March 29, 2024, 01:22:53 AM

Author Topic: Men's U-20 Football Team Thread.  (Read 71396 times)

Re: 2018 CONCACAF Men's U-20 Championship Thread
« Reply #180 on: November 02, 2018, 04:56:02 AM »
Garcia strikes with final kick.
By Rachael Thompson-King (Guardian).

Ju­dah Gar­cia pro­duced the win­ner for T&T in it's open­ing match at the CON­CA­CAF Un­der-20 Men’s Cham­pi­onship and World Cup qual­i­fiers at IMG Acad­e­my in Braden­ton, Flori­da, USA, yes­ter­day.

De­spite the odds stacked against the Rus­sell Lat­apy-coached na­tion­al youth team, it com­plet­ed a 3-2 win against St Vin­cent and the Grenadines (SVG) af­ter trail­ing 2-1 at half­time.

Ear­ly on, Gid­son Fran­cis, who scored a dou­ble, put SVG ahead net­ting the open­ing item in the 15th minute, re­turned four min­utes lat­er to send his team up 2-0, thanks to his head­er four min­utes lat­er.

The John-Paul Rochford-cap­tained T&T out­fit did not go away and had a num­ber of chances at goal but they were off tar­get un­til a de­ter­mined Jay­don Prow­ell found the back of the net in the 39th minute.

The T&T young­sters pressed on but the equalis­er nev­er came and the team closed the first half a goal adrift (2-1).

On the re­sump­tion, T&T was the ag­gres­sor at­tack­ing from ei­ther sides of the field but no goals came. SVG spent most of the half de­fend­ing its lead and looked set to claim a win in the open­er but sub­sti­tute Mark Ramdeen spoiled the Caribbean neigh­bour par­ty with an equalis­er in added on time (90+2).

T&T foot­ballers did not cel­e­brate for long as they were on the at­tack again. Ramdeen po­si­tioned on the left side re­ceived a throw-in from Rochford and at­tempt­ing to cross when he was brought down just out­side the box on the left side. Com­mit­ting the foul was SVG's Lesron Craigg, who swift­ly re­ceived a yel­low card for his in­fringe­ment.

Ramdeen took the free kick and found Gar­cia in­side the six-yard box and he com­plet­ed the win­ner (90+5), sec­onds be­fore the ref­er­ee blew the fi­nal whis­tle.

On Sat­ur­day, T&T will be back on the field in its sec­ond match against Puer­to Ri­co, which was beat­en by the USA 7-1 in its open­ing match.

In oth­er ear­ly re­sults, Suri­name had no mer­cy on the US Vir­gin Is­lands crush­ing its op­po­nent, 13-2, An­tigua and Bar­bu­da whipped St Maarten, 6-1; Cu­ba topped Be­lize, al­so by a 6-1 mar­gin while Haiti edged St Lu­cia, 1-0.

Results

T&T 3 (Jaydon Prowell 39, Mark Ramdeen 90+2, Judah Garcia 90+5) v St Vincent 2 (Gidson Francis 15, 19)

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago (4-1-4-1): 1.Denzil Smith (GK); 18.Kerdell Sween (4.Jerrin Jackie 46), 5.Justin Homer, 2.Mikel Mieres, 3.Derron John; 19.Shaqkeem Joseph; 12.Kishon Hackshaw, 10.Judah Garcia (Yellow 54), 15.John-Paul Rochford, 13.Nickel Orr (7.Mark Ramdeen 75); 9.Jaydon Prowell (6.Isaiah Lee 75).

Unused substitutes: 20.Jabari Brice (GK), 16.Luke Singh, 17.Matthew Beal, 8.Jabarry Francis, 14.Ethan Bonaparte.

Coach: Russell Latapy.

SVG: 1.Jadiel Chance (GK), 4.Lesron Craigg (Yellow 90), 14.Kenyon Delpesche (Derron Hamblet 73), 3.Dondre Charles, 2.Jay-Z Ryan, 16.Diel Spring, 6.Joel Quashie (capt), 11.Carlos Solomon (20.Brandon Johnson 81), 10.Gidson Francis, 17.Trivis Fraser, 9.Romano Johnson (7.Osei Thompson 58).

Coach: Wade Jackson.

