March 28, 2024, 10:44:05 PM

Author Topic: Chelsea drop points while United stay at the top  (Read 1951 times)

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
Chelsea drop points while United stay at the top
« on: December 26, 2006, 11:01:21 AM »
Chelsea 2 - Reading 2 HAHA SUCKERS!!!!!!!!!

Manchester United 3 - Wigan 1!

HAPPY FRAKKING NEW YEAR RED DEVILS!!!!

:devil: :devil: :devil: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: December 26, 2006, 11:25:25 AM by Reaper2004 »

Re: Chelsea drop points while United go 5 points clear
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2006, 11:03:48 AM »
Chelsea 2 - Reading 2 HAHA SUCKERS!!!!!!!!!

Manchester United 3 - Wigan 1! 5 POINTS CLEAR AT THE TOP BITCHES!!!

HAPPY FRAKKING NEW YEAR RED DEVILS!!!!

:devil: :devil: :devil: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

five points?

where did you learn to add?? ???

Manutd had a 2pt lead..........chelsea drew, manutd won, that equals four points young jedi!!

Re: Chelsea drop points while United go 5 points clear
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2006, 11:16:41 AM »
Lol and the fella getting all animated like he does play for the team and he cyah even add correctly  .....lol  ah luv it

Ronaldo double downs Wigan
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2006, 01:01:40 PM »
Ronaldo double downs Wigan
By Graeme Mair - Created on 26 Dec 06
Cristiano Ronaldo came off the bench to score twice in five minutes as Manchester United beat Wigan Athletic 3-1 to move four points clear at the top of the Premiership.

Ronaldo was brought on at the start of the second half after an opening period in which wasteful finishing and Chris Kirkland's inspired goalkeeping kept the game goalless.

But the introduction of the Portuguese winger, fresh from his match-winning display against Aston Villa on Saturday, ensured United took full advantage of Chelsea's draw with Reading earlier in the day.

He marked his arrival with a 47th minute header and then added another four minutes later, slotting home the rebound after his penalty had been saved. 

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, playing in attack alongside the recalled Wayne Rooney, added a third with a clinical finish in the 59th minute as Wigan's defensive game-plan was fully exposed, although they did get on the scoresheet late on courtesy of a Leighton Baines penalty.

Sir Alex Ferguson opted to rotate his squad, resting Ronaldo, Rio Ferdinand, Louis Saha, Gary Neville and Ryan Giggs from his starting XI, with Rooney partnering Solskjaer in attack.

The experienced quintet were not missed as United started strongly - Paul Scholes prominent as the play was spread around with some first-time passing.

The first opportunity fell to Park Ji-sung in the third minute. The left-winger cut in before firing a low shot from 30 yards across the goal and just wide.

The best chance of the half fell to Rooney in the eighth minute, but the England striker was thwarted by a superb Kirkland double save.

Right-back Wes Brown shrugged off the attention of Emile Heskey and, having worked his way into a crossing position, picked out a charging Rooney in the heart of the six-yard box.

Rooney made strong contact to send the ball goalwards, but had not counted on Kirkland's athleticism. The Wigan goalkeeper threw himself to his right to block the shot onto the post before scrambling to push the rebound to safety.

Patrice Evra's forward runs were creating an extra man for United in attack and he was instrumental in the creation of two chances in as many minutes mid-way through the half.

The left-back dragged a long-range shot wide and, two minutes later, was bundled off the ball after his thrusting run reached the edge of the penalty box.

It was all United by this stage, Wigan were content to sit back and soak up pressure presumably with the intention of stealing something with a quick counter-attack.

But even on the rare occasion the visitors did get the ball they proved incapable of holding it for long - a prime example coming in the 33rd minute when Darren Fletcher robbed Baines of possession before setting Rooney up with another shooting chance.

This time the striker's shot went just wide, while strike-partner Solskjaer headed straight at Kirkland just prior to the break.

Ferguson decided to introduce the in-form Ronaldo for Fletcher at half-time and was immediately rewarded.

