April 24, 2024, 04:19:15 PM

Author Topic: Grab your chances.  (Read 4085 times)

Grab your chances.
« on: December 05, 2006, 02:48:30 AM »
Grab your chances.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Six weeks ago, Brian Williams seemed to be on the wrong end of a loaded gun as the Trinidad and Tobago national under-20 football team faced World Cup elimination at the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) group stage.
"This is our last opportunity," he told his players, before kick-off against St Vincent and the Grenadines. "The only chance you will get to represent Trinidad and Tobago in 2006 as an under-20 player is today."
Suitably aroused, the young "Soca Warriors" emerged to win 3-0 and advance from the group-albeit, merely to the ongoing Play Off contest against Jamaica.
Williams must repeat the trick on Thursday with his teenaged unit again battling considerable odds.
On Sunday, Trinidad and Tobago lost 2-0 to Jamaica in the first leg of a home and away tie that ends in two days. But it was not so much the score line as the manner of the their capitulation at Harbour View that would most unnerve the T&T coaching staff.
If Jamaican goalkeeper Duwayne Kerr was short-sighted, he might not have realised he was in a fight. It was not until the 52nd minute that the Warriors managed their first and only shot on target-a low effort by Keon Daniel gathered by Kerr on the second attempt.
The Trinidad and Tobago offence has three days to change from docile loiterers to wrecking crew and the task will be all the more difficult as their Jamaican counterparts did not look like the type to back from a street fight.
"Obviously, we have to work on the offensive ability of the team," said Williams. "It is a really tough job because Jamaica seems to be a well balanced team."
Jamaica's England-based striker Joel Grant would be a particularly dangerous threat to Trinidad and Tobago's ambitions.
Grant, 19, has two starts for England Premiership team, Watford, although his outings came when the London club campaigned in the Championship Division and, at present, the teenager is on loan with Conference club, Aldershot. But his slick movement with and without the ball was a joy to watch as was his fondness of a trick.
His first goal came off a defensive blunder and Grant, who collected in space, needed one touch before he steered a neat, composed right footed finish into the far corner.
His second followed a Jamaican corner kick which Daniel cleared as far as the edge of the box where Grant pounced with a superb left foot volley past Warriors' goalkeeper Adrian Foncette.
In midfield, Jamaica also held a trump in the shape of deep-lying United States-based player Joel Senior-a 2006 Atlantic Conference All-Star with Howard University.
Neither Grant nor Senior played in Jamaica's early qualifying round when they finished second to Haiti.
Trinidad and Tobago have individual talent too in the form of captain Radanfah Abu-Bakr, left back Marvin James, goal poacher Matthews Bartholomew and midfielders Elton John, Silas Spann and Daniel.
Williams' new recruit, Stefan St Louis, might also be one to keep tabs on. St Louis replaced striker Lester Peltier who did not report for training last week and is unlikely to be included for the return leg.
A Mid-Continent All-Conference player for Oakland University, the strong, quick striker St Louis joined the youth team on Friday in Jamaica after he impressed at a recent trial conducted by national head coach Wim Rijsbergen and his assistant, Anton Corneal. But the stage has not yet been set for the gifted Warriors to showcase their abilities.
Sunday's outing was the fifth time in as many matches that Williams changed his line-up in search of a winning formula. The United Petrotrin coach and former national standout got little preparation time from the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) but the local public would find it hard to forgive if his players do not give a better account on Thursday.
Rijsbergen's appearance on the bench implicates him as well and there is much for the coaching staff to do before the next leg. Williams promised a positive approach in Jamaica but started US-based left back Stefan De Las in midfield while orthodox flankers like Aaron Downing and Javed Mohammed looked on from the sidelines.
"We wanted to be defensively sound away from home," said Williams. "But it didn't work."
It suggested a different mentality from former boss Leo Beenhakker who insisted that teams should hold their nerve on foreign trips since the laws of the game remained the same.
To be fair to the present coaching staff, the line-up did restrict Jamaica in the first half hour before a moment of madness created the opening item.
Hyland's ability to marry work ethic with ability makes him one of the team's more coveted players. But he would have nightmares about his attempt to roll the ball through an opponent's leg in his own half of the field and without defensive cover.
Jamaican captain Ricardo Cousins promptly sent Grant clear for the opening goal. Williams replaced De Las with Atulla Guerra at the interval but T&T never looked like an equaliser as they struggled at set pieces while Bartholomew was starved of service from either flank.
John's selection alongside Daniel seemed a bold offensive move but the uneven surface restricted their ability to pass Jamaica into trouble while Spann, a senior Joe Public player, again looked out of sorts on the wing.
Instead, the Boyz grew in confidence and Grant's second, in the 76th minute, prompted an open assault on the visiting penalty area.
Substitute Draion McNain smacked a header off the bar in the 82nd minute, while Andre Fagan also produced a fine save from Foncette. Williams might have been further inconvenienced if Surinamese referee Enrico Wijngaarde had punished a flung elbow from T&T right back Corneal Thomas who reacted angrily to a tug on his shirt by McNain. Incidentally, Wijngaarde was supported by Jamaican assistant referees Anthony Garwood and Richard Morgan in a cost cutting exercise by the CFU.
Trinidad and Tobago assistant referees will be used on Thursday so as to avoid travel bills for three overseas officials. But the officials did not influence the match. Jamaica can credit Grant and Senior for that. The likes of Bartholomew, Spann and Abu Bakr must impose their own personalities on Thursday or the under-20 squad will become the first flops of the post-2006 World Cup era.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2006, 06:03:46 AM by Flex »

