March 28, 2024, 01:01:04 PM

Author Topic: Women Warriors Thread  (Read 129029 times)

Re: Women Warriors Thread
« Reply #480 on: March 27, 2017, 05:34:13 AM »
When 3 of your best 4 attack minded players are not part of the mix. I don't expect much attacking wise from our team.

« Reply #481 on: March 29, 2017, 12:44:44 PM »
Build up news?

« Reply #482 on: March 29, 2017, 01:46:41 PM »
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Women Warriors look ahead to second friendly with Venezuela

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/0hOwotQKo6c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/0hOwotQKo6c</a>

« Reply #483 on: March 29, 2017, 04:00:00 PM »
Was the last women's match televised?

« Reply #484 on: March 29, 2017, 09:26:51 PM »
what happen with the match?

« Reply #485 on: March 30, 2017, 05:51:23 AM »
what happen with the match?

Trinidad and Tobago 1-3 Venezuela

« Reply #486 on: March 30, 2017, 07:02:09 AM »
Was the last women's match televised?

In my opinion no international matches playing in T&T should be televised live locally unless the stadium is sold out.

Trinis need to learn to support  their team by attending games and being a proper 12th man!!

Offline madness

« Reply #487 on: March 30, 2017, 11:16:51 AM »
this is crazy to do that

« Reply #488 on: March 31, 2017, 01:37:52 AM »
Venezuela whip T&T women 3-1.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

THE CAPTAIN Paola Villamizar scored the opening goal and also set up striker Milagros Mendoza on either side of half-time, as the Venezuela women's team won the second of two friendly international football matches against the Trinidad and Tobago women 3-1 at Ato Boldon Stadium on Wednesday night.

Women Warriors captain Tasha St Louis converted from the penalty spot to keep her team in the hunt at 2-1, before Mendoza's second goal sealed victory for the visitors.

The game hinged on two brilliant saves by the Oriana Palacios, the outstanding former Venezuelan national U20 team goalkeeper. Palacios twice stopped Warriors captain St Louis. There was a suspicion that the ball had crossed the line, although the Venezuelan keeper showed a clean pair of hands to clutch St Louis' first-half free-kick and in the dying stages, the Venezuela keeper was quick off her line to block a fierce shot when St Louis ran clear to the goal.

Playing for the second time under their new coach, Italian Carolina Morace, hosts Trinidad and Tobago began more positively than in Sunday's 0-0 draw but faded in the second half while the South American visitors maintained good composure and ball possession over 90 minutes.

T&T had the first chance when Shenelle Henry, the 23-year-old T&T winger, was played in by a St Louis pass and forced Palacios into a diving save in the 7th minute.

Twenty-two year-old Villamizar, arguably the best player on the field, gave Venezuela a 1-0 lead in the 22nd-minute with a low chip over T&T keeper Kamika Forbes, from an angle. And from a similar position, 29-year-old Mendoza was unmarked and curled a shot in from the back post to make it 2-0 in the 28th minute.

Trinidad and Tobago were soon back in it at 2-1 on the half hour mark when St Louis converted a penalty, when after initial hesitation, referee Cecile Hinds pointed to the spot following a clear foul in the area.

Erratic and inaccurate several times with her punts out of goal, T&T keeper Forbes was made to work sometimes, as the always shooting Venezuelans laced her goal with a couple of shots from long distance.

Forbes, though, had no chance when both Venezuelans Villamizar and Mendoza sprung the offside trap, with the captain squaring for Mendoza to roll the ball in an open net for the final 3-1 score in the 80th-minute. Venezuela were intelligent enough to keep the ball after and negated all efforts by the home team to force a late comeback.

RELATED NEWS

T&T Women go down 3-1 to Venezuela.
T&T Guardian Reports.

After a goalless draw with Venezuela in the opening game on Sunday last, the T&T Women, under new coach Italian Carolina Morace went down 1-3 to their South American opponents in what was more of a learning experience at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva on Wednesday night.

The women, in only their second competitive game since the inception of the Italian coach and her assistants, thought they had gotten the opening goal when Karyn Forbes fired them ahead but the referee waved off-side.

Instead they went a goal down a few minutes later (23 minute) after captain Paola Villamizar benefitted from a defensive blunder to fire her team in the lead. And they were almost certain of victory when teammate Milagros Mendoza added another just five minutes later, her attempt taking a deflection before beating T&T goalkeeper Kamika Forbes.

