April 24, 2024, 01:34:10 AM

Author Topic: Pope, Anglican leader acknowledge 'obstacles'  (Read 2404 times)

Pope, Anglican leader acknowledge 'obstacles'
« on: November 23, 2006, 08:19:14 AM »
Look how I going and start shit this Thanksgiving morning:

The Pope and dem have much priests BULLING little boys all over de world for hundreds of years and hiding the true facs, transferring dem pedophile rapists priests to different dioceses but claiming dat bulling is ah sin...steups.  I need clarification from someone who is ah expert in these blatant contradicitons.  They banning woman from being priests but dey praying tuh Mary???  How Mary so highly elevate but regular woman cyar come priests?

dis is real rubbish.  Now me eh no advocate fuh bulling, man or boys eh, but it seems to me dat de chuch involved in hypocricy and blatant lies.

Comments please?

Is it different if ah priest rape ah little boy dan when a lay person does it?

Pope, Anglican leader acknowledge 'obstacles'
Ties between churches falter over same-sex unions, female bishops

Updated: 41 minutes ago
VATICAN CITY - Pope Benedict XVI and Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams acknowledged Thursday that there were “serious obstacles” on the path to closer ties between Catholics and Anglicans, reflecting tensions over Anglicans’ blessings of same-sex unions and steps to ordain female bishops.

The leaders of the two churches, in a joint statement issued after 25 minutes of private talks, said they said they were committing themselves to continuing dialogue. The two men then prayed together in a chapel in the Apostolic palace.

Williams told the pope in a speech that “disputes about how we apply the Gospel to the challenges thrown up by modern society can often obscure or even threaten the achievements of dialogue” but that he came, “ready to hear and to understand the concerns which you will wish to share with me.”

Story continues below ↓
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 advertisement

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Benedict, while not spelling out the disputes in his speech, appeared to refer to them when he spoke of “the strains and difficulties besetting the Anglican Communion and consequently about the uncertainty of the communion itself.”

“Recent developments, especially concerning the ordained ministry and certain moral teachings, have affected not only internal relations with the Anglican Communion but also relations between the Anglican Communion and the Catholic Church,” Benedict told Williams.

40-year effort to improve relations
Their meeting today marked the 40th anniversary of landmark efforts to improve relations between the two churches, which went their separate ways in the 16th century, when England’s King Henry VIII split from the Roman Catholic Church.

The world’s 77 million Anglicans — including those known as Episcopalians in the United States — have themselves been threatened with internal division after the elevation in 2003 in the United States of the first openly gay Anglican bishop.

Blessings of unions between men or between women in the United States and Canada have also jolted Anglican-Catholic relations. Also testing relationships, among Anglicans themselves and with Catholics, have been moves by the Episcopal church to select a woman as its leader.

Benedict appeared to be referring to the disputes when he told Williams in his speech: “We believe that these matters, which are presently under discussion with in the Anglican Communion, are of vital importance to the preaching of the Gospel in its integrity, and that your current discussions will shape the future of our relations.”

“We fervently hope that the Anglican Communion will remain grounded in the Gospels and the Apostolic tradition,” the pope said.

The Catholic Church teaches that, while homosexuals should be treated with dignity, homosexual acts are sinful, and it is campaigning against same-sex unions. It also opposes ordination of women.

© 2006 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Re: Pope, Anglican leader acknowledge 'obstacles'
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2006, 08:39:17 AM »
look wha you gorn an do
hear nuh..... dem ent christian atall atall eh 
de reason day called Roman is because de Emperor at the time converted and used religion to expand the "Roman" Empire more. ;)
"On 27 February 380, Emperor Theodosius enacted a law establishing Catholic Christianity as the official state religion of the Roman empire"

and another fine era in the church,
"Beginning in 1092 the Crusades, a series of military campaigns, especially those in the Holy Land and sanctioned by the Papacy, began under the pontificate of Urban II in response to pleas from the Byzantine Emperor Alexis I for aid against Turkish expansion. The actions of the crusaders in this and subsequent crusades, such as the sacking of Constantinople in the Fourth Crusade, would become the subject of much controversy."

