March 28, 2024, 04:38:30 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the Strike Squad vs USA game.  (Read 7814 times)

Thread for the Strike Squad vs USA game.
« on: November 19, 2006, 02:41:43 PM »
USA 1 - 0 Strike Squad

Caliguri score after 45 seconds.

www.i955fm.com

Re: Thread for the Strike Squad vs USA game.
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2006, 02:43:11 PM »

Jones equalize....Faustin hit a shot...Meola parry and Jones score.

Commentators say sun was in Meola eyes   :rotfl:

Offline black chinee

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2006, 02:50:37 PM »
lol.. u real enjoying this game..... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2006, 02:59:44 PM »
Ah cyah wait for the England-TT rematch...nah we eh bong for the Paraguay, the only team that happen to put we in we place and bring we back to the present...well dem nuh big and really white (not ah color but ah position /level/worldly scale), we so want to be like dem (those big boys equals)...Any Haiti rematch in the works ?

while ah feeling sour ? wha bout all the benefits of the WC ? Everybody hear bout we now ! we football lil better orf, we country lil better orf ? We feeling better doh ? And a few fellas get some big money, and some coaches get big money ? and football development, we still looking at seriously, and the problems of crime, health, infrastructure, water, electricity, we are looking at seriously.
But most of all, because of 1989, we seriously must win this game today, otherwise we have to replay dem again. :-\

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2006, 03:07:07 PM »
Aye we got that crazy commentator again  :rotfl: worth listening just for that.

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2006, 03:11:42 PM »
was de score fellas? I now come on here!!

« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2006, 03:12:51 PM »
was de score fellas? I now come on here!!

1 all I believe

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2006, 03:13:36 PM »
confirming

its 1-1

« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2006, 03:16:38 PM »
ah hearing some serious tassa in de back ground...lol
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2006, 03:16:48 PM »
fellas....i looking for a long sleeve white Trinidad football jersey wit the latapy name and number? any help on where i could source 1?

i have a short sleeve red one..but the long sleeve white kit lookin real boss....

soccer.com ent have none... :( :(

« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2006, 03:20:47 PM »
Here's the old tune from the day: "Licks like fire, licks like peas"

Talent alone is not enough
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2006, 03:23:51 PM »
Talent alone is not enough
By: PETER O CONNOR (T&T Newsday)

Sunday, November 19 2006

Seventeen years ago today, Trinidad and Tobago woke up to the dawn of Red Day, in anticipation of booking our place in Italia ’90.

Although we lost on the field that day, it remains a special date in our history and in our memories. Today we have the opportunity to re-live those memories without having to deal with the trauma of the result.

The past week has not given us any joy in sport to sweep aside the painful but proud memories of the Strike Squad and November 19th.

Pakistan’s comfortable Test victory over the West Indies, with a full day to spare, showed again how unstable we are. Flush from finishing second (although the Final exposed our lack of character) in the ICC Champions Trophy, we spoke bravely of “Turning the Corner” — again?

We were confident going to Pakistan, gaining false security from the fact that two of their best bowlers were ineligible to play against us.

But, once again our confidence was misplaced, and yet once again we realised that we had not “turned any corner” and that, at best, our cricket was a roller-coaster ride, soaring today and plummeting tomorrow.

In a very real sense, this is worse than if we were consistently bad. If we were lacking in talent, but committed to improvement, we could look forward one day to turning that elusive corner.

Our tragedy lies in the fact that we are brilliant and exciting sometimes. But then we fail so pathetically — other times. Do we lose our skill, or do we lose our heads, when we collapse?

The answer is clear to all of us and is epitomised in that unfortunate mascot we have created for the Cricket World Cup next year.

“Mello” is cool, laid back, indifferent, and committed to nothing. To win the World Cup, indeed to win at any serious sport, we need to become hard, serious, focused and committed to the task at hand.

There is a huge gap to be bridged, and it has nothing to do with our talent, except to recognise that talent alone is never enough.

Our talent and flamboyance carried us through the late 1970s and ’80s. Then the Australians, followed by others with less talent than ourselves, began to analyse us, and identify our weaknesses.

We just kept coasting along, slowly losing our supremacy through the ’90s, until we now founder around, searching for the “corner” which will take us back to greatness.

We are now watching the twilight years of the last Great Cricketer the Windies has produced — Brian Lara. He arrived on the scene around 1990. Sixteen years later the West Indies have not produced another Great Cricketer.

I started to support West Indies cricket in 1950, with the Windies first tour win in England.

We had “Greats” in the Three Ws, and Ramadhin and Valentine. In the ’50s I saw the emergence of Sobers, Kanhai, and Gibbs, followed by Conrad Hunte, Seymour Nurse, Hall and Griffith in the 1960s.

Through the ’70s and ’80s we saw Haynes and Greenidge, Viv and Ritchie, Derek Murray and Dujon, Mr Clive Lloyd, and of course that constant stream of super pace bowlers — Roberts, Holding, Garner, Croft, Marshall, Ambrose, and Walsh.