But new T&T skipper Tasha St Louis pulled a goal back in the 31st minute from the penalty spot to give her team hope. They battled hard thereafter, but there was no stopping the South Americans from sealing a very comfortable win when Tahicelis Marcano found the net in the 69th minute.

After the match Morace congratulated the local girls, describing their performance as much better than the first game, despite conceding three goals. She promised to work harder to eliminate these errors.\

« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 03:56:03 AM by Flex »

« Reply #489 on: March 31, 2017, 10:13:22 AM »

^^ disappointing result

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #490 on: March 31, 2017, 11:11:38 AM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago Women’s 3-1 loss to Venezuela

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Ef74WWNmQqU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Ef74WWNmQqU</a>
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 11:36:58 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #491 on: March 31, 2017, 11:37:24 AM »
WATCH: Post-match press conference with Head Coach Carolina Morace and midfielder Mariah Shade after Trinidad and Tobago Women’s 3-1 loss to Venezuela

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/5nS8Rbu1lPQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/5nS8Rbu1lPQ</a>

« Reply #492 on: March 31, 2017, 02:52:36 PM »
King: Morace’s detailed approach is good for us.
TTFA Media.

National Women’s Team defender Ain King believes that Carolina Morace’s no-nonsense and detailed approached as head coach is working well for the current squad.

“It’s huge. Usually we will get preparation games maybe few weeks in advance so a year and a bit more is great for us so we can gauge where we are,” King said,

“It’s good (Morace’s approach). It’s a change for us because she is very into details which is great for us. Its just to grasp what she’s coaching and apply it to our style of play,” King added.

She spoke about the efforts being made by the TTFA to push Women’s football development at the moment.

“It’s important in the women’s game that we start from the grassroots level and from young so that the coach’s philosophy is implemented and therefore when the players step into the senior team they already have an idea of what is expected and they can ease their way into the system.”

T&T played two friendlies against Venezuela, drawing 0-0 and losing 3-1.

« Reply #493 on: March 31, 2017, 03:57:04 PM »
Anyone find that we getting a slow leak of "we've never been happier because the 'troublemakers' left the team building" ...?

How is all of this reading as more joyous than The Road to Ecuador?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 04:01:24 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #494 on: April 04, 2017, 01:45:46 AM »
Anyone find that we getting a slow leak of "we've never been happier because the 'troublemakers' left the team building" ...?

Or does a retainer/player contract make one sing a joyful song such that "no one eh gehhin between me, meh $$$ and meh coach"?

A purge by the purse?

Reading the above, we have attained a team harmony that eclipses anything delivered by Waldrum and that surpasses the unity of the $500 debacle.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2017, 01:55:37 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #495 on: April 04, 2017, 02:08:41 AM »
I don't get a sense of "never been happier". Definitely claims that all is well but "never been happier" doesn't quite fit. For me anyways.

« Reply #496 on: April 04, 2017, 03:03:45 AM »
I don't get a sense of "never been happier". Definitely claims that all is well but "never been happier" doesn't quite fit. For me anyways.

Could be. Aside from the excerpts below, I may be imputing inputs not on the thread.

According to Shade “a lot of us don’t have jobs. We have degrees but we dedicate most of our life to football, so now we can feel confident that we can take care of business on the field and then outside we also have something to work with. It is something good for the programme and the future of women’s football.”

Arin King, one of the overseas-based players was also delighted with the new step. “We made history with these retainer contracts. It’s just stability. A lot of people do not know that women have it very hard. In the men’s game they are getting pro contracts and having a foundation with a salary. But sometimes we come to practice on a hungry belly. For the women it’s just great to have that stability and taking the programme to a next level with this,” King said.

St Louis also spoke about the current mood in the camp, describing it as high level.

“The atmosphere now is pretty good. The players are gelling and we are starting to look like a team.” she said. “Both games against Venezuela will be good for us and I am looking forward to having a great impact as an individual and as a captain.

« Reply #497 on: April 04, 2017, 04:50:32 AM »
The first two quotes, from Shade and King, sound more like relief to me. And not relief in terms of bad eggs being removed from the camp. More like finally, a paycheck, ah could begin to see mih way lil bit.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2017, 04:54:07 AM by Mose »

« Reply #498 on: April 04, 2017, 07:09:54 AM »

1.Or does a retainer/player contract make one sing a joyful song such that "no one eh gehhin between me, meh $$$ and meh coach"?

A purge by the purse?

2.Reading the above, we have attained a team harmony that eclipses anything delivered by Waldrum and that surpasses the unity of the $500 debacle.

