March 28, 2024, 04:07:54 PM

Author Topic: Men's U-20 Football Team Thread.  (Read 71333 times)

Re: Men's U-20 Football Team Thread.
« Reply #510 on: June 23, 2022, 12:14:47 PM »
disgraceful performance and no answers from eve.

showed no fight, zero ability to anticipate where the ball will be, poor decision making especially under pressure.

silver lining is they can collectively soak in the lessons from a painful cut-arse.

eve and carrington....do better. if allyuh can't grow this team or if the dual post is no benefit to u-20 or smnt then drop a damn post

It's the same ole same ole that have been going on for decades and still no one has learned a darn thing, how can you compete with countries that invest in their sports discipline? just look around you and see which caribbean team that has been dominant over the north and central americans...there aren't any, and do you know why? because we in CFU are lazy self serving monkeys who don't want to put in the work but crave positions of leadership while relying on talent alone for past 60 years.

So save your disappointment mate, and do like me and watch with a coaches eye. the last straw for me was when they fired fenwick for angus, claiming that coaching was the reason for us flunking out of the world cup, when it wasn't coaching but lack of development, and the fact that most of our lads play in very poor leagues around the world.

As one of a thousand examples....30 years of boom kick and toepee up the field, and not a single one a defence splitting pass. That should be automatic jail time. Somebody is coaching the youth to  boomkick or not correcting them when its done. For 30+ years

That is most certainly not true. I had the pleasure of watching many age groups in the RBC tournament a few years back, different age groups, and except for a few cases on a couple teams in the U10 age group there was hardly any of that style played or coached. Where have you been observing this among the local youths in development ? At the higher youth levels their was exceptional player, the 1 major issue was discipline and punctuality from 2 teams in particcular, Patna Village and Laventille youths, however their player although NOT boom kick was reactive and rough. The coaches were still trying to give them proper directions though, given the obvious team issues. QPCC players, Trendsetter Hawks and 1 other team -  i think outta Barataria - coaches and supporters were a cut above the rest.  Funny though, I haven't seen any of the top players from that tournament move on, or maybe I may missed them.

« Reply #511 on: June 23, 2022, 01:10:28 PM »
That being the case: why is it not glaringly part of the repertoire of football seen at NT level?

« Reply #512 on: June 23, 2022, 02:38:39 PM »
I agree with maxg. The boom kick ball tends to occur depending on the skill level of the players in the national at the time. The 74 team in Haiti played a mix of long ball and short passes throughout the qualifying, and almost succeeded. And that team had speed and we beat Mex. The Italy WC team was not total long ball with Gally as coach. He had some skillfull guys on his team. The Germany WC team did use lots of long ball, but that is what the the Dutch decided to have them play.

Now the U-20 had to use the long ball quite often the other night because of the heavy ground,  and Mexico was fitter, faster and better than them.

« Reply #513 on: June 23, 2022, 04:22:25 PM »
Something is WRONG when the 2 is more significantly advanced than the 9, 10, 11 and 7 and there are no alternative bodies in the box to receive, distract or challenge.

« Reply #514 on: June 23, 2022, 04:31:20 PM »
Tactical naiveté is our undoing. Compare the numbers Suriname commit to the attacking 1/3 with our population of 0 in the attacking 1/3. We think everything is to be generated from frontal running in attack. Not much thought given to combining in front of the opponent's Back 4. Relatively easy for Suriname to address all second balls and read the spaces and locate our players.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2022, 04:37:12 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #515 on: June 23, 2022, 04:34:08 PM »
Something is WRONG when the 2 is more significantly advanced than the 9, 10, 11 and 7 and there are no alternative bodies in the box to receive, distract or challenge.

someone be it  9 10 11 or 7 needs to drop back and cover when number 2 goes up

« Reply #516 on: June 23, 2022, 04:35:48 PM »
Tactical naiveté is our undoing. Compare the numbers Suriname commit to the attacking 1/3 with our population of 0 in the attacking 1/3. We think everything is to be generated from frontal running in attack. Not much thought given to combining in front of the opponent's Back 4.

Maybe they are playing to the coaches instructions..

« Reply #517 on: June 23, 2022, 04:39:36 PM »
I think khan  would be a good box to box or defensive mid . he is not an attack minded ..

« Reply #518 on: June 23, 2022, 04:40:41 PM »
Tactical naiveté is our undoing. Compare the numbers Suriname commit to the attacking 1/3 with our population of 0 in the attacking 1/3. We think everything is to be generated from frontal running in attack. Not much thought given to combining in front of the opponent's Back 4.

Maybe they are playing to the coaches instructions..

And non-revised instruction. Suriname has their throat on the cutting board and we are being blind to their sacrifice.

« Reply #519 on: June 23, 2022, 04:41:31 PM »
I think khan  would be a good box to box or defensive mid . he is not an attack minded ..

Certainly there's no evidence that he is a finesse finisher.

« Reply #520 on: June 23, 2022, 04:42:13 PM »
that is not a hand ball that goal is legit

« Reply #521 on: June 23, 2022, 04:43:36 PM »

Certainly there's no evidence that he is a finesse finisher.

Tell that to angus

« Reply #522 on: June 23, 2022, 04:44:18 PM »
If we score, Suriname are obliged to attack. That being the case why not commit to that cause.

« Reply #523 on: June 23, 2022, 04:47:14 PM »
Just what we need: another set play before the HT whistle. We don't seem to learn.

