April 29, 2024, 08:34:14 AM

Author Topic: Going commando... Women leave undies at home for style’s sake  (Read 7547 times)

Going commando... Women leave undies at home for style’s sake
« on: December 17, 2006, 07:04:53 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/Womanwise/wwise2.html

leh meh hear allyuh woman

By Abby De Four

To wear or not to wear? This seems to be the latest fashion dilemma facing women in their choice of underwear. Panties, it seems, are no longer necessary — and some women claim that’s for a good reason.

One reason might be the influence of American pop culture. International superstar Britney Spears on at least three occasions was photographed getting out of cars revealing she was wearing no panties. Her public revelation is not uncommon in Hollywood circles; both Lindsay Lohan and Paris Hilton have, in the past, been photographed minus panties.

On the local scene, the photograph of a young woman wearing a short skirt and no underwear was taken at one of Port-of-Spain’s popular night-clubs. This picture, which has been circulating via e-mail, highlights the increasing popularity of the “commando” style.

It appears that women, in pursuit of that ever-elusive invisible panty line, and to accommodate increasingly daring fashions, have decided to eliminate the source of the problem altogether.

Tricia* told WomanWise that there were several factors that would influence a woman’s decision not to wear panties.

“The cut of some jeans is so low that it is impossible to hide your underwear. In a situation like that, a woman might prefer to show the top of her butt and opt not to wear panties,” she said. “The popular ultra-low tattoos also provide an excuse to go without underwear. You want people to see the tattoo, not your underwear.”

Cathy*, however, does not agree. “Under no circumstances should you leave home without underwear,” she said. Although she did recognise that a growing number of women prefer to venture outdoors without underwear in a bid to complement their clothing, she asserted that there were a variety of underwear styles available for this purpose.

“There are several styles — low-rise boy shorts, bikinis and thongs — that can be worn with any type of clothing, ensuring that your panties remain hidden,” she said.

Question of comfort?

Meanwhile, some women claim that not wearing underwear is simply a matter of comfort.

WomanWise sought some professional advice from gynaecologist Dr Vishnoodath Rajna-

rinesingh on the matter.

Rajnarinesingh said: “In the field of gynaecology, there are varying views on the topic.”

He said that there are some women who are irritated by their underwear, but that it was important to wear this garment for hygiene reasons.

“If you have decided that you are not going to wear underwear, you have to be certain that there will be no vaginal discharge,” he said.

He added that he was more concerned about the sexual implications of not wearing underwear.

“What are your sexual intentions for not wearing underwear?” Dr Rajnarinesingh asked. “I am concerned that women will be exposing themselves to sudden sexual encounters and that this could lead to unprotected sex and sexually transmitted diseases.”

The doctor also had advice regarding the type of underwear that women should wear.

“In our humid climate, a woman should wear cotton underwear along with panty shields to combat sweat and moisture which provide a haven for bacteria to grow,” he said.

The doctor said that it was his personal belief that thongs should be avoided as much as possible.

“Thongs can act as a vector for transporting bacteria from the anus to the vagina, resulting in chronic infections,” the doctor said. The belief that cotton thongs are better is a myth, he said, as they all have the potential to create the same infection.

“A woman might want to wear this type of underwear for a special, rare occasion, but it is definitely not to be worn frequently,” he said.

Dr Rajnarinesingh said that he understood the changing fashion scene, but advised women that their number one concern should be their health.

The cardinal rule of skivvies

If they create bulges, they’re no good. Think about a pair of traditional bikini panties: they’re typically made of stretchy cotton, edged with thicker elastic to help them stay in place. The problem is, especially for women with a little extra padding around the hips, that elastic can dig into your skin, creating a bulge where your padded bits pouf out into the stretchy cotton.

Put a pair of pants or a smooth skirt on top and voila! — visible panty lines (not to mention hip bulges and lumps). Your goal is to find a pair of underwear that doesn’t create these bulges.

