April 24, 2024, 11:19:27 PM

Author Topic: Short Cuts  (Read 3056 times)

Short Cuts
« on: March 20, 2005, 10:41:16 AM »
Short cuts, we as a people love short-cuts just think about it, we all used a short-cut on our way home from school, taxi drivers always took the short cut on his route, my points is TTFF has always tried to use short cuts when it come to youth development in football. TTFF will now rep what they sue the last world cup campaign was a disaster we played against poor opposition in our warm ups and we relied too much on Yorke and Latapy. I remember we were asking for all the old pros to come back and help after Yorke left, and after four years we still calling for the return. My question is why we couldn’t get a young group of players combined with some senior guys in training for this moment (World qualifiers). We all know what happens when the under 17 and under 20 team when they fail to qualify for the world cup they get dismantled we start all over again a month before the next tournament.       My suggestions scout the country for 22 off the best under 12 players and place they in program in which they train together as a national team and spend part of there summer vacation in Brazil, the Japanese had a program like this for years why you think there football improve so much over the years. I’m not saying this is all we have to do in order to successful but it’s a start also we must continue to push the pro league it’s a good avenue for youth development. I believe if the national team does well people will support the Pro league as typical Trinis they will only

Re: Short Cuts
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2005, 10:45:56 AM »
CHECK THIS OUT: Could we learn from a similar approach?

1n 1989 I watched a political debate in Brazil where on of the candidates presented many projects. The opponent asked the candidate how he planned on getting the money for the projects since he was poor. The answer was intelligent and came quickly, "the financial resources are not in the pocket of the one who manages, but in his mind." Creativity, transparency, well-developed plans, and realistic information between money spent and money that comes in, make the manager a winner.

Some ideas

1 Partnership with companies offering exclusive publicity.
2 Pre-sold annual tickets for games that will take place in Jamaica Football Federation
3 Partnership with the orange bowl in Miami, RFK in Washington, QPR in London and Varsity on Toronto for the use in tournaments and games.
4 Early sale of TV rights for friendly games to an international TV station.
5 Stores for the commercialisation of all products with the name of Reggae Boyz.

Project Development for more players:

It is obvious that in this case there is a human aspect, but we can compare the formation of a player with the production of a car. There are steps that must be respected otherwise the line of production will stop. Imagine putting the body of the car without first putting the seats, it would get complicated. Also, we cannot forget those things that are extremely necessary. Have you ever thought of a car with cassette player, AC, bit no engine. The football player is the same, we must look at the things that he cannot do without, his physical and mental structure, as well as fundements(fundamentals) before those things that are merely show off.

Project BMF (mind, feet, body) - these athletes between 15 and 18 years old will stay in a house where they will live and receive assistance:

Social -- A social assistance will gather their family histories. School
will be provided close to the housing facility. The social assistant will
arrange for regular visits with the family.

Clinical -- A report on their medical history will be made. Every six months there will be examined for urine, faeces, eyes, ears, and others.

Cardio -- Annual electrocardiograms, Family history will be examined.

Orthopedics -- Treatment to prevent problems. Measurement of bone structure.

Nutrition -- Family history will be examined. Balanced diet according to the training  phase, vitamin supplements. Measurement of body fat.

Dental -- Regular exams, hygiene orientation.

Psychology -- Family history will be examined. Counseling, vocational tests.

Religion -- Participation in a church close to the housing facility (type to be chosen by
the athlete) regular counseling sessions with Rev. Al Miller.

Rescueof -- Notion of duties and rights, legal help for families, orientation about work
Citizenship laws.

In this project there are all the necessary steps for the formation of a proper medical department, one which will be able to provide its services to all the athletes. The MBF will have the following divisions which will work together: Reception and diagnostics, general clinic, cardiology, orthopedics, physiology labs, sports nutrition, psychology, religious, legal.

This housing facility can be called "the workshop of men". This name is appropriate because the attention will be given to the human being in general, the player will be a consequence of a well guided man.

By the way (I): "Not even democracy or market economy have spread so widely around the continents as has football". This statement is from Pascall Bonifarik, one of the 30 thinking minds that were united by the magazine Maniere De Vo sponsored by "Le monde diplomatique". Another wonderful statement came from Gerard Ernault, chief editor if the France Football. He said, "football is the most simple, tolerant, flowing, democratic, and improbable sport." The greatest minds increase our desire to see a strong and passionate football in Jamaica, as in the rest of the world.

5. How and when to introduce the professional league:

We must set goals to be met by clubs so that they may participate of the first professional league in 2000-2001.

Goals.

98-99
1. Creation of an U-20
2. Fields with fences around them
3. Locker rooms for home and visitor teams

99-2000
1. Creation of an U-20
2. Seats for 5,000 spectators
3. One training field
4. Playing field in perfect condition

2000-01
1. All players must have contracts with their teams
2. All staff working under contracts: Coach. Assistant coach, physical trainer, doctor, masseur and goalkeeper's coach.

By the way (II):
Football is a passion of the planet, the most universal entertainment, the sport of the crowds, or a complete social fact. A research by "The Economist" revealed that the biggest reason for pride among English youngsters is not the great conquest of the British Empire, but football."

5. Formation, professionalisation and improvement of staff members:

The greatest difficulty that I have found in this is the lack of understanding many people have about professional football. There is confusion between profession and hobby, competence and love, training and scrimmage. The football professionals are like any other. Just because I like medicine and have been to hospitals, does not mean that I can decide from one day to the next that I will start to prescribe medication. This requires knowledge, talent, availability and love. A profession and life often become one, bringing happiness to the individual.

Well Prof.Simoes, I am quick to admit that my knowledge of football is at the hobby

level (therefore when I see amatuer football, I can indentify it easily) maybe some day

I can put myself up to the professional level. I am the eternal learner.

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2005, 12:06:49 PM »
Alberta trini,

We had all that and more.........Simoes put that in place, is just them things cost money and we couldnt sustain it.

If Simoes was still around we wouldnt of be ketching we arse to beat small team right now.

In the few months he was in charge of the team we play good against JA, win a qualifier against Honduras away and draw 0-0 with the US in a WCQ all that in less than 2 months.

Them wasnt no easy feats but say wha when you pay peanuts you get monkey.

Until we put up some cash and get a proper programme in place we not going nowhere.

Touches
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2005, 12:33:59 PM »
Touches u forget to mention in those same months..

The win vs. Hond. was VERY lucky.

We drew with an American B team that had already qualified and was coasting, allowing it's younger players to get a sweat.

We played ALL OVER JA and catch ass to score, going down 2-1.

But I believe if given a chance to put something in place we would have done allright with Simoes.

But boss after Ports...I would have accepted just about anybody with open arms.

Peace,

Offline mcaw

« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2005, 07:37:59 PM »
All we need to do is hire professionals i admires bsc effort but he is just not a professionla what has he won as a coaach .ssfl ??????????wat is that .WE need professioals to come down here and impliment systems that has worked off the pitch to develop football these people can also  teach their trades to locals so they can learn and intern spread this much neded knowledge

« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2005, 09:12:41 PM »
All we need to do is hire professionals i admires bsc effort but he is just not a professionla what has he won as a coaach .ssfl ??????????wat is that .WE need professioals to come down here and impliment systems that has worked off the pitch to develop football these people can also teach their trades to locals so they can learn and intern spread this much neded knowledge

This is an oversimplification Matthew. We have tried this and to some degree we have had success and at times abyssmal failure. A reliance on foregin as BEST shows am innate proclivity to demeen our efforts , our talents, our  learning and knowledge as inferior. I do not adhere to your simplification of the solution.

Re: MORE Short Cuts
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2005, 09:41:02 PM »
Here yuh want more "SHORT CUTS" look what Warner proposed:"adviser Jack Austin Warner announced a name change in keeping with the effort to get T&T to the 2006 World Cup in Germany. Warner said "Soca Warriors" implied gaiety, a stark contrast to Trinidad and Tobago's effort at World Cup qualification, which he said was serious business."

Wow what was dis a news flash? or did the power go out all these years? Is now he realize that this is SERIOUS BUSINESS?  Wait nah; yuh really think Mr. Warner that the problem is with the name?

Or gosh we have more serious problems than that? Boy yuh eh see how others go laugh at we? The biggest statement from we leaders is dat we go change we name to make we more serious about how we approach the game. Now that iis real strategy boy dat is Trini tactics!!!!!!

I see that Jamacia made it to world cup with their name. No one implied that their name is about  gaiety, frolicking and ganga?

Let's find the real problems to address. Mr. Warner come in and check out dis site; take yuh time and read all the posts; yuh getting all we advise fuh free. Yuh eh have tuh hire no foreign big arse tuh tell yuh what tuh do.

« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2005, 09:53:07 PM »
who say he doh read posts on dis site?

« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2005, 07:10:09 AM »

I have been reading about coaches calling for a change in the name...to drop the soca part.
Cah remember if it was Bertille, Simoes or maybe even Corneal.  I guess they want more aggression from the players and the soca part was too fete like.  As a fan it doh make a difference but if the players want it so then fine.