Mose, ah inartfully conflated two streams of thought ... although each isn't entirely separate from the other.

(1). This is supposedly a time of plenty. Feast versus the famine. Subject to the caution on the topic mentioned by Tallman (if not on this thread, somewhere on the forum). Ah will look for it. This was one sense of "never been happier". Security versus Twitter interventions.

(2). The other is life outside the shadow/dynamics of the traditional skipper ... the force to be reckoned with in the dressing room.

There's a particular quote I thought I read. Will look for it.

« Reply #499 on: April 05, 2017, 12:14:10 PM »
Morace presses on with Women’s team preparations.
TTFA Media.

With just under a week having passed since her two international friendlies in charge of the National Senior Women’s Team, head coach Carolina Morace is planning her upcoming phase of preparations  for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup Qualifiers.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019 is scheduled to take place in June/July 2019. The exact dates are still to be defined in coordination with the LOC France. And the qualification details for CONCACAF and CFU will be revealed in due course.

CONCACAF has three and and a half spots for the World Cup.The inter-confederation play-off will be contested between CONCACAF’s fourth-placed team and CONMEBOL’s third-placed team.

Morace is expected to resume training within the next few days following a short break after the two recent friendlies with Venezuela at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

“The focus this week is to keep going with our physical preparation. We are focusing on the aerobic preparation, aiming to improve the explosive strength and speed of the individual player,” Morace told TTFA Media on Wednesday.

“It’s in the right timing of the preparation now for us to deal with this aspect. We knew we would not be ready at best for the last two games. But for this phase we are now looking to work on it in advance of the qualification.”

“From a tactical stand point, in non ball possession we have to understand better mark and cover and to read the trajectory of the pass. and in ball possession we will focus on the technique because we have made too many mistakes technically in the two matches,” Morace added.

“We had a very good opportunity to assess the ability and the physical readiness of some of the players based in North America and they understand what is required of them while they are away from us. And we will give it our best when it comes to emphasising the work to be done with the local players here in Trinidad and Tobago,” she added.   “In the future we will also aim to see some more of the players that are based outside of the country.”

Meantime, National Under 17 Women’s coach Manuelle Tesse and Joanne Daniel, were accompanied by Technical Director Muhammad Isa at open tryouts for Women’s Under 20 and Under 17 selection at the Dwight Yorke Stadium training pitch on Sunday. Some 48 players were assessed during the session.

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup France 2018 is scheduled to take place in August 2018. And the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup takes place in Uruguay in November/December 2018. CONCACAF has three qualifying spots for each of the Women’s Youth World Cups.

« Reply #500 on: April 12, 2017, 06:21:35 AM »
Maylee playing in de match between the TTFA/FIFA team and the Government/Sportt yesterday but she cah play for she country....  :rotfl:

« Reply #501 on: April 12, 2017, 02:56:01 PM »
Ent!

« Reply #502 on: April 21, 2017, 01:52:50 AM »
Williams says U-20 women adapting well.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National Under-20 Women’s head coach Nicola Williams says that the pool of players currently in training are beginning to adapt to the type of training under the current team management since preparations commenced just under three months ago.

Williams, who is the assistant to Carolina Morace on the Senior Women’s Team, has been overseeing the Under -20 programme as the unit build towards the CONCACAF Final Round of Women Under 20 World Qualification which will be played in T&T in January.

“We are in the final weeks of the pre-season preparation for the team .We have had two matches against the boys team and one against the Venezuela senior women’s team which was very good for us,” Williams said.

“Now we have a commitment with a large squad of players and a routine that is established. We are training frequently and players are beginning to gel on and off the field so we are developing relationships with each other.

“One of our positives is that the players are coachable and adapting to the style of play we want to implement in T&T and we are continuing to build on this We have allowed players who have been in school and in exams to have a break over the Easter and then start back refreshed after the holiday period,” Williams added. Several of the Under 20 players are also involved in the training sessions with the Women’s Senior Team.

« Reply #503 on: April 28, 2017, 01:45:29 AM »
Women’s Team duo enjoying Morace experience.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National senior women’s team duo Patrice Superville and newcomer Ranae Ward says they are both enjoying the intense level of training with the team under head coach Carolina Morace and her assistant Nicola Williams.

Both players were speaking at a recent training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo after returning from a short break following the two warm up matches against Venezuela.

Superville has been a regular member of the squad for some time and was involved in the 2015 World Cup qualifying campaign.