Ronaldo had been on the pitch less than two minutes when he broke the deadlock by freeing himself of marker Fitz Hall and powerfully heading home Scholes' pinpoint corner.

The lead was doubled just four minutes later after Gary Teale dwelt on the ball in the middle of Wigan's penalty box and was robbed by the alert Park, who he promptly tripped to concede a penalty.

Ronaldo took responsibility with the spot-kick and, despite his initial effort being well saved by Kirkland to his right, slotted the rebound with a minimum of fuss.

The game was finished as a contest with United's third goal on 59 minutes. Rooney won a header to knock the ball forward and Solskjaer beat Hall to the ball and placed his finish into the left corner.

That allowed Ferguson to make further changes, Evra and Scholes both being given a rest as Kieran Richardson and Gabriel Heinze were brought on for the final quarter.

As the game began to drift Rooney looked to cap his high-energy display with a goal, but hit the bar after Ronaldo had freed him with a perfectly timed through ball.

Wigan got themselves a goal two minutes into stoppage time after Mikael Silvestre conceded a penalty with a clumsy challenge. Baines drilled it straight down the middle to reduce his side's margin of defeat to 3-1
http://home.skysports.com/matchreport.aspx?fxid=298524&CPID=8&channel=Premiership
Ronaldo on fire go united

Re: Chelsea drop points while United stay at the top
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2006, 01:40:18 PM »
I like how he edit the post without admitting that the maths was lacking.

Not too late for a DavyJenny nomination.

« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2006, 02:12:54 PM »
he songing like ah real gladman.....

Boxing Day EPL Round Up... Utd move 4 pts Clear..
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2006, 07:57:45 PM »
WOOOO HOOOO  ;D ;D

THANK YOU ASHLEY COLE AND MICHAEL ESSIEN!!

26/12/06

RESULTS

FT   Chelsea   2 - 2   Reading
 FT   Tottenham H.   2 - 1   Aston Villa
 FT   West Ham U.   1 - 2   Portsmouth
 FT   Blackburn R.   1 - 0   Liverpool
 FT   Bolton W.   2 - 1   Newcastle U.
 FT   Everton   0 - 0   Middlesbrough
 FT   Manchester U.   3 - 1   Wigan Athletic
 FT   Sheffield U.   0 - 1   Manchester C.
 FT   Watford   1 - 2   Arsenal

Man Utd 3  Wigan 1

Substitute Cristiano Ronaldo scored twice in four minutes as Manchester United extended their lead at the top of the Premiership to four points.

Ronaldo came on at the break and headed United in front with his first touch before scoring a rebound after Chris Kirkland parried his penalty.

The spot-kick was awarded after Gary Teale fouled Ji-Sung Park.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer then finished with his right foot before Leighton Baines scored a late penalty for Wigan.

United took to the field for the match shortly after rivals Chelsea had been held at home to Reading.

It was a very different United side to that which defeated Aston Villa on Saturday - with Ronaldo, Rio Ferdinand, Louis Saha, Gary Neville and Ryan Giggs either omitted completely or relegated to the bench.

Nonetheless, the home team set about their work with great intensity and were soon peppering Kirkland's goal.

Park cut inside from the left flank and shot narrowly wide after three minutes, while Rooney came within inches of scoring shortly afterwards.

The striker seemed certain to convert Wes Brown's low, powerful cross but the ball struck Kirkland and slowly dribbled goalwards.

Kirkland scrambled after the ball and eventually cleared the danger while a disbelieving Rooney appealed in vain that it had crossed the line.

The Latics keeper later saved from Mikael Silvestre and saw a Rooney strike flash just wide of his goal.

Rooney, who played with great conviction, collected a Darren Fletcher through ball just after the half-hour mark and shot across goal on the turn - his effort missing by inches.

But United's play had become increasingly fractured as Wigan did a reasonable job of stymieing their opponents - and the home crowd fell silent as the first half wore on.

They almost had something to cheer just before the break but Kirkland held on to Solskjaer's diving header.