The ideal everyday panty

A high-cut, full-coverage brief. No, you’re not going to win any sexiness awards with this item, but for wearing under clothes, nothing beats it. That’s because it skims over — instead of cuts into — the areas on a woman’s body that are likely to be soft (and therefore prone to underwear-elastic bulges). The full-coverage brief also minimises visible panty lines, since its leg elastics rest under the buttocks, not across them. What’s more, many high-cut, full-coverage briefs come in shaping fabric, which is reinforced with elastic to smooth out your middle. Look for briefs that are labelled “seamless” so no telltale seam lines show through your pants.

The “is-she-wearing-any?” panty

There are times — a special date, a big interview — where you need to eradicate even a hint of VPL (visible panty line). For those moments, nothing beats the thong. Look for one that doesn’t cut into your hip flesh (go a size bigger if it does), and go for a smooth, soft material in flesh or black. If you’re wearing low-cut jeans, be sure to find a lower-cut thong, too.

The special-occasion suck-in panty

Few of us can cope with wrestling into a support undergarment every day. But there are times — when we’re wearing a great cocktail dress, for example — that we want some extra smoothness around the hips, stomach, and butt. That’s where support garments do their best work. Whether you choose a support brief, which gives the same effect as a high-cut, full-coverage brief, but adds more sucking-in power; or you want the leg-smoothing benefit of a bicycle-short type panty, you’ll get a smooth look plus control that can make your clothes fit even better.

The sexy panty

There are times when getting a smooth look under your clothes comes in second to looking smashingly sexy. When you’re going for sexy, bumps and bulges don’t seem quite so important!

A tip: Stick to flowing skirts or loose pants when you wear these sexy undergarments, so even if there is a bulge or two, your significant other can’t see it.

Ladies Home Journal

Re: Going commando... Women leave undies at home for style’s sake
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2006, 08:21:55 AM »
wheyz kinda personal dey boy

but ah go answer...

my thoughts about this whole ting is 'i always wanna be free'
but meh mudda always useta say 'never leave home without one on, just incase of ah accident' - furthermore ya ain't know what disease dey breeze  bringing.

back in tnt when ah home and jus come out dey shower.....is ah big tshirt and datz it.
of course over here in dis cold ass place, dat cyah happen.

i truly believe dey panty ain't have nothing to do with ya shape....if ya backside big or it flat, ya hips have issues, ya lower stomach look like ya backside, all dey panty doing is following suit and stretching.

if ya plannin to wear dem gratter belt and gurdle tur pull ein ya belly - go ahead, kill yaself.

Vote of COTTON underwear..fullstop

« Last Edit: December 17, 2006, 08:30:20 AM by Sista Mary Gertrude »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2006, 11:12:02 AM »
Two Words

OOOOHHH GEEEEEDDEEE!!!

Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2006, 12:05:21 PM »
cool ooh breeze ooh
 ;D ;D ;D ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2006, 12:46:15 PM »
I hear is one sure way tuh keep flies off de watermelon!

« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2006, 02:46:51 PM »
Heavens to murgatroid part of that article a girl say ,u must never let your underwear show ??? WTF no no ,don't do that . Daiz probably why me ain't seeing as much thongs above skirts ,shorts and jeans recently  :'( noooooooooooooooo ,ladies that will never go outa style  ;D I prefer thong lines than they ass crack
« Last Edit: December 18, 2006, 08:12:45 AM by CV:5 »

« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2006, 10:27:58 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl:.......wha kinda market you buyin yuh fruit from boss?

« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2006, 10:55:06 PM »

First was strawberry flavored edible , now is jus cut to de chase.  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2006, 11:10:05 PM »

hair flavoured sassan

« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2006, 12:58:25 AM »

hair flavoured sassan

Maybe ah wash an shave first is de order of de day.  :devil: :devil:

« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2006, 05:23:03 AM »
You ever notice the level of research and development that does take place for all things female. I just read 1076 words about the trade offs between aesthetic appeal and good hygiene that may accrue from the choice of underwear.

You ever ask yuhself if Express have a women's magazine how come they don't have a men's magazine too ? Not that I'd want to read that crap in any case.

