April 27, 2024, 06:12:09 AM

Author Topic: Digicel cup draw was today..... We need info!  (Read 2101 times)

Digicel cup draw was today..... We need info!
« on: November 30, 2006, 02:02:01 PM »
What was the Draw...

?????????????????

Re: Digicel cup draw was today..... We need info!
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2006, 02:21:03 PM »
Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals launched in Trinidad
President of the CFU Mr. Jack Warner and Mr. Kevin White CEO Digicel Trinidad draw final group for DCC finals set for Trinidad in January
Posted on November 30, 2006

November 30th, 2006 - Port of Spain, Trinidad: The Digicel Caribbean Cup finals were officially launch today in Port of Spain, Trinidad by President of the Caribbean Football Union Mr. Jack Warner and CEO of Digicel Trinidad and Tobago Mr. Kevin White.

The DCC finals were announced as taking place between January 12th and January 23rd 2007, and will feature two groups of four teams in each.

The Caribbean’s largest ever football tournament has now been whittled down to 10 teams after opening in September with the first of six first round groups being held in Cuba.

After 51 games, 187 goals and 14 teams now eliminated, six teams have qualified to travel to Trinidad for the prestigious Digicel Cup finale in January. Along with automatic qualifiers as hosts, Trinidad and Tobago are joined by Cuba, Martinique, Guyana, Guadeloupe, Barbados and St Vincent and the Grenadines.

The eighth and final team will be the winning side from Group J which is the final qualification group being held in Bermuda from December 12-16.

The teams competing here are the three third placed teams from the second round groups namely Haiti, Dominican Republic and Bermuda.

Fixtures for Group J are:

- December 12 : Bermuda vs Dominican Republic
- December 14 : Dominican vs Republic vs Haiti
- December 16 : Bermuda vs Haiti

The draw that was announced today by President Warner and Mr. White saw the following groupings emerge in what President Warner described as “two exciting groups, evenly matched”.

The Sedley Joseph Group, named after one of the hosts football heroes, sees hosts Trinidad & Tobago facing Barbados, Martinique and the winner of Group J (Haiti, Bermuda or Dominican Republic).

The Soca Warriors will face the Bajan Pride in the tournament’s opening game at the Hasley Crawford Stadium on January 12th. Soca Warriors coach, Whim Rijsbergen, described the draw as a “big challenge” for the hosts noting the Digicel Caribbean Cup was an important tournament in the development of the Trinidad & Tobago team.

The second group, named after T&T football star, Bobby Sookram, sees Cuba, Guadeloupe, Guyana and St Vincent & the Grenadines competing for the two semi-finals places. Jamaal Shabaaz, coach of the only team with a 100% record in the tournament, Guyana, welcomed what he described as a “good draw”.

With the title of the region’s best team up for grabs along with four qualifying places for the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, the competitive draw should set the foundation for some exciting football at the Manny Ramjohn and Hasley Crawford stadiums in January 2007.

The opening game will see Trinidad and Tobago take on Barbados in the Hasley Crawford stadium on January 12 2007.

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2006, 02:22:42 PM »
GROUP A                Group B

TnT                                 Cuba
Haiti/DR/Bermuda               Guyana
Martnique                          SVG
B'ados                              Guadeloupe

we get a tough group dere...

look at group B!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2006, 02:39:25 PM »
ha well jamaica2099 peter r  and lionpaw cannot blame warner again as they do opn they reggaeboyz site

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2006, 02:44:57 PM »

Haiti will have the service of about 8 foreign-based players in the final rounds, that is if Haiti can win the playoff group with the current local-based players.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2006, 02:54:57 PM »
ha well jamaica2099 peter r  and lionpaw cannot blame warner again as they do opn they reggaeboyz site
You're right. When Jack didn't see Jamaica's name on the list he breathe a very heavy sigh of relief. WWHHOOOOO! Ah lucky this time!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
jjbrown

« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2006, 02:59:09 PM »

Haiti will have the service of about 8 foreign-based players in the final rounds, that is if Haiti can win the playoff group with the current local-based players.

cool cool  where is d overseas based...  cuba barbados and guadeloupe... oh yeh not to forget guyana lol

« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2006, 05:02:46 AM »
You're right. When Jack didn't see Jamaica's name on the list he breathe a very heavy sigh of relief. WWHHOOOOO! Ah lucky this time!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

I would be surprised if he even notice the yardies name was missing...  :devil:

« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2006, 05:20:45 AM »
On a serious note, I thought they say host nations have the right to reserve themselves ah easy draw?

I looking at Group B and seeing Cuba coasting through like nobody business...All we need to make we group any harder is for Haiti to come out of the playoff...Dem french speaking teams doh eat nice at all at all when they play us.

Offline Swima

« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2006, 07:41:17 AM »
Guyana has had an upswing thus far, not just by winning all of their games, but by winning convincingly in most of them.
I think the groups are even based on form. Guadeloupe beat Martinique in the earlier rounds, and considering that St. Vincent is there at the expense of Jamaica, the groups could have looked very differently. Remember, even if we get Haiti in our group, it will only be as a result of them squeezing through the back door.

Bottom line, the parity among Caribbean teams is growing and the tournament will provide us with some great games from a development and an entertainment point of view.
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2006, 08:26:31 AM »

I would be surprised if he even notice the yardies name was missing...  :devil:
???. You're probably right. With the FIFA ticket scandal still fresh on his mind. He hardly had time to affect change or help the TTFF.  :devil: 
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2006, 08:29:08 AM »
On a serious note, I thought they say host nations have the right to reserve themselves ah easy draw?

I looking at Group B and seeing Cuba coasting through like nobody business...All we need to make we group any harder is for Haiti to come out of the playoff...Dem french speaking teams doh eat nice at all at all when they play us.
The draw has to be fair for all teams involved with impartiality.
jjbrown

« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2006, 08:33:26 AM »

Midknight where did you hear that?  That sound suspect to me.