March 28, 2024, 06:22:28 PM

Author Topic: Women Warriors Thread  (Read 129056 times)

Re: Soca Princesses begin qualifying preparation.
« Reply #90 on: April 06, 2014, 10:05:50 PM »
U.S. Soccer Relieves Tom Sermanni of Duties as Head Coach of the U.S. Women's National Team

CHICAGO (April 6, 2014) - U.S. Soccer has announced that Tom Sermanni has been relieved of his duties as head coach of the U.S. Women's National Team, effective immediately.

U.S. Soccer Director of Development Jill Ellis will serve as interim head coach, starting with the USA's next match against China PR on April 10 in San Diego.

"We want to thank Tom for his service over the past year and half, but we felt that we needed to go in a different direction at this time," said U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati. "We will begin looking for a new coach immediately to guide our Women's National Team toward qualifying for the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup."

"I'm disappointed that things didn't work out, but I'd like to thank U.S. Soccer for the opportunity to have coached this team and also the staff and players for all their hard work," said Sermanni.

Ellis previously served as interim head coach for seven matches at the end of 2012, going 5-0-2.

« Reply #91 on: April 06, 2014, 10:37:20 PM »
Raw deal ...

« Reply #92 on: April 07, 2014, 10:21:05 AM »

Ellis previously served as interim head coach for seven matches at the end of 2012, going 5-0-2.

What is the real reason? Were they playing that badly under him?

« Reply #93 on: April 07, 2014, 10:25:25 AM »
The TTFA maybe, just maybe, need to take a  peek at Venezuela program.

Suddenly that Venezuelan offer to play mentioned by AC looks like something to pursue.

I always used to wonder why we don't play when often. Look how often US and Mex play. They are our closest neighbours. Jump in a pirogue and we dey. But with the situation in Caracas with the muslims under detention, I don't think that is possible for now at least.

« Reply #94 on: April 07, 2014, 10:40:54 AM »

Those players have to like yuh. You ever see so much different players play on the team other than in the last year? The US doh want to change they does only say that. Back to boom and run me down.

« Reply #95 on: April 07, 2014, 10:48:43 AM »

Cultural dissonance ... the man was 18-2-4.

http://espn.go.com/espnw/news-commentary/article/10741545/tom-sermanni-dismissed-us-women-soccer-national-team-coach

(looking at Antonietta Collins is like looking at her mother).

« Reply #96 on: April 07, 2014, 03:23:55 PM »
Didn't know that these women were contacted to USsoccer.

Heard Abby is deep in this issue :-\

« Reply #97 on: April 07, 2014, 05:35:31 PM »
Didn't know that these women were contacted to USsoccer.

Yuh mean player contracts? Yeah, man!

« Reply #98 on: April 07, 2014, 07:54:51 PM »
Didn't know that these women were contracted to USsoccer.

Yuh mean player contracts? Yeah, man!

Recieve like US $30000+ a year  ???

« Reply #99 on: April 13, 2014, 02:21:56 AM »
FIFA SENDS WOMEN FOOTBALL CONSULTANT FOR TALKS WITH TTFA
TTFA Website

As part of the continuing efforts to assist Trinidad and Tobago football, FIFA will send one of its women football consultants and instructors to this country on Monday to hold meetings about the development of the local women’s game.

Andrea Rodebaugh will arrive in Port of Spain on Monday and will meet with TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee and General Secretary Sheldon Phillips. During her two-day visit, she will also hold meetings with the T&T Women’s Football League (WOLF) and President of the Women’s football Sharon O’Brien. Rodebaugh is also scheduled to hold discussions with the members of the TTFA Women’s football committee and local national women’s team coaches.

Rodebaugh was part of the team that conducted a CONCACAF Coaching Workshop for women’s football in Costa Rica earlier this month at the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup.

Last Tuesday, FIFA Vice President Jeffrey Webb and FIFA Development Officer Howard McIntosh visited T&T to hold various meetings with TTFA officials and other football stakeholders. McIntosh said the ongoing visits by FIFA consultants was all in relation to the efforts by FIFA to assist football in this country.

“The visit by Ms Rodebaugh, a  FIFA women’s football consultant, is another way of FIFA’s effort to help the TTFA and football in your country,” McIntosh said. 

