April 27, 2024, 04:26:17 AM

Author Topic: Back in Times - Defence Force (1980s)  (Read 6595 times)

Back in Times - Defence Force (1980s)
« on: November 20, 2006, 05:35:43 PM »
This squad has 8 ex-national team members and it won the CONCACAF Club Championship in 1985.

Can you name the players?

Offline royalian

Re: Back in Times - Defence Force (1980s)
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2006, 05:50:56 PM »
Nevick Denoon is one i recognize

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2006, 06:21:58 PM »
Ah tink daz Cedus 2nd from right (if yuh doin like me and scrollin leff to right on de photo facin yuh).

Ah guessin Len La 5th from right

Nevick De Noon de big forehead man near de centre a de pic

Ron La 5th from left???

Ah sure Coops dey but cyah mek he out...he might be nex to Cedus wit he head down in de track top

Coops...help meh out dey nah... ;D

« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 06:26:31 PM by palos »

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2006, 07:11:03 PM »
i remember seeing Police play in Skinner Park against Colo Colo
wasn't that the game where Police was 1 win away from representing the Americas in the World Club Championship in Japan?

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2006, 07:30:10 PM »
5th from left might be Bert Neptune,
Len Laforest is 5th from right and Cooper is 3rd from right

« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2006, 07:45:32 PM »
Those I recognised are: Balfour, Berta, denoon, Arab, Murrell, Len La, Maxi, Sam Phillips, Coops, Fernandes
« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 07:50:32 PM by doc »

« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2006, 08:43:46 PM »
Those I recognised are: Balfour, Berta, denoon, Arab, Murrell, Len La, Maxi, Sam Phillips, Coops, Fernandes

coops looking real big in dat picture boy

Look at berta and Balfour...ah real blast from de past boy.

I remember ah goal coops score from ah free kick ...way dat goal was world class....!

« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2006, 08:58:39 PM »
This squad has 8 ex-national team members and it won the CONCACAF Club Championship in 1985.

Tallman, this team is froom the late 70's.

« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2006, 09:08:32 PM »
I cannot make out one player on this side

« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2006, 10:09:34 PM »
I cannot make out one player on this side

dat is becasue yuh:

1.  Too young
2.  new to T&T football
3.  is ah waggonist
4. and most importantly..yuh is ah canadian!

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2006, 10:23:34 PM »
defence force won 18 national championships in T&T and de only club from T&T to ever win de concacaf champion cup.

dem was de best club side ever from T&T!

I remember in 1981 Defence Force rest 5 on Memphis to win everything.
in 1985 dey bus trintoc ass after it went to penalties de game did end 1-1  dat was ah borse game...ent coops/

altho in 86 trinitoc take revenge and win it all.

As far as de champions cup goes I think D force win it once and were losing finalists twice in de 80's..if I am not mistaken

Offline black chinee

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2006, 10:58:19 PM »
lol... yuh aint easy nah true trini.... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2006, 07:05:59 AM »

Tallman, this team is from the late 70's.

Ah go leave dat for you and Coops. Dais he picture and dais what  he tell meh ;D.

« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2006, 07:32:04 AM »
defence force won 18 national championships in T&T and de only club from T&T to ever win de concacaf champion cup.

in 1985 dey bus trintoc ass after it went to penalties de game did end 1-1  dat was ah borse game...ent coops/

As far as de champions cup goes I think D force win it once and were losing finalists twice in de 80's..if I am not mistaken

Police also won the Concacaf Championships, inthe early 90s.

« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2006, 08:03:01 AM »

Actually what happened was the the teams could not agree on a date to meet for the CONCACAF Championship and they decided to share the trophy.

That was a hell of a team, most teams in T&T get plenty licks from dem. The picture is not the best but I can make out most of whom were mentioned. I thought Francis Furlong and Milton Archibal were on that squad but I really can't make them out. Furlong may be the maga man in the line  ;D

Offline legal alien

« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2006, 08:10:53 AM »

yep, they was still dominating in the 1990s, even when i was rooting for joe public, defence force edged them in 1997 for the league title.

« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2006, 08:13:32 AM »
Police also won the Concacaf Championships, in the early 90s.

