March 28, 2024, 03:05:24 PM

Author Topic: yuh BEST Christmas memories growing up at home......  (Read 35760 times)

Re: yuh BEST xmas memories growing up at home......
« Reply #120 on: December 17, 2012, 02:50:07 PM »
How de breeze does blow around Christmas time. It was ah special breeze

« Reply #122 on: December 17, 2012, 08:08:18 PM »
  true ting..was cooler and more persistent.  Starry skies, carbide and bamboo, sorrel and ginger beer.  pears, grapes and apples.

cutting my own Christmas tree, painting it white, covering a KLIM tin with wrapping paper, snow from a can...best times.

« Reply #123 on: December 17, 2012, 08:31:08 PM »

Dat breeze doh blow again nah.

« Reply #124 on: December 17, 2012, 11:31:09 PM »
5...4...3...2...1....Thunder Birds are Go!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qwNbuMCAsSE

Ah have all ah dem on DVD.  ;D

Well I grow up in Valencia, which at the time was a relatively small village.  My extended family was huge, together we comprised about 20-25% of the village.  My great-aunt and her four siblings were the head of the clan, all of them had about 7-8 children, who then each had about three four.  Needless to say I had a lot of cousins and we'd all link up either at church or each others homes.

Valencia also had a very strong 'cocoa panyol' presence and so paranging was a big thing.  Most of Trinidad talk about parang... we lived it.  In typical Trini fashion we had to have major cleaning and thing, yard weeded, house painted thru and thru, 'regular' ham and salt ham bake.  Fresh-made bread... with ham and 'chow-chow' of course.  Peardrax and Cydrax from Whiteway's.  Christmas apple, pears and grapes... black cake, sponge cake... sorrel.  Never got a whole lot of toys... but we gave each other gifts.  "Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer" on the tube... good times.

for a man that come from such humble but rich cultural beginnings, and has become so well "educated" it's amazing what troll and an asshole you've growed up to become.....IJS. 
Weh dah one come from boy mango chow, just sooo dan??

did i miss something? allyuh plssss doh mash up the thread. pllssssss !

Nah, yuh eh miss nutting. horse, I was jes' expressing a observation...and it eh go mash up no tread because is a accurate one. Nutting to argue or debate.

« Reply #125 on: December 17, 2013, 06:58:34 PM »
Like people getting 'old timers':) they running out ah best memories

« Reply #126 on: November 29, 2014, 07:18:03 AM »
Allyuh know is that time again- look nah  see it eh Christmas sales anymore is " Black Friday!"

What happened to the classical meaningful parang? Is now one kinda fusion sofa parang Kaiso parang? With kicky lyrics. The essential core and meaning of the season appears to be increasingly lost in a tide of rampant commercialism form the west!!!  We are indeed the best " follow fashioners" not all for the good. IMHO

Re: yuh BEST Christmas memories growing up at home......
« Reply #127 on: December 25, 2016, 03:54:43 PM »
Homemade wine ah real miss dat.
Between me and de wife we do our best to recreate the food and drink.  Pastelle, ham, chow-chow, roast pork, ponche a creme, ginger beer and sorrel in abundance.
yes sar

Re: yuh BEST Christmas memories growing up at home......
« Reply #128 on: December 25, 2016, 03:55:53 PM »
Heard from a friend who responded to my email regarding  memories of Christmas growing up; here it is with kind permission:

My Christmas memories in sweet T&T are faded now. I remember walking to Holy Cross Catholic church with my mom for midnight mass on Christmas Eve. The sounds of frogs and crickets in the night and me chatting away to my mom about anything and everything!

I remember vague memories of some plastic grapes that sat on a table and my sister and I filled them up with water and froze them...much to my poor mother's annoyance. I remember because I was small, my job was to clean whatever was not breakable on the bottom self of some cabinet.I remember my mom would bake for everyone and anyone and we would walk and take her bread and her sweetbread to older people who talked and talked and would put their hands on my curls. I remember my mom would say we dont have much but what we have to always share.

Memories of garlic pork made by my Uncle Louis, soaked onions and chowchow home made by my mom. Sorrel and ginger beer! My first gift that I remember was a pink iron and ironing board which I believe is the reason why I love ironing so much. I believed in Santa until I was almost 12 years of age as sad as it is to say in today's world.

I remember going to Port of Spain with my mom and the smell of apples, now I now know they are red and delicious. I have lived in Canada most of my life and even from the farm that I have picked my apples I can never find the smell of the apples like the smell of apples as a child in sweet T&T. One Christmas fills my head with vague memories of Uncle Ivan, my father, my sister, my uncle George playing tricks with my nose, and my mom's baking.

Sights that still drive me to love a man that can cook for me....created by seeing my Mom and Dad in the kitchen together. Him sitting on the wooden bench he made for the kitchen and my Mom directing him with the beating of the cake mix, I remember he would wink at me and keep the spoon for me to lick after it was done just before Mom washed everything. My mom made the best sweetbread ever. Oh my gosh, I feel teary eyed just thinking of it.

All of this means so much more for me as I sit here in Trinidad and Tobago only about 30 minutes away from my childhood home. Mom and Dad are both gone, my home is not mine anymore and the memories and my life here were short. Yet I remember hearing my father singing parang, he played in the band Lara Brothers from his village in Cantaro in Santa Cruz. Tonight lime in Maracas St. Joseph hearing original parang music brought all these memories of my father back.

Christmas Day after lunch we would take a drive up to Maracas, oh gosh the drive up over the hills with the cloud dipping the mountains like at Dairy Queen, as a child I would stick my face out just to feel the breeze on my skin and to feel the wind blowing through my curls and the hot sun burning my shoulders. Christmas was about the birth of Jesus, sharing our home with friends, neibbas and family, wonderful memories that I have tried to share with my own children over the years.

Classic