April 18, 2024, 03:16:42 PM

Author Topic: Men's U-20 Football Team Thread.  (Read 72713 times)

Re: Brian Williams appointed head coach of Men’s U-20 team
« Reply #90 on: April 12, 2016, 12:20:38 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s U-20 team will compete against Guadeloupe, St. Lucia, and Turks and Caicos Islands during the Group Stage of the 2016 CFU Men's U-20 Tournament which runs from June 15th-19th. This group will play their games in Trinidad and Tobago.

Wed Fri Sun. Is it HCS or Ato?

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #91 on: April 12, 2016, 02:26:01 PM »
GROUP 1                                GROUP 2
June 15-19
ST. MAARTEN
Cuba
Antigua and Barbuda
Puerto Rico

June 15-19
TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
Turks and Caicos
Guadeloupe
St. Lucia

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #92 on: April 12, 2016, 02:27:55 PM »
GROUP 3                    GROUP 4
June 29 - 3rd July   June 15-19
HAITI                           DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
Cayman Islands           Jamaica
Bermuda                   Dominica
Anguilla                   St. Kitts and Nevis

Men’s U-20 get CFU first round grouping
« Reply #93 on: April 12, 2016, 06:49:17 PM »
Men’s U-20 get CFU first round grouping
TTFA Media

This Country’s National Under 20 Men’s Team has been grouped with St Lucia,Turks and Caicos and Guadeloupe for the opening phase of the Caribbean Football Union leg of 2017 Under 20 World Cup Qualifiers which will be staged in Trinidad and Tobago from June 15th to 19th.

This was determined at the draw held at CFU Office in Kingston on Monday evening. The final fixtures and match venues will be announced in due course.

The winning team of each of the four preliminary qualifying groups will advance to the CFU Finals in Curacao in October along with the third best, second best and best runner up from first round groups.

The top four teams from the Caribbean will then advance to the CONCACAF final round towards The 2017 FIFA Under 20 World Cup which will be played in South Korea. CONCACAF will have four representatives at the World Cup. Twenty-four teams will participate in the U-20 World Cup scheduled for May 20th to June 11th, 2017 across six host cities in South Korea.

Reacting to the draw which was witnessed by TTFA President David John-Williams via a Skype conference call with CFU, T&T U-20 Head Coach Brian Williams said he was positive of this country’s chances of advancing out of the group.

“I think it’s an interesting draw but also a favourable one for Trinidad and Tobago. My first objective is to prepare a strong national team for this qualifying campaign. I do not think we can afford to take any of the three teams in our group for granted because the gap in international football continues to close and either of these teams are capable of springing a surprise on the day,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“The good thing for us is that our first group will played at home so we will be familiar with the conditions. But this doesn’t take away from us needing to be well prepared and having a team that is capable of advancing all the way in these qualifiers,” Williams added.

The former National Team defender met with a squad of invited players for the first time on Monday at the Ato Boldon Stadium and conducted a light session following an introductory meeting. The squad will assemble on Wednesday at the same venue before Williams make his first cut in a few days time.

T&T are the defending Caribbean Football Union U-20 champions after defeating Haiti 3-0 in the Final in September, 2014 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. T&T has qualified on two occasions for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup, first in 1991 under head coach Bertille St Clair and captain Dwight Yorke and in 2009 head coach Zoran Vranes and captain Leston Paul.

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #94 on: April 13, 2016, 12:42:52 AM »
T&T U-20 hopefuls urged to join Pro League clubs; TTFA president explains
By Lasana Liburd  (Wired868.com)

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams has defended National Under-20 Team coach Brian Williams’ message to his players that they risk jeopardising their international careers if they did not join Pro League clubs.

John-Williams, who is the owner of the W Connection Football Club, and Williams, who is a Connection youth team coach, addressed teenaged international aspirants at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva yesterday.

Williams’ initial 33-member shortlist comprised only of Pro League youth and senior team players. However, the coach allowed other players to try out, based on recommendations from other local coaches and football stakeholders.

Those additions included the Shiva Boys Hindu College duo of Tyrel “Pappy” Emmanuel and Quinn Rodney, St Mary’s College winger Ethan Shim, former St Benedict’s College custodian Jamari Warrick and St Anthony’s College winger Kathon St Hillaire and utility player Andrew Rullow.

Before the session started, the non-Pro League players were asked to stand up in front of their teammates.

“(The TTFA president) asked them what is the reason they are not with a Pro League club,” said the observer, who spoke on condition of anonymity. “The first two boys were Shim and St Hillaire and they said they were at academies and were focusing on improving their football with those academies.

