April 18, 2024, 02:07:11 AM

Author Topic: 'Pres' shock defending champs 'Naps' 2-1.  (Read 9984 times)

'Pres' shock defending champs 'Naps' 2-1.
« on: November 20, 2006, 04:05:45 PM »
'Pres' shock defending champs 'Naps' 2-1.
...Pres take RBTT South Zone Intercol Title.
By: Justin Henry (Schoolsoccernet).

Presentation College defeated their famous rivals Naparima College in the RBTT South Zone Intercol Final by 2-1 at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium on Monday in what was arguably the most entertaining final of the Intercol Competition thus far. The newly promoted Presentation College’s dream season continues after finishing runners up to Naparima in the League, and it’s possible that not even the most passionate ‘Pres’ fan would have predicted their team lifting the RBTT Intercol South Zone Trophy. Presentation will now face Carapichaima Senior Comprehensive in the quarter finals of the National Intercol Competition, while Naparima College will square off against Carapichaima.
Naparima headed into the game as clear favorites and clearly dominated the first half. Presentation were on the back foot for long periods as Naparima continued to cause nightmares for the ‘Pres’ defense, creating opportunity after opportunity. Naparima had at least four or five excellent scoring chances in the first half but just simply could not apply that finishing touch. The fact that the boys in yellow were still in the game was largely due to the Presentation goalkeeper Akile Adams, who had an incredible night in goal denying League Champions, Naparima, time and time again. At halftime the score was still 0-0 and Naparima and their fans would have felt that the score-line did not do their team justice.
Both teams began the second half eagerly with Naparima still having the better of the exchange between the two teams but still unable to convert their efforts into goals and finish off the opposition. As long as things continued this way, Presentation was always in with a chance to snatch victory and that is exactly what happened. In the 66th minute Stephon Campbell was played into the ‘Naps’ goal area and hit a low and powerful shot that Curtis Julien got his hand to, but was unable to keep out, giving the underdogs the surprise lead against the run of play. Going a goal up clearly relaxed the Presentation players and they were able to begin playing a much better game, despite the unrelenting pressure from the Naparima players desperately in search of an equalizer.
Just minutes after the goal, Derwyn Lee was gifted with an opportunity to double his team’s advantage and potentially seal the title but the substitute misfired leaving his team to protect their slim advantage. ‘Naps’ continued to press forward and again Adams was called into action, but he looked unbeatable between the Presentation sticks as he denied each opportunity the Naparima team created. In the 85th minute, the ever dangerous Derwyn Lee won Presentation a free kick in a dangerous area which Campbell stepped up to take. He unleashed a rocket that flew straight into the top left corner of the goal, this time leaving Julien rooted to the floor unable move and giving ‘Pres’ that precious second goal and the necessary safety cushion to ride out the end of the game.
Credit must be given to the Naparima team who never gave up and continued to make life difficult for their opponents. Some good pressure finally yielded a goal in the 88th minute when Nigel Wright, feigned a shot that caught the Presentation defense, and slid a beautiful pass to Jayson Joseph who made no mistake as he put the ball into the back of the net. Substitute, Shannon Winchester, proved quite a handful for the Presentation defense and had a controversial penalty decision not go his way, when he was brought down in the penalty box after a dangerous looking attack in the 90th minute. Deep in stoppage time, Naparima again came close when Sherrick Hilaire whipped in a free kick that found an open Keston Smith who had the simplest of jobs to just head the ball into the net, but somehow managed to direct his header off target, which just about summed up the Naparima night.
At the blast of the final whistle, the Presentation team and supporters ran towards the top of the uncovered stands where they celebrated and said a moment of pray in thanksgiving.
‘Pres’ Head Coach Brian John sang praises for his goalkeeper whom he though kept his team in the game in the first half.
“We made some tactical adjustments in the second half which allowed Stephon Campbell to be able to push forward some more…and we all saw the end result.”
When asked to comment on the game winning freekick, Coach John simply stated, “Stephon is our deadball specialist, and you can see why.”
Coach John seems vindicated in his team selection which had caused quite a stir in the Presentation fraternity. “I just told the guys to keep your eye on the ball, focus and forget everything negative around you. Simply begin to believe that you can do it and you will!”
John did have some parting words for all his detractors, “In my first stint as Coach for QRC years ago, we won the North Zone Intercol Title. This is my first stint as Presentation Coach and we have won the South Zone Intercol Title. For those concerned, I will let my record speak for itself.”

