April 26, 2024, 02:07:09 PM

Author Topic: Back in Times - 1975 T&T team  (Read 12436 times)

Back in Times - 1975 T&T team
« on: November 16, 2006, 01:23:04 PM »
This picture was taken just prior to a training session.

Questions:
1. Can you name the players?
2. What do you know about the team?
3. Who were the outstanding players?

Re: Back in Times - 1975 T&T team
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2006, 01:57:35 PM »
gally cummings far left in the carnival 72 jersey?

them was better days in trinidad yes. i was born too late.

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2006, 01:58:52 PM »
Well let's see well first it look like BATA sponsor the kits  :rotfl: :rotfl: just kidding

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2006, 02:00:04 PM »
Russell Texeira middle back row

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2006, 02:09:22 PM »
If it have ah prize...coops go win it for sure

but I have a question..de fellah in de backrow,,in de middle....he wearin ah white shorts

How he look like he's de waterboy & just push up  heself in de photo so

everyting wrong,,he nashy lookin,,he out of uniform, he facin de wrong way,,he afro an all crooked

who he? Whey he come from?..dais reggae fan?

« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2006, 02:10:40 PM »
If it have ah prize...coops go win it for sure
Of course Coops know everybody, dis picture is from his archives  :devil:.

« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2006, 02:16:33 PM »
It will be real advantage if I take part in this quiz!

« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2006, 02:23:10 PM »
Dat man look like cummings ...fuh true ... let meh take ah guess leroy spann in the picture 8)

« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2006, 02:31:47 PM »
coops hungry?

« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2006, 02:36:51 PM »
gally cummings far left in the carnival 72 jersey?

them was better days in trinidad yes. i was born too late.
Dat man look like cummings ...fuh true ... let meh take ah guess leroy spann in the picture 8)
That is Ken Henry the trainer. ;D

Offline goalmember

« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2006, 03:36:10 PM »
Leon Carpette is the tall guy in the middle, back row.  And Steve Khan (I believe, don't quote me on this one) is 3rd from left, front row.

« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2006, 05:01:22 PM »
de man next to carpette is keeper Devinsh Paul(FINEY), selwyn murren(ah think) far left, twinkle toes(ah think) stooping 3rd from right, somebody help meh here, is de man next selwyn a fellah dey used to call "pusher" , standing 3rd from right(raymond moraldo-ah think).....funny thing is dat, some older heads will come on here and name every single man, together wid he nickname.....

« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2006, 05:37:50 PM »
dat kit in a real mess...laaarrrd !!!!!!!!

« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2006, 06:08:40 PM »
dat kit in a real mess...laaarrrd !!!!!!!!

dat is training gears.  lol

seriously doh.  And dat was ah big team breds.

« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2006, 06:14:58 PM »
Russell Texeira middle back row
Dah red man more look like Carpette to me.

De fella wit de mini fro in de back and arms folded look like Leroy Spann

Vidale is de one at de end of de back row wit de couyah mout.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2006, 06:17:56 PM by palos »

« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2006, 06:16:51 PM »
is dat columbus in the back, near the front of the left side just to the right, behind the fella with the fro? it hard to believe it had camera back then  :rotfl:

come on fellas.. name the team for duncy head people like me nah.. ah willing to lun.

« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2006, 06:17:44 PM »
3rd from lef look like Tom "Flick" Phillips and yes True we want yuh tuh advantage we an name de side.

« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2006, 04:06:24 PM »
From left to right back row,Ken Henry,Lawrence Rondon,Tom Phillips,Devonish Paul,Leon Carpette,Ron Laforest,Sydney Augustine,Selwyn Murren,Edgar Vidale.

From Left to right front row,Norris Sorzano,?,Steve Khan,Kenwyn Cooper,Mike Greyson,Milton Archibald.

Missing Russel Tesheira,Sammy Llewelyn,Kendell Walkes,Francis Furlonge,Winston Phillips,Earl Carter etc etc

I'll start you all off with this,take it up from here.

« Reply #18 on: November 20, 2006, 04:26:15 PM »
Coops I know Grayson as ah bowlegged old man with ah big round pot belly.... but dey say how he was fast back in he day....

How fast?

« Reply #19 on: November 20, 2006, 05:19:27 PM »
Where was the photo taken?

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2006, 09:11:59 AM »
Where was the photo taken?
King George V Park.

Coops I know Grayson as ah bowlegged old man with ah big round pot belly.... but dey say how he was fast back in he day....

How fast?
I think he was also a top athlete at the youth level in the country,a athlete that was also good at Football.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2006, 10:59:37 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2006, 10:50:48 AM »
At that time in our Football history we had just lost basically our hole national team,all those guys from the 73 squad got contracts or went abroad,in those days no one was coming back home to play for T&T or clubs was not releasing anybody,this team was all home based players,it did not accomplish much because preparation was inadiquate, not enough exposure to international competition.

