March 28, 2024, 05:21:26 AM

Author Topic: Nice report on Latapy's performance today..  (Read 4179 times)

Nice report on Latapy's performance today..
« on: December 03, 2006, 09:25:44 PM »
Latapy and Twaddle put wind up weather-beaten Rangers

ALAN PATTULLO
 AT FALKIRK STADIUM
(apattullo@scotsman.com)

FALKIRK 1 - 0 RANGERS
Twaddle (26)

RANGERS were further blown off course yesterday at a storm-buffeted Falkirk Stadium that proved the unlikely habitat for a 38-year-old phenomenon. Paul Le Guen's side had already been left with too much to do when it comes to the title, but a fourth away defeat in nine matches is not the form of a side bearing such lofty aspirations in any case. This was a chance to make inroads into Celtic's 16-point lead at the top, but a Caribbean wind in the form of Russell Latapy left them stricken.

Check de praise here:

The veteran delivered a virtuoso performance in the sort of conditions he won't have encountered too often when growing up in downtown Port of Spain. Just like the flame flicking it out of a nearby Grangemouth chimney stack, his is a talent that won't be dimmed. Latapy was a glowing presence on a day of brutal winds and driving rain. Compounding the misery of those Rangers fans present was the knowledge that Latapy was once one of theirs. Even now he looks a more refined performer than any of Paul Le Guen's summer purchases. In comparison to him in midfield Jeremy Clement looked a very minor act, while Sasa Papac, another close-season recruit, was replaced after only an hour.

While too many in the Rangers side sought shelter in anonymity, Latapy excelled. He inspired Falkirk to a first win over the Ibrox side in the league since the opening day of 1971.

Unlike most of his team-mates the midfielder had been born by the time strikers Andy Roxburgh and Alex Ferguson combined to make it a famous day at Brockville. Now it is Marc Twaddle's name which goes into history, and like Latapy he was supplied with extra incentive yesterday. The defender was released by Rangers when a teenager and last season had the misfortune to score an own-goal against his old side.

This, then, was pay-back time, something gleefully enacted by Twaddle and his accomplice.

"It just shows it's not the end of the world when you get released," the baby-faced match-winner later said.

A corner from the Trinidad and Tobago internationalist Latapy was headed into the net by Twaddle. Falkirk not only hung on to this lead during the remaining 65 minutes but might have extended it.

The wind whistled out a mournful lament for a Rangers side who proved that recent reports of their recovery have been exaggerated. Here they seemed a disjointed lot. On a day when it was necessary for players to roll up their sleeves and endure the atrocious conditions the Ibrox side fielded too many passengers.

Their cause was not helped by the loss of Kris Boyd just a minute before half-time. The striker had been felled by a strong challenge by Kenny Milne from behind, and never recovered. On came the lumbering Filip Sebo, and although plenty of half-chances presented themselves none were taken.

Falkirk proved they are more than a one-man team. Anthony Stokes, the scorer of 13 goals in his last 13 matches, was absent through suspension, but  Latapy is Falkirk's most significant performer in any case. He made a mockery of both his advancing years and opponents who purport to be an elite group. There was not a single Rangers man you would have picked ahead of Latapy. In fact, one struggles to think of an Ibrox player who outperformed his opposite man. Rarely has a man of the match award been so clear-cut, but Latapy was joined in the list of most distinguished performers by Alan Gow, Liam Craig and Darren Barr. The last named was booked after a frantic goal-mouth melee in the second-half but later redeemed himself with a superb goal-saving challenge on Nacho Novo.

The flags of the variety of countries from which this present Falkirk squad has been assembled were almost being torn from their poles by a wind that made playing conditions border on the farcical. The one representing Trinidad and Tobago fluttered furiously but down on the pitch Latapy remained unflustered. The 38-year-old was proved the most adept when it came to mastering the driving rain and howling gale, a strange phenomenon given his origins. Unlike midfield rival Clement he had no need for a pair of gloves; just pure, thrilling talent combined with burning desire.

The midfielder remained head and shoulders above everyone else on show throughout, and nearly scored with an audacious second-half free kick from just inside the touchline. Later still his little legs carried him into the box, and, after beating Karl Svensson with ease, Latapy thundered in an effort which skimmed the bar. The rest of his team-mates had taken their time to register that simply booting the ball up into the air would only result in it landing somewhere behind them.

Latapy, however, was immediately alert to the situation, and sought to prompt his colleagues by playing short, snappy passes to their feet. Slowly they tuned into his wavelength, and played the conditions well enough to establish a one-goal interval lead. Unsurprisingly the strike had its source in Latapy. His well-taken corner kick swung viciously towards the back post, where it found the head of Twaddle. Although Clement was stationed on the line he was able only to help the ball on its way into the net.

