March 29, 2024, 06:30:53 AM

Author Topic: Yorke gets glowing reference from manager  (Read 2512 times)

Yorke gets glowing reference from manager
« on: December 22, 2006, 10:49:48 PM »
Yorke gets glowing reference from manager
By: Northeastfootball.co.uk

22 Dec 2006

Sunderland manager Roy Keane believes the club's recent revival in the Championship is down to Dwight Yorke. The player has not set the world alight since arriving at Sunderland from Sydney. At Turf Moor on Saturday the Trinidad and Tobago captain looked every one of his thirty–five years in a sluggish display which saw him withdrawn just under half an hour from the final whistle.

However Keane has given him a glowing reference. The secret of Sunderland's recent success has all been in the mind, buoyed by a character and determination which has seen poor performances disguised by results. Ask Keane who should take most credit and he immediately singles out the club's second oldest player (after Kenny Cunningham) and the club's resident DJ. Yorke looks after the club's music in the build up to a game.

"People have been critical of Dwight recently but he's been a great help," says Keane. "He's been excellent in the dressing room, the way he smiles coming into training and his banter. He'll have a vital role to play for the rest of the season. I try not to get involved in the music that gets played. When I first got the job believe it or not I think it was Abba. I actually don't mind Abba that much but I don't think it's great before a game. Yorkie tends to look after it now. There's a bit of R&B, hip–hop – nothing too heavy – but you need a bouncing dressing room."

Keane has also played his part with subtle alterations. "I've just made little changes, there's been no magic wand. It's been little changes in terms of travelling, preparation, whatever it might be. There's a good spirit among the players no matter what happens. You need that togetherness," said the manager.

Re: Yorke gets glowing reference from manager
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2006, 12:36:23 AM »
All who say Dwight eh go make it at Sunderland hear what the manager say.

« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2006, 01:25:17 AM »
he need to start playing more football and less music

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2006, 01:40:55 AM »
i doh know bout allyuh but i know ah diss when i hear one

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2006, 04:09:43 AM »

:-\

« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2006, 08:23:32 AM »
I eh know the Brits to speak in parables. If he wanted tocall Yorke ahound he would have. Just like on the national team the man role has changed so for Sunderland

« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2006, 09:39:32 AM »
Not quite sure you do.......but a man could influence a team in more ways than one.....he doh exactly have the socawarriors playing around him yuh know

« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2006, 11:31:43 AM »
Not quite sure you do.......but a man could influence a team in more ways than one.....he doh exactly have the socawarriors playing around him yuh know
        I thought he is suppose to be the impact player on the team,the one with the name,is he the highest paid on there,even if Keane wants to diss Yorke he will not because of the importance/hopes they had in acquiring him,what we have to understand is it's tough for him,he is older now but has to work harder because of the guys he playing with,it happens to all players Ronaldo,Ronaldinho etc etc the whole thing is about production,all our players have problems with that.

« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2006, 11:49:57 AM »
Also remember that this is Keane's first job as a manager as well. He will also be learning lessons along the way and by no means will things be perfect.

« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2006, 11:54:26 AM »
So Yorke is a big DJ like Dr Hyde now?

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2006, 12:02:36 PM »
after that match, i read the newspaper most player ratings were 7 at the lowest 6, yorke gettin a 3 man.  :o

« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2006, 06:20:08 PM »
Yorke, wah kind ah thing is dat boi, yuh is ah big DJ now, but wah happen tuh de soca or some reggae? Ah lil Bunji or Machael, or some Bounty Killer, dat go be some good hype up in de dressing room 2,  ;D. Bless.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2006, 12:16:43 AM by SUPA »

Offline 1989

« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2006, 08:12:40 PM »
I sure Yorke could afford to pay off his contract and look for a job elsewhere.  Enough ole talk from Keane.  I hear Luton has a vacancy coming up!  ;)
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #13 on: December 26, 2006, 07:29:38 AM »

:-\

That indeed was a real dis. Vital role as what a DJ?

« Reply #14 on: December 26, 2006, 09:33:04 AM »
did we read the same piece? I read that Yorke is considered some kind of sub-manager...being captain is surely not only about the on-field but off field discipline ..
come on guys, give the man a break ;D

by the way- Blessings to all you & yours