“Then ‘Pappy’ said he was in Form Five and wanted to have some time to focus on exams. To which, John-Williams said ‘you are focusing on exams but you are here at national training (…) and just like you made a choice the coach has to make a choice’.

“He focused on Pappy for such a long time that he never got to ask Quinn Rodney why he was not at a Pro League club.”

Emmanuel, who was one of three Trinidad and Tobago players selected for a training stint with Manchester City earlier this year, was singled out by “Soca Warriors” coach Stephen Hart as one of the two island republic’s best young talents along with his schoolmate, Rodney.

The Shiva Boys student has apparently agreed to represent National Super League (NSL) club, Marabella Family Crisis Centre, in the upcoming senior season. The NSL is Trinidad and Tobago’s second tier competition and consists of amateur clubs.

Williams reiterated the importance of club football before the players left the session.

READ MORE...
« Last Edit: April 13, 2016, 04:51:07 AM by Tallman »
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #95 on: April 13, 2016, 03:42:29 AM »
Arms length absent.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #96 on: April 13, 2016, 11:47:55 AM »
I can not understand why DJW will not learn that he is most effective when not HEARD. Every time, this man show up somewhere he opens his mouth and shits all over himself. Sadly, he does this soon after the TTFA does something that leads you to have hope.

He seems to be making progress; we hosting U20 group stage, we hosting U17 CFU Final Stage, Freindly against Uruguay, National Men's team ahead in WC Qualifying group. Why he just don't do he work so he could keep his foot out his mouth? If he complete the audits FIFA sending US$250,000, who the hell care who these boys sign or playing for?

Maybe he just can't control himself when he sees an opportunity for WC Connection.

« Reply #97 on: April 13, 2016, 12:00:27 PM »
I can not understand why DJW will not learn that he is most effective when not HEARD. Every time, this man show up somewhere he opens his mouth and shits all over himself. Sadly, he does this soon after the TTFA does something that leads you to have hope.

He seems to be making progress; we hosting U20 group stage, we hosting U17 CFU Final Stage, Freindly against Uruguay, National Men's team ahead in WC Qualifying group. Why he just don't do he work so he could keep his foot out his mouth? If he complete the audits FIFA sending US$250,000, who the hell care who these boys sign or playing for?

Maybe he just can't control himself when he sees an opportunity for WC Connection.
Seriously, did the young men need that ? Even if he thnks he advising them, then consult their advisers. Very unprofessional. Basically he telling the coach who to pick ? Absolutely right, the coach must pick the best team and indivuals in the country. How they get to that level is not his business. And why shine a major light on "Pappy". Amwood you refuse the coaching/consult job with the new Jack or what ?

Offline amwood

« Reply #98 on: April 13, 2016, 01:41:28 PM »
Sometimes you think you helping but with the current culture in local football - it might be that we are hurting them...this is the second player who is part of our setup that is dealing with this stuff.

« Reply #99 on: April 13, 2016, 01:56:14 PM »
Sometimes you think you helping but with the current culture in local football - it might be that we are hurting them...this is the second player who is part of our setup that is dealing with this stuff.
Keep up the good work still, at the end of the day your contribution is valuable to the players you develop through your academy.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #100 on: April 13, 2016, 02:00:19 PM »
Amwood you might hurt them in the short term but help them in the long run. They may not get a youth national team call up but go to a university in the US or a trial overseas and have better technical skills than another player who was once attached to a youth proleague team

« Reply #101 on: April 14, 2016, 11:27:03 AM »
WATCH: National Men’s U-20 Head Coach, Brian Williams, talks about the the task of preparing the team for the World Cup Qualifiers

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/8heN-VsjRGU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/8heN-VsjRGU</a>

« Reply #102 on: May 12, 2016, 09:09:15 AM »
WATCH: U-20 Head Coach Brian Williams gives an update on the team’s progress as they prepare for CFU qualifiers in June.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/taHv8AsFJgk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/taHv8AsFJgk</a>

Williams names provisional 30-man squad for CFU U-20 Qualifiers
« Reply #103 on: May 14, 2016, 03:10:51 PM »
Williams names provisional 30-man squad for CFU U-20 Qualifiers
TTFA Media

National Under 20 Men’s Head Coach Brian Williams has selected a provisional 30-man Squad for the upcoming Caribbean Football Union opening round of qualifiers towards the 2017 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Korea Republic.

Williams has been overseeing the preparations of the squad since being appointed as head coach in early April and is currently conducting sessions every week at the Ato Boldon Stadium and Manny Ramjohn Stadium. He and his technical staff which includes assistant coach Kerry Jamerson and goalkeeper coach Ross Russell, also held a screening session in Tobago recently prior to the selection of the 30-man squad which has been submitted to the CFU ahead of the competition.

A final 25-man squad will be named for the tournament which takes place in Trinidad from June 15th-19th and involves Guadeloupe, St Lucia and Turks and Caicos. The Final CFU round including the top eight teams will take place in Curacao from October 21st.

Five Caribbean teams will qualify for the CONCACAF Final round which will be contested in Costa Rica from February 17th to March 5th 2017 at the National Stadium and the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium in San Jose. The top four teams will qualify for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Korea Republic.

“The last couple of weeks have been pretty satisfactory. As a staff we took our time to select the right players to represent the country next month. We are pretty pleased about the selection. We came down to thirty players after screening close to a hundred players. We are down to the thirty-man squad now where we are working on specifics ahead of the competition,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“Some of the specifics we are dealing with are defensive organization, proper team cohesion and looking at establishing the best starting eleven. We have been following three players from abroad who will be coming for the tournament which are Morgan Bruce from England, Noah Powder from the New York Red Bulls in the US and Jarred Dass who is doing pretty well in the US as well as Jacob Sooklal who is based in Canada,” Williams added.

The former National Team defender described the response of the players to the preparations as commendable.

“The players are petty receptive to our training. We have players currently into competition, so our training has to be methodical in how much we push them. Fitness is something we always pay a lot of attention to. There are three main areas that we want to focus on looking generally at football in the Caribbean and in Trinidad and Tobago. We are trying to increase numbers in the box when we are offensively attacking, increasing our speed of play and also improve the level of concentration during both transitions, when we lose possession and when we win the ball as well,” Williams stated.

Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers:
Jabari Brice (San Juan Jabloteh), Jamari Warrick, Jadiel Poon-Lewis (Queen’s Royal College), Denzil Smith (Shiva Boys Hindu College)

Defenders:
Andrew Rullow (Premier Football Academy), Kori Cupid (W-Connection), Jacob Sooklal (Durham United), Noah Powder (New York Red Bulls II)

Midfielders:
Shawndell Augustus (Central FC), Taryk Sampson (North East Stars), Tyrel Emmanuel (Shiva Boys Hindu College), Michael Basdeo (Club Sando), Keston Julien (W-Connection), Kierron Mason (W-Connection), Kareem Riley (Central FC), Yohannes Richardson (Shiva Boys Hindu College), Shane Sandy (North East Stars), Shakuille Williams (St. Benedict’s College), Quinn Rodney (Club Sando), Isaiah Garcia (W-Connection), Jarred Dass (Stony Brook University), Morgan Bruce (Stevenage Borough)

Forwards:
Nicholas Dillon (Central FC), Josh Toussaint (St. Ann’s Rangers), Jabari Mitchell (W-Connection), Isaiah Hudson (W-Connection), Rushawn Murphy (East Mucurapo Secondary School), Kathon St. Hillaire (St. Ann’s Rangers), Micah Lansiquot (St. Ann’s Rangers)

Men's U-20 Football Thread.
« Reply #104 on: July 08, 2016, 05:05:59 PM »
Pre-screening for US-based T&T U-20 footballers

ATTENTION US-based U-20 footballers who are eligible to play for Trinidad and Tobago!
Here is an opportunity for you to be pre-screened during an ILandVision Soccer Camp, for possible inclusion into the Trinidad and Tobago U-20 player pool.

NOTE: You MUST be born on or after January 1, 1997 and be able to acquire a Trinidad and Tobago passport.

When:
July 14th-17th, 2016

Where:
National Training Center
Clermont, FL

Accommodations (if needed):
Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott
Clermont, FL

Daily Schedule:
Technical Session: 8:30am-11:30am
Lunch: 12pm-1pm
Tactical Session: 2pm-4pm
Dinner: 5pm-6pm
Practice Matches: 7pm-9pm
Dismissal of Day Campers and Return to Hotel for Resident Campers: 9pm

Cost:
$395 - Resident Campers (includes hotel accommodations, T-shirt, Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner)
$220 - Day Campers: 8:30a-9pm (includes T-shirt, Lunch, and Dinner)
$105 - Day

For further details or if you have questions, please contact Jheri Vidale at:
Email: director@ilandvision.com
Phone: (980) 229-2270

« Last Edit: January 02, 2018, 02:32:46 AM by Flex »

U-20 Men
« Reply #105 on: January 01, 2018, 10:19:30 AM »
Any idea whats up with our boys under 20 program  do we have a team training etc ?

Re: U-20 Men
« Reply #106 on: January 01, 2018, 11:23:51 AM »
Olimpics is in 2020. Happy New Year Everybody.

Offline Anbrat

Re: Men's U-20 Football Team Thread.
« Reply #107 on: January 02, 2018, 12:26:53 PM »
Olimpics is in 2020. Happy New Year Everybody.
Happy New Year 2018, Deeks!!!

« Reply #108 on: February 22, 2018, 04:53:57 PM »
Latapy’s Under 20s focus on Concacaf qualifiers scheduled for November.
TTFA Media.

A squad of National Under 20 players is currently in training under head coach Russell Latapy as this country focuses on the 2018 CONCACAF Under 20 World Cup qualifiers scheduled to take place in November.

The current pool comprises of players from the previous Under 17 National Team as well as other players who have come into the fray over the past few months. Latapy and his staff have been conducting sessions for over six months and currently meet once per week.

The thirty-player pool includes names such as Che Benny, Judah Garcia, Tyrel Emmanuel, goalkeepers Denzil Smith and Emmanuel John, John-Paul Rochford, Jordan Riley, Mark Ramdeen, Jayden Prowell, Kishon Hackshaw and Brandon Semper among others

“What we have tried to do as a staff is keep the team together and make sure they stay active. What happened before is that we had a lot of long breaks and stoppages, but what we are doing with this team, is having them train at least once a week. We still have to incorporate some of the overseas based players who we think are good enough to get onto this team,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“What we are trying to enhance in these players is their game awareness, their tactical awareness and obviously their fitness levels. We have a good bunch of players here that we think we can work with. But in comparison wit the teams that we are going to be competing against, we will be coming up against young players who are already playing first team football in top professional leagues. But we have a good bunch of young men who are taking on a lot of information and are willing to work hard and that’s a good place to start,” Latapy added.

Latapy says there are intentions to enter the team into one of the local leagues to assist with game preparation, considering that international matches may be difficult to come by in good numbers.

“It is always a massive challenge. For most coaches ideally what you will really like before any tournament, and this is being kind, is six to eight international matches. We know that because of the financial constraints of the Association at this point it’s difficult to get these international games. So therefore what we are trying to do is attempting to play in the local league, either the Pro League or the Super League,

We are hoping that we will get the support for it not only from the Association but also from the Super League or the Pro League. It has happened in the past before where we’ve seen when the national teams play in the local league then it has an impact on the way they perform in terms of game preparation,” Latapy stated.

Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Men to play two friendlies in Guadeloupe in May
« Reply #109 on: February 27, 2018, 03:58:18 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Men to play two friendlies in Guadeloupe in May
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago football association has secured two international friendlies for the National Under 20 Men’s Team to take place in Guadeloupe from May 19-21st.

The TTFA accepted an invitation from the Guadeloupe Football Association for matches against its National Under 20 Team as both nations prepare for upcoming CONCACAF qualifying matches.

Currently, head coach Russell Latapy is overseeing preparations of the T&T squad in preparation for the CONCACAF U-20 qualifiers in November.

Latapy spoke about the upcoming matches and the benefits it would bring to the current programme.

“Every international games is important for us in preparation moving forward to the CONCACAF Qualification stage,’” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“We are at one place right now presently working on certain aspects of our preparation and playing these games is an important part of the overall process. We have brought several young players into the current pool and we will also use this opportunity to have a look at them before narrowing down the squad later in the year as we get close to the competition

“I’d like to thank the Trinidad and Tobago FA for securing these matches for us in Guadeloupe as obviously it gives us a chance to see where we’re at in terms of game readiness and what areas we need to address, again in the overall scope of preparing the team for the Concacaf qualification,” Latapy added.

FIFA could change Under 20 World Cup format
It was revealed by FIFA President Gianni Infantino that FIFA is looking to merge the youth tournaments  to create a 48-team competition, emulating the expansion of the main World Cup. Officials are exploring the merits of an age cut-off at 18 or 19.

The women’s youth tournaments could also be combined to create a single 24-team event under plans that were considered in a meeting of the governing body’s competitions committee two weeks ago.

The proposals were discussed by FIFA President Gianni Infantino with some member associations during summits in Mauritania and Nigeria.

FIFA told The Associated Press the proposals form part of an ongoing review of competitions two years into Infantino’s presidency that has already seen the main World Cup expanded from 32 to 48 teams from 2026.

If eventually approved, there would be a far bigger jump in size for the U17 and U20 World Cups, with each biennial event for boys currently featuring 24 teams.

A single, potentially annual, 48-team youth competition would not pose the same logistical challenges faced by the expanded senior World Cup as doubleheaders in stadiums would mean fewer venues are required.

FIFA is trying to streamline the international youth soccer calendar. FIFA has more flexibility around immediate changes to its youth tournaments for boys as hosts for the 2019 events are yet to be selected.

But the women’s U17 and U20 World Cups will be staged this year in Uruguay and France respectively. North Korea will be defending both titles won in 2016.

« Reply #110 on: March 06, 2018, 04:39:53 PM »
National U-20 Men to play in Fundraiser Match for families affected by Cedros landslides
TTFA Media

The National Under 20 Men’s National Team will face off with a Point Fortin All Stars outfit captained by Hughtun Hector at Mahaica Oval, Point Fortin on Saturday in a two-match fund raising initiative for the families of Cedros who suffered major losses in the recent coastal landslides disaster which left eight families homeless.

Following initial discussions between former National Team midfielder Reynold Carrington,Councillor for Newlands/ Mahaica, Point Fortin and Under 20 head coach Russell Latapy, the initiative was seen as fitting and will also include a Latapy Eleven versus a Carrington Eleven at Mahaica.

The U-20s encounter will kick off at 5pm followed by the Latapy versus Carrington eleven from 7pm.
Admission will be $20 with all proceeds going towards the families.

Carrington made an appeal for all who are interested in contributing to the worthy cause.

“It was an idea that sprung to mind because I grew up playing a lot of my football in Cedros, at the time for a team called Jah Lions from Bamboo Village and currently we have a couple members on the national youth team from Cedros. We felt we needed to find a way to contribute to helping ease the pain they are going through at the moment,” Carrington told TTFA Media.

“And we are happy that the TTFA and Russell with the Under 20 Teamhave agreed to come on board. We have eight families that are homeless now and while they are being relocated through the help of HDC, there is still a lot of loss that was suffered in terms of household items and other basic items. I am therefore leaving an invitation to anyone who wants to contribute on the day by attending the game and also bringing items. We can also put them directly in touch with the families,” the former player said.

Latapy and TTFA Technical Director Anton Corneal endorsed the initiative.

“It’s just a way of football giving something back in the short term. These families from Cedros have gone through a traumatic time recently. It’s fantastic for us. We are going down there to play a team of fantastic players so yes straightaway we jumped at the opportunity to help out in whatever way we can. We will also take this opportunity to ask the fans to come out and look at the games. It’s not an entrance fee but it’s a donation of $20 at the gate that goes towards the families in need. It’s great to be part of an occasion like this,” Latapy said.

“It’s also a good opportunity for our team to get a decent practice match in as part of our overall preparations,” Latapy added.

Corneal added: “I think that’s it’s a huge taking to just show that we are also part of problems in Trinidad and Tobago. What happened in Cedros affects us also. It could have been one of those players or one of our coaches. They are doing to raise funds. It may not be enough but we are doing our part and i hope other sporting activities or organisations that will do the same. This is part of us being a progressive society helping each other.”

Some of the players expected to line up for the Carrington XI include Anthony Rougier, Anthony Sherwood, Wesley Webb,Sherwin Julien, Floyd Lawrence, Russell Munroe, Keyeno Thomas, Kelvin Modeste and Nicholason Thomas among others while for the Latapy XI, the likes of Dennis Lawrence, Stern John, Marvin Andrews, Clyde Leon, Earl Jean and Latapy will lace up their boots.

The Under 20 team will come up against a Point Fortin XI captained by Hector and including Nathaniel Garcia, Jabari Mitchell, Marcus Joseph, Justin Sadoo and Akini Adams among others, all players hailing from the areas of Point Fortin and Cedros. The T&T U-20 Team is preparing for CONCACAF Under 20 World Cup qualification in November.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/sN_azRq5AHs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/sN_azRq5AHs</a>

« Reply #111 on: March 14, 2018, 12:36:34 AM »
Carrington lauds positive response to Cedros relief effort.
TTFA Media.

Councillor for Newlands/Mahaica Reynold Carrington was high in praise of former national captain Russell Latapy and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association for their contribution towards the relief effort double header matches on Saturday for the families affected by the recent coastal landslides in Cedros.

In just over a week, the idea for the event was executed with the National Under 20 Men team facing a Point Fortin All Stars and a Latapy XI taking on a Carrington XI at the Mahaica Oval in Point Fortin.

Just under 700 supporters turned out at the event including Minister of National Security and MP for Point Fortin Edmund Dillon, Point Fortin Mayor Abdon Mason as well as  TTFA and local football officials.

The T&T Under 20s, coached by Latapy turned out 3-1 winners over the Point Fortin All stars captained by Hughtun Hector and included the likes of current national midfielder Nathaniel Garcia and ex-Under 17 forward Nkosi Blackman. Nickel Orr struck a double and Kishon Hackshaw got the other item for T&T which is preparing for CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers in November.

In the second outing, St Lucian Earl Jean and ex-national midfielder Densill Theobald both notched a double to give the Latapy XI a 4-1 victory. The likes of T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence, Marvin Andrews, Stern John, Ross Russell, Floyd Lawrence, Kevin Jeffrey, Keyeno Thomas, Ronnie Hunte, Matthew Bartholomew and Clyde Leon among other featured in the encounter. Former national great Leroy De Leon was in attendance.

“In the short time that we arranged everything, I think we had a pretty good response and the evening turned out to be one for a good cause that was supported,” Carrington told TTFA Media.

“And I would specially like to thank Russell for his part and the TTFA for their contributions in teaming up with us by bringing the national under 20 team to be part of this event. We rallied together and the Minister of National Security and MP Edmund Dillion as well as the Mayor Abdon Mason all showed up to support it. We had members of the eight affected families with us as well and it is our intention to continue staging events like this that would contribute towards a good cause.

“We will be presenting all proceeds from the gates as well as other items we’ve received the to the affected families. Some presentations were also made on the day through one of TTFA’s partner, Healthnet Caribbean’s My Card  and we received support from NGC and VWAD volunteers and the families have been grateful,” Carrington added.

Latapy further added: “We were delighted to offer our support for such a cause as this. It meant us coming together as current and past players to be part of an event and there was decent support which we were all thankful for. Hopefully this can play some part in the relief effort towards the families which have been affected by the landslides in Cedros.”

« Reply #112 on: March 14, 2018, 06:19:59 AM »
Very a Good!!!

Guadeloupe U-20 Invitational Tournament Thread
« Reply #113 on: May 15, 2018, 01:59:15 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Men’s Team off to Guadeloupe for Invitational tourney
TTFA Media

An 18-man Trinidad and Tobago Under 20 Men’s Team departed these shores for Guadeloupe this morning to contest the six-nation Guadeloupe Invitational tourney from May 18-21.

T&T will open their campaign against Costa Rica’s National Under 20 Team on Saturday and will meet Martinique’s U20s the following day. The other teams competing include hosts Guadeloupe, French Guiana and Haiti. The winner of the two groups will meet in the final on May 21st while the other runners up teams from each group will meet for final placings on the closing day.

T&T are preparing for the CONCACAF Under 20 World Cup qualifiers in November.

“It’s a fantastic opportunity for the team and the coaching staff to see where we are in terms of our preparations. We are definitely looking forward to it,” Latapy told TTFA Media on Monday.

“This is an invitational tournament. Because exams are going on right now there are a lot of players who I would have loved to have the possibility to take on this trip but unfortunately I cannot. But it is a fantastic opportunity for some of the other players to stake a claim for their pick for the tournament in November,” he continued.

“We have a bunch of talented players as we always do in this country. What we were lacking and what we are trying to work on is the tactical side of the game in relation to where the ball is what the positional play will be. We have been improving on it so far and we just need to keep working at it,” Latapy added.

Commenting on the player’s readiness for the game, Latapy said it was a work in progress to get the squad to a satisfactory level.

“We have a squad of players that technically they are above average but we know playing with the football in the modern game is not enough, you have to learn and know how to run off the ball, how to create space, how to close spaces down when you are not in position. We have worked with the boys for some time. We are fairly happy with where they are right now from when we took the squad. It is a work in progress.

“ One of the key aspects to me is about the process of winning, it’s about development. I think if we can get the process right then we can win more games, The development of these players is important and not only as football players but as men,” Latapy said.