Ferguson's decision to introduce Ronaldo for Fletcher paid dividends within two minutes of the restart when the Portugal international headed home Paul Scholes' corner.

Ronaldo was left completely unmarked to score his ninth goal of the season.

And Ronaldo struck again four minutes later, stroking the ball home after Kirkland parried his initial penalty kick.

Teale, guilty of the crude hack that led to the penalty, was withdrawn minutes later as Old Trafford found its voice - the United supporters celebrating an extension of United's lead at the top of the Premiership.

Solskjaer latched on to a Rooney header and tucked the ball across goal and into the bottom corner to further add to the party atmosphere.

Matt Jackson almost pulled a goal back for Wigan but directed his header straight at Edwin van der Sar before the luckless Rooney hit the crossbar at the other end from 12 yards.

Wigan scored their consolation goal with virtually the last kick of the game, Baines drilling his penalty down the middle of the goal after Silvestre had fouled David Wright.

# Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson:
"I had a feeling he would change the game.

"We needed a quick response to what happened in the first half and Cristiano is in such great form, it was an obvious move.

"He lit up the crowd and got us two goals, which is just what we were looking for."

# Wigan manager Paul Jewell:
"You cannot give any of the top teams free goals. That is two games in a row - Chelsea and Man Utd - where we have conceded from a corner.

"The disappointing thing is not that we have lost but the manner in which we conceded the goals.

"We were always going to be up against it but at least we showed a bit of spirit and got a goal."

Man Utd: Van der Sar, Brown, Vidic, Silvestre, Evra (Heinze 70), Fletcher (Ronaldo 46), O'Shea, Scholes (Richardson 62), Park, Solskjaer, Rooney.
Subs Not Used: Kuszczak, Saha.

Goals: Ronaldo 47, 51, Solskjaer 59.

Wigan: Kirkland, Boyce, Jackson, Hall (Skoko 60), Baines, Teale (Cotterill 52), Johansson, Wright, Kilbane, Todorov, Heskey.
Subs Not Used: Pollitt, Landzaat, Cywka.

Goals: Baines 90 pen.

Att: 76,018.

Ref: M Riley (W Yorkshire).

Chelsea 2  Reading 2 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: ;D ;D

Chelsea squandered two priceless Premiership points against Reading.

Didier Drogba headed Chelsea in front from Frank Lampard's corner seven minutes before half-time.

But Reading responded after the break and it was no surprise when Leroy Lita headed a deserved equaliser from Glen Little's cross after 67 minutes.

Drogba's header swiftly restored Chelsea's lead, but Reading levelled after 85 minutes, Ashley Cole's clearance flying in off Michael Essien.

Chelsea had twice scrambled late winners at Wigan and Everton in their last two Premiership games but there was to be no reprieve this time as Reading claimed a point.

Reading's Stephen Hunt, who was involved in the controversial collision that resulted in a fractured skull for Chelsea keeper Petr Cech earlier this season, was left out of the starting line-up.

Chelsea drafted in Andriy Shevchenko and Wayne Bridge for Arjen Robben and Ashley Cole, with John Terry sidelined again with a back injury.

And the champions dominated the opening 45 minutes, with Drogba inevitably the spearhead.

He played in Frank Lampard after only two minutes but his half-hit shot rolled tamely wide.

And Drogba then forced a fine save from Reading keeper Marcus Hahnemann, who dived at his feet to smother a shot after a clever pass from Shevchenko.

Drogba was denied again after 28 minutes when Hahnemann saved low to his left as he flicked on Lampard's free-kick.

But he was not to be thwarted as Chelsea took the lead.

Drogba outmuscled Hahnemann and Reading defender Ibrahima Sonko to head in Lampard's corner.

Reading opened with a much greater sense of purpose and ambition after the break, with Brynjar Gunnarsson's cross deflecting dangerously across the goal after taking a deflection off Ricardo Carvalho.

Steve Sidwell then gave Chelsea keeper Hilario a scare with a right-foot shot that flew into the side-netting.