Referee: Daneon Parchment (Jamaica)

CU20M 2018 GS TRI vs VIN Highlights

« Last Edit: November 02, 2018, 05:24:27 AM by Flex »

« Reply #181 on: November 02, 2018, 01:46:15 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago U-20s look for second win when they face Puerto Rico
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team will be looking to pull off a second consecutive victory in the CONCACAF Under 20 Men’s Championship and World Cup qualifiers when they face Puerto Rico on Saturday from 3:00pm at the IMG Academy in Bradenton. T&T came from two goals behind to defeat St Vincent/Grenadines 3-2 on Thursday through goals by Jayden Prowell, substitute Mark Ramdeen and Judah Garcia. Puerto Rico meantime, were hammered 7-1 by United States on Thursday night.

Head Coach Russell Latapy will have his full compliment of players for the match after Portuguese-based midfielder Che Benny joined the team camp on Thursday night. Latapy had his first training session with the full squad at 2pm on Friday as matches in the other groups continued at the IMG.

“We’re pleased to finally have everyone together. It’s always good to get in a solid session and of course we’ll go after our next opponents looking to build on what we have coming out of the first game,” Latapy said. John Paul Rochford, who started the tournament as team captain, said he was grateful for the opening win but not particularly pleased with the level of the performance against “Vincey Heat”.

“I’m grateful for the fact that the boys dug deep and we came out with the victory in the end. We fought hard for 90 minutes straight ‘till the end and it happened that we scored two goals in one minute and I thank God for that. I thank the players for fighting for the win. “The turning point was when the players realised we had little time and everything was on the line. We are in a position where we are fighting for ourselves and fighting to make the country proud, as proud as we can make them,” Rochford said. “We spoke to ourselves and said we had to win don’t matter the situation.”

The former Santa Rosa FC and current Portland Timbers player added that the players took Latapy’s instructions on board. “He just told us that we needed to fight a little more. We needed to stick to the plan, we needed to listen and follow the instructions and once we did that everything would fall into place. We followed the instructions for the first goal, we did what he advised and it work so we saw that as a testimony so we realised that once we followed the instructions we would get the desired result. We fought ‘till the end and got the desired result, Rochford added. Some of the other results in the 34-nation tournament over two days of action include a 7-1 win for Honduras over Dominican Republic, Guatemala defeating Guyana 4-0, Cuba 6-1 over Belize, Haiti 1-0 over St Lucia and Costa Rica defeating Bermuda 5-0.

Post Match Reactions from T&T U-20 Captain John Paul Rochford

Mark Ramdeen reacts after helping T&T U-20s defeat St Vincent/Grenadines

« Last Edit: November 03, 2018, 01:44:43 AM by Flex »

« Reply #182 on: November 03, 2018, 09:47:36 AM »
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Men's U-20 team train ahead of their encounter with Puerto Rico

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/qUq-wxHUzfo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/qUq-wxHUzfo</a>

« Reply #183 on: November 03, 2018, 01:46:11 PM »
HALF-TIME: Puerto Rico U-20 0-2 Trinidad and Tobago U-20 (John-Paul Rochford 25', Isaiah Lee 40')

« Reply #184 on: November 03, 2018, 02:52:10 PM »
FULL-TIME: Puerto Rico U-20 (Gerald 53') 1-5 Trinidad and Tobago U-20 (John-Paul Rochford 25', Isaiah Lee 40', 57', Kerdell Sween 80'. Jabarry Francis 90'+4).

« Last Edit: November 03, 2018, 02:56:30 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #185 on: November 03, 2018, 03:32:47 PM »
BTW what ever happened to Isaiah Hudson ...

« Reply #186 on: November 03, 2018, 04:37:22 PM »
Congrats, U-20 SocaWarriors!   :applause:

Ditto! And, bravo on win #2! :applause:

« Reply #187 on: November 03, 2018, 04:50:09 PM »
Congrats, U-20 SocaWarriors!   :applause:

Ditto! And, bravo on win #2! :applause:

Ah like the spirit of the team: Belief. Fight. Never say die attitude. Playing for one-another. All this inspite of the FA.