This is news to me.... 8)

VB (remember this) - Consider yourself corrected !!!
« Last Edit: November 21, 2006, 08:36:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2006, 08:27:08 AM »

Oh lawd, look bacchanal  :devil:. Police reached the final in 1991 against Puebla, but lost 3-1 in Mexico and drew 1-1 in T&T.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2006, 08:36:35 AM by Flex »

« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2006, 10:31:09 AM »

This team is early 80's,myself and Lennox Laforest for sure was not there for the club championship game,i can only make out the six on here,in onder from the left Errol Mcfarlane,?,Fitzroy Valentine,James Balfour,Bert Neptune,Sam Phillip after that you have Nevick Denoon,Francis Furlonge,Grantley Maxwell,Arab Nelson,Pamphil Jones (Kenwyne's Dad),Fernandes,Len Laforest and the last three is Coop's,Curtis Murrel,Wayne Lawson(T&T present physio).

With the exception of one or two guys,this comprised most of the team that played in that club championship game,there are about eight former national youth and present senior team players there,the rest were just as good.   

« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2006, 10:35:45 AM »

Police also won the Concacaf Championships, inthe early 90s.

         To my knowlege i don't think Police ever won a CONCACAF club championship,they participated in it but did not get very far,DF is the only T&T club ever to do so.

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2006, 12:28:59 PM »

This team is early 80's,myself and Lennox Laforest for sure was not there for the club championship game,i can only make out the six on here,in onder from the left Errol Mcfarlane,?,Fitzroy Valentine,James Balfour,Bert Neptune,Sam Phillip after that you have Nevick Denoon,Francis Furlonge,Grantley Maxwell,Arab Nelson,Pamphil Jones (Kenwyne's Dad),Fernandes,Len Laforest and the last three is Coop's,Curtis Murrel,Wayne Lawson(T&T present physio).

With the exception of one or two guys,this comprised most of the team that played in that club championship game,there are about eight former national youth and present senior team players there,the rest were just as good.   
The reason ah said late 70's, is because in '81 Fernandes and 'Rab had moved on to the Premier League, but I shouldn't argue that minor point with a man in the picture eh ;D
« Last Edit: November 21, 2006, 12:31:14 PM by doc »

« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2006, 12:40:42 PM »

The reason ah said late 70's, is because in '81 Fernandes and 'Rab had moved on to the Premier League, but I shouldn't argue that minor point with a man in the picture eh ;D
         It's possible that i could have my dates/times messed up becuse this team has so much history,i had already left the DF when they play that particular tournament.

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2006, 12:46:56 PM »

JEEZAN AGES!!1

This photos and names just bring back some serious memories of my last few years in TT. You could't talk football in TT without mentioning those names.

DF was the only team that used to give ASL a run for their money.

Coops all I have to say, is you played with a breath taking team.

Damn!!

« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2006, 12:53:41 PM »

It's possible that i could have my dates/times messed up becuse this team has so much history,i had already left the DF when they play that particular tournament.

i remember my granduncle saying he use to tear up defence force in he days, dey couldnt mark, sterling "bound tuh score" parris  ;D :beermug:

« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2006, 01:31:01 PM »
i remember my granduncle saying he use to tear up defence force in he days, dey couldnt mark, sterling "bound tuh score" parris  ;D :beermug:

TI.  What EXACTLY is a granduncle?

Yuh grandfaddah padnah?

Yuh grandfaddah cousin?

A granduncle related by blood?

I eh tryin to be no how....ah jes cyah figure it out.

Thanx

« Reply #25 on: November 21, 2006, 01:32:54 PM »
TI,

u always have some damn relative or family friend connected to every damn post.

I going to see James Bond this week. Your Grandfather used to run ball with Sean Connery.. ;D

« Reply #26 on: November 21, 2006, 01:49:42 PM »

TI. What EXACTLY is a granduncle?

Yuh grandfaddah padnah?

Yuh grandfaddah cousin?

Thanx

its blood, my grandmothers 1st cousin's husband, if allyuh know about goal scorers you'll know about my granduncle....

« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2006, 01:50:42 PM »

TI:
Where Joel? I haven't seen him in years.

« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2006, 01:51:01 PM »

Yuh bitch!! yuh was waiting for dat eh? ;D

Well obviously my age is catching up with me.

For those who want to see a list of the Con. Champs and runners up, go here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CONCACAF_Champions'_Cup

« Reply #29 on: November 21, 2006, 01:53:43 PM »

TI. What EXACTLY is a granduncle?

Yuh grandfaddah padnah?

Yuh grandfaddah cousin?

Thanx

its blood, my grandmothers 1st cousin's husband, if allyuh know about goal scorers you'll know about my granduncle....

How de hell dat is blood?

That sound like an in law. But I realize anybody close to the family is UNcle and Aunt. I say the same.

But dat sounds like a relative by marriage.

vb