A sign of Chelsea's struggles came after 57 minutes when Shevchenko, who had again looked desperately off the pace, was replaced by Wright-Phillips.

Chelsea had been totally subdued since half-time and it was no surprise when Reading drew level after 67 minutes.

Little's cross was inviting from the right-flank and Lita dived forward to head past Hilario with ease.

Mourinho responded with an instant double substitution, sending on Mikel Jon Obi and Ashley Cole for Geremi and Bridge.

And Reading's joy lasted only five minutes before Chelsea were in front again, Drogba heading in Wright-Phillips' cross at the far post.

Reading's most reliable marksman Kevin Doyle then wasted a glorious opportunity to restore equality again, shooting wildly over when unmarked from only eight yards.

Steve Coppell's side deserved much credit in the second period and Gunnarsson was again only inches away with another header.

And they equalised in farcical fashion with five minutes left when Cole's attempt to clear Doyle's cross flew past Hilario off Essien.

#
Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho:
"That was a fair result. We did enough to win because we scored two goals and could have scored more.

"I don't think I can complain about the players. For example the game at Wigan was easy but we made it hard for ourselves. Yes, I had reason to be unhappy with them then.

"But today no because Reading made it difficult for us. When the opponents do well and create problems, you can't complain, only praise the opposition.

"They got a point at Stamford Bridge. Of course we want to win every game and we are never happy to draw, but there is no criticism aimed at my players because they did the best they possibly could."

#
Reading manager Steve Coppell:
"We had a defined gameplan and the players stuck resolutely to that. I think 1-0 down is a precarious position to be in but we really pushed on.

"There was a real determination in the dressing room. The players were very positive and the momentum was with us for the second half.

"Once we got back in I thought we might have gone on to win the game. We had a bit of fortune for the second goal. We are pleased with the point. We haven't played well recently."

Chelsea: Hilario, Geremi (Mikel 70), Ferreira, Carvalho, Bridge (Ashley Cole 70), Kalou, Essien, Ballack, Lampard, Shevchenko (Wright-Phillips 58), Drogba.
Subs Not Used: Hedman, Diarra.

Booked: Ballack.

Goals: Drogba 38, 72.

Reading: Hahnemann, Murty, Ingimarsson, Sonko, Shorey, Little, Sidwell, Harper, Gunnarsson, Doyle, Lita.
Subs Not Used: Federici, Hunt, Oster, Sodje, Ki-Hyeon.

Booked: Lita.

Goals: Lita 67, Essien 85 og.

Att: 41,885.

Ref: A Wiley (Staffordshire).

Watford 1  Arsenal 2 >:(

Arsenal moved third in the Premiership thanks to a late Robin van Persie winner at a heartbroken Watford.

Arsenal took the lead against the run of play when Gilberto Silva nodded in at the far post, but Watford hit back when Tommy Smith lashed in a shot.

Watford tested a struggling Arsenal while having keeper Ben Foster to thank for keeping out shots from Emmanuel Adebayor and Justin Hoyte.

Arsenal pressed for a late winner and Van Persie obliged with a curling shot.

There had been enough endeavour and enterprise about Watford's start to suggest a goalscoring threat and Arsenal were quickly forced on to the backfoot.

The Hornets looked especially menacing from set-pieces and Arsenal's young and inexperienced defence looked suspect if the home side could find the quality to take advantage.

But, despite their early pressure, Watford had Foster to thank for keeping them level as he twice saved angled strikes from Van Persie after Arsenal counter-attacks.

A similar Van Persie effort went agonisingly wide before Watford striker Ashley Young's eyes lit up as a clear sight of goal opened up in front of him.

Watford winger Tommy Smith (left) equalised for his side against Arsenal
Smith's industry was a threat to Arsenal and he notched a goal for his efforts

Young's shot was blocked by the last-ditch sliding tackle of Gilberto, who then raced up the other end to nod in at the far post after a corner was flicked on by Kolo Toure.

Watford refused to buckle and continued to attack, a looped Young effort forcing Gunners keeper Jens Lehmann to scramble across his goal and palm the ball away.