Congrats to the team and staff. Wishing you all the best

« Reply #188 on: November 03, 2018, 05:41:39 PM »
dat rico team lil awful though, but we defending like we doh have defenders, dat blonde hair fella never once try to get across d attacker, in fact his movement kept taking him away from d chance to intercept :cursing: ,ah glad for d win eh...but we still not coaching defense FFS :cursing: :cursing: :banginghead: :banginghead: https://twitter.com/Concacaf/status/1058839071634718722
« Last Edit: November 03, 2018, 05:46:34 PM by lefty »

« Reply #189 on: November 03, 2018, 08:32:47 PM »
dat rico team lil awful though, but we defending like we doh have defenders, dat blonde hair fella never once try to get across d attacker, in fact his movement kept taking him away from d chance to intercept :cursing: ,ah glad for d win eh...but we still not coaching defense FFS :cursing: :cursing: :banginghead: :banginghead: https://twitter.com/Concacaf/status/1058839071634718722

Could just as easilly been 5-3.
Not too bad considering our two best players started off on the bench.

Sadly these first two games were our warm up matches. Reality will kick in vs the US.

« Reply #190 on: November 04, 2018, 01:55:13 AM »
Lee’s double guides T&T to 5-1 win over Puerto Rico.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men made it two wins out of two with a 5-1 victory over Puerto Rico in their CONCACAF U-20 Men’s Championship World Cup qualifier at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida on Saturday evening.

The win was powered by a double from US College-based forward Isaiah Lee (39th, 56th), John Paul Rochford in the 25th, substitute Kendell Sween in the 80th and Jabarry Francis in the 93rd. Gerald Diaz pulled a goal back for Puerto Rico in the 52nd minute to leave the scores at 2-1 at that stage.

T&T head coach Russell Latapy made some changes to his starting line up from Thursday’s 3-2 win over St Vincent/Grenadines, introducing Toronto FC centre back Luke Singh, along with Isaiah Lee and Mark Ramdeen. T&T started the match in a much better fashion than Thursday’s outing, looking settled from early on. Francis had T&T’s first effort on goal, an effort which went over bar in the 5th minute and soon after Ethan Bonaparte saw his shot from close range saved by goalkeeper Jose Calderon. Ramdeen was sent through on goal in the 9th minute but Calderon was off his line in a flash to deny the Naparima College player.

T&T would eventually break the deadlock when Kishon Hackshaw did the bulk of the work on the right and delivered inside for Rochford to end the play with a clinical finish. Hackshaw would have couple more looks on goal but failed to find the target before the halftime break. Lee would demonstrate better finishing ability six minutes before the interval. He collected from Hackshaw and shot goalwards, following up on the save by the goalkeeper to nail home the rebound.

Puerto Rico kept themselves in the match with a goal early in the second half and did in fact cause some anxious moments at the back for T&T, forcing goalkeeper Denzil Smith to pull off a couple vital saves later in the half. But Lee would put T& 3-1 ahead with another neat low right footed finish in the 56th from the edge of the box and substitute Sween shot past Calderon from the right of the box for a 4-1 scoreline with just over ten minutes remaining. Francis, for his efforts on the evening was rewarded with a goal in added on time to complete the rout when he skipped past the advancing ‘keeper to slide home into an unprotected goal.

Latapy later said he was delighted with the scoreline but was not prepared to let complacency step in.

“Delighted with the victory, delighted with the work ethic and performances. I think there is a lot that we still need to improve on, in particular, we need to be able to see games out better,” Latapy told TTFA Media after the win. I felt that we were a bit back against the wall in the last twenty minutes when we were leading comfortably. I just want us to understand how to stretch the game when we are winning games and see pick teams off. But there were some very solid performances today. The expectations coming here weren’t very high based on our preparations but as the tournament goes on, expectations are changing,” Latapy added.

Double goalscorer Lee was also in good spirits after his performances on the evening. “It was a good opportunity for me to get into the starting team today and I was pleased to be able to deliver with two goals. It’s a good feeling to get on the scoresheet for your country in a tournament like this and hopefully I can build on in. Hopefully we can continue to keep growing as a team as well for the remaining matches. Our next game is against the US and we’ll be trying to come out ready as best as possible for them on Monday,” Lee said. T&T faces the US in their third match on Monday.