Re: Grab your chances.
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2006, 08:06:44 AM »
ok thursday

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2006, 08:07:46 AM »

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2006, 08:09:03 AM »
Confident U-20s won't be sitting back
published: Tuesday | December 5, 2006

England-based Joel Campbell (19) who scored both goals in Sunday's first leg at Harbour View. - File

Jamaica's Under-20 foot-ballers leave the island today enroute to Trinidad and Tobago (T&T), confident of securing the last spot in the final round of the 2007 CONCACAF U-20 Tournament.

Jamaica, having secured a two-goal cushion from the first leg after defeating T&T 2-0 on Sunday, will play the return-leg tomorrow at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium at 8:00 p.m.

Dr. Dean Weatherly, coach of the young Reggae Boyz, said confidence is high and they won't be sitting back on the two-goal cushion.

Said Dr. Weatherly: "The con-fidence level is high as expected but they know from our dis-cussions that they need to come out more attacking. We definitely won't be going there to defend the two goals."

Dr. Weatherly, who also coaches Village in the Wray and Nephew National Premier League (NPL), said his plan is to get an early goal and unsettle the opponent.

"We have to go out there in an attacking mood and get the early goal and make the cushion a little easier. With the away goal, that would increase our lead and be a little bit more comfortable," added Dr. Weatherly.

On Sunday, young Watford striker Joel Grant scored both goals in the 32nd and 75th minutes, giving Jamaica a decent advantage.

The Young Reggae Boyz squad remains the same and the same starting team is expected to take the field again.

The competent goalkeeper Dwayne Kerr, the outstanding Joels - Grant and Senior - along with captain Ricardo Cousins, Kaemmar Daley and Eric Vernon should do enough to see Jamaica through.

The winner of today's game will play in Group B between February 21-25 alongside host Mexico, Costa Rica and St. Kitts & Nevis.

Panama will host Group A at the Rommel Fernandez Stadium in Panama City from January 17-21 and will feature Guatemala, Haiti and the USA.

The top two teams from each of these groups will qualify to the 2007 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Canada.