« Reply #524 on: June 23, 2022, 04:58:11 PM »

someone be it  9 10 11 or 7 needs to drop back and cover when number 2 goes up

Even if I agree, that still doesn't explain the absence of the others. Once the player started penetrating on the flank, the others seemed not inclined to start attacking the penalty area.

From a scouting perspective, it's the players losing points ... not the coach. They still have heads on their shoulders.

Happened twice. We could have risked the extra body. If 6 players + GK can't defend 4 or 5, we should fly home.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2022, 05:01:42 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #525 on: June 23, 2022, 05:16:47 PM »
we are getting the best out of Roka in his proper  position

« Reply #526 on: June 23, 2022, 05:19:19 PM »
NAH THIS IS TO MUCH  HE CANNOT PLAY AS A FOWARD IF WE ADVANCE

« Reply #527 on: June 23, 2022, 05:21:04 PM »
jAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #528 on: June 23, 2022, 05:26:08 PM »
NAH THIS IS TO MUCH  HE CANNOT PLAY AS A FOWARD IF WE ADVANCE

Correct.

« Reply #529 on: June 23, 2022, 05:26:35 PM »
we are getting the best out of Roka in his proper  position

Correct.

« Reply #530 on: June 23, 2022, 05:28:31 PM »
jAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Another individualistic solution to collective deficiencies.

Also, we score with inferior possession, inferior passing accuracy within that and inferior number of shots on target.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #531 on: June 23, 2022, 05:33:50 PM »
Score?

« Reply #532 on: June 23, 2022, 05:40:58 PM »
1-0. 80 mins. Let’s hope they can hold on.

« Reply #533 on: June 23, 2022, 05:48:53 PM »
3-0.

Finally we are putting pressure on the Mexico - Haiti result. Also better attempts at combining. Seeing reverse balls even.

« Reply #534 on: June 23, 2022, 05:53:40 PM »
Good finish to the game, defense held on and the forwards were creative. Well done youths. Everybody tired boy.

« Reply #535 on: June 23, 2022, 05:54:45 PM »
Good finish to the game, defense held on and the forwards were creative. Well done youths. Everybody tired boy.

WHAT GAME YOU WERE WATCHING ?

« Reply #536 on: June 23, 2022, 06:13:20 PM »

WHAT GAME YOU WERE WATCHING ?

There was some creativity ... compared to next to none previously. Maybe not entirely from Fs.

Those Netherlands-based players ... we seemed more exhausted than them in a hot climate.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2022, 06:18:20 PM by asylumseeker »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #537 on: June 23, 2022, 06:31:47 PM »
This team is depending to much on individual talent only when players like N Roka and A De Gannes is on the field they start to look like a team.

« Reply #538 on: June 23, 2022, 09:58:06 PM »
 >:(ftp://

showed no fight, zero ability to anticipate where the ball will be, poor decision making especially under pressure.

silver lining is they can collectively soak in the lessons from a painful cut-arse.

eve and carrington....do better. if allyuh can't grow this team or if the dual post is no benefit to u-20 or smnt then drop a damn post

It's the same ole same ole that have been going on for decades and still no one has learned a darn thing, how can you compete with countries that invest in their sports discipline? just look around you and see which caribbean team that has been dominant over the north and central americans...there aren't any, and do you know why? because we in CFU are lazy self serving monkeys who don't want to put in the work but crave positions of leadership while relying on talent alone for past 60 years.

So save your disappointment mate, and do like me and watch with a coaches eye. the last straw for me was when they fired fenwick for angus, claiming that coaching was the reason for us flunking out of the world cup, when it wasn't coaching but lack of development, and the fact that most of our lads play in very poor leagues around the world.

As one of a thousand examples....30 years of boom kick and toepee up the field, and not a single one a defence splitting pass. That should be automatic jail time. Somebody is coaching the youth to  boomkick or not correcting them when its done. For 30+ years

That is most certainly not true. I had the pleasure of watching many age groups in the RBC tournament a few years back, different age groups, and except for a few cases on a couple teams in the U10 age group there was hardly any of that style played or coached. Where have you been observing this among the local youths in development ?
[/quote

« Last Edit: June 23, 2022, 10:06:47 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #539 on: June 23, 2022, 10:08:28 PM »

That is most certainly not true. I had the pleasure of watching many age groups in the RBC tournament a few years back, different age groups, and except for a few cases on a couple teams in the U10 age group there was hardly any of that style played or coached. Where have you been observing this among the local youths in development ? At the higher youth levels their was exceptional player, the 1 major issue was discipline and punctuality from 2 teams in particcular, Patna Village and Laventille youths, however their player although NOT boom kick was reactive and rough. The coaches were still trying to give them proper directions though, given the obvious team issues. QPCC players, Trendsetter Hawks and 1 other team -  i think outta Barataria - coaches and supporters were a cut above the rest.  Funny though, I haven't seen any of the top players from that tournament move on, or maybe I may missed them.

I'm watching youths who play at the highest level, representing their country, not youths in a tournament. The pattern has been the same for decades and was on full display last night. When under duress our players instinctively move the ball forward through the air from the middle of the field toward or through the flanks. And far more often than not an opposing player takes possession of the ball.

Maybe there is an effort being made to do things differently now, but with the exceptions of 1991, Anton Corneal/Vranes world cup squads and the very capable 2015 U-20s no T&T youth team has been able to consistently advance a ball forward using rapid precise passing interchanges under pressure. To build a skilled player is one thing...to build a skilled team is another matter entirely