“I think the mood is good in the camp. The training has been intense, it’s been different and we are learning every session,” Supervise said.

“The two games (against Venezuela) I think were tough. We are learning what she is teaching us and we are trying to play her game and I think this has been shown in the games and we will develop in the further games,” she added

Ward meantime made her senior debut against Venezuela.

“I was nervous obviously but as the game continued I got in the groove and I got more confident on the ball. It was a good experience overall. It is a great opportunity to train with one of the best coaches in the world and among the best players in the country so I am embracing this opportunity. It is always a fun environment to be in,” Ward said.

The national team continues to train up to five days per week as they prepare for the France 2019 World Cup qualifying campaign.

« Reply #504 on: May 30, 2017, 11:58:31 AM »
Morace welcomes US-based players into Senior Team Training Programme.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Senior Team head coach Carolina Morace welcomed a few of this country’s United States based players into the national team’s training sessions this month.

And with the pool of players increasing, Morace arranged for a few training matches to be played against local boys teams in order to have her players active in game situations. The current Senior Team players have been training up to three times weekly for the majority of this year so far.

“This month we saw the return of players from the USA during their summer or college break. Therefore we scheduled  matches against the boys teams here in Trinidad to have some local game situations The matches are to get the players into the rhythm of the game and we have seized this opportunity to have them active,” Morace told TTFA Media on Monday after observing the first set of training games last weekend.

Morace said she will be looking at options to balance the playing time of the players throughout the year due to the fact that the Women’s Football League (WOLF) is only for a three-month period.

“The summer period goes until the end of July so we are hoping to be able to see more players and to finish this period with International matches.

“I have seen some new players that now add to the pool of players that are able to be selected and there are more players that I am still waiting to see which is necessary for us to have a better idea of what our best selection can be for international football.

“What is important is the players overseas have to realise what the international level is like and they have to prepare themselves physically to be ready to compete when called to duty,” Morace added.

Some of the US-based players currently back home include Victoria Swift, former Under 20 player Maya Matouk and Jenelle Cunningham among others.

« Reply #505 on: May 30, 2017, 11:46:19 PM »
Ms Morace and her staff reached out to the WOLF league coaches this mth and did a couple informative workshops.
Great insight into the national program and how they are doing things and trying to help the clubs to align themselves with the philosophy that the national team is setting out to do with their training regime

Morace and her asst. were pretty open and willing. Looking forward to more sessions in the future with them

« Reply #506 on: May 31, 2017, 01:40:19 AM »
Well I heard that Elisabetta Bavagnoli and Manuela Tesse quit their jobs.

« Reply #507 on: May 31, 2017, 12:57:39 PM »
Well I heard that Elisabetta Bavagnoli and Manuela Tesse quit their jobs.

Reasons???

« Reply #508 on: June 03, 2017, 01:46:33 AM »
Under-20 Women footballers.
T&T Newsday Reports.

UNITED STATES team Charlotte Eagles cruised to a 3-0 triumph over the Trinidad and Tobago’s Under-20 Women football team in a friendly match, last Tuesday, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

The “Ladies Eagles” are all University students making their second visit in 10 years to TT to engage in various humanitarian activities such as visiting The Cyril Ross home for the HIV kids, St Dominic’s and the St Jude Home for Girls.

The Ladies Eagles also partook in coaching sessions with a number of coaching schools.

TT Under 20 coach Nicola Williams, noted, “I was happy to play the match to compete against other female players.

Despite losing 3-0, I am happy that we showed good organisation and exerted our style of play into the game. We need to work on our aggression to win the ball back and put our opponents under pressure.

“The Charlotte team was older than us and able to win more balls in the air – scoring their first goal from a cross and the last from a corner.

Their pace did trouble us on the wings and they were able to get behind our defence a number of times. Our goalkeeper Rebecca Almondoz was able to make a number of saves.

They were also quick to close us down and although we were able to combine and switch the play to find space in the other side we didn’t do it often enough and lost the ball under pressure.

“We have been playing local boys teams to give the players the weekly rhythm of a match where other countries have players playing in full-time leagues. Next month players will join the WOLF league for competition and I will be able to travel around and watch their performance along with scouting any new talent,” Williams added.

“I hope to finish July with an international match of our age (Under-20) to evaluate how our preparation is tracking. This month has seen some foreign based players return for the summer college break so reintroducing them into the team is very important.”

