April 29, 2024, 07:09:14 AM

Author Topic: Back in Times - St. Mary's (1960s)  (Read 15026 times)

Back in Times - St. Mary's (1960s)
« on: November 24, 2006, 11:35:42 AM »

Re: Back in Times - St. Mary's (1960s)
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2006, 11:41:04 AM »
look like long time barbers wasnt as good

men hair line push back  :rotfl:

two men holding de ball had de same gal-ah rush-me trim too :rotfl:

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2006, 11:57:23 AM »
too bad Ian (3rd row 2nd from lef)hairline eh saying de same ting these days....lol :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2006, 12:02:38 PM »
Where are all the die hard St Mary's guys on this forum,give me some names lets see how much you all know of Saints Football,i never went there but had two brothers that played for them so i supported the team. 

« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2006, 12:33:25 PM »
De man in de back row...3rd from left look like Bernard Julien bad. I eh know if dat possible tho seein dat Julien was a WI cricketer in de 70's.

« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2006, 12:39:51 PM »
De man in de back row...3rd from left look like Bernard Julien bad. I eh know if dat possible tho seein dat Julien was a WI cricketer in de 70's.
       Yes it is Bernard Julien he was also good at Football you forget he from Carenage.

« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2006, 12:48:30 PM »
       Yes it is Bernard Julien he was also good at Football you forget he from Carenage.

It had plenty multi sport athlete...NOT JES FROM CARENAGE (aldoh ah knew meh share from dey).. ;) fuh real.  I jes thought de timin might be kinda off if dah pichure take in de 1960's.  I thought eedah he was playin fuh CIC at a very young age or wasn't he but I also made the incorrect assumption dat de picture was from de early 60's.  Probably de later 60's.

« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2006, 01:04:59 PM »

It had plenty multi sport athlete...NOT JES FROM CARENAGE (aldoh ah knew meh share from dey).. ;) fuh real.  I jes thought de timin might be kinda off if dah pichure take in de 1960's.  I thought eedah he was playin fuh CIC at a very young age or wasn't he but I also made the incorrect assumption dat de picture was from de early 60's.  Probably de later 60's.
         The reason i'm saying is the 60's is because my brother who is on the far left back row,was 11yrs old in 1960 so it's my assumption it had to be in the 60's.
         See if you can make out some of these guys in the picture,Ian Bain,Bernard Julien,Wayne Dopson,Keith Lookloy,Russel Tishera,Miguel Hospidales,Luciano Woodley,Hanibal Nagger,Alvin Henderson.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2006, 01:16:22 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2006, 01:41:22 PM »
 See if you can make out some of these guys in the picture,Ian Bain,Bernard Julien,Wayne Dopson,Keith Lookloy,Russel Tishera,Miguel Hospidales,Luciano Woodley,Hanibal Nagger,Alvin Henderson.

Ah feel de screw face youth on de left in de middle row is Hannibal

LookLoy is probably in de middle row 2nd from right

Teesh might be de red man in de back next to yuh brother...BTW...how come such a big gap between dem 2?  Dem was vex or wha? 

Bain is back row 2nd from left

Cyah make out de oddahs
« Last Edit: November 24, 2006, 02:05:35 PM by palos »

Offline goodfootball171267

« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2006, 01:49:45 PM »
Nice Pic ... however, those faces not familiar.  The 80's pics i might be able to recognize some men.  Bring back good memories of the blue & white stripes.

« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2006, 02:45:27 PM »
Whey thas a Intercol side.........them men looking hard and ole...........whey real hard life back in dem days yes!

« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2006, 02:52:44 PM »
Whey thas a Intercol side.........them men looking hard and ole...........whey real hard life back in dem days yes!

Boy you alive  :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2006, 03:00:36 PM »
Yes fadda.....I still around.........I like a higher being just gazing at the lil people.......erry now an again I does have alil thing to say . How u trials went ??

« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2006, 03:43:34 PM »

Ah feel de screw face youth on de left in de middle row is Hannibal

LookLoy is probably in de middle row 2nd from right

Teesh might be de red man in de back next to yuh brother...BTW...how come such a big gap between dem 2?  Dem was vex or wha? 

Bain is back row 2nd from left

Cyah make out de oddahs

nah...dahiz Woodley, must have been 68/69

« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2006, 03:52:38 PM »
nah...dahiz Woodley, must have been 68/69

So Hannibal is de fella on de left in de front row?

« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2006, 04:12:05 PM »
Ah more thinking dais Thompson from 'd blvd', ah think every ah dem years had ah Stone (white fella), ah think that one mighta be Frank
ah cyah guess which he is, Najjar ah didn't know at all
 I knew these guys faces, buh fuh the hell of me, ah cyar remember all their names..age nah....was neighbour & Football/track opponent(Belmont) of  Woodley, so him I know well ..
Bain was a borse, plus ah did promise im ah kick down

I'm wondering if the 2nd man, middle row is Nancoo, but not sure

Offline Israel

« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2006, 04:20:33 PM »
I wasn't even a thought in the 60's but Lookloy is definitely 2nd row 2nd from right. Najjar is definitely front row 1st left. I am guessing Woodley is 2nd row, 3rd from left........Don't know wha Bernard Julien looked like but always heard my father talking about as he was from Carenage also.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2006, 04:34:27 PM »
Nex question for de forumites...but dis one limited to forumites 35 and younger ( so maxg, coop's, truetrini, ent, SH, doc, redhowler,  etc (Jumbie safe because he eh really know Trinidad)...allyuh hush allyuh tail.. ;D )

What ground was dat picture taken at?

Offline Israel

« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2006, 04:50:15 PM »
I guessing its a north zone ground. Not CIC or QRC,needah Fatima. I'll go with PSA.

« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2006, 04:55:37 PM »
Nex question for de forumites...but dis one limited to forumites 35 and younger ( so maxg, coop's, truetrini, ent, SH, doc, redhowler,  etc (Jumbie safe because he eh really know Trinidad)...allyuh hush allyuh tail.. ;D )

I goin wid d oval, because d radio booth is in front of d northern range
« Last Edit: November 24, 2006, 05:04:29 PM by Ryan »

« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2006, 05:01:49 PM »
Ah sorry, I wasn't born yet, so me eh know anybody dey. Bless.

Offline Israel

« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2006, 05:05:31 PM »

I goin wid d oval, because d radio booth is in front of d northern range

Cud really be d oval, it looking as if there is a cycle track in the pic.

« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2006, 05:52:36 PM »
Boy ah feel ah was at dat mach and it was against QRCand Saints win 2-0 or 2-1

Bernard Julian, Alvin henderson, Ian Bain, Dobson.

Dat was ah real team.

I still trying to remember who de coach was..someone tell me it was Pa Aleong, but ah was too young to remember all dat!

I scream, you scream, we all scream for Ice cream...dey was chanting dat..dem CIC fans.

« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2006, 06:35:40 PM »
de man nex tuh Bain 1st from de lef is Jackie Massiah(sp)

« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2006, 06:42:20 PM »
Boy ah feel ah was at dat mach and it was against QRCand Saints win 2-0 or 2-1

Bernard Julian, Alvin henderson, Ian Bain, Dobson.

Dat was ah real team.

I still trying to remember who de coach was..someone tell me it was Pa Aleong, but ah was too young to remember all dat!

I scream, you scream, we all scream for Ice cream...dey was chanting dat..dem CIC fans.

Ent u was de linesman at dat game?

« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2006, 06:43:27 PM »
de man nex tuh Bain 1st from de lef is Jackie Massiah(sp)

Dah man face hard like 10 days ole crix out de can sah.

« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2006, 06:44:14 PM »
yuh is ha kinda ass oui.

I should have said dat de team shown won intercol beating QRC,,,steups

yuh feel I is TI or what...my uncle who was married tuh meh sister husband sister was de ref doh.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2006, 08:26:03 PM »
look like long time barbers wasnt as good

men hair line push back  :rotfl:

two men holding de ball had de same gal-ah rush-me trim too :rotfl:

Lol.... u like real chupidness eh... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #28 on: November 24, 2006, 09:07:20 PM »
I wasn't even a thought in the 60's but Lookloy is definitely 2nd row 2nd from right. Najjar is definitely front row 1st left. I am guessing Woodley is 2nd row, 3rd from left........Don't know wha Bernard Julien looked like but always heard my father talking about as he was from Carenage also.

I was at CIC in 69 and 70 and in 70 both Woodley and Trevor Leiba were on the team.  I dont recognize the goalies as Lieba but i forget wat he look like (Trevor - if you lookiing, you mite remember them or correct me)  so the pic must be before 1970.  I straining my memory to recall what Woodlly look like - 2nd row, 3rd from left mite be him???  Maxg mention a white guy name Stone.  So I called my father - he was sportsmaster at St. marys in 69/70.  He rememered Stone and many of de players.  He have a pic of the team with theri names - so when next I see him, i'll scan it and post it.

Alvin Corneal was coach.

Nancoo and Russell Teixiera (Teshera ??) used to play for St. James before coming to CIC.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2006, 09:22:24 PM by pecan »

Offline thane

« Reply #29 on: November 25, 2006, 06:47:44 AM »
for some strange reason i tinking dat grounds was qrc.