“Again we have realized that the plans for the development of local football as put forward by President Tim Kee and the General Secretary Phillips shows us that concerted efforts are being made by the TTFA. We know there are major challenges but we must get the work done and we are about offering assistance in the various areas to see how best we can help with the development of the game here, “McIntosh added.

Trinidad and Tobago will host the Women’s Caribbean Finals in August and currently the T&T Senior Women’s Team is preparing for this tournament as they attempt to qualify for the next FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #100 on: April 19, 2014, 04:50:14 PM »
FIFA SENDS WOMEN FOOTBALL CONSULTANT FOR TALKS WITH TTFA
TTFA Website

As part of the continuing efforts to assist Trinidad and Tobago football, FIFA will send one of its women football consultants and instructors to this country on Monday to hold meetings about the development of the local women’s game.

Andrea Rodebaugh will arrive in Port of Spain on Monday and will meet with TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee and General Secretary Sheldon Phillips. During her two-day visit, she will also hold meetings with the T&T Women’s Football League (WOLF) and President of the Women’s football Sharon O’Brien. Rodebaugh is also scheduled to hold discussions with the members of the TTFA Women’s football committee and local national women’s team coaches.

Rodebaugh was part of the team that conducted a CONCACAF Coaching Workshop for women’s football in Costa Rica earlier this month at the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup.

Last Tuesday, FIFA Vice President Jeffrey Webb and FIFA Development Officer Howard McIntosh visited T&T to hold various meetings with TTFA officials and other football stakeholders. McIntosh said the ongoing visits by FIFA consultants was all in relation to the efforts by FIFA to assist football in this country.

“The visit by Ms Rodebaugh, a  FIFA women’s football consultant, is another way of FIFA’s effort to help the TTFA and football in your country,” McIntosh said. 

“Again we have realized that the plans for the development of local football as put forward by President Tim Kee and the General Secretary Phillips shows us that concerted efforts are being made by the TTFA. We know there are major challenges but we must get the work done and we are about offering assistance in the various areas to see how best we can help with the development of the game here, “McIntosh added.

Trinidad and Tobago will host the Women’s Caribbean Finals in August and currently the T&T Senior Women’s Team is preparing for this tournament as they attempt to qualify for the next FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada.

Anyone in the know aware of what transpired with the recent FIFA visit. We are hearing zero about the seniors. There was talk of a Venezuela trip with the men. However nothing concrete has been advised.

Women Warriors Thread
« Reply #101 on: October 06, 2014, 05:19:37 PM »
Introducing the Women Soca Warriors, formerly known as the Soca Princesses.

LIKE their Facebook page.

Re: T&T Women Soca Warriors
« Reply #102 on: October 06, 2014, 05:34:39 PM »
Thank you... the 'Soca Princesses' thing was borderline chauvinistic.  Not too sure about the mask and headdress, kinda stereotyping of Native Americans.  Some of the other elements seem like overkill (and ah not sure about that "steel drum") but definitely a start in the right direction.  The women's program deserve their own brand  :beermug:

« Reply #103 on: October 06, 2014, 08:01:57 PM »

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Soca-Princesses-get-help-278319301.html

Soca Princesses get help

Team to leave for training camp today

Leaving at last. According to a press release by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association yesterday, the national women’s team will leave at three o’clock this afternoon for a training camp in Dallas, United States ahead of the opening CONCACAF Final Round fixture against the United States on October 15.

This departure will come four days after the team’s originally scheduled departure on Saturday.
Seven members of coach Randy Waldrum’s squad of 20 will meet the rest of  the team in Dallas.
Yesterday, the Express reported that the team had been grounded because the TTFA had failed to come up with $40,000 to process visa applications for team members. But according to the release, 10 players and one member of the technical staff were granted their US travel visas.

The TTFA said the Ministry of Sport had provided financial support which will cover costs for the training camp in Dallas which runs until October 13, as well as other allowances and team-related expenses.

Petrotrin, which also provided its Beach Camp facility in Palo Seco for a previous training camp, has also come forward to support the team with the provision of casual wear and $75,000 which assisted in the visa payments for the players.
TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee expressed his gratitude for the support. He told TTFA Media: “I speak on behalf of the TTFA and the local football fraternity in saying how extremely grateful for the unwavering support of the Ministry of Sport, the Sport Company and Petrotrin in ensuring our  national women’s team received the necessary assistance ahead of their qualifying tournament in the United States.”

