April 28, 2024, 11:10:28 PM

Author Topic: Trinidad from space, new google earth images  (Read 15557 times)

Trinidad from space, new google earth images
« on: November 19, 2006, 01:32:38 AM »
Google Earth has added some hi res pictures of more parts of T&T.

The savannah:

Maracas:

harbour w/ ferry:

oval

the big intersection:

trincity

piarco

San Fernando Hill

high st

Disclaimer: I've only been to Trini once but I think I got all that right.

Re: Trinidad from space, new google earth images
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2006, 07:42:08 AM »
de oval looking ah little different

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2006, 07:46:47 AM »
mooch ass grass see ass   eman.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2006, 07:47:24 AM »
dais de repairs and rennovation they doing to it for the world cup morvant
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2006, 09:07:08 AM »
Thanks e-man  :)
the last time i checked Google, it only had the BP/Amoco complex down Guay.

ah going and see if i could see meh house from Sando Hill now

« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2006, 09:10:38 AM »
dey still eh have arima..lol..sigh...thye have Mount St Benedict though  ;D

Offline fatman

« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2006, 10:25:59 AM »
the reason for the oval loking different is the preparation for the worlcup .renervations are going on and the cycling track has been removed.

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2006, 10:34:22 AM »
In the context of the present smelter debates does any one find this disturbing it clearly demonstrates a deficiency in the present and past administration to implement environmental protection practices. But the beholder see what he want to see.

« Last Edit: November 19, 2006, 05:41:51 PM by trinindian »

« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2006, 11:00:17 AM »

well. for a start, it lookin like a circle...

« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2006, 12:42:47 PM »
dis real good ...

was able to see where ah use to live as a young boy.

Offline Johpants

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2006, 09:48:59 AM »
I living here all my life but I don't recognize the big intersection  ???

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2006, 10:45:38 AM »
I living here all my life but I don't recognize the big intersection  ???
dat is de one by Nestles dat goin south to Sando and north to EWMSC, den west to POS and East to Kay Donna ;D
« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 10:50:53 AM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Johpants

« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2006, 11:48:29 AM »
Excuse me but I not seeing Grand Bazaar nor Nestle.

Offline Johpants

« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2006, 11:51:11 AM »
Okay, maybe I get it now. The picture is taken as if yuh coming up from South in the blimp.

« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2006, 11:57:04 AM »
I ain't shame tur say...but ah lost like hell.
ah doh even know where or wha ah looking at

ah see dey savannah and oval but datz it.
ah cyah believe dat is maracas bay.....where richards ??? ;D
« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 11:59:12 AM by TriniCana »

« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2006, 12:34:19 PM »
i was able to recognize most of those places...i couldnt get meh bearings on high street but i could make out pres in front san fernando hill, pool and all.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2006, 12:58:50 PM »
You guys have to realize that some of these images were taken years ago, some things may have changed since then.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2006, 01:00:11 PM »
You guys have to realize that some of these images were taken years ago, some things may have changed since then.

but de timestamp on de bottom corner say 2006?

« Reply #18 on: November 20, 2006, 01:59:48 PM »
I ain't shame tur say...but ah lost like hell.
ah doh even know where or wha ah looking at

ah see dey savannah and oval but datz it.
ah cyah believe dat is maracas bay.....where richards ??? ;D

Cana ... look .. Moruga from space.

Dat is yuh on de beach wid red pum-pum shorts????

« Reply #19 on: November 20, 2006, 02:01:25 PM »
mya dvice sinc ei been using this for  awhile. i find one place of reference..and then mnove st by st. using yuh memory as you go along.
i started from the airport went all the way to lopinot and then blanchisse..
find mt saint benedict all kinda thing

« Reply #20 on: November 20, 2006, 09:32:51 PM »
eh eh
allya check where Google labelled Tobago ?
they have de "Tobago" label on the NE coast of Greneda :rotfl: :rotfl:
what now, Trinidad in Jamaica :devil: :devil:

and check de big arse wave over by Chacachacare  :o :o :o :o
dat is a ship you see to de left of de wave.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 10:31:43 PM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #21 on: November 20, 2006, 09:58:28 PM »
dah google ting is ah serious macco tool we!......ah jes see ah tick reds in ah red half ah slip takin ah fresh by de stan'pipe.....weeeeeeys!

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2006, 12:01:29 AM »
eh eh

Yeah that's a strange one, that "tobago" should be Ronde Island.

Too bad most of downtown Port of Spain iis under clouds. I was looking for the bank towers, but I think they're covered up.

Offline Swima

« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2006, 02:25:12 PM »
The pics were taken during April/May 2006. If you go to the site you will see the whole area. You can see the excavation of the hill at the beginning of Diego, the track at the Stadium is dug up for when they relaid it for CAC juniors and the first phase of the interchange was being constructed. The Diego highway extension was alsmost complete too.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2010, 08:20:04 AM »

There was some sediment from Orinoco deposited on our Southern Coast that has extended our shoreline.

Check google maps for the pics

« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2010, 08:31:19 AM »
lol.  trini nearly double in size oui!  ;)

« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2010, 10:56:42 AM »
i find my house  :)

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2010, 02:36:31 PM »

There was some sediment from Orinoco deposited on our Southern Coast that has extended our shoreline.

shhhhhh!

Not so loud the Bajans might claim it

« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2010, 04:33:54 PM »
eh eh

Yeah that's a strange one, that "tobago" should be Ronde Island.

Too bad most of downtown Port of Spain iis under clouds. I was looking for the bank towers, but I think they're covered up.

E-Man,
             There are some cays off Greneda, which are part of St, Vincent called the Tobago Cays,

« Reply #29 on: June 28, 2010, 04:42:35 PM »

Prime beachfront property... or space to finally house all dem Chinee and Grenadians, lol