and it continued with
"Beginning around 1184, and continuing through the Reformation, a number of historical movements involving the Catholic Church, broadly referred to as the Inquisition, were aimed at securing religious and doctrinal unity within Christianity through conversion, and sometimes persecution, of alleged heretics. A conviction of heresy, seen as treason against Christendom, could involve penalties ranging from a fine to a sentence of capital punishment such as burning at the stake. For an example of the rarity of this sentence, from 1540 to 1700 of all the cases brought before the Spanish Inquisition only 2-3% per year resulted in execution, lower than virtually any secular court of the time.[16] Historians distinguish between the Medieval Inquisition, the Spanish Inquisition, the Roman Inquisition, and Portuguese Inquisition as distinct historical events. The extent of the Inquisition's activity, and particularly the exact number of deaths, has been the subject of much subsequent propaganda."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roman_Catholic_Church
« Last Edit: November 23, 2006, 09:10:46 AM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2006, 09:48:03 AM »
Look how you gorn and tell most ah de posters on dis board dat dem eh christian :devil:

Dat is your funeral now..I ask ah simple question...look wey yuh take it.

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2006, 09:51:48 AM »
who on here can tell meh where ah lie ?
« Last Edit: November 23, 2006, 10:56:44 AM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2006, 04:39:04 PM »
christianity eh about social justice - is about salvation.

« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2006, 06:41:03 PM »

what a one liner to drop...... :o

ribbit...i.e. tuco...ie  whatever.....stop changing yuh damn name.....all yuh confusin meh  ;D

« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2006, 08:10:07 PM »
Catholics eh christians. They're catholic. The catholic church murder christians for years....is only when they realise dat dey eh getting thru....they do a political move and unite church and state. The rest as they say.....is history.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2006, 09:57:55 PM »
Catholics eh christians. They're catholic. The catholic church murder christians for years....is only when they realise dat dey eh getting thru....they do a political move and unite church and state. The rest as they say.....is history.
I eh too sure I understand wha you mean
educate meh please n tanks

« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2006, 10:33:18 PM »

agree with some qualification. some catholics eh christian.

« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2006, 10:35:13 PM »

what a one liner to drop...... :o

ribbit...i.e. tuco...ie  whatever.....stop changing yuh damn name.....all yuh confusin meh  ;D

ah gone look for a new logo now ;D

« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2006, 12:02:31 AM »

really? since when is catholics not christians? and when was catholics persecuting christians? the holy cathoilc church founded in rome was after the persecution of christians when constantine converted, catholic means universal, the universal church of god, namely christianity, where yuh think all dem statues come from? the pagan practises of the the romans incorporated the statues into catholicism, church and state was united after the persecution, or should i say happened when constantine converted...

« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2006, 07:42:54 AM »

really? since when is catholics not christians? and when was catholics persecuting christians? the holy cathoilc church founded in rome was after the persecution of christians when constantine converted, catholic means universal, the universal church of god, namely christianity, where yuh think all dem statues come from? the pagan practises of the the romans incorporated the statues into catholicism, church and state was united after the persecution, or should i say happened when constantine converted...

Read what you self type. The roman empire persecuted christians didnt it? When did this persecution stop? when constantine claimed he became christian. Thus as a political move....the mix of the two...paganism and christianity created something different. If you mix orange juice and grammaxone....can you really call it orange juice?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2006, 08:29:08 AM »

Read what you self type. The roman empire persecuted christians didnt it? When did this persecution stop? when constantine claimed he became christian. Thus as a political move....the mix of the two...paganism and christianity created something different. If you mix orange juice and grammaxone....can you really call it orange juice?

there's the cathars too. ah surprised big scholar from u of t doh know about de catholic church  :devil: