March 29, 2024, 08:47:21 AM

Author Topic: EPL ROUND UP...Utd 2 pts clear for Christmas.. best gift i could have asked for  (Read 1681 times)

 ;D ;D

WE DESTROYED VILLA AT VILLA PARK

and Chelsea got lucky again and won 3-2 in he last minute

so we r on top by 2 pts

TODAYS SCORES

FT   Fulham   0 - 0   West Ham U.
 FT   Arsenal   6 - 2   Blackburn R.
 FT   Aston Villa   0 - 3   Manchester U.
 FT   Liverpool   2 - 0   Watford
 FT   Manchester C.   0 - 2   Bolton W.
 FT   Middlesbrough   2 - 0   Charlton Athletic
 FT   Newcastle U.   3 - 1   Tottenham H.
 FT   Portsmouth   3 - 1   Sheffield U.
 FT   Reading   0 - 2   Everton
 FT   Wigan Athletic   2 - 3   Chelsea

Villa 0   Utd 3

Manchester United returned to form with a convincing victory at Aston Villa.

Villa were unfortunate not to take the lead when Craig Gardner headed against a post before United took control.

Cristiano Ronaldo lashed home the opener after a great solo run before Paul Scholes crashed home an unstoppable 25-yard volley.

United, who started with Wayne Rooney on the bench, added a third when the impressive Ronaldo slid the ball in from a Gary Neville cross.

Before the game, former Villa manager Ron Saunders was given a standing ovation on his first return to the ground in over 20 years.

Saunders, 74, won the league as Villa boss in 1981 using just 14 players during the entire season but quit because of a contract dispute before the team won the European Cup a year later.

United, who were without the injured Michael Carrick, found life difficult as Villa started the brighter of the sides in what was the first of three meetings in as many weeks.

The home side - with Gabriel Agbonlahor pushed up alongside Chris Sutton in attack - were unlucky not to take a 15th-minute lead when Gareth Barry's free-kick was flicked on by Sutton to Gardner, whose header came back off the post.

United defender Nemanja Vidic was rightly booked for an awful tackle on Agbonalahor before Park wasted a great chance when he mis-hit a shot when well placed.

After being slow starters, United gradually got into the game and the fit-again Patrice Evra angled a low drive at goal which on-loan Crystal Palace keeper Gabor Kiraly got down well to keep out.

Ryan Giggs then curled in a corner from the right which was met by Ronaldo but again Kiraly saved.

Villa came under more pressure when Giggs released Ronaldo into the left side of the penalty box. The Portugal winger cut inside Aaron Hughes but fired a shot inches wide of the far post with Kiraly beaten.

New Villa owner Randy Lerner made a presentation to Saunders at half-time, but it was United boss Sir Alex Ferguson who was celebrating as his team took control in the second half.

They broke the deadlock before the hour mark when Ronaldo ran from the halfway line towards the Villa box.

He went unchallenged and saw his first shot blocked by Gary Cahill before lashing in the rebound past a helpless Kiraly.

Scholes then scored one of the contenders for goal of the month on 64 minutes when he brilliantly volleyed over Kiraly and into the net from fully 25 yards after a Giggs corner was headed out by Gavin McCann.

Villa then had to cope with the introduction of Rooney as United looked to turn the screw following their shock 1-0 defeat at West Ham last Sunday.

Scholes picked up his fifth booking of the season before Ronaldo had an effort correctly disallowed for offside as United finished on top.

They made it 3-0 with five minutes left when Rooney opened up the stretched Villa defence and found Gary Neville on the right and his slide-rule cross was turned in by man-of-the-match Ronaldo.

#
Aston Villa boss Martin O'Neill:
"We were playing very well indeed until they scored the first goal - which was very avoidable from our point of view.

"We lose possession, they score. We've got a lot of young players in the side and that sort of experience will bring them on immensely.

"You make mistakes against top quality sides and you'll remember them."

# Man Utd manager Sir Alex Ferguson:
"It's a big result after last week's disappointment when we controlled a game we should have won.

"But today the players got to grips with the game, played some great football and showed determination.

"Ronaldo was unbelievable, he was a revelation today and he is as good as anyone in the country."

Aston Villa: Kiraly, Hughes, Mellberg, Cahill, Barry, Agbonlahor, McCann (Angel 76), Gardner, Petrov, Davis, Sutton. Subs Not Used: Olejnik, Baros, Bouma, Ridgewell.

Booked: McCann, Sutton.

Man Utd: Van der Sar, Neville, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Park (Rooney 66), Scholes (Silvestre 88), Giggs (O'Shea 88), Saha.
Subs Not Used: Kuszczak, Brown.

Booked: Vidic, Scholes.

Goals: Ronaldo 58, Scholes 64, Ronaldo 85.

Att: 42,551

Ref: S Bennett (Kent).

Wigan 2  Chelsea 3

Arjen Robben's dramatic stoppage time strike kept Chelsea in touch with league leaders Manchester United.

The Dutchman's neat pass set up Frank Lampard to score Chelsea's first and then Salomon Kalou headed in Robben's outswinging corner for the second.

But just at the end of the first-half Emile Heskey's header reduced the deficit when he guided in a free-kick.

Heskey turned the ball in from close range to equalise for Wigan, but Robben had the last word with a raking shot.

Last weekend Chelsea had beaten Everton 3-2 at Goodison Park, with their winner coming in the 87th minute.

This time Chelsea left it even later as Robben's goal kept them just two points behind United.

Chelsea were ruffled by Wigan's dynamic second-half performance and until Robben's late intervention Paul Jewell's side looked destined to come away with at least a point.

Wigan's spirit was encapsulated by Heskey, who had scored only three league goals this season before this match, but single-handedly terrorised the Chelsea defence.

Chelsea must be wondering why they had to leave it so late to win this game given their almost total control of the opening period.

Kalou, who was preferred to Andriy Shevchenko, had two reasonable chances to score before Lampard gave Chesea a 12th-minute lead.

The former Feyenoord striker first tested Chris Kirkland with a flicked effort after he collected a long pass from Ashley Cole.

Kalou then got on the end of a rapier-like Chelsea counter-attack inspired by Didier Drogba and Robben.

Kalou's stabbed effort sneaked under Kirkland's glove to hit the post, but the Wigan goalkeeper beat the Chelsea striker to the rebound.

But Chelsea were not to be denied for much longer.

There seemed little danger as Robben lurked on the edge of the box, but the Dutchman conjured up a wonderful reverse pass to leave Lampard in acres of space with just Kirkland to beat.

This time Kirkland was unable to do keep the ball out, as Lampard crashed a shot past the Wigan goalkeeper.

In the 30th minute Kalou was the first to the ball following a Robben corner and his header was too strong for Kirkland as he made it 2-0.

Wigan came back into the game towards the end of the first half and Heskey's header revived the home side's hopes.

Heskey won the free-kick, tempting Khalid Boulahrouz into a rash challenge, and the former Liverpool striker then got to Josip Skoko's set-piece delivery before Drogba.

Immediately after the restart Lampard uncharacteristically passed up an opportunity to restore Chelsea's two-goal lead, when having left a couple of Wigan defenders on their backsides the midfielder fired wide.

Chelsea were left to rue that miss when Heskey was on hand to direct the ball into the roof of the net after Denny Landzaat turned back David Cotterill's cross from the right.

In a frenetic finale Kirkland did well to tip over Ricardo Carvalho's header, but the Wigan goalkeeper could do nothing about Robben's left-footed shot.

# Wigan manager Paul Jewell:

"I don't like unlucky teams as they get relegated - we have to start turning those good performances into points.

"I don't think we will get relegated, but I feel flat and we have to pick ourselves up.

