Take an inside look at one of our Women’s Senior Team’s training sessions.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/aJRGiU0FpJU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/aJRGiU0FpJU</a>

« Reply #465 on: March 09, 2017, 08:49:12 AM »
In the US, the "UK sports therapist" is an athletic trainer. Nevertheless, not convinced that the definition leads us any closer to distinguishing between job titles and actual responsibilities on the NT ... I know trainers who have massage encompassed within their roles. Merely curious.

However, maxg, I disagree with cutting out the staff you would cut. All hands on deck now to make this work? Or not?

How yuh go cut Stern? How yuh go cut de fitness man? etc.

Anyhow, thread hijack in progress.

« Last Edit: March 09, 2017, 08:51:28 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #466 on: March 09, 2017, 02:04:04 PM »
In the US, the "UK sports therapist" is an athletic trainer. Nevertheless, not convinced that the definition leads us any closer to distinguishing between job titles and actual responsibilities on the NT ... I know trainers who have massage encompassed within their roles. Merely curious.

However, maxg, I disagree with cutting out the staff you would cut. All hands on deck now to make this work? Or not?

How yuh go cut Stern? How yuh go cut de fitness man? etc.

Anyhow, thread hijack in progress.

sorry bout that... just to many cooks...the football therapist/athletic trainer, should be able to, and is trained intensively to handle  fitness, and some measure of massage, doh not intensively. Some do take further studies and qualifications. if the National team players are being/expect to be selected and yet coming to camp unfit, then they should NOT be selected. In addition to local club coaches, 4 team coaches, How many coaches really required, It is not an academy, it's a National team, where most training is short term and less required once the plan, tactic and style is established .I think, at this level max 3 is good but not necessary...got to run, swim meet taxi.

« Reply #467 on: March 10, 2017, 04:26:15 AM »
Williams pleased with Women Under-20s progress.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian)

National Women’s Under-20 head coach Nicola Williams said she is pleased with the way the Under-20 players have applied themselves over the past few weeks of training sessions at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium. The coach has been overseeing daily training sessions with the players as they prepare for future Caribbean Football Union World qualifying tournaments.

“The girls have really done well. We have a situation where she under 20 players have been moved into the senior team already and that is a good sign,” Williams said.

“There is a lot of commitment now to the training sessions and that is commendable of the players. There is also good support from the FA towards the programme and there is an understanding of what is necessary for us to do to achieve success.

“They work hard when they are at training. The beginning of a programme is always the hardest because we have to build the physical profile of the players but they are adapting well so far,” Williams added.

The Under-17 Women’s team also commenced training this week under head coach Manuela Tesse following screening sessions the previous weekend. And Carolina Morace is overseeing the preparations of the Senior Women’s team which also trains daily at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

Offline Adam Lake

« Reply #468 on: March 15, 2017, 06:02:36 PM »
T&T Senior Women to host Venezuela on March 26th and 29th.
TTFA Media.

While the Senior Men’s Team is in the midst of World Cup qualifying action, the Women will also be brought into action as the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association has secured two international warm up matches against Venezuela’s Senior Women’s Team on March 26th and March 29th at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. The games will kick off at 4pm and 7pm respectively.

This will be the first pair of international matches for head coach Carolina Morace and her staff since they commenced duties in January.

Morace spoke about the upcoming games prior to Wednesday evening’s training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium training pitch, saying she was grateful to have the opportunity to test  her team against the South Americans.

“It is good to have the opportunity to play two international games at the end of the month and it’s good for the preparation of the team. I have to say thank you to David John Williams because the President has worked hard to have these two matches here,” Morace told TTFA Media.

“It is a test for us and it will be the second time I will have the opportunity to see the players who are based in the United States. We will not be fast because we still are in the early stage of our preparations. We have had some friendly games against the local boys and against the Under 20s and these two games will give us a good opportunity to measure where we are at this point,” the Italian-born added.

“Some of the US-based players will be coming back for the game. I still have not had the chance to see some of them because they are with Colleges and even though they want to come, they are not being released to us as yet and their coaches want to determine when they are able to come but unfortunately I decide when have we to start and finish the camp,” Morace said.

The team is in training up to five days per week.

« Last Edit: March 16, 2017, 12:02:07 PM by Flex »

« Reply #469 on: March 17, 2017, 01:25:51 AM »
Happy for he women's program but why not the men?

The saboteur making sure we get zero quality friendlies to prepare, good tactic and Tallest is going along with it while he's paid by FIFA..

« Reply #470 on: March 20, 2017, 02:01:48 PM »
Senior Men and Women footballers undergo medical screening at Healthnet/Lab Medica.
TTFA Media.

Members of the Senior Men’s and Women’s Team recently underwent a full medical surveillance conducted by the Healthnet and Lab Medica Group, an existing partner of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association.