In the 1990s, and early ’90s at that, we saw Brian Lara, and that was the end. For five decades, from the ’40s through the ’80s, we produced several of the world’s best cricketers of their era.

Today, only Lara can be considered among the world’s best, and not for long.

Yes, I know we are quick to acclaim some new “Great” on the basis of five wickets or a century, but these people cannot sustain their performances, and will never be great.

But how can we expect greatness from young athletes who come from a society which is laid back, non-competitive, and which still views sport as “fun,” but still wants us to win against serious competitors?

When their talent is not matched by commitment or character, we must recognise that they come from where we come, and there is no example set for them to rise beyond their natural talent.

Clearly, our mission is to find the formula to instill character, commitment and pride in our athletes, and who knows, we may eventually see these virtues instilled in ourselves and our leaders.

And following on the disappointment of the cricket, we had to endure a 1-4 football loss to Austria on Wednesday.

Coach Rijsenbergen spoke of the lack of character in our performance. I thought that barring three major defence blunders — the first three goals — we did not look as bad as the score suggests. A relatively untested back four, missing Avery John, Brent Sancho and the versatile Silvio Spann, seemed to be our problem. I have certainly not lost heart. We now move on to work more with our locally-based players, as the overseas pros will not be available for the CFU Digicel Cup which we host in January. They will be used in the CONCACAF Gold Cup next July, so Wim has to do some juggling and blending over the next few months, and I am sure this will be for our long-term benefit.

My ongoing hope is that we are able to organise some meaningful competition for all of our teams before they have to compete in their respective competitions.

We read with disappointment of the late departure of our Lady Warriors, and the fact that they will have no acclimatisation and training time before they play qualifiers against really prepared teams.

This disappointment comes as a result of no funding, and regrettably, we are going to see many more disappointments, as our football benefactor, Jack Warner, has announced that he will no longer be funding our football.

We wait to see who, if anyone, will pick up Jack’s burden.

But, for today, get down to the Hasely Crawford Stadium, to relive the memory, but not the pain, of a campaign that made us all so proud.

Go out today and enjoy the Strike Squad in all their glory.

« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2006, 03:30:23 PM »
He mention the site dey

« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2006, 03:49:58 PM »
commentators real makin me laff here yes

Offline black chinee

« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2006, 03:50:53 PM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: de commentator like he real ketch it..lol... he real excited and de odder men real subdued.... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

ANYWORD ON SOCA PRINCESS GAME?
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2006, 03:51:27 PM »
what time de game starting and any one going or knwo somewhere we coudl follow de scores?
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2006, 03:51:44 PM »
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL
trinidad up 2-1

Offline black chinee

« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2006, 03:51:57 PM »
Trinidad 2 USA 1... Leonson Lewis

Re: ANYWORD ON SOCA PRINCESS GAME?
« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2006, 03:53:01 PM »
what time de game starting and any one going or knwo somewhere we coudl follow de scores?

The game starts 7:30pm eastern. Haven't found any info on live updates, streams, etc.

« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2006, 03:55:15 PM »
:rotfl: :rotfl: de commentator like he real ketch it..lol... he real excited and de odder men real subdued.... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
lord fadda this man worse than dem spanish commentators..lmao....
h real hyper..he go give poeple heart attack  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline black chinee

« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2006, 03:55:43 PM »
GOOOOOOALLLLLLLLL Nixon Trini 3 USA 1

« Reply #21 on: November 19, 2006, 03:56:21 PM »
better we send de strike squad to play against jamacia  ;D

« Reply #22 on: November 19, 2006, 03:56:46 PM »
this commentator go have no voice tomorro yes....

« Reply #23 on: November 19, 2006, 03:57:18 PM »
Revenge in they mudda tuny  :wavetowel: ,Italy here we come  :-\ This is how we senior should score !!

Offline black chinee

« Reply #24 on: November 19, 2006, 03:57:42 PM »
lord fadda this man worse than dem spanish commentators..lmao....
h real hyper..he go give poeple heart attack  Rolling on the floor laughing Rolling on the floor laughing

Man dem men keep making me think something happening...lol... den is nutting... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #25 on: November 19, 2006, 04:01:36 PM »
he learn he commentating..from calling horse race..
"and down the streatch they come"
andre is real kicks man  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline black chinee

« Reply #26 on: November 19, 2006, 04:04:45 PM »
he learn he commentating..from calling horse race..
"and down the streatch they come"
andre is real kicks man  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Man he is real jones yes...hahahahahaha man I trying to do something here and keep running by de comp when he shout... but ah stop dat now..lol

Offline black chinee

« Reply #27 on: November 19, 2006, 04:09:53 PM »
Like de ole man Spann real doing it boi...lol... woudda like to see this game juss to see dem ole boys do dey thing...lol

« Reply #28 on: November 19, 2006, 04:11:33 PM »
i wanna see de game..... >:(

« Reply #29 on: November 19, 2006, 04:12:29 PM »
I char beleive we beating without yorke coming een at the half .