And so the Presentation dream continues….

Click on this link to see pictures of this dramatic final.

Source Courtesy: Schoolsoccernet.Com
« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 09:11:45 PM by Flex »

Re: Sorry Naps....is Pres year!
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2006, 04:08:46 PM »
Congrats.  Pres out of the doldrums now.  South Zone is real competitive boy.

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2006, 04:09:57 PM »
i honestly think the south is de most competitive zone this year...pres, naps and ptown..

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2006, 04:36:16 PM »
2-1 to Pres!!!
South Intercol CHamps!!!!!
Well done fellas!!!!
Put steph on suicide watch please  ;D

Put ndookie on watch as well..make sure he eh buy no antifreeze.

NYtriniwhiteboy..do you know if lee, spears, als and de other banned players played in that game?

It is about time..1st intercol win since 1993....

well done for a team with a lot of internal problems.

Offline noname

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2006, 04:43:41 PM »
2-1 to Pres!!!
South Intercol CHamps!!!!!
Well done fellas!!!!
Put steph on suicide watch please  ;D

Put ndookie on watch as well..make sure he eh buy no antifreeze.

NYtriniwhiteboy..do you know if lee, spears, als and de other banned players played in that game?

It is about time..1st intercol win since 1993....

well done for a team with a lot of internal problems.

Best news in a while...congrats fellaz...

« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2006, 04:50:12 PM »
unfortunately i heard from als brother that he did not play...i not sure bout lee...as far as i knew lee was injured but attempting to come back for the game...don't kno if he did

« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2006, 05:17:56 PM »
Oh Lady of Presentation,
For us we bid thee pray, thee pray;
That college days may be of worth,
While we our time abide on Earth,
And trials face each day.

As students of Presentation,
We pledge to ever be, to be;
Brave soldiers in the bitter strife,
For self assertion in this life,
And men of dignity.

It matters little where we go,
In the years that lie ahead, ahead.
The knowledge which we here acquire,
Shall help our nation to aspire,
For we are men sincere.

Majestic on its verdant Hill,
Our school o'er looks the sea, the sea.
It stands a monument to those,
Who all their lives to serve it chose,
And it fore'er may be.

« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2006, 05:37:56 PM »
Ditto.

« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2006, 05:42:54 PM »
Bout time.

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2006, 05:48:15 PM »
http://prescoll.edu.tt/hymn.mp3

And men of dignity.

Congrats to the men on coffee street!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 05:53:40 PM by marcus »

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2006, 06:34:27 PM »
 The best team does always win intercol...intercol is where the football is do or die....Well done Pres!!!! Hard Luck naps :'(

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2006, 06:51:57 PM »
Congrats Pres. Hope u all go all the way

« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2006, 06:58:06 PM »
Steups
I hear we decided to rest man up early for next season early nah plus CXC right round de corner plus the cricketers on the football team had to start net practice and thing..like allyuh forget cricket season starting in January or what?  ;D

anyway Congrats Pres..just rest it on Fatima for de south folks  :beermug:
Dookie and Steph..this was a fluke  ;)

grumbles to myself: "Pack ah bullshit, ah sure dey bribe de referee"

« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2006, 08:49:07 PM »
well done fellas. is about time we put one over on naps.  true, it was an underdog win but hey, goals win matches!
« Last Edit: November 21, 2006, 10:21:49 AM by fari »

« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2006, 09:05:15 PM »
Lawd have mercy. Look at talk I going and take.
Ah well next year  for sure.

« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2006, 12:23:07 AM »
Oh Lady of Presentation,

And men of dignity.

For we are men sincere.