Players underwent ECG, lung function test, full blood and urine work up for liver function, kidney function and diabetes evaluation; Cancer evaluation and a full doctor’s physical examination including Vision and Hearing screening.

Twenty five senior men’s team players and 15 of the players currently training with the Senior Women’s Team under Carolina Morace took part in the surveillance earlier this month.

CEO of Healthnet and Lab Medica Richard Ramrekha spoke about the ongoing service being offered to the TTFA and its national teams.

“This is an existing partnership that we feel very honoured and privileged to be part of. The physical and health condition of our players is immensely important and we have seen it fit to extend this service to all our national teams and existing national players. We have done this year the beach soccer players, the under 17s and the senior men and women,” Ramrehka said.

“We try to ensure the players are aware of the health state and prevention measures are vital in the life of athletes. Once we discover that any of the players are in need of further treatment, the recommendations are made and we take it from there,” he added.

Senior Women and Men Players undergo medical screening at Healthnet

« Reply #471 on: March 22, 2017, 03:15:33 PM »
Morace says preparations on stream for friendlies versus Venezuela.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s head coach Carolina Morace says her squad is settling into a level of preparation that is conducive to international football and she expects their will be continued improvements in fitness levels and tactical awareness.

The team is currently in a residential camp ahead of Sunday’s International Warm up with the Venezuela Senior Women’s Team at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 4pm.

“First of all here the mood is good because we are in a beautiful hotel and it’s the first time that the players are staying together since we began training. We are doing some team building that helps the players to get to know each other better and they are appreciative of that,” Morace told TTFA Media.

“It’s good to see them all day and all speaking and laughing together. That is a very good thing. I am happy about that because a team actually becomes a team when the players to come everyday to the field with a smile and to want to come to us coaches and enjoy the training. I was a player before so I know how important it is for the player to have a lot of involvement. They play because they play for each other, they are friends in the field and they want to represent the country in the best way possible,” she added.

“The players are looking forward to this match just as a verification to see where they are at in this time to understand and to see where we are at. It’s normal that the players training with us everyday will know better about the movement that I want from them but also the players who are now joining us I can see they are very focused also. It is important that they understand the need for that.

“We are working on timing, on ball possession and how we must play when we have the ball. And in non ball possession we will play zonal. Of course the coaches before may have had a different style. We will try to have strong team in defence when we do not have the ball and then be ready to attack when we are in possession of the ball.”

The Italian-born added that there is continuous efforts on the physical readiness of the players which she expects to improve over time.

“We know that we are not in the best physical condition right now so we have to decide if we have to attack high or whether it’s better in an intermediate way. Our staff is working hard in the camp every day to have the players ready. We are all curious and all excited to play these two games,” Morace said.

Both T&T and Venezuela will meet on Sunday form 4pm and then again on Wednesday March 29th at Ato Boldon Stadium at 7pm. Tickets cost $100 (covered) and $50 (uncovered) and will be available at the venue on gamed.

« Reply #472 on: March 22, 2017, 04:32:37 PM »
Maylee Attin-Johnson and Kennya Cordner were both suspended by manager Jinelle James following issues with the national head coach over the weekend. More on this to follow.

Offline madness

« Reply #473 on: March 22, 2017, 04:59:42 PM »
why these girls got suspended.

« Reply #474 on: March 25, 2017, 03:37:42 PM »
Women face Venezuela at Ato Boldon Stadium.
TTFA Media.

Tasha St Louis will lead the Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s Team as captain when they face Venezuela in the first of two international warm ups at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 4pm on Sunday.

Head Coach Carolina Morace appointed the veteran player to lead the team with defenders Arin King and Karyn Forbes given the role of vice captains.

Morace has been preparing her squad during a residential training camp over the past few days in the build up to the two matches against the South Americans.

“This is my first game in charge of Trinidad and Tobago and of course I am excited just like the rest of my staff. This game will be used to measure where we are as a team. We know that we have worked a a lot physically and now we want to see where are at,” Morace told TTFA Media on Saturday.

“In this camp we have had a chance to bring the local players and US-based players together and set up the professional environment that is required to play in the national team. The last two or three days, the players have focused more on the technical and tactical aspect. I have to say that the atmosphere is great.”

As to what she will be looking for from Sunday’s encounter, Morace  said, “In ball possession, I will focus on the distance of the players in the same unit and the distance in the different units and the timing to take space. What I want to see in non ball possession is whether the player understands the concept of marking and covering.”

St Louis also spoke about the current mood in the camp, describing it as high level.

“The atmosphere now is pretty good. The players are gelling and we are starting to look like a team.” she said. “Both games against Venezuela will be good for us and I am looking forward to having a great impact as an individual and as a captain.

Forbes said she was pleased to be part of the current training camp outside of the normal preparations for a tournament.

