April 30, 2024, 12:35:55 PM

Author Topic: Do u all think we should forget about Jason Scotland?  (Read 4756 times)

Do u all think we should forget about Jason Scotland?
« on: November 17, 2006, 02:38:21 PM »
I am playing devil's advocate here....

What has Scottie tangibly contributed to the senior men's team in the last few years?

He usually comes on as a sub on the left wing...but never really scoring.

Is he an out and out striker or attacking winger?

I find he like Mervin Dillon, big, strong and full of raw talent, energy and power, but does not live up to his potential.

Scottie if u reading this, nothing personal, but we all know u have so so much more to offer man.

On the other side of the coin, Colin Samuel is starting to show signs of waking up...

Re: Do u all think we should forget about Jason Scotland?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2006, 02:44:27 PM »
On the other side of the coin, Colin Samuel is starting to show signs of waking up...

Because he score or because of his overall play?

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2006, 03:01:02 PM »
well scottie unlucky - he is the king of the scottish 2nd division...but with that kind of competition you think he will be given the work out he needs to compete at the highest level?  Is like training for a body building contest lifting only a copybook right thru - possible...but unlikely. 
big up scottie all the same and I know is not his fault, but hopefully he start making some upward moves soon.

well he say he like scotland, so he might be happy with he life - living have a job, etc, and not interested in making himself into a super striker.  so I in no position to talk.

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2006, 03:07:39 PM »
Dig up the  NEW TNT attack: big strong and fast:

C.Glen/ J.Scotland/C.Samuel/K.Jones

« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2006, 03:09:12 PM »
I just want to see some potential turning into productivity. In the modern game you only have but so long to start to deliver.

« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2006, 03:30:57 PM »

Between them they have 120 caps and 24 goals, but it skewed because Glen score 11 of dem. Avg age is 25.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 03:33:18 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2006, 03:35:40 PM »

Between them they have 120 caps and 24 goals, but it skewed because Glen score 11 of dem. Avg age is 25.

Add Hector to the mix and Birchall and Carlos in the midfield.

What are the chances of seeing this groupings at the Digicel Cup?

« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2006, 03:42:37 PM »
Scotland need to leave Scotland and go England.

« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2006, 03:46:50 PM »
I eh go like i wish Scotland could come back for d digicel cup. I think he so important going forward in for the next WC campaign, just the ability to get some more national goals under his belt to give him some more confidence would reap rewards long term.

« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2006, 03:53:27 PM »
Forget about Jason Scotland!!!, why because our team so young and so deep that we could afford to disregard players???

« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2006, 04:03:21 PM »
The unsettling thing is that we do not have any prolific strikers other than Stern; Cornell is the closest. What is also telling is dat Birchall (a defensive midfielder) has almost as many goals (4) as Scotland and Samuel and has more than Jones, Sam and Sealy.

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2006, 04:26:44 PM »
The unsettling thing is that we do not have any prolific strikers other than Stern; Cornell is the closest. What is also telling is dat Birchall (a defensive midfielder) has almost as many goals (4) as Scotland and Samuel and has more than Jones, Sam and Sealy.

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

It so wide open for all ah dem players and even other strikers in the PFL who could knock on the door, any kinda scoring run could secure a permanent striking berth.

« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2006, 04:34:30 PM »

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

Tallman, would it be hard if I ask for minutes played also..since # of caps might be kinda misleading especially if ah man come on in the 80th minute of ah game..cyah really expect him to score much in 10-15 mins of playing time. Respect.

Big up!

« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2006, 05:02:28 PM »

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

Tallman, would it be hard if I ask for minutes played also..since # of caps might be kinda misleading especially if ah man come on in the 80th minute of ah game..cyah really expect him to score much in 10-15 mins of playing time. Respect.

Big up!

Ah cyar give yuh de mins because dey not always available. Ah could give yuh starts vs subs

NameAgeCapsGoalsApps
Cornell Glen
25(12)
Jason Scotland
15(14)
Collin Samuel
15(7)
Kenwyne Jones
19(14)
Hector Sam
9(11)
Scott Sealy
7(11)

« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2006, 05:07:13 PM »
Jason Scotland is amongst the leaders in goals in the Scottish First Division!

We should drop him because he couldnt fit into our system with our coaches? Our coaches, apart from the current and previous one, have been asses. Scotland scores goals, hes a team player. There should always be room for him.

« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2006, 05:11:20 PM »
I hope the under 23's and under 20's  striker step up to the plate

« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2006, 05:12:37 PM »
Forget about caps, forget about minutes played, it really simple yuh know fellas, if yuh doh shoot at goal yuh aint going to score.  When ever I watch our games, I most time have a pad, taking notes on shots at goal.  These guys (individually) most times average less than three shots at goal in an entire game.  If yuh doubting meh, go watch any of the games.  We most times try to walk the ball into the area for a shot.  

Most times the play breaks down prior to a shot on goal.  We all criticize Stern at some time or the other because of the number of opportunities he throw away but it is because he makes an attempt on goal.  The other forwards are afraid of pulling the trigger.

Blessings
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 05:28:44 PM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2006, 05:14:59 PM »
Why Jason?
Get rid of the Wimp.

« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2006, 06:54:28 PM »

We all criticize Stern at some time or the other because of the number of opportunities he throw away but it is because he makes an attempt on goal.  The other forwards are afraid of pulling the trigger.

Blessings

« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2006, 07:49:36 PM »
Well if Jack have his way everybody not only Scotland will be rid of.

« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2006, 09:16:41 PM »

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

Thanks Tallman for this information. It looks like with the exception of Glen, Trinidad do not have any real goal scorers. What is Jones and them real purpose on this team? 19 starts and 2 goals? Say what you want about Stern, he gets the job done.

« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2006, 09:28:13 PM »

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

Thanks Tallman for this information. It looks like with the exception of Glen, Trinidad do not have any real goal scorers. What is Jones and them real purpose on this team? 19 starts and 2 goals? Say what you want about Stern, he gets the job done.

??? ??? ??? Did you forget that theyve been playing for trinidad and tobago and not brazil? Goal scoring has not been our thing for the past 15 years. And thats not on the scorers. So remember that when looking at those numbers.

« Reply #22 on: November 17, 2006, 09:30:43 PM »

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

jones was not a striker all the time you know

« Reply #23 on: November 17, 2006, 09:50:31 PM »
supporter pulin ah arrow on we right??  ???

« Reply #24 on: November 17, 2006, 09:51:44 PM »

NameAgeCapsGoals
Cornell Glen
Jason Scotland
Collin Samuel
Kenwyne Jones
Hector Sam
Scott Sealy

??? ??? ??? Did you forget that theyve been playing for trinidad and tobago and not brazil? Goal scoring has not been our thing for the past 15 years. And thats not on the scorers. So remember that when looking at those numbers.

What nonsense you coming with about Brazil and Trinidad and Tobago? Seriously? A goal scorer is a goal scorer.... Someone who could poison the old onion bag by any means necessary. The kind of teams that we play, these guys stats should be wayyy higher. Anyways, whatever.......

Triniman, I know Jones is not no striker. Exactly my point! I think (or at least hope) he would make a better contribution as a defensive mid or center back. Trinidad have him as a striker to win head balls and hold the ball but have other guys that known for finding the back on the net.