March 28, 2024, 10:20:53 AM

Author Topic: Men's U-20 Football Team Thread.  (Read 71302 times)

Men's U-20 Football Team Thread.
« on: November 25, 2006, 01:04:58 PM »
SCHEDULES SET FOR T&T YOUTH TEAMS....as CONCACAF EXco meets in LA 
BY Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

If Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 team can get past Jamaica in their Caribbean Football Union (CFU) two-match playoffs early next month, they will progress to the CONCACAF final round of qualification towards the FIFA World Youth Championship 2007 in a group which comprises fellow Caribbean team St Kitts/Nevis, hosts Mexico and Costa Rica.

This as well as the draw for the CONCACAF Final Round of Under 17 qualification was determined when the draw was held in Los Angeles on Friday as the CONCACAF Executive Committee was also held.

In the Under 20 competition Groups A & B have been confirmed to take place in Panama and Mexico, respectively.

Panama will host Group A at the Rommel Fernández Stadium in Panama City from January 17-21 and will feature Guatemala, Haiti and the USA.

Mexico, who is staging Group B at the Carlos González y González Stadium in Culiacán, Sinaloa, has Costa Rica, St. Kitts & Nevis and the winner of the Jamaica – Trinidad & Tobago playoff.

The top two teams from each of these groups will qualify to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007.

In the Under 17 category, T&T’s Under 17 team, already through to the final stage, will travel to Jamaica for Group B action where they will come up against the hosts, Canada, United States and Costa Rica from April 16-26.

Group A that will be held at the Tiburcio Carias Andino Stadium in Tegucigalpa, Honduras from April 4-8 and has El Salvador, Haiti, Mexico alongside the hosts.

Head coach Anton Corneal will soon resume preparations with the under 17s following the end of the Secondary Schools Football League season this month while the Under 20s are engaged in friendlies this weekend against Venezuela ahead of their away match with Jamaica on December 3 at the Harbour View mini Stadium and then in Trinidad on December 7.

CONCACAF President Jack Warner was at the helm of  packed agenda at the CONCACAF where the Executive Committee (Exco) reached a number of important decisions in a wide range of areas. And among that is a decision to support a proposed bid for the T&T Football Federation to host the Under 17 FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2010.

The Exco also  confirmed that CONCACAF would be lobbying FIFA for four automatic spots for the FIFA World Cup South Africa 2010. During the meeting, CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer commented, “When we look at the performance of CONCACAF’s fourth team in Germany 2006, Trinidad & Tobago, we see a team that not only held Sweden to a draw but was also just minutes from achieving a similar result against England. Certainly there is an excellent case that CONCACAF has the strength in depth to justify four automatic spots in the 2010 World Cup.”

In other decisions, the CONCACAF Exco decided to:
• require all member associations of CONCACAF, from 2007, to have a representative on their own Executive Committee responsible for the development and management of a women’s football program.
• mandate CONCACAF’s representatives to FIFA to pursue the immediate implementation of the Referees Assistance Program (RAP), the proposed Program having previously been accepted by the FIFA Executive Committee. The RAP is aimed at increasing the quality of refereeing at all levels of football around the world by supporting a structure at the national association level to develop referees.
• support a proposed bid by the Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation to host the U17 FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2010.
• further request that, in recognition of the increased number of mandatory events organized by Confederations, CONCACAF representative’s to FIFA lobby for an increase in FIFA Assistance Program funding for the Confederations. The FAP to Confederations has not been increased for eight years although in this same period the number of events in the global football calendar has increased dramatically.
• act upon, at the next Exco meeting, a proposal by the CONCACAF Secretariat to develop the CONCACAF Champions’ Cup™ into a larger “Champions’ League” style event, beginning in 2009.

In discussing issues affecting Member Associations of CONCACAF, the Exco decided to request the Belize FA to postpone their elections to the first week of March, allowing sufficient time for CONCACAF to ensure all statutory requirements have been met.