The Squad for Guadeloupe: Jabari Brice, Denzil Smith, Jessie Williams, Darnell Hospedales, Kernel Sween, Jabari Graham, Deron John, Anthony Samuel, Shem Claudel, Judah Garcia, Dernell Charles, John Paul Rochford, Isa Bramble, Shaqkeem Joseph, Brandon Semper, Jordan Riley, Kishon Hackshaw and Jayden Prowell. injuries and has been taken to hospital.”

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ByRRKLdp_qE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ByRRKLdp_qE</a>

Re: Guadeloupe U-20 Invitational Tournament Thread
« Reply #114 on: May 15, 2018, 02:18:11 PM »

Re: Guadeloupe U-20 Invitational Tournament Thread
« Reply #115 on: May 15, 2018, 06:01:32 PM »
Good, good!!!!

« Reply #116 on: May 17, 2018, 01:48:17 AM »
Latapy urges U-20s to stake their claim.
T&T Newsday Reports.

T&T footballers in Guadeloupe Invitational

An 18-man Trinidad and Tobago Under 20 men’s team departed these shores for Guadeloupe Tuesday morning to contest the six-nation Guadeloupe Invitational tourney from May 18-21.

T&T will open their campaign against Costa Rica’s Under 20s on Saturday and will meet Martinique’s U-20s the following day. The other teams competing include hosts Guadeloupe, French Guiana and Haiti. The winner of the two groups will meet in the final on May 21, and the runners-up from each group will meet for final placings on the closing day.

T&T are preparing for the CONCACAF Under 20 World Cup qualifiers in November.

“It’s a fantastic opportunity for the team and the coaching staff to see where we are in terms of our preparations. We are definitely looking forward to it,” Latapy told TTFA Media on Monday.

“This is an invitational tournament. Because exams are going on right now, there are a lot of players who I would have loved to have the possibility to take on this trip, but unfortunately I cannot. But it is a fantastic opportunity for some of the other players to stake a claim for their pick for the tournament in November,” he continued.

“We have a bunch of talented players as we always do in this country. What we were lacking and what we are trying to work on is the tactical side of the game, in relation to where the ball is what the positional play will be. We have been improving on it so far and we just need to keep working at it,” Latapy added.

Commenting on the players’ readiness for the game, Latapy said it was a work in progress to get the squad to a satisfactory level.

“We have a squad of players that technically they are above average, but we know playing with the football in the modern game is not enough, you have to learn and know how to run off the ball, how to create space, how to close spaces down when you are not in position. We have worked with the boys for some time. We are fairly happy with where they are right now from when we took the squad. It is a work in progress.

“One of the key aspects to me is about the process of winning, it’s about development. I think if we can get the process right, then we can win more games, The development of these players is important and not only as football players but as men,” Latapy said.

T&T squad: Jabari Brice, Denzil Smith, Jessie Williams, Darnell Hospedales, Kernel Sween, Jabari Graham, Deron John, Anthony Samuel, Shem Clauzel, Judah Garcia, Dernell Charles, John Paul Rochford, Isa Bramble, Shaqkeem Joseph, Brandon Semper, Jordan Riley, Kishon Hackshaw and Jayden Prowell.

« Reply #117 on: May 21, 2018, 03:39:23 AM »
T&T Under 20s go under 2-0 to Costa Rica.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men suffered a 2-0 defeat to Costa Rica’s Under 20 Men in their opening encounter at the Guadeloupe Six-Nation Invitational tourney on Saturday evening at the Stade René Serge Nabajoth, Les Abymes

From all accounts, T&T gave a decent showing but conceded goals on either side of the half. Costa Rica’s goals were scored by Ronaldo Araya and Yecxy Ramos Jarquim, one a free kick which went in off a deflection and another late in the match which was a well struck effort from some 25 yards out.

The game was played on a wet outfield after a heavy downpour before kick off and during parts of the match.

T&T head coach Russell Latapy described the encounter as a useful exercise for his troops which are preparing for CONCACAF Under 20 World Cup qualifiers in November.

“It was a keenly contested match  and a good all round performance by our boys,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“Considering also that this was our first international match as a group and knowing too that we had a few new faces with some of the more regular players being left at home because of exams, I was pleased to see the way we executed certain things on the field and the way we carried ourselves out there against a good Costa Rican team” Latapy said.

“We conceded the first goal on virtually the final kick of the half and that was due to a lack of experience and composure which will only get better with matches like these. I thought we were solid and we limited Costa Rica’s attacks in our half.

“In the second half I would say we had the better of the exchanges for the first fifteen to twenty minutes with a couple of good chances to get on the scoresheet but we didn’t take them. Their second goal came came on a quick break up the park and from a resulting corner the player had a really good hit from about 25 yards out.”