Results

Trinidad and Tobago 5 (John-Paul Rochford 24, Isaiah Lee 39, 56, Kerdell Sween 80, Jabarry Francis 89) v Puerto Rico 1 (Gerald Díaz 55).

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Denzil Smith (GK); 5.Justin Homer, 16.Luke Singh, 17.Matthew Beal, 3.Derron John, 8.Jabarry Francis, 14.Ethan Bonaparte (19.Shaqkeem Joseph 55′), 12.Kishon Hackshaw  (18.Kerdell Sween 76′), 15.John-Paul Rochford (capt), 7.Mark Ramdeen (11.Che Benny 66′), 6.Isaiah Lee.

Substitutes: 20.Jabari Brice (GK), 2.Mikel Mieres, 4.Jerrin Jackie, 9.Jaydon Prowell, 10.Judah Garcia.

Head Coach: Russell Latapy.

Puerto Rico: 1.José Calderón, 3.Eduardo Vélez, 4.Edric Toro, 6.Luis Miguel Cosme, 13.Nicolás Cardona (capt), 20.Daniel Arce (7.Alejandro Rabell 65'), 8.Joséph Villafañe (9.Lucas Arzán 46'), 15.Gerald Díaz, 19.Marc Nieves (11.Lorenzo Baez), 2.Kevin Hernández, 17.Jaden Servania.

Head Coach: Amado Guevara.

« Last Edit: November 04, 2018, 01:56:52 AM by Flex »

« Reply #191 on: November 04, 2018, 09:02:47 AM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago U-20's 5-1 win over Puerto Rico

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/vTP357uDYXU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/vTP357uDYXU</a>

WATCH: Post-match comments from U-20 Head Coach Russell Latapy after Trinidad and Tobago's 5-1 win over Puerto Rico

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/9MygX4lH7dw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/9MygX4lH7dw</a>

WATCH: Post-match comments from U-20 forward Isaiah Lee who scored a brace during Trinidad and Tobago's 5-1 win over Puerto Rico

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/H-7lYpPTOa0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/H-7lYpPTOa0</a>

« Reply #192 on: November 05, 2018, 01:46:43 AM »
U-20s face off with USA in Concacaf qualifier.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s players will face what is expected to be their toughest assignment of the group stage in the CONCACAF Under 20 Men’s Championship when they face defending champions United States at the IMG Academy in Bradenton from 7:45pm on Monday.

Both teams are undefeated with maximum six points from their two matches so far with T&T coming away 5-1 winners over Puerto Rico while the US thumped US Virgin Islands 13-0 on Saturday. Only the top team from the six-team group will advance to the next phase and this game could have a huge significance on the outcome of the group.

“We knew the time from the fixtures came out that was going to be one of the most difficult games. They are the defending champions, they are a powerhouse in the region and they are the favourites in this game. We have nothing to lose,” Latapy told TTFA Media as he looked ahead to the encounter.

“Trust me, we are going to go out there and make a game of it. I have already spoken to some of the players about what our expectations are and what our tactics would be and I can tell you we are going to do out best to go out there and make it a game and look for three points,” Latapy added.

The former Falkirk FC coach spoke about the changes made to his line up for the 5-1 win over Puerto Rico, explaining, “In this format of tournaments when you have five games in ten days it’s always difficult. It’s young men and I know they are fit but I may just trying to change things up and keep it fresh as much as I can. Today it showed with a couple of really good performances from players who came into the team and I will see if I can keep it that way for the rest of the tournament.”

“Getting five goals was good because it’s not a lot of times you get that from a team. One of the other pleasing things for me is that we played until the end. We did in the last game when we scored a goal in added on time and we did it again today,” Latapy said.

Toronto FC’s Luke Singh enjoyed a solid performance at the back for T&T and he is also anticipating a keenly contested outing with the US.

“It’s been good for us to come out with two wins from two games so far.It’s just been about us developing that chemistry in training and bringing it to the games. We’ve been taking the instructions on board from coach Latapy and trying to put it into action in the matches,” Singh said. “For me it’s a great experience coming into the team after two years since the Under 17 tournament. I’ve played with some of the boys before and now to be back in the set up is exciting. We have a lot to try and achieve still and we’ll be looking to keep it up and give a strong showing against the US on Monday,”Singh added.