Rangers had already almost colluded in presenting an opening goal for Falkirk. A Brahim Hemdani back-pass that had been intended for his goalkeeper had succeeded only in wrong-footing him, although Allan McGregor did well to dash back and clear the ball off his own line.

It was an early hint of the troubles to come in the kind of weather that would have sent seamen home to the hearth.

As the second-half wore on you could tell the awful conditions were deteriorating; John Hughes had put a jacket on. The sodden manager had more pressing concerns than the cold; how to keep Rangers out and, perhaps, how to convince Latapy to play on here until he's 40.

MAN OF THE MATCH
Russell Latapy (Falkirk)

How could it be anyone else? For nearly a decade the Trinidadian midfielder has lit up Scottish football, and he might even be getting better with the passing years. He played sensibly in conditions not suited to long, high balls, but even when doing the simple things he manages to make it seem artful. Pulled strings all afternoon.

« Last Edit: December 03, 2006, 09:28:16 PM by Grande man »

Re: Nice report on Latapy's performance today..
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2006, 09:30:15 PM »
A fitting tribute but too much was made of the player;s age and his native land. Would thay say that about an English payer? why not focus on his abilities and strengths and leave out all the garbage  about his homeland as if that is a factor in his abilities to master the prevailing weather conditions.

I does hear more flipping born canadians complaing about the cold that non native born canadians so I eh see what the big deal is.

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2006, 09:39:56 PM »
A fitting tribute but too much was made of the player;s age and his native land. Would thay say that about an English payer? why not focus on his abilities and strengths and leave out all the garbage  about his homeland as if that is a factor in his abilities to master the prevailing weather conditions.

I does hear more flipping born canadians complaing about the cold that non native born canadians so I eh see what the big deal is.

oh gosh Alberta yuh read de article self? They only made one small mention of his age and nationality, and I think that was to point out his uniqueness - the WHOLE article is about him standing out and his strength and abilities on the field. You self does be repping ancestry and heritage all de time, why yuh critical now

Just read de thing and enjoy it and be proud nah
« Last Edit: December 03, 2006, 09:46:59 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2006, 09:50:19 PM »
tears in meh eye....ah want Latas to play in de Gold Cup nex year so ah could go and see him in Soldier Field when de SocaWarriors win it......bless

« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2006, 09:58:32 PM »
What can I say, de "GENERAL" just doing his thing again. Bless.

« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2006, 12:00:07 AM »

Everynight before you go to sleep when yuh saying yuh prayers (to who ever yuh does pray to), pray that somewhere in de land some woman belly full with de new Latas an ah nex one with ah baby Yorke.  ;D ;D

« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2006, 12:24:49 AM »
I agree with Alberta. There was no mention of what he actually did to deserve all that praise until about 3/4 of the way through the article!

The man could have written most of that story before the match even kicked off, just by reading the weather report.  ;D

But I saw the highlights, so I know Latas had a decent game  :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2006, 12:37:34 AM »
YO!!! like i get ah diferent article or what??? glowing praise(from de beginnng)for we Latas and men have ah issue wid dat, so if de man feel to mention dat Latas....yuh know what, ah wouldn't even waste meh friggin time dred, steups, big up Latas and give thanks for the reporter for painting ah nice lil picture for we.....bless

« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2006, 04:23:57 AM »
Amazing.

« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2006, 04:46:20 AM »
big up latas..... well done ma boy....

« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2006, 05:44:29 AM »
Bless that man latapy,but with that said, I'm so ashamed that at this stage there's no other younger players from trini or around the world that we could say for sure here's the next latapy who taking the mantle and the fight for trini in 2010,imagine a 38 year old player making strides and our younger players consistently inconsistent,notice from our world cup squad,which player get ah big contract to play for any top european team,asian team or southamerican team,the answer is none,all other caribbean countries around us making strides and gunning for us while we standing around looking at each other in dismay and bewilderment.       

« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2006, 06:23:27 AM »
and saga doh forget....it ha men coming for tryouts and tellin de coach(Wim) dey cyah play outside midfield, dey want to play inside instead....seriously though we could only hope it have some youth somewhere in TnT with half de god-given talent dat Russell have.....and nobody eh really impress dat much in de world cup to deserve ah big time contract except for Edwards, right?

« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2006, 06:44:37 AM »
and saga doh forget....it ha men coming for tryouts and tellin de coach(Wim) dey cyah play outside midfield, dey want to play inside instead....seriously though we could only hope it have some youth somewhere in TnT with half de god-given talent dat Russell have.....and nobody eh really impress dat much in de world cup to deserve ah big time contract except for Edwards, right?

I concur.........