He added: “There was some unfinished business over the past few days but we are quite pleased to say now that things have been looked after and there is an ongoing process to ensure that the team will have the right conditions heading into the tournament. I want to wish them the very best in what will be an extremely difficult opening match against the United States, a world giant in women’s football but I expect them to give it their best and I am optimistic of the team’s chances in progressing out of the group and into the World Cup.”Coach Waldrum said of his squad that, “I’m really excited about our squad of 20.  I think this group gives us the best opportunity to advance in the CONCACAF tournament at this moment...We have a very good blend of talent, experience, and desire within this squad, and I know they will represent Trinidad and Tobago to the absolute best of their ability.”

« Reply #104 on: October 06, 2014, 08:04:08 PM »
Thank you... the 'Soca Princesses' thing was borderline chauvinistic.  Not too sure about the mask and headdress, kinda stereotyping of Native Americans.  Some of the other elements seem like overkill (and ah not sure about that "steel drum") but definitely a start in the right direction.  The women's program deserve their own brand  :beermug:

I always spoke out against the name " soca princess ".. It's too novelty. Plus the word princess isn't anything to be fearful of. When I hear princess I think of a little girl who needs shelter and pampering. .

A step in the right direction..  But what's up with the native American ??
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 08:06:55 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #105 on: October 06, 2014, 08:49:45 PM »
I always spoke out against the name " soca princess ".. It's too novelty. Plus the word princess isn't anything to be fearful of. When I hear princess I think of a little girl who needs shelter and pampering. .

A step in the right direction..  But what's up with the native American ??

LOL... well after ah read the description, they say she's ah "Amerindian." Nevermind the fact that they weren't known for wearing feathered headdresses... but whatever.  Step in the right direction indeed.

Kudos to the Ministry of Sport, Sport Company and Petrotrin for stepping up, stepping in and helping  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #106 on: October 06, 2014, 09:14:18 PM »
tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #107 on: October 06, 2014, 09:42:16 PM »
Game on!!!

I hope one of dem gyul bus Solo net.

« Reply #108 on: October 06, 2014, 10:04:48 PM »
Why not call dem Soca Warriors and done?

(Ah whole lot going on in that emblem. Maybe too much ambition for one emblem. Laudable still).

« Reply #109 on: October 07, 2014, 01:29:44 PM »
Thank you... the 'Soca Princesses' thing was borderline chauvinistic.  Not too sure about the mask and headdress, kinda stereotyping of Native Americans.  Some of the other elements seem like overkill (and ah not sure about that "steel drum") but definitely a start in the right direction.  The women's program deserve their own brand :beermug:

Ditto. Don't particularly like the logo or the new name, but the idea is good.

Women Warriors Thread
« Reply #110 on: October 30, 2014, 09:57:25 AM »
Women Warriors still owed match fees; no bonus for Kimika Forbes.
Lasana Liburd (wired868).
29 October 2014

The Trinidad and Tobago national senior women’s players are still awaiting outstanding match fees and per diems, which were promised to them for the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship in the United States.

A Ministry of Sport official, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, told Wired868 that roughly $350,000 of its subvention to the football body was meant to go to the players as per diem.

However, none of the money reached the “Women Soca Warriors” although the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) saved on meal expenses during the team’s pre-tournament camp due to donated foodstuff prompted by head coach Randy Waldrum’s appeal for help via Twitter.

Wired868 was also informed that some of the Government’s subvention was re-routed to pay for non-budgeted team costs, which included hotel accommodation and travel for several late additions to the technical staff including former national stand-out Lincoln “Tiger” Phillips, who is the father of Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Sheldon Phillips.

“We were promised $100 US a day but we never got it,” Trinidad and Tobago captain Maylee Attin-Johnson told Wired868. “They told us we will get it before we go to Mexico. It seems that there was some misdirect.”

Narada Wilson, who is the agent for Sweden-based winger Ahkeela Mollon, said the women were owed match fees as well as per diems and, although there has been no uproar within the squad, players have grumbled.

“They were told that they would get US$100 a day and it was 21 days so, from their calculation, they are supposed to get US$2,100 and that is not counting promised match fees,” said Wilson. “The girls are upset about it. But, to be honest, they are feeling worse about the players who are at university and stayed away from school for so long and then left with nothing.

“Everybody shook their hands yesterday (at the VIP reception) and said everything would be settled off today but then nothing. They are hoping they get it before they leave.”

However, Phillips denied that the Government specified any money was due to the players in its subvention.

“Our budgetary request was for $870,000 but we received roughly $650,000,” said Phillips, who stressed that he did not wish to be in conflict with the Ministry of Sport. “The $650,000 did not have line items. To me it was meant for expenses as they came along including hotel and meals and so on.”

CONCACAF paid for meals, accommodation and travel for 20 players and five technical staff members during its competition. The Trinidad and Tobago team had 11 technical staff members.

Randy Waldrum (head coach), Vernetta Flanders (manager), Claire George (equipment manager), Michael Taylor (physiotherapist) and Ben Waldrum (assistant coach) were involved to varying degrees with the women during their Caribbean Cup triumph.

The new additions to the squad were Muhammad Isa (acting technical director), Lincoln Phillips (technical advisor and goalkeeper coach), Wayne Cunningham (head of delegation), Nicholson Paul (cameraman), Dr Margaret Ottley (sport psychologist) and Adam Burns (trainer).

Cunningham, who is also the Eastern Football Association (EFA) president, and Paul are both GISL employees. They did one interview with Waldrum during their trip that was made available to the local media and public through the TTFA’s media channel.

Isa, Phillips, Cunningham, Ottley and Burns are among a list of staff members sent to the Ministry of Sport to receive $50,000 bonuses promised to the team. Only Paul missed out.

Phillips said he had to speak to Flanders before he could divulge how money was spent on the trip.

“I have to have a meeting with the manager to reconcile where and how the money was used so i can give you the breakdown later today,” said Phillips.

After a chat with Flanders, Phillips suggested too that, apart from an inadequate Government budget without a clear directive for line items, a faulty bank card was also partly responsible for the women not receiving their per diems in the United States.

“There was a problem where the manager couldn’t get money from her visa card while in the US,” said Phillips. “We need to find out why the card wasn’t operating. A per diem was budgeted but if the manager cannot get access to the funds she can’t do it.”

Could the TTFA not have wired the money to the women?

“If you wire money, it is a very expensive process and you end up spending hundreds of dollars,” said Phillips. “The card is really the best approach; so you have to find out from the bank what was the problem and why the card wasn’t operating.”

Phillips assured football fans that the women will be paid today.

Waldrum, in a telephone interview with Wired868, also revealed that the money raised from donations in the United States is still in a PayPal account set up for the players. He explained that the money will go to the players but has not been disbursed yet since he is trying to clarify NCAA rules on the matter.

Goalkeeper Kimika Forbes, her younger sister and midfielder Karyn Forbes, defenders Brianna Ryce, Liana Hinds and Rhea Belgrave and attacker Anique Walker are all university students. They can collect the per diem, which are considered living expenses, but none of them can receive match fees or bonus money given to their teammates.

Waldrum hopes that they can get a share of the money raised by Twitter, though.

“We wrote a letter to the NCAA to find out we can do with the money for those six players,” Waldrum told Wired868. “It cannot go to the players or the players’ families so we are trying to find out if we can put it in an account somewhere or if the Government or (TTFA) can hold it for them…

“So the money is still in a PayPal account until we get word from the (TTFA) and NCAA on that. We felt it wasn’t a good idea to give some players their money in front of other players who could not get any.”

The Women Warriors are due to leave tomorrow for a seven day training camp in Mexico City where they will prepare for the first game of their two-legged FIFA Play Off against Ecuador. The Ecuador national team plays its home matches in Quito, which is 2,782 metres above sea level.

The players hope to receive their per diems before then while the US-based players hope to have their stipends sent to them.

Waldrum apologised again for any embarrassment caused by his tweet for financial assistance and thanked the football body and the government for their response since then.

“I never intended to embarrass anybody,” said Waldrum, who confirmed that he is still working without a salary for the TTFA. “I thought as a parent who was trying to take care of his kids. I am extremely happy with the way the Government responded and Sheldon and Mr Tim Kee responded once we got things moving forward.”

He pleaded with football fans not to let any negative feelings for any of the parties involved in their World Cup bid detract from their support for the women.

“I want everybody to know how much I appreciate the support for the team,” said Waldrum. “It is important to get all the people of Trinidad and Tobago to throw all their differences aside and get behind the team.