Club Sando midfielder Jabarry Francis of Tobago made his starting debut with a goal and a solid performance on Saturday after joining the squad last week while Isaiah Lee struck a double in his first start in the tournament.

US head coach Tab Ramos made nine changes to his starting line up from the earlier 7-1 win over Puerto Rico for Saturday’s win over US Virgin Islands and the Americans are unbeaten in their last seven CONCACAF U-20 qualifying matches dating back to the previous campaign.

The game can be seen live in Trinidad and Tobago on Flow Sports 1.

Under 20 Men prepare for third CONCACAF qualifier vs USA

Justin Homer looks ahead to US Clash at Concacaf championship

Isaiah Lee talks about T&T's 5-1 win over Puerto Rico

« Reply #193 on: November 05, 2018, 03:34:07 PM »

The game can be seen live in Trinidad and Tobago on Flow Sports 1.

Hopefully somebody warming up all now so,  ready to post a link for your brothers (and sisters) to enjoy.

« Reply #194 on: November 05, 2018, 04:00:18 PM »
I would love this to work out (3 points today)
« Last Edit: November 05, 2018, 04:01:58 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #195 on: November 05, 2018, 04:55:17 PM »
I wonder if Justin Homer is any relation to Gerard Homer who played for Naps in the early 70s.

« Reply #196 on: November 05, 2018, 06:46:22 PM »
http://goatd.net/471197/watch-usa-u20-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-u20

not sure who could watch here but may need active popup blocker

« Reply #197 on: November 05, 2018, 06:52:06 PM »
1-o already steups
edit 2-0 f**k

« Reply #198 on: November 05, 2018, 06:57:22 PM »
UPDATE (10'): United States U-20 2-0 Trinidad and Tobago U-20. Goals by Brandon Servania (6') and Justin Rennicks (8').

« Reply #199 on: November 05, 2018, 07:11:21 PM »
dat blonde fella useless as a CB decent on d ball but useless as a CB

« Reply #200 on: November 05, 2018, 07:19:13 PM »
De left wing back exposing him right through.  Judah and JP at the level, the rest struggling . . . anyway, watching on

« Reply #201 on: November 05, 2018, 07:30:09 PM »
singh need to be subbed off useless 3-0....dat "boy" has been notably present for every defensive blunder made so far and has zero awareness
« Last Edit: November 05, 2018, 07:33:49 PM by lefty »

« Reply #202 on: November 05, 2018, 07:33:05 PM »
Ha or the the blonde fella teammates not up to scatch they just giving away the ball  that guy all alone at the top

« Reply #203 on: November 05, 2018, 07:33:18 PM »
HALF-TIME: United States U-20 3-0 Trinidad and Tobago U-20. Goals by Brandon Servania (6'), Justin Rennicks (8'), and Paxton Pomykal (45').

« Reply #204 on: November 05, 2018, 07:35:54 PM »
Ha or the the blonde fella teammates not up to scatch they just giving away the ball  that guy all alone at the top

dread dat fella hapless ah total calamity and d fact that d team gettin so disjointed making him look worse
« Last Edit: November 05, 2018, 07:43:45 PM by lefty »

« Reply #205 on: November 05, 2018, 07:40:43 PM »
Pity about the technical error by Singh on 3-0, but he certainly has the correct idea regarding moving the ball forward at feet in trying to get out from the back.

« Reply #206 on: November 05, 2018, 07:44:52 PM »
De left wing back exposing him right through.  Judah and JP at the level, the rest struggling . . . anyway, watching on

Would like to see Judah settle a bit, simplify his game and combine with JP so that we could establish a passing tempo. Credit to Denzil in goal as well.

Disappointed with Nickel Orr.

« Reply #207 on: November 05, 2018, 07:46:08 PM »
Pity about the technical error by Singh on 3-0, but he certainly has the correct idea regarding moving the ball forward at feet in trying to get out from the back.

will give him dat some d other passing out of the back have been so aimless it frustrating

« Reply #208 on: November 05, 2018, 07:49:07 PM »

will give him dat some d other passing out of the back have been so aimless it frustrating

Agreed

« Reply #209 on: November 05, 2018, 07:54:58 PM »
4-0 singh always looks so weak in the tackle :( but d lack of defensive organization not helping either