« Reply #509 on: June 03, 2017, 01:48:23 AM »
U-17 women’s coach quits, returns to Italy; Carolina continues with half her foreign staff
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams restarted the Women’s National Team programme with a bang on 1 February 2017, as he unveiled respected Italian coach Carolina Morace and her foreign aides, Nicola Williams, Elisabetta Bavagnoli and Manuela Tesse, as assistants.

Morace, a former Canada head coach, was enlisted to head the programme and operate as Women’s National Senior Team coach with Williams as her assistant and Under-20 head coach, Tesse as Under-17 coach and Bavagnoli serving as assistant to all three coaches.

Four months on and only Morace and Williams, an Australian, remain though, as Wired868 was reliably informed that Tesse quit her post while it is uncertain whether Bavagnoli ever returned since her first visit to Trinidad. Tesse and Bavagnoli are both Italians.

John-Williams and National Under-17 Team manager Ricarda Nelson could not be reached for comment while the TTFA is yet to issue a release on Tesse’s departure.

Suggestions differ as to why Tesse’s quit the programme although most agreed that she was unenthused by the low-key operation of the youth team, which has no scheduled international games and is supposedly less resourced than the senior set up.

However, the senior Women Soca Warriors have not exactly been buzzing either. Their only two international outings so far ended in a goalless draw and 3-1 loss to a mediocre Venezuelan team while Morace fell out early with former senior team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson, veteran winger Ahkeela Mollon and gifted attacker Kennya “Yaya” Corder as well as equipment manager Steve Fredericks.

Morace’s time in Trinidad and Tobago so far has divided opinion with some hailing her as brave, knowledgeable and no-nonsense while detractors described her as abusive, divisive and dictatorial.

Regardless, the fiery Italian remains and, according to informed sources, has described her will to finish the job in Trinidad as absolute. Her contract with the TTFA takes her up until the France 2019 Women’s World Cup when, hopefully, the Women Warriors will qualify for a FIFA tournament for the first time.

Trinidad and Tobago’s only previous involvement at a Women’s World Cup came as host nation for the 2010 Under-17 tournament.

The senior women continue to train three times a week under Morace, who has widened her pool with an influx of United States-based players who are home on school vacation.

Some of the overseas-based players in the current training squad are: Victoria Swift, Maya Matouk, Jenelle Cunningham, Naomie Guerra, Chevonne John and Khadisha Debesette.

Morace told the TTFA Media that she has scheduled matches with local boys teams to get some playing time for her current squad.

“The matches are to get the players into the rhythm of the game and we have seized this opportunity to have them active,” said Morace. “The summer period goes until the end of July so we are hoping to be able to see more players and to finish this period with International matches.

“I have seen some new players that now add to the pool of players that are able to be selected and there are more players that I am still waiting to see which is necessary for us to have a better idea of what our best selection can be for international football.

“What is important is the players overseas have to realise what the international level is like and they have to prepare themselves physically to be ready to compete when called to duty.”

The 2017 Women’s League of Football (WOLF) competition is due to kick off on 10 June and runs until August. Morace has agreed to release all national players to train twice a day with their respective clubs and to play competitive matches on the weekend.

Once more, TTFA employee Sharon O’Brien will oversee the competition after being returned to the post of women’s football president at last Wednesday’s election but it was a fractious affair. The first vote ended seven-seven between O’Brien and challenger Vernetta Flanders, who was the body’s former general secretary. However, O’Brien prevailed eight-six in a second vote.

The electoral committee compromised of TTFA vice-presidents Ewing Davis and Joanne Salazar as well as Jamiyla Muhammad, which, Flanders suggested, was hardly an independent trio.

As a TTFA employee, O’Brien is, arguably, beholden to Davis and Salazar. And she is believed to have ingratiated herself to president John-Williams—not least by taking his daughter and W Connection boss, Renee John-Williams, to Costa Rica, as the sole Pro League representative to a FIFA TMS workshop, and voting along with the TTFA president to remove former men’s head coach Stephen Hart.

Notably, O’Brien’s first order of business, once re-elected, was to name the third member of the electoral committee, Muhammad, as her new general secretary.

The women’s body had also failed to adhere to article 27.3 of its constitution, which stipulated that all members should receive, among other documents, the Financial Statements and Independent External Auditors’ Report as well as the Budget at least 14 days before the AGM.

Instead, a balance sheet purporting to be a financial statement was issued to clubs on the day of the election with no accompanying independent report.

Flanders, a former Women Warriors team manager, said that, despite her dissatisfaction with the process, she will not contest the election result.