« Reply #12 on: December 18, 2006, 07:13:57 AM »
hair flavoured sassan
no suckin teet after dat floss  ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #13 on: December 18, 2006, 08:04:47 AM »

haha when TT invite u over for a fruit salad..dont go eh
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #14 on: December 18, 2006, 08:08:09 AM »

like yuh know all kinda ting about salad...tossing, ceasar, etc.,

« Reply #15 on: December 18, 2006, 08:22:54 AM »

like yuh know all kinda ting about salad...tossing, ceasar, etc.,
no one eh mention tossing boss..take car eyuh eh sell out yuh self....

« Reply #16 on: December 18, 2006, 09:23:21 AM »
ya see ya see...how allyuh does get carried away

how dey neck panty tun tur flossin

« Reply #17 on: December 18, 2006, 09:40:06 AM »
ya see ya see...how allyuh does get carried away

how dey neck panty tun tur flossin

sista mary..some ah dem man ah big, big ga i dey teeth.

and besides, de panties could be used as floss if it is ah thong and it flossing de sassan. :devil:

point in case:

« Last Edit: December 18, 2006, 09:42:15 AM by truetrini »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #18 on: December 18, 2006, 10:40:08 AM »
You ever notice the level of research and development that does take place for all things female. I just read 1076 words about the trade offs between aesthetic appeal and good hygiene that may accrue from the choice of underwear.

You ever ask yuhself if Express have a women's magazine how come they don't have a men's magazine too ? Not that I'd want to read that crap in any case.

Jah Gol, good point.

I think a magazine for men that addresses some of the issues y'all face in a realistic way is helpful There are a lot of them out there but I seldom see men reading a magazine. I think men need to look at themselves, how they act, care themselves, respond to situations. From the latest haicuts to signs of illness. Why a man can expect his lady to be well put together but want to reach for her with nails covered in car grease is beyond me..lol. I don't read too many women's magazines either but I do know if I have a question or concern there are 50 publications at hand to look it up.

Men can use some help too, bravado isn't always enough but society has taught y'all that asking for help isn't masculine and you sometimes end up hurting yourself or the people in your lives.

This sounds like a whole nudda thread...

« Reply #19 on: December 18, 2006, 12:50:04 PM »
somebody pussycat get away
and it running amok
and it causing havoc

« Reply #20 on: December 18, 2006, 12:52:40 PM »
and it running amok
and it causing havoc
when u wa syounger yuh mudda use to say..make sure when u bathing to mok yuh skin good.
menaing scrub it good to make sure all de "mok" or dirt come out.
sorry dta jus comd in meh mind when i see ..yuh post

« Reply #21 on: December 18, 2006, 01:04:15 PM »

Jah Gol, good point.

I think a magazine for men that addresses some of the issues y'all face in a realistic way is helpful There are a lot of them out there but I seldom see men reading a magazine. I think men need to look at themselves, how they act, care themselves, respond to situations. From the latest haicuts to signs of illness. Why a man can expect his lady to be well put together but want to reach for her with nails covered in car grease is beyond me..lol. I don't read too many women's magazines either but I do know if I have a question or concern there are 50 publications at hand to look it up.

Men can use some help too, bravado isn't always enough but society has taught y'all that asking for help isn't masculine and you sometimes end up hurting yourself or the people in your lives.

This sounds like a whole nudda thread...
Where Health is concerned I agree with you.  But generally I think the ideas, if you can call them that are unearthed naturally through on-going socialisation. I think bravado is largely over-stated. If you observe this forum for instance you'd find a range of topics that go beyond the realm of football & politics  and into more 'intimate' topics. Don't rule out the possibility of general lack of curiousity. I saw a special on CNN about learning in boys and girls. The study showed that girls had a larger scope of interest than boys. Without inferring too much from that 1 study I want say, IMV men care about less, than women.