- Howard Walker

« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2006, 08:09:29 AM »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2006, 08:56:12 AM »
ok thursday

look either yuh support or not
Wednesday or Thursday. It won't matter. After the ref blows the final whistle Jamaica will be in the U-20 World Cup qualifiers final round while T&T will be at home watching.
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2006, 09:02:00 AM »
ok thursday
It's good that the headline encourages improvement. Unfortunately T&T's Young Warriors won't be playing St. Vincent & the Grenandines.  :beermug:
jjbrown

« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2006, 10:56:26 AM »
As far as i see it if   jamaica could add grant AND Willimas could  add st louis  should he  ah take peltier. i hope he pics him

« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2006, 02:06:04 PM »
I don't want to be negative eh....but I looked at some highlight from the SSFL and it's sad to say those players are not ready. These players are not National team quality.  Their speed of play is slow, physical speed is lacking, athleticism is poor, their ability to adapt is not there, leadership, concentration, and game mentality are all deficient.

I know a lot of people will say I am crazy, but players playing at a National level should not take the coach to have to "pump" the team up to win a game. Players at this level should always be on the edge, especially when they are not playing often. Opportunities to play for the national team are far and few in between, so they should want to thrive personally.

That's why the player pool for the national Programs should be widened greatly. Get players who are not as good, but has the work ethic and desire to succeed in the pool if only to keep the "stars" on their toes.

http://www.ussoccer.com/common/stContent.jsp_79-U20MNTPool.html

We should at least have half this amount ready to go at a moments notice.

http://www.ussoccer.com/common/stContent.jsp_82-ResProgram.html

How about a summer and winter program similar to this.

http://www.ussoccer.com/common/stContent.jsp_86-U14NTPText.html

Why not get every County to employ a program based on ideas like these. When will we start? It's all a lot of talk and nothing else doing. It's always about give someone a chance, or let's wait and see. It's never anyone's fault. No repercussions for sub par performances. The administration, the coaches and players all answer to no one. Why? Because after a tournament is done the team is disbanded and every person is back to what ever it is they do. Like the TV say, see you next time. Same station, same time.

« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2006, 01:30:31 AM »
ok thursday

Breds I always support, is jus not blind support, I support with mih eyes wide open.
To beat Jamaica by 1 goal with this team will be a small miracle to beat them by 3 clear goals. Think about it and you will laff too.

« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2006, 05:27:12 AM »
We was better off playing our under 17 team than this under 20 team....

Trini ballers to dam soft..... they have some skills, but mentally, they soft and cant handle pressure..... in these mordern times, no one will give you space to play6 your game, expecially them Jakans, T&T need to step up.....

What we under 17 doing now a days ? and Digicel Cup is in Jan, are we even training once a week...
« Last Edit: December 06, 2006, 05:46:15 AM by Flex »

« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2006, 06:22:46 AM »
ok thursday

Wednesday or Thursday. It won't matter. After the ref blows the final whistle Jamaica will be in the U-20 World Cup qualifiers final round while T&T will be at home watching.

Yuh no what,yuh absolutely right,unfortunately they're up against a steep hill.

« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2006, 06:35:43 AM »

England-based Joel Campbell (19) who scored both goals in Sunday's first leg at Harbour View. - File

Jamaica's Under-20 foot-ballers leave the island today enroute to Trinidad and Tobago (T&T), confident of securing the last spot in the final round of the 2007 CONCACAF U-20 Tournament.

Jamaica, having secured a two-goal cushion from the first leg after defeating T&T 2-0 on Sunday, will play the return-leg tomorrow at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium at 8:00 p.m.

Dr. Dean Weatherly, coach of the young Reggae Boyz, said confidence is high and they won't be sitting back on the two-goal cushion.

Said Dr. Weatherly: "The con-fidence level is high as expected but they know from our dis-cussions that they need to come out more attacking. We definitely won't be going there to defend the two goals."

Dr. Weatherly, who also coaches Village in the Wray and Nephew National Premier League (NPL), said his plan is to get an early goal and unsettle the opponent.

"We have to go out there in an attacking mood and get the early goal and make the cushion a little easier. With the away goal, that would increase our lead and be a little bit more comfortable," added Dr. Weatherly.