The resilience of the home side brought a deserved equaliser with Hameur Bouazza's surging run and deflected cross being powerfully lashed in by Smith.

The Hornets were applauded off at half-time but almost let themselves down shortly after the interval.

Tomas Rosicky left Watford right-back Adrian Mariappa trailing as he burst through on the Watford goal only to have his stabbed shot blocked by Foster.

There were signs of panic from Arsenal as the game wore on, before the visitors finally started to exert some pressure with flashes of their familiar fluid football.

Foster again had to come to his side's rescue when he spread himself to keep out an Adebayor shot with his legs and then palmed away an angled Hoyte drive.

Arsenal scented a win and Julio Baptista and Adebayor shot just wide as the visitors produced a late surge.

Watford struggled as Arsenal upped their game and eventually caved in when substitute Theo Walcott released Van Persie, who cut in from the right and curled a shot in at the far post for the winner.

#
Watford boss Aidy Boothroyd:
"That game should have finished 1-1 and we didn't lock it up as we should have done.

"We lose a player who was outstanding in Hameur Bouazza and it turns the game in many ways.

"We will just keep going, get that momentum and string some results together and make it exciting."

#
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger:
"Robin van Persie has developed into a team player now.

"He works very hard and in this game created more chances in the first half. In the second he had one and scored.

"He did it in a great style and there is some Bergkamp in there in the way he finishes - he is open-footed, strikes it cleanly and makes quick decisions."

Watford: Foster, Mariappa, Shittu (Priskin 90), DeMerit, Stewart, Smith, Mahon, Bangura, McNamee (Henderson 77), Young, Bouazza (Francis 69).
Subs Not Used: Lee, Doyley.

Booked: Francis.

Goals: Smith 23.

Arsenal: Lehmann, Hoyte, Toure, Djourou (Senderos 46), Clichy, Hleb (Walcott 71), Fabregas, Silva, Rosicky (Julio Baptista 79), Van Persie, Adebayor.
Subs Not Used: Almunia, Flamini.

Goals: Silva 19, Van Persie 83.

Att: 19,750

Ref: M Dean (Wirral).

Blackburn 1  Liverpool 0 ;D ;D

Blackburn eased their relegation fears with a gritty victory over Liverpool.

Liverpool paid the price for some lackadaisical finishing in the first half when Benni McCarthy stroked the ball in from close range on 49 minutes.

Brad Friedel had been key to Blackburn going in at half-time on level terms and the Rovers goalkeeper continued to defy Liverpool after McCarthy's goal.

Friedel saved well from Dirk Kuyt, though he was rescued by the woodwork, when Xabi Alonso's shot hit the post.

Liverpool will wonder how they went away with nothing from this game, but that they did had much to do with Friedel's heroics.

The American enjoyed a miserable spell at Anfield between 1997 and 2000, but he has flourished since joining Rovers.

If Blackburn rode their luck at times, there was nothing fortunate about their second-half display as they unsettled Liverpool out of their passing game.

Liverpool's loss of composure was illustrated when Alonso was rightly booked for a horrible tackle on McCarthy after the South African had skipped past a couple of tackles.

Liverpool's defeat marked an unhappy return for former Blackburn striker Craig Bellamy, who was making his first return to Ewood Park since his summer move to Anfield.

Bellamy's movement was as ever exemplary and although he was eventually replaced by Luis Garcia he was one of more Liverpool's impressive performers.

Bellamy came close to giving Liverpool the lead when he got on the end of a flowing move involving Alonso and John Arne Riise, but the Liverpool striker's shot went the wrong side of the post.

Bellamy has forged an effective partnership with Kuyt in recent games, but with the Dutchman rested, Crouch was chosen to link up with the Welshman.

Crouch missed two headed chances, the first time putting the ball straight at Friedel, though for the second one the Liverpool striker forced the Blackburn keeper into a good save.

Having negotiated the opening 45 minutes, Pedersen and McCarthy combined to put Blackburn ahead just after the break.