"We've pushed Chelsea all the way and we deserved something from this game."

# Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho:

"I'm not proud, I'm very sad. We don't deserve to win this game.

"We won because we had a good reaction in 10 minutes.

"This was our easiest game to win. After the way we started we had control of the game. It looks like the team is comfortable in difficult situations."

Wigan: Kirkland, Boyce, De Zeeuw, Hall, Baines, Johansson (Cotterill 72), Skoko, Landzaat (Wright 84), Kilbane, Heskey, Todorov (Teale 77).
Subs Not Used: Pollitt, Jackson.

Booked: Heskey, De Zeeuw, Kilbane.

Goals: Heskey 45, 75.

Chelsea: Hilario, Essien, Boulahrouz (Shevchenko 79), Carvalho, Ashley Cole, Lampard, Makelele (Mikel 79), Ballack, Kalou, Drogba, Robben (Geremi 90).
Subs Not Used: Hedman, Bridge.

Booked: Robben, Boulahrouz, Lampard, Mikel.

Goals: Lampard 13, Kalou 31, Robben 90.

Att: 22,077.

Ref: M Dean (Wirral).

Arsenal 6  Blackburn 2  :o :o :o :o   WHO'S HENRY?? LOL

Three goals in the last eight minutes handed Arsenal a majestic victory over Blackburn at the Emirates.

Shabani Nonda put Rovers ahead from the spot after three minutes before Gilberto Silva headed home a corner.

Alexander Hleb then side-footed home with a sublime finish before Emmanuel Adebayor made it three from the spot.

Nonda pulled one back with an overhead-kick before Van Persie added two more with neat finishes while Mathieu Flamini blasted home a sixth.

Interview: Blackburn boss Mark Hughes
Interview: Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger

Rovers started confidently and were rewarded for their early endeavour after three minutes when David Bentley broke into the Arsenal box and was awkwardly hauled down by Kolo Toure.

Nonda stepped up to confidently dispatch the resulting spot-kick and for a brief spell, Blackburn looked good value for their lead.

Former Gunner Bentley, perhaps with a point to prove to his former boss, stung the hands of Jens Lehmann from distance on three occasions and shone on his return to north London.

But he and his Rovers team-mates quickly became overrun in midfield with Cesc Fabregas, Hleb and Gilberto pulling the strings as Arsenal took control.

And the warning signs were there for Arsenal's equaliser when Toure headed against the bar via a Blackburn deflection from Fabregas' corner.

From the resulting van Persie corner from the right, the unmarked Gilberto rose to guide his header into the left corner.

Buoyed by their quick response, Arsenal pushed forward and sliced through Rovers with breathtaking ease.

On 23 minutes the Gunners went ahead with a fine build-up and neat finish by Hleb.

Adebayor played in the Belarussian who danced past Andy Todd and delicately side-footed home from five yards.

Arsenal had their third two minutes later through a penalty of their own.

Van Persie latched on to Adebayor's chipped through-ball and was felled from behind by Lucas Neill.

After consultation with his assistant, referee Howard Webb pointed to the spot and Adebayor sent Brad Friedel the wrong way.

Robin van Persie
Van Persie claimed a brace with two precise finishes

Andre Ooijer did well to prevent Arsenal scoring a fourth shortly after the break when he deflected Tomas Rosicky's shot on to the bar.

Blackburn worked hard and pulled themselves back into the game as Nonda acrobatically fired home with an overhead kick after Matt Derbyshire's header had cannoned off the underside of the bar.

The goal rocked the Gunners' back line and Blackburn pressed forward with vigour in search of an unlikely equaliser.

Arsenal's swaggering flow was quickly replaced by a jittering stutter in the last 10 minutes and Jens Lehmann pulled off a fine save from Morten Gamst Perdersen's volley.

But van Persie settled the Arsenal nerves with a composed run and finish from the left-hand edge of the box.