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2006, 11:16:15 AM »

How fast?

fast enuff to beat me...but only at 150...I only won the VL at QRC because, I also did High Jump, Long Jump, and when Gray beat me in the 200, ah jump in Shot putt, and Javelin, buh Mike Andrews(tink he in Miami now) buss meh tail in that.. Only one person beat Gray in our Time, Creed of Belmont- Texaco Games- Guyacara park..
Gray trained (by himself) twice a day, before an after school, I never meet such a serious athlete in T&T, especially at that age..We both striked for 2nd 11...and ah gave him ah through pass-50/50 and he get lik up...when the game done, ah apoligizin, an buffin im telling him he shouldna go for dat shit pass ah give him, he just smile as usual...then he ask "Who Win ?" as say "Wham to you man ?"...he ask. "Who we play "...is den we realize the man had a concussion yes...he had played the last 20 mins unconcious... :D...
when I read in the papers(3 wk late, in Canada), he was playing for T&T, from that day I worked on being the best I could be, and dreamed of re-uniting, our strike partnership....If only to give the man a better pass..

Yeah, a bounce him an Carter up in Baltimore Tourney, dis big belly fella hail meh and ask "Who win ?", ah nearly dead yes..

ps: He was one of the top students at QRC as well....l
« Last Edit: November 21, 2006, 11:19:46 AM by maxg »

« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2006, 12:01:20 AM »

How fast?

fast enuff to beat me...but only at 150...I only won the VL at QRC because, I also did High Jump, Long Jump, and when Gray beat me in the 200, ah jump in Shot putt, and Javelin, buh Mike Andrews(tink he in Miami now) buss meh tail in that.. Only one person beat Gray in our Time, Creed of Belmont- Texaco Games- Guyacara park..
Gray trained (by himself) twice a day, before an after school, I never meet such a serious athlete in T&T, especially at that age..We both striked for 2nd 11...and ah gave him ah through pass-50/50 and he get lik up...when the game done, ah apoligizin, an buffin im telling him he shouldna go for dat shit pass ah give him, he just smile as usual...then he ask "Who Win ?" as say "Wham to you man ?"...he ask. "Who we play "...is den we realize the man had a concussion yes...he had played the last 20 mins unconcious... :D...
when I read in the papers(3 wk late, in Canada), he was playing for T&T, from that day I worked on being the best I could be, and dreamed of re-uniting, our strike partnership....If only to give the man a better pass..

Yeah, a bounce him an Carter up in Baltimore Tourney, dis big belly fella hail meh and ask "Who win ?", ah nearly dead yes..

Nice one maxg.
I was in 1st form an gray was the big star for us.
Real real fast.
You remember we had a redman keeper too , ah cyar remember his name but I think he make the national u21 with grayson also who was the captain then ? was it Ferdinand (Curry) ?

Sorry Coop's but is memory lane time. ;D

« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2006, 07:19:00 AM »

How fast?

nice little anecdote maxg

20 mins on a concussion??...allyuh lucky he eh score on he own team

« Reply #25 on: November 12, 2007, 08:54:39 AM »
This picture was taken just prior to a training session.

Questions:
1. Can you name the players?
2. What do you know about the team?
3. Who were the outstanding players?

Coops slipping naming that squad hahahhah

Bottom /Left to Right....... Norris Sazarno  ( Francis/ Naps ) Khan :   Kenwyn Cooper : (The coach of Green Machine Tesca.  Greason )     Archibald Defence Force.
Top /Left to Right..... Ken Henry Trainer:  Lawrance Rondon:  Tom Phillip:  Devenish Paul:   Leon Carpet :  Ron La Forest : Sydney Agustine: Selwyn Maurrin(Cap)

« Reply #26 on: November 12, 2007, 09:28:58 AM »
Andre that is the exact same thing I was thinking....

« Reply #27 on: November 12, 2007, 10:08:20 AM »
lol I only recognise carpette  ...that red man is tears yes he was meh coach at Pville when I was doing A's and he helped out Alvin with giants for a lil while...I remember we had a practice match one time against el dorado who at that time had another boss coach Jap Brown and Jack warner come around and try to shake carpette hand and he refuse and he tell him to move from around he kids how he too bad I didnt even know at that time that he was Jack Warner...lol

« Reply #28 on: November 12, 2007, 11:37:29 AM »
dem years were the BEST
right Archie? ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #29 on: November 12, 2007, 12:05:39 PM »
dem years were the BEST
right Archie? ;)
WEST COAST allyuh real funny yes dread. those were the days. ah guess back then everybody pulled his weight.   :devil:
« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 12:07:19 PM by just cool »