Following the formal business of the meeting, the CONCACAF Vice President representing North America, Mr. Alan Rothenberg, announced his decision to not seek re-election to the post when his existing term ends in 2007. CONCACAF President Warner expressed his heartfelt thanks for many years of service by Mr. Rothenberg to football in the USA, throughout CONCACAF and the wider world. He then recommended that Mr. Rothenberg be nominated as a CONCACAF representative on FIFA’s newly formed Committee for Fair Play and Social Responsibility. The President’s recommendation was supported unanimously by the Executive Committee. (November 25, 2006)

« Last Edit: November 25, 2006, 01:07:48 PM by triniman »

Re: SCHEDULES SET FOR T&T YOUTH TEAMS
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2006, 01:42:55 PM »
Warner does come up wid dese grandiose good-for-tiefing-TVrights money plans and doh consult with nobody. Holding world cup and 3-4 murders a day, lawsuit still in progress, TTFF accountability and audit still in question and saying how he done wit football so he could jump on de women back now. Dis Jackula have an insatiable unquenchable desire for blood money yes.

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2006, 03:08:49 PM »
• support a proposed bid by the Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation to host the U17 FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2010

this could jump start womens football

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2006, 03:19:25 PM »
We need investment in development and not quick fix syphon-of-de-money-from-gate-receipt-and-TV-rights ventures. This is needed both for our young boys and girls so that our attempts to qualify will not be once in a blue moon events or never attempts. Dais what I want to hear. There should also be consultation with the different stakeholders and not vaps surprises out of nowhere just so. Let's plan these things 4 years in advance and get the country ready so plenty folks benefit and have the stadia full. The way things going right now our attendance will be an utter embarrassment to the country.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2006, 04:03:26 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2006, 03:34:01 PM »
• support a proposed bid by the Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation to host the U17 FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2010

this could jump start womens football

it go jump jack pocket up a decimal place too.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

2nd Match: U20TnT vs Venezuela
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2006, 08:00:48 PM »
Any scores or updates ??

Re: 2nd Match: U20TnT vs Venezuela
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2006, 08:07:04 PM »
Any scores or updates ??

yuh desperate ah wha you would hear sumthing tomorrow

« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2006, 08:11:01 PM »
Any scores or updates ??

yuh desperate ah wha you would hear sumthing tomorrow
When it comes to Trinidad fottball !!!.......YES SIR !!

« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2006, 08:41:26 PM »
Dais de kinda answer I like to hear. Doh be shame to say yuh patriotic

Offline black chinee

« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2006, 08:43:04 PM »
soooo, no scores yet?

« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2006, 09:46:22 PM »
this place in real messssssss. Imagine I call a leading Sports Commentator to get a score. The man eh go the game and eh know the score. I more anxious tahn he. From now on at least WN/sw.net member must be at every national team game. It too embarassing.

« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2006, 09:53:02 PM »
Trinidad gorn tru. Might as well give all games to Tobago, they will appreciate it more

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2006, 09:56:18 PM »
We lost 3-2... Khaleem Hayland & Matthew Batholomew score fuh we
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2006, 10:03:04 PM »
Sad

« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2006, 10:14:39 PM »
We lost 3-2... Khaleem Hayland & Matthew Batholomew score fuh we

Dreamer is a warmup 

« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2006, 10:16:09 PM »
Still sad. I doh like losing. Is not a good habit

« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2006, 07:16:26 AM »
Sad

Come on dreamer, everyone hates to lose, but at least we lost a friendly, lets be more positive. The team needs our support.

« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2006, 09:21:45 AM »
Imagine a man from canada have to provide we with the score.

U-20 men's team play in Biche.
« Reply #18 on: June 05, 2012, 05:27:01 PM »
U-20 men's team play in Biche.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 training squad travelled to Biche for a training session and practice match at the Biche Recreation ground on Saturday afternoon.

Currently preparing for the Caribbean Football Union leg of the Under 20 World Cup qualifiers, head coach Michael McComie took a squad of twenty-five players to the venue for a 60-minute session prior to the training game against Biche United which is preparing for their first season in the TTFF National Super League.

The game ended 5-1 in favour of the T&T U-20s through goals by Kyle West, a well taken header in the 19th minute, Shaquille Nesbit (38’ and 64’), Adan Noel in the 78th and an own goal in the final minute. Biche pulled a goal back in the 58th minute.

The exercise was part of efforts by the TTFF to take the national teams to communities within the twin-island. Both the Under 20s and Under 17 teams will travel to Tobago this coming weekend for a training camp.

McComie welcomed the chance for his players to venture into a rural community and face the Super League newcomers.

“This is exactly what we wanted to do with the team which was to bring them out in communities where national teams don’t frequent for an opportunity to also  get the people familiar with the team,” McComie told TTFF Media.

“It was a good outing for the boys. It was a training game so we also like the habit of training before games like  these. We have to play three games in like six days so it’s going to be a tough tournament and we have to be physically ready for it.”