Offline fatman

« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2006, 07:17:53 AM »
 he is a great with his own unique style of play that can be duplicated by no one.

« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2006, 08:06:56 AM »
Well now ah in two minds after reaping all these weekly latas accolades

On the one hand,,part of me agreeing with some men on here..., well maybe he did get ah corbeaux sweat at the world cup and could have been utilised better

on the other hand

Ah hadda aks mihself,,Is scottish football at the same level of world cup football

On the third hand...scottish wind and rain is ah wickedness...so if ah man could shine on de field in that wether...well lawd  :o

For the scottish lurkers,,keep in mind I eh bellitling yuh league...but still.......

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2006, 09:29:27 AM »
dat is same player that leo feel could not play in a world cup???

« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2006, 10:17:07 AM »
It will be a sad day when this man retire...
Great read...

« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2006, 10:29:56 AM »
 :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

ALL HAIL THE MAGICIAN, ALL YOUNGER HEADS ON THIS FORUM I AM SORRY YOU ALL NEVER WERE ABLE TO SEE TNT'S MOST TALENTED PLAYER IN ACTION BACK IN THE DAY

« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2006, 10:42:06 AM »
I eh sure about the younger days boy. Like the man say in the artcle...he seem to be getting better. that corbeaux against Paraguay was among his best displays (if only that volley had gone in,eh!!).  So the younger heads should have a good idea about the magic Latas is bring.

Beenhaaker boy...if only, if only.

Ah well..we mighta lose but at least we woulda score.

« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2006, 05:46:45 PM »
this is the stuff of legends really.

Offline 1989

« Reply #20 on: December 04, 2006, 06:57:52 PM »
Did anyone record this game? 
Either way great game Latapy.

hmm... 2010 not so far away you know... ;)
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2006, 07:03:51 PM »

ALL HAIL THE MAGICIAN, ALL YOUNGER HEADS ON THIS FORUM I AM SORRY YOU ALL NEVER WERE ABLE TO SEE TNT'S MOST TALENTED PLAYER IN ACTION BACK IN THE DAY
eh doh put it like dat nah bredder man, dat is just one we had many more yer forgetting oh wah.bon dem peter bon dem.

« Reply #22 on: December 04, 2006, 07:28:19 PM »

eh doh put it like dat nah bredder man, dat is just one we had many more yer forgetting oh wah.bon dem peter bon dem.

Eh Zulu, ah sorry, but de topic is on mey idol, so ah go jump in. Yuh say "we had many more", yes we had many more talented players, but doh get it twisted, there were none in LATAPY class , and wid meh bias  self, ah go say there will never be. Bless.

« Reply #23 on: December 04, 2006, 10:46:51 PM »
yes my brother bcool( 8)dont excite yer self bcool, d man is like awizard onthe pitch, and ah proud of the brother because he is t&t allthe way ,hes also called the field marshall ,d general, all iam saying is, we had others also that came out of the factory . ah know we will make another one fir reelllll or maybe better.ah hoping that dey would explore the depppths of the ghetto and we will find another one or two.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #24 on: December 04, 2006, 10:58:09 PM »
Well done Magic..... keep at it... yuh ait done till u say so :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: December 05, 2006, 01:45:02 PM »
yes my brother bcool( 8)dont excite yer self bcool, d man is like awizard onthe pitch, and ah proud of the brother because he is t&t allthe way ,hes also called the field marshall ,d general, all iam saying is, we had others also that came out of the factory . ah know we will make another one fir reelllll or maybe better.ah hoping that dey would explore the depppths of the ghetto and we will find another one or two.

Sorry fuh getting excited Zulu, but is so ah does get when ah hear de word Latapy  ;D Bless.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2006, 03:46:16 PM by SUPA »

Offline spiritedfan

« Reply #26 on: December 08, 2006, 10:50:33 PM »
LONG LIVE THE KING. AND MAY GOD BLESS OUR NATION AND LATAPY THE BEST SPORTSMAN FROM TRINIDAD. 

« Reply #27 on: December 09, 2006, 10:15:46 AM »
Did anyone record this game? 
Either way great game Latapy.

hmm... 2010 not so far away you know... ;)

Fellers I get de game on Torrent but I eh see it yet since meh pc 4king around...but if anybody can view it, please post it in a more accessible format:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/dedzgf

FULL highlights of de game. Watch Latas rip up.  :beermug:
« Last Edit: December 09, 2006, 10:18:51 AM by Grande man »

Offline TTVillafan

« Reply #28 on: December 09, 2006, 12:37:18 PM »
when ah read match reports like this 5 months after d big tournament, ah does often wonder wat beenie man was really thinking by playing latas for only 15 mins. oh gosh what if