And he was on hand to complete a delightful move with four minutes left with Fabregas the archetict providing an exquisite cut-back for the Dutchman.

Substitute Flamini capped an impressive Arsenal performance by firing home a loose ball at the end.

#
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger:
"Both teams showed great football going forward and the score was too big for them because at 3-2 we were wobbling slightly.

"But overall we played some great football and showed marvellous technique.

"Many teams have got away with a point playing a lot less football than Blackburn have and they came here and played.

"But I was pleased with the way we responded with character and great self-belief."

#
Blackburn manager Mark Hughes:
"In the second half we had a real go at it and at 3-2 Arsenal were wobbling, but the fourth goal knocked the stuffing out us.

"We didn't come here just to nullify Arsenal's attack, we came here to win the game and maybe that has cost us today.

"But we didn't put in a performance worthy of a 6-2 defeat. There was some good performances on our side but in the end we gave ourselves too much to do."

Arsenal: Lehmann, Hoyte, Toure, Djourou, Clichy, Hleb (Walcott 88), Fabregas, Silva, Rosicky (Flamini 71), Adebayor (Julio Baptista 89), Van Persie.
Subs Not Used: Almunia, Senderos.

Booked: Van Persie, Hleb, Adebayor.

Goals: Silva 10, Hleb 23, Adebayor 27 pen, Van Persie 85, 88, Flamini 90.

Blackburn: Friedel, Neill, Todd, Ooijer, Gray (Derbyshire 63), Emerton, Savage, Kerimoglu, Pedersen, Bentley, Nonda.
Subs Not Used: Brown, Mokoena, Henchoz, Peter.

Booked: Neill, Emerton, Savage.

Goals: Nonda 3 pen, 69.

Att: 59,913

Ref: H Webb (S Yorkshire).

SO EPL FANS...

here's the table

1      Man Utd        19     31     47 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D merry christmas small mag!
2    Chelsea    19    20    45 stay right there fags
3    Liverpool    19    13    34who gives a shit
4    Arsenal    19    18    33 looks like france are struggling
5    Bolton    19    7    33
6    Portsmouth    19    11    32
7    Tottenham    19    -2    28
8    Everton    19    4    27
9    Reading    19    -5    26
10    Aston Villa    19    0    25
11    Newcastle    19    -1    25
12    Fulham    19    -10    24
13    Wigan    19    -4    22
14    Middlesbrough    19    -7    20
15    Man City    19    -9    20 just have to smile :D
16    Sheff Utd    19    -10    20
17    Blackburn    18    -10    19
18    West Ham    19    -13    18
19    Charlton    19    -20    12
20    Watford    18    -13    11

pictures and highlights later

« Last Edit: December 23, 2006, 03:41:27 PM by Small Magician »

CRISTIANO CELEBRATES A SCORCHER

SCHOLESSSSSS

THE DANDY RED HEAD

GAZZZZZ!!

ROONEY TELLING REF WHAT HE THINKS

THANKING THE FANS

AFTER THE GAME....WE KNOW ITS IN OUR HANDS

SUMS UP THE NIGHT

ABSOLUTE JOY.....FOR A 4TH PLACED TEAM COUGH COUGH ::) ::)

KALOU

LAMPARD...INTERESTING CELEBRATION  READ: http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2006590213,00.html

HESKY HEADER

TIES IT UP.. BUT ITS NOT TO BE

A PICTURE SAYS A THOUSAND WORDS

>:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

That was real vision by Robben on that last goal. Class

and the pass to Lampard

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
early Christmas gift for me tooo....cyah ask for more....

Man Utd supporters are so gay.

takes a gay to supposedly call people gay

small mag, ah dissapointed with you...yu had us accustomed to much better. Thats the best you could come up with?  ;)

i've been trying to cut down on the cussing lol...

next time..

GLORY, GLORY...HO HO HO!!!