On Sunday, young Watford striker Joel Grant scored both goals in the 32nd and 75th minutes, giving Jamaica a decent advantage.

The Young Reggae Boyz squad remains the same and the same starting team is expected to take the field again.

The competent goalkeeper Dwayne Kerr, the outstanding Joels - Grant and Senior - along with captain Ricardo Cousins, Kaemmar Daley and Eric Vernon should do enough to see Jamaica through.

The winner of today's game will play in Group B between February 21-25 alongside host Mexico, Costa Rica and St. Kitts & Nevis.

Panama will host Group A at the Rommel Fernandez Stadium in Panama City from January 17-21 and will feature Guatemala, Haiti and the USA.

The top two teams from each of these groups will qualify to the 2007 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Canada.

- Howard Walker

Triniman who do we have on that under 20 team that matches up with the likes of a joel grant who scored the two goals for jamaica in the first leg........

Secondly do we have any under 20 players in england currently playing in the premiership or otherwise maybe hidden somewhere on the sideline bench,is there a surge of outside interest to get any of our under 20 players contracts..........   

« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2006, 07:15:36 AM »

- Howard Walker

Triniman who do we have on that under 20 team that matches up with the likes of a joel grant who scored the two goals for jamaica in the first leg........

Secondly do we have any under 20 players in england currently playing in the premiership or otherwise maybe hidden somewhere on the sideline bench,is there a surge of outside interest to get any of our under 20 players contracts..........   

Not sure about england as the ttff neva look at england it seems(not sure) theY always in the USA. but hey grant was the difference in that game they should have done they wuk on him

« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2006, 07:39:32 AM »
The U20 team will advance.

i see them winning 2-0 or 4-1.

Jamaica will not be the same on the road.
our players are good enough to advance.

« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2006, 07:41:21 AM »

- Howard Walker

Not sure about england as the ttff neva look at england it seems(not sure) theY always in the USA. but hey grant was the difference in that game they should have done they wuk on him

I agree they should've done some homework on joel grant,they took him for (granted) ;D ;D  

« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2006, 07:44:02 AM »

I hope you're right,by the way if I give you meh home address,yuh could leh meh burrow yuh crystal ball ;D ;D ;D   

« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2006, 07:45:28 AM »

I hope you're right,by the way if I give you meh home address,yuh could leh meh burrow yuh crystal ball ;D ;D ;D   

pinto yuh writning off we warriors

« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2006, 07:53:22 AM »

pinto yuh writning off we warriors

Nah man I love my boys till the end,maybe lately It's because I had such high hopes,but I should remember life ent easy on the football field,yuh have to fight right down to the last minute.....   

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2006, 10:15:34 AM »

You're right about Jamaica not being the same on the road. The difference being Jamaica has beaten T&T more times at home that T&T has done in Jamaica.  :devil:
I remember some Trinis posting preferring to play Jamaica rather than Haiti after the YOUNG BOYZ barely beat the Netherland Antilles 2-0. And had to come from behind in the 70+ minute to beat Bermuda 2-1.
The YOUNG REGGAE BOYZ then came away with the draw against Haiti to earn the playoff spot against T&T. And they almost scored against Haiti in the final few minutes.
So keeping in mind that Haiti was more intimidating than T&T. Your Young Soca Warriors have a very slim chance in getting the desired result.  :beermug:

PS: Another decision to switch an important match again at the last minute still wont help T&T cause. The way I see it. It is actually helping the YOUNG REGGAE BOYZ to get more climatize in T&T.   :devil:         
« Last Edit: December 06, 2006, 10:23:23 AM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2006, 10:23:17 AM »
the game aint played yet

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2006, 10:25:55 AM »
the game aint played yet
Keep the faith! Triniman. Keep the faith.  ;D ;D
I can't remember if you were in the group that wanted to play Jamaica rather than Haiti. Were you?
jjbrown