‘Overall I was satisfied with some aspects of our play and we will be looking to better some areas and have a go at it again in our second match,” Latapy added. T&T faces Martinique in their second match from 6pm on Sunday.

Guadeloupe and Haiti drew 0-0 in Saturday’s second game while Costa Rica had previously beaten Martinique 3-0 and French Guiana and Guadeloupe drew 1-1 on Friday.

Teams

T&T starting Line-up - Denzil Smith; Darnell Hospedales, Kerdell Sween, Jabari Graham, Deron John, Anthony Samuel, Judah Garcia, Shaqkeem Joseph, Jordan Riley, Kishon Hackshaw, Jaydon Prowell (capt).

Subs from - Jabari Brice, Jessie Williams, Shem Clauzel, Dernell Charles, John-Paul Rochford, Isa Bramble, Brandon Semper.

Coach - Russell Latapy.

Costa Rica full team - Kevin Chamorro, Ricardo Montenegro; Diego Mesen, Juergen Sequeira, Walter Cortez, Jose Quiros; Greivin Fonseca, Amferny Arias, Rachit Parquins, Denilson Mora, Yecsy Jarquin, Carlos Villegas, Ronaldo Araya, Sebastian Castro; Mauricio Villalobos, Yonaiker Mora, Juergen Montenegro, Julen Cordero.

Coach - Breansse Camacho.

« Last Edit: May 21, 2018, 04:13:21 AM by Flex »

Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Men go down 2-1 to Martinique
« Reply #118 on: May 21, 2018, 03:04:03 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Men go down 2-1 to Martinique
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men went down 2-1 to Martinique in their second outing in as many days at the Guadeloupe six-nation tourney on Sunday evening at Capesterre-Belle-Eau.

Following their 2-0 loss to Costa Rica the previous evening, T&T, captained by Judah Garcia on the day went into the match hoping to come out with a favourable result. Head Coach Russell Latapy made a few changes to his starting team from Saturday’s encounter in an attempt to get fresh legs on the park as well as use the opportunity to present playing time to more members of his squad. T&T played their second encounter in as many days with Martinique playing Costa Rica in their previous match on Friday, losing 3-0 to the Central Americans.

Martinique took a 20th minute lead and would grab a second from a dubious penalty in the 50th minute for a 2-0 lead. Half time substitute John Paul Rochford would pull a goal back for T&T in the 68th minute when Kishon Hackshaw got around his man on the left corner before crossing into the area for Rochford to hit home first time.

Head Coach Russell Latapy later spoke about the match.

“It was a tough, scrappy and physical game. We gave up two goals on two defensive mistakes which is not acceptable at this level but again we’ve come here to get the playing time and these things are not unexpected from us at this stage considering we haven’t had much international experience,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“We made a some changes from the first game with it  taking a lot out of us and this one also was a physically demanding one on the players with very little recovery time after we played the day before. We lacked a bit more quality in the final third and we had some decisions which went against but again these are things that our team will accustomed to and it’s turned out to be a good learning experience for the boys.

“The young referees made some mistakes and it caused tempers to boil over which resulted in players from both teams clashing near the end. It’s the first time our boys were encountering something like this in an international match. These type of things among other aspects are what we’ll take away with us from the encounter which is learning to stay focused and sticking to the game plan instead of having our mental concentration throw off,” Latapy added.

T&T will face French Guiana from 4pm on Monday in the playoff for fifth place while Costa Rica will take on Haiti in the Final. Haiti beat French Guiana 1-0 in the second outing on Sunday. T&T are preparing for CONCACAF U-20 World Cup qualifying in November.

T&T line up – 20. Jabari Brice, 12. Darnell Hospedales, 2. Kerdel Sween, 4. Jabari Graham (5.Jessie Williams 63’), 3. Deron John, 8. Anthony Samuel (14.Darnell Charles 60’), 10. Judah Garcia (Capt), 16. Isa Bramble (11.Jordan Riley 46’) 17. Shaqkeem Joseph (15. John Paul Rochford 46’), 6. Brandon Semper (9. Jayden Prowell 46’), 13. Kishon Hackshaw.

Subs not used – 1. Denzil Smith, 7.Shem Clauzel,

Head Coach – Russell Latapy

« Reply #119 on: May 21, 2018, 04:07:33 PM »
Next stop...the u 14 TEAM..OR maybe the O35 fete match team.