The move was started by a delightful piece of skill from Tugay, whose stepover took him away from Steven Gerrard, before the Turkish midfielder released Pedersen, whose inviting cross was sidefooted in by McCarthy.

Benitez did not wait long to replace Crouch with Kuyt and the former Feyenoord striker's arrival reinvigorated the Liverpool attack.

The Dutchman forced a reaction save from Friedel, who was then beaten by a swerving shot from Alonso, which thudded against the post.

Alonso was soon turning away in frustration for a second time when another shot was brilliantly pushed away by the former Liverpool goalkeeper.

# Blackburn manager Mark Hughes:

"Brad Friedel was magnificent - he made some crucial saves, commanded the box and was an inspiration to everyone in front of him.

"I think everybody grew because of his presence on the field.

"I thought everybody was magnificent and there were some huge performances. It was a huge win for us and important we got back to winning ways."

# Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez:

"When you are in front of goal and you have three clear headers it is not lack of confidence

"I think it is good luck that maybe the keeper was in the right position.

"We had many attempts and we couldn't score. You must be disappointed but when you have created so many chances you can't do anything else."

Blackburn: Friedel, Emerton, Todd, Ooijer, Neill, Bentley (Mokoena 87), Savage, Kerimoglu (Henchoz 90), Pedersen, Nonda (Derbyshire 78), McCarthy.
Subs Not Used: Brown, Gray.

Booked: Nonda, Pedersen, Emerton.

Goals: McCarthy 49.

Liverpool: Reina, Hyypia, Carragher, Agger, Finnan, Gerrard, Alonso, Riise, Bellamy (Luis Garcia 76), Crouch (Kuyt 56), Gonzalez (Aurelio 64).
Subs Not Used: Dudek, Pennant.

Booked: Agger, Alonso.

Att: 29,342

Ref: R Styles (Hampshire).

TABLE 26/12/06

1     Man Utd     20     33     50
;D ;D    andre..  can u add 2+2
2    Chelsea    20    20    46 ;) ;)
3    Arsenal    20    19    36 ::)
4    Bolton    20    8    36Come on Bolton...
5    Portsmouth    20    12    35
6    Liverpool    20    12    34 ;D
7    Tottenham    20    -1    31
8    Everton    20    4    28
9    Reading    20    -5    27
10    Aston Villa    20    -1    25
11    Newcastle    20    -2    25
12    Fulham    19    -10    24
13    Man City    20    -8    23 :)
14    Wigan    20    -6    22
15    Blackburn    19    -9    22
16    Middlesbrough    20    -7    21
17    Sheff Utd    20    -11    20
18    West Ham    20    -14    18
19    Charlton    19    -20    12
20    Watford    19    -14    11

« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2006, 08:25:10 PM »
RONALDOOO..1-0

SNEAKEY WINKER YOU ..2-0

OLE OLE OLE OLE  ..3-0

LITA!..1-1

DROGBA 12TH OF SEASON..2-1  can u say 1 man team?

HAHAHA.. well essien scored  just loved Franks face lol  2-2

GET IN BENNYYYY..1-0

CELEBRATES A 1-0 WIN

OK THEN...1-0

VAN PERSIE "EL RAPIST"...2-1

« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2006, 10:01:45 PM »
no humour in labelin de man a rapist....

« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2006, 08:32:58 AM »
I like how he edit the post without admitting that the maths was lacking.

Not too late for a DavyJenny nomination.

That is why i quoted him.......cause i know that he would edit de post quick quick and feel that we would forget.

2+2=5......lol

« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2006, 08:49:13 AM »
2+2=5......lol
I think how it really happen is that Man boo won, so went up by 5 then Chelski tied to get 1 point to make the spread 4 points. :devil: :devil: :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2006, 12:36:56 PM »
 This doh mean Man U winning EPL...Chelsea just not going to let that happen...Two draws and that lead down to nil(provided Chelsea win)...I personally like Newcastle but I cannot deny Chelsea's talent and would prefer if they win it...Man United always take the stance of being better than the rest..well not again I could say that...Terry's absence hurting Chelsea