McComie has four North American-based players in his current training squad which has Duane Muckette as its current captain. (Further details on the overseas-based players will be disclosed later this week when team visits Tobago).

“It’s good, keen competition for places in the team right now. The boys have trained with us a couple times already and are fitting in well. We will not close the door on any player at this point and even those who do not make it into the final team for the tournament will be monitored and kept as part of the overall pool of players.”

Assistant coach Anthony Rougier said it was important that the fans in the local communities get the chance to have up close experiences with the various national teams.

“I think it’s excellent for us to be here in Biche. The important thing was getting the boys out here in order for them to get a feel of playing in some of these communities.

Having the nucleus of Trinidad and Tobago get to know their teams as well and to know this is their national team is also one of the objectives. Most times the fans only see them on television and they are made to believe that they have to travel to the national stadium to see the national team play,” Rougier said.

“It’s about learning to play in different environments also. They have to experience the comments being made on the sidelines and other factors that will hopefully help them grow as players. The ground was not in the best condition and yet still the boys are mentally ready for the challenge which is really good for us,” added the former Reading player.

T&T will enter the Caribbean leg of qualification from July 23-31 in a group hosted by St Vincent/Grenadines along with Suriname and Guyana. The winner of the four preliminary groups and the best second placed team will advance to the final CFU round in Jamaica from November 3-11, 2012.

The CONCACAF final round takes place in Puebla, Mexico from February 18-March 2, 2013.  The Caribbean will have five berths in the final 12-nation round from which four will qualify for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Turkey. Mexico, Canada and USA are automatic qualifiers to the CONCACAF final round.

Re: U-20 men's team play in Biche.
« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2012, 06:09:48 PM »
While I applaud de effort tuh take de national teams into rural communities, ah hope dey making sure dat dey eh playing on no jokey field tuh twist up man foot.

« Reply #20 on: June 05, 2012, 06:23:14 PM »
Talented Canadian-born midfielder Kristian Lee-Him‏ will be there with the team in Tobago.

« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2012, 07:59:20 AM »
While I applaud de effort tuh take de national teams into rural communities, ah hope dey making sure dat dey eh playing on no jokey field tuh twist up man foot.

If it's the field that I played on there, then they took a risk.  Not a turf that is friendly to GKs; was bruised by a rock that was embedded in the playing surface.  That was about 12 years ago though, so I imagine they have upgraded.  Hopefully, it wasn't too drenched.

« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2012, 11:04:22 AM »
ah just realize Rougier is asst coach !

« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2012, 11:30:25 AM »
I played against Biche United when I played for Valencia United, we beta them 8-1...... this was almost 10 years ago.  The field was not bad at all for a rural area. I don't know what its like today.

« Reply #24 on: June 06, 2012, 11:40:52 AM »
Talented Canadian-born midfielder Kristian Lee-Him‏ will be there with the team in Tobago.

youth playing for a D1 program. good.

http://www.goasu.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=21500&ATCLID=205247143

« Reply #25 on: June 06, 2012, 01:26:24 PM »

agreed

not to mention ah hope de transport eh no small maxi, whey man fol up tight tight in dem jokey seat

« Reply #26 on: June 06, 2012, 06:09:32 PM »
Marcus Bernard (#14) is another one who will be there, also based in Canada.

« Last Edit: June 06, 2012, 06:11:42 PM by Flex »

« Reply #27 on: June 06, 2012, 07:20:37 PM »
I played against Biche United when I played for Valencia United, we beta them 8-1...... this was almost 10 years ago.  The field was not bad at all for a rural area. I don't know what its like today.

I played a an exhibition game for Essex in Valencia, a very long time ago. We played Greyhound Dovers from SFA on a field near a community center. The field their was not to bad. I don't no how it is now. Nice place, Valencia.

« Reply #28 on: June 06, 2012, 08:28:20 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5J2VXZorMdI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5J2VXZorMdI</a>

« Reply #29 on: June 06, 2012, 09:50:06 PM »

I played a an exhibition game for Essex in Valencia, a very long time ago. We played Greyhound Dovers from SFA on a field near a community center. The field their was not to bad. I don't no how it is now. Nice place, Valencia.
Yea that was our home field, we shared it with the cricketers, which was always bacchanal. yes it was a nice place when I was there. I understand its much more developed now. I enjoyed the rivers we had. nothing like bussing down a pot by the river and drinking. ;D