I think a more useful mechanism is to strengthen the relation between fathers and sons. I think if quality relationships are established and maintained we can all improve. But then again that is very easy to say. If men don't start taking responsibilty for the children they sire we will continue have people who 'need some work'

« Last Edit: December 19, 2006, 04:35:19 AM by Jah Gol »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #22 on: December 18, 2006, 01:42:16 PM »
Yes, boys and girls learn differently. I have one of each here and they fascinate me to no end. I think we're agreeing on the fact that men need to educate themselves more. Those fathers that you mentioned, even if they are around, might have no clue how to deal with their sons and might need a little help and advice. Sometimes they only teach what they know. I know of one man who takes his son to the 'other woman' house with him and tells him not to tell mummy. Will the son grow up thinkign that's ok or will he step around that and refuse to creep on his own wife?

I even know a woman who does the same thing...lol. It have nuff bacchanal out there.

Woman are curious and multi-layered, no argument there. But simply because they learn dofferently doesn't mean men do not need to be taught some of the same things. Hygiene, how to deal with others...some women fall flat on that too, again no argument.

As for the topics here, I'm trying to stay current, so bear with me. Ah slow but friendly.

« Reply #23 on: December 18, 2006, 01:48:44 PM »
Yes, boys and girls learn differently. I have one of each here and they fascinate me to no end. I think we're agreeing on the fact that men need to educate themselves more. Those fathers that you mentioned, even if they are around, might have no clue how to deal with their sons and might need a little help and advice. Sometimes they only teach what they know. I know of one man who takes his son to the 'other woman' house with him and tells him not to tell mummy. Will the son grow up thinkign that's ok or will he step around that and refuse to creep on his own wife?

I even know a woman who does the same thing...lol. It have nuff bacchanal out there.

Woman are curious and multi-layered, no argument there. But simply because they learn dofferently doesn't mean men do not need to be taught some of the same things. Hygiene, how to deal with others...some women fall flat on that too, again no argument.

As for the topics here, I'm trying to stay current, so bear with me. Ah slow but friendly.
dais ok...lol admitting it is de first step.
i doubt dais de case.. btu we accustom to that in here..so we know how to cope with it..
lol  :)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #24 on: December 18, 2006, 01:54:32 PM »
PH ah could always admit when I doh know or ah cah unnerstan' someting. Ah humble dat way. De onlyest time ah does gawf up mehself is when yuh akse meh if ah bade or if meh house clean... ;D

Ah went to school long but not often.

« Reply #25 on: December 18, 2006, 02:03:01 PM »
PH ah could always admit when I doh know or ah cah unnerstan' someting. Ah humble dat way. De onlyest time ah does gawf up mehself is when yuh akse meh if ah bade or if meh house clean... ;D

Ah went to school long but not often.
[/b]
  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  gosh woman u go fit  in here just fine...
although i eh know how much dat statement is a compliment eh..lol

« Reply #26 on: December 18, 2006, 02:10:56 PM »
jes have tuh cock back til carnival and see how dis take orf.....Will the donkey coming back? de back tuh front donkey at dat!

« Reply #27 on: December 19, 2006, 04:54:39 AM »

You raised some good points here. I don't think there is much disagreement. I just have a belief that many disfunctional practices can be prevented or reformed early in the lives people (men and women). I would concede that life if bit more dynamic than that and the continuous development through learning of all kinds can aid in the enhancement of our lives.

Perhaps my earlier submission regarding the role of socialisation was incomplete. The extended family is also an important element in the equation.

But yeah, a lil bit of reading won't kill.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #28 on: December 19, 2006, 11:43:19 AM »
Jah gol, I now pay attention to your avatar..QRC? As an HNC girl I am genetically conditioned to disagree with you... >:(

« Reply #29 on: December 19, 2006, 12:04:50 PM »
Jah gol, I now pay attention to your avatar..QRC? As an HNC girl I am genetically conditioned to disagree with you... >:(

I used to love dem HNC and BHS and SJC girls oui...I used to real party with dem..St F Girls too. :devil: :devil:

Dem sorf man fro fatima and St mary's didnt have ah chance when I was around yuh know.

Trinity College had real men...not hen men