“With the social media and internet, it is hard to keep the girls from seeing the negative stuff. So I hope even those who don’t support me will support the team and what we are trying to do for Trinidad and Tobago.”

Re: Women Warriors still owed match fees; no bonus for Kimika Forbes.
« Reply #111 on: October 30, 2014, 10:32:02 AM »
Keep up the good work Lasana. We would still be up the friggin' creek right now with Jackula siphoning off every last cent, had it not been for your fearless work, your challenging of authority, zero tolerance for mediocrity and also the work of the brave lawsuit warriors with Sancho, Football supporter and the many other unsung heroes. Hard to believe that Horner and his sick crew are largely silent now. Just remember the amount of vitriol and resentment you get now is proportional to the amount of good work you are doing. Just follow the money and perks. So press on.

Now for the ladies. We love what you all are doing. We appreciate you and thanks Coach Waldrun and  thanks Uncle Tim and Sheldon. The eyes of all the world are coming on us so we have to represent at all levels as fans, players, journalists, coaches, administrators, financiers and those who market the team.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2014, 10:38:02 AM by dreamer »

Offline socalion

« Reply #112 on: October 30, 2014, 11:47:33 AM »
Lasana your objectivity is seriously being brought into question !!   Lasana    are you  serious ..?? 

« Reply #113 on: October 30, 2014, 12:40:03 PM »
Apparently, the girls are refusing to get on the plane to Mexico right now unless they are paid their stipends!!

So I heard !!!

« Reply #114 on: October 30, 2014, 12:47:42 PM »
Lasana? Objective?  The man himself state that when reporting the news he has no obligation to be objective... and some of his sycophants happy with that.  The bias in his articles are at times less subtle than others, but yuh have to guard against it all the same.  For instance:

Phillips said he had to speak to Flanders before he could divulge how money was spent on the trip.

“I have to have a meeting with the manager to reconcile where and how the money was used so i can give you the breakdown later today,” said Phillips.

His use of the word "divulge" (meaning to reveal, disclose, share etc.) implies that Phillips already knows how the money was spent but need to speak with Flanders before he shares that publicly.  Like there is some kinda conspiracy.  Whereas, reading the actual comment from Phillips, it's clear from the context that he means he wasn't there himself and would have to find out from Flanders how money was spent on what.  Also, from the article one cannot tell whether it was only the women who did not get their per diem, or whether everybody was affected.  The truth is that no one has received the per diem because the TTFA still hasn't received all the money the MoS promised them.  Naturally what money was received was used to take care of necessities first (paying for rooms, meals, transportation etc.) rather than paying players their per diem.

Aside from that, there's an undercurrent to his reporting about Lincoln Phillips... as though he just on some kinda freeco thing.  In comments made in response to an earlier article he stated that there were other goalkeeping coaches besides Lincoln, and now making it a point to mention Lincoln's name among those being recommended for a bonus.  You'd swear Sheldon Phillips trying to look out fuh he pops... the way Lasana spinning it.  Reality is that LP wouldn't be on the staff if Waldrum didn't request for him to be there.  Yes him and Lincoln are good friends, but is not like Lincoln is some kinda scrub.  With his coaching acumen I'm sure he'd be an asset to any staff anywhere in the world, and it's no stretch to think that he had a hand in Kamika Forbes' outstanding performance throughout the tournament.

« Reply #115 on: October 30, 2014, 12:50:22 PM »
Apparently, the girls are refusing to get on the plane to Mexico right now unless they are paid their stipends!!

So I heard !!!

You kidding y should they do such a ting.

« Reply #116 on: October 30, 2014, 12:50:56 PM »

So I heard !!!

WHATTT!!!! Like Bravo talk to dem!

« Reply #117 on: October 30, 2014, 12:52:40 PM »
I cant see how this would help...

« Reply #118 on: October 30, 2014, 01:01:53 PM »

So I heard !!!

Say it isn't so!!!! Flashes of the experiences of Togolese, Ghanaian, Cameroonian, Nigerian, and Ivorian teams are coming to mind. Damn, we just had a cricket incident ... smh, if dahis what we boil down to!
« Last Edit: October 30, 2014, 01:04:11 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #119 on: October 30, 2014, 01:04:34 PM »
There was a discussion but all is resolved and the girls are getting on the plane.