And it fore'er may be.
Big tune.

I wonder if any other school have one as great as this one.

Offline Oz

Re: 'Pres' shock defending champs 'Naps' 2-1.
« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2006, 04:57:38 AM »
Actually I am not shocked by the result.  I was in TT for the Turton-Osborne Classic and during that game Pres gave Naps a run for their money.  Naps is a solid team...and have been for the past few years, but this crop of Pres men exude the Presentation spirit in a manner that I have not seen in some time.  They demonstrate belief, commitment and passion on the field of play, and to do this in spite of alleged internal wranglings makes this victory even more satisfying.  Playing with pride and passion regardless of the result is good enough in its own right, but to combine this with victory as the underdogs is a glorious thing.  As Presmen let us not forget the second verse of the Pres Hymn (men of dignity) and commend Naps for an honourable fight.  Our annual rivalry continues to bring out the best of what the SSFL is all about.  Lessons learned in defeat could be of greater value to young men advancing onto the stage of life, if put in the proper perspective.

Congrats to the Presentation Team, Coaches and to all Presmen!!!

To the Team:  Savour the victory for a little while, but focus on the next stage of competition as quickly as possible.  Go in to the game with the mindset of underdogs and do what you do best while on the field (Hint:  imagine is Naps yuh playin again)

GO

« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2006, 05:51:51 AM »
but wait allyuh cayying on like Pres blow out Naps lol
allyuh score with 2 goal against the run ah play according to the newspapers yes lol

so Naps still in the National quarterfinals according to an article i read?
if so thats why we give allyuh the match, so we could get the easier game against Carapichima  ;D
we still taking National title though  :P

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2006, 06:45:34 AM »
but wait allyuh cayying on like Pres blow out Naps lol
allyuh score with 2 goal against the run ah play according to the newspapers yes lol

so Naps still in the National quarterfinals according to an article i read?
if so thats why we give allyuh the match, so we could get the easier game against Carapichima  ;D
we still taking National title though  :P

Tell dem Feliziano...A win is a win...Congrats pres....but de big title still up fuh grabs eh....National Intercol...i kinda hoping we meet alyuh in de semis too...

and yeh,.,south zone is by far the most competitive...

Naps all de wayyyyyyyyyyyy

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2006, 06:49:49 AM »
dookie..doh study it..i know dem have braggin rites this morning ..and de lil farm on coffee street musse be in all celebrations..but de big title still up for grabs...i call it tactical football...opportunity costs and tradeoffs....

Naps all de way!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Oz

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2006, 08:10:38 AM »
Feliziano,  As underdogs any victory is a sweet one brudder.  Did not realize that the teams may meet again....so soon....and you are right, Naps actually has the easier national quarter-final game.  Should be interesting. 

I do not agree with the logic of the draw though.  Teams from the same zone should be on opposite sides of the draw.  The fix would be Naps and Mucurapo switching places.  Thus the losing zonal finalists would all travel (further) away from 'home'; teams from the same zone could only meet again in the final (currently this only occurs for the east zone); and if that does in fact happen, then its true survival of the fittest...you have a better guage of relative zonal strength (not that it really matters anyway). 

« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2006, 09:06:18 AM »
Steups
I hear we decided to rest man up early for next season early nah plus CXC right round de corner plus the cricketers on the football team had to start net practice and thing..like allyuh forget cricket season starting in January or what?  ;D

oh gosh..take yuh licks..when we get 4 we eh harp on de fact that about 5 starters were not playing..we take we licks...say congrats and call it ah day...excuse about cricket, cxc,next time allyuh go say the ref went pres or de Naps team eat some bad aloo pie so that is the reason allyuh lose de game... ;D
« Last Edit: November 21, 2006, 11:00:07 AM by real madness »

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2006, 09:55:01 AM »
Presentation will now face Carapichaima Senior Comprehensive in the quarter finals of the National Intercol Competition, while Naparima College will square off against Carapichaima.

Carapichaima mus be REAL GOOD sah.  Dem have 2 team in de National quarter finals. ???

« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2006, 10:37:08 AM »
Oh Lady of Presentation,

And men of dignity.

For we are men sincere.

And it fore'er may be.

Brings a tear to mih eye..  :'(

Congrats fellas!!

« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2006, 11:01:00 AM »
Oh Lady of Presentation,

And men of dignity.

For we are men sincere.

And it fore'er may be.
Big tune.

I wonder if any other school have one as great as this one.

nah boy..that is ah big tune.

« Reply #25 on: November 21, 2006, 11:05:21 AM »
Trinidad Express

Adams saves the day for Pres

InterCol success at last for Presentation

Mervyn Stewart

Tuesday, November 21st 2006

A Stephan Campbell double (68th and 84th) gave Presentation College a sweet 2-1 triumph over Naparima College in the South Zone RBTT InterCol final at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium yesterday.

In a game in which they absorbed loads of pressure, the Pres boys, thanks mainly to the outstanding work of goalkeeper Akini Adams, weathered the storm to snatch the zonal title away from their arch-rivals. The victory was Presentation's first in the competition since 1993.

In a goalless first half, "Naps" completely dominated proceedings but failed to find the net on at least four occasions.

Anthony Parris missed a simple header in the fifth minute; skipper Sherrick Hilaire's freekick from 18 metres out rebounded off the underside of the cross bar; and, in the 42nd, scorer Nigel Wright had his shot brilliantly saved by Adams and a minutes before the interval, Jayson Joseph completely missed Hilaire's left-side cross when just two metres from the goalline.

And in stoppage time at the end of the first half, Adams again came to Pres' rescue with the save of the match when he snatched the ball off Wright's head with the goal beckoning.

In the second period, the 57th minute, the tall Adams was performing heroics again when he stopped a powerful Wright header.

Naps had yet another gilt-edged chance to take the lead six minutes later. But Keston Smith's header hit the left upright from a Dinakah Jimdar left-side cross, with Adams for once a hapless spectator.

But eventually and against the run of play, Presentation sprung a surprise. Campbell's well directed shot from 12 metres out beat goalkeeper Curtis Julien into the vee to his left, following a cross by Anton Pierre. A minute later, Pres could have increased their lead. But Neshav Gookool mistimed his shot from just eight metres out.

The game hung by the thin thread of Campell's goal up until the 84th minute when he himself unleashed a thunderous left-footed free-kick from about 30 metres out, which, at a height of no more than two metres off the ground, zoomed past Julien in the Naps goal. It was the stake through the heart of the Naparima title defence.

Pres will now go on to the national quarter-finals where they will meet East Zone runners-up San Juan Senior Comprehensive from 3.20 pm in the first match of a Manny Ramjohn double-header.

In the second game from 5.30, Naparima will attempt to redeem themselves against Central Zone winners Carapichaima Senior Comprehensive.

P.S. It look like Naps have only themselves to blame and Akini Adams...but at the end of the day..goals win matches.

« Reply #26 on: November 21, 2006, 11:24:03 AM »
thing like this is happen in football.

if northern ireland could beat england and cyprus could tie germany, then on their day pres could beat naps.

still a fluke though.

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2006, 11:36:20 AM »
thing like this is happen in football.

if northern ireland could beat england and cyprus could tie germany, then on their day pres could beat naps.

still a fluke though.

aye de one time dem pres men could get to talk big and post and make fun...let dem do it...we know de better team and who run things in south...not jus this year but for the last few years...

as me padna in de quote say....i doh htink i have to read and spell de facts....de National Intercol trophy still up fuh grabs....

Naps all de way....

Offline swood

« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2006, 03:28:28 PM »
Agreed, the zonal  pairings does not make the most sense, but it will just mean that Naps and Pres can meet again sooner than later....

Anyone check out the Presentation free kick.. WOW!! :o

http://www.schoolsoccernet.com/downloads/intercol/presnaps/pres_goal2.wmv

« Reply #29 on: November 21, 2006, 06:56:46 PM »
Steups

Was it you did ask who could beat Naps?  ;D