April 28, 2024, 11:14:23 PM

Author Topic: What if we had a West Indies football side?  (Read 4986 times)

Re: What if we had a West Indies football side?
« Reply #30 on: July 13, 2009, 05:36:33 PM »
But SOBRIQUET,
                        he does already. Is'nt he in charge of the CFU. Didn't he want to ban somebody for trying to oppose Burrell?

« Reply #31 on: July 13, 2009, 05:50:30 PM »
But SOBRIQUET,
                        he does already. Is'nt he in charge of the CFU. Didn't he want to ban somebody for trying to oppose Burrell?
yes he did
Obama should talk to Warner after he talk to them leaders in Africa ;)
Mr Jack Warner's worrying stance.
Jamaica Observer Editorial.

Captain Horace Burrell, the president of the Jamaica Football Federation, is a great servant of football. His contribution has long been recognised and appreciated all across the CONCACAF (Caribbean, North America and Central American) region.

As such, it would have come as no surprise that a recent attempt by Mr Peter Jenkins to unseat Captain Burrell as regional representative of the CONCACAF Executive Committee petered out.

What has shocked this newspaper is the news that Mr Jack Warner, a vice president of FIFA and head of CONCACAF as well as the Caribbean Football Union (CFU), has ordered that Mr Jenkins and those who gave him support be punished for daring to challenge Captain Burrell.

According to Thursday's report, Mr Warner has given instructions that Mr Jenkins be banished "from all commissions" of CONCACAF and the CFU.

Said Mr Warner in a letter to Mr Jenkins: "In your case, on the advice of the committee of the CFU, I have instructed the general secretary of both the CFU and the CONCACAF to remove you forthwith."

Mr Warner has accused Mr Jenkins, a former president of the St Kitts and Nevis Football Association, of contravening "the political conventions" of the CFU by his decision to contest the post held by Captain Burrell.

Exactly what those "political conventions" of the CFU are, we do not know. Though we suspect they are rooted in the belief that CFU members should stick together regardless of the circumstances.

What we do know is that - from this distance at least - the entire episode bears no resemblance to well-established democratic practice. On the contrary, it sounds suspiciously like Mr Warner is running a dictatorship.

It gets worse. Mr Warner, in his letter to Mr Jenkins, warned that the two countries that initially supported him - Antigua and Barbuda, and Grenada - would be written to and asked to explain their positions, which Mr Warner classifies as attempts to "fracture the unity" of the CFU.

"If their explanations are not satisfactory, disciplinary proceedings shall be instituted against both countries," declares Mr Warner.

We are appalled. We shudder to think what would happen if an ambitious CFU association president ever challenges Mr Warner for his top post.

The situation has left us with more questions than answers.

Surely, this is not how business is conducted in FIFA and its other confederations?

We trust that a sane voice - perhaps from the upper echelons of world football's governing body - will whisper in Mr Warner's ear.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2009, 05:55:11 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #32 on: July 14, 2009, 05:45:14 AM »
Steupes.

Just take a look at WI cricket team and be eternally grateful such a dotish concept never come to fruition.

Exactly, that is the main reason why it should'nt happen. To start something like that now would simply cause too much disagrement and not just among fans...unless as some have mentioned it was as an exibition team. The cricket team survives as we have had a West Indies Cricket team fuh decades and used to it, but it still always have people arguing about... Why dey pick him? or, Why they ain't pick this fella? They biased towards Jamaican/Bajan/Trini (insert depending on which nationality dominates a particular selection). The only reason the West Indies team selections doh cause riots is virtually all the players ply their trade in the Caribbean (even Brendan Nash) for at least a part of the year, so is not like we don't know what the selected players can do. Ah football team...no history, everybody accustomed to doing their own thing and Caribbean players spread far an wide, you simply could not (or would want to) keep track of them all. Everyone knows about their own players but very little about anyone elses. The CFU have enough infighting an bitterness as it is, in a way is ah good thing Warner is ah Dictator. One good it could do I suppose, is it might the amount of Foreign born trying to get an easy international cap. We could argue all we want about who we think would make the side from T&T but I bet every island could produce a handfull of players they believe would be deserving of selection.

Too much politics fuh me....the cricket team bad enough.