“Right now we are involved in a two week camp in preparations for the future and it’s great that we are starting this early because usually in the past we didn’t have this full preparation camp, doing things that will help us achieve our common goal which is making it to France 2019. I am really excited that we have the privilege to come in and do these team building exercises that we have been doing in camp because this is all part of the preparations for moving forward and achieving success,” Forbes said.

King said the team was keen to show their commitment to the program with a solid showing in these two games.

“It feels great to be back with all my sisters. It’s a good atmosphere coming back in, training again and being around everyone, getting that chemistry going again. We’d love to have the support of the fans come out. We are excited to show you where we are with our passion and drive to make it to France,” King said.

Tickets are priced at $100 (adults) and $50 (children) and are available at the game venue on Sunday. Season Pass Holders will gain free access to the match.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Kimika Forbes, Shalette Alexander.

Defenders:

Arin King, Patrice Superville, Anastasia Prescott, Liana Hinds, Lauryn Hutchinson, Chevonne John, Annalis Cummings.

Midfielders:

Dernelle Mascall, Tasha St.Louis, Karyn Forbes, Nia Walcott, Ranae Ward, Ke’die Johnson.

Forwards:

Mariah Shade, Shenelle Henry, Laurelle Theodore.

Coach - Carolina Morace.

St Louis leads T&T women today
« Reply #475 on: March 26, 2017, 10:25:13 AM »
Any more updates on today's game for T&T vs Venezuela at the Ato Boldon Stadium, anyone?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2017, 11:47:27 AM by Socapro »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #476 on: March 26, 2017, 01:57:26 PM »
Any more updates on today's game for T&T vs Venezuela at the Ato Boldon Stadium, anyone?

Live commentary on i95.5 fm
www.i955fm.com

« Reply #477 on: March 26, 2017, 02:54:15 PM »

Live commentary on i95.5 fm
www.i955fm.com

i hearin slows

« Reply #478 on: March 26, 2017, 04:15:48 PM »
FT: Trinidad and Tobago 0 vs Venezuela 0

« Reply #479 on: March 27, 2017, 04:38:01 AM »
T&T Women, Venezuela in goalless draw.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

For the entire first half, Trinidad and Tobago senior women footballers showed only the briefest signs of active preparation, as Venezuela’s young-looking team knitted a series of short passes around the park.

Still, the Carolina Morace era as head of the Trinidad and Tobago women’s football programme began without defeat, as the Women Warriors drew goalless with their South American counterparts yesterday evening in the first of two international friendlies to be played at Ato Boldon Stadium, in Couva.

The restart of T&T women’s football, stalled for three years since narrowly losing a 2015 Women’s World Cup playoff spot to Ecuador 1-0, got off to a lethargic start. The hosts looked very much a work in progress and in much need of match practice, which they will get when the teams meet again from 7p.m. on Wednesday at the same venue.

There was little fluency of play, ball movement, or actual teamwork to T&T’s play, but there was the attempt to play structured football. Defensively, T&T looked solid enough, with the experienced back four of Arin King, later-injured Lauren Hutchinson, Anastasia Prescott and Patrice Superville, restricting the South Americans to mainly shots from distance.

Even a double change at the start of the second half, bringing on Chevonne John in defence and Nia Walcott in midfield, brought little impact to the home team’s performance, despite a very good turnout of fans.

Venezuela keeper Micheel Rengifo was never once tested, although young T&T substitute striker Laurelle Theodore broke away and had a chance to give the home team a winning goal with 10 minutes left. She neither threatened the Venezuelan keeper or goal with an off-target shot.

Most times, Venezuela looked more assured of what they wanted to do. Like when 22-year-old captain Paolo Villamizar bisected T&T markers Dernelle Mascall and Hutchinson, before failing to put a shot on target.

A very dangerous player, the skillful number 10, Villamizar was often the focal point of Venezuela’s attacks. She shot quickly and powerfully, from every angle, but many times having shots blocked or just off-target.
Venezuela, though, were unlucky not to be ahead when Petra Cabrera put Villamizar’s cross onto the crossbar, with T&T goalie Kamika Forbes beaten, 12 minutes into the second half.

T&T TEAM: 1.Kamika Forbes, 20.Lauren Hutchinson (15.Chevonne John 46th), 3.Anastasia Prescott, 5.Arin King, 7.Dernelle Mascall (6.Nia Walcott 46th), 8.Patrice Superville, 9.Mariah Shade, 10.Tasha St Louis (capt), 12.Ranae Ward, (19.Laurelle Theodore 81st), 13.Shanelle Henry, 14.Karyn Forbes.

Unused Subs: 2.Ayanna Russell, 4.Crystal Mollineau, 11.Liana Hinds, 16.Kedie Johnson, 17. Annalis Cummings, 18. Kelsey Henry, 21 Shalette Alexander (GK).