January 13, 2025, 02:59:45 PM

Author Topic: He shouldna surplus Dog - Le Guen's Rangers reign ends in record time  (Read 2410 times)

bring back Dog!

Le Guen's Rangers reign ends in record time

By Kenny MacDonald

GLASGOW, Jan 4 (Reuters) - French manager Paul Le Guen left Rangers by mutual consent on Thursday, seven months after he arrived saying his ambition was to win back the Scottish Premier League title.

Le Guen's reign was the shortest in Rangers's 134-year history, the club said, adding that reserve coach Ian Durrant would take temporary charge of first-team training.

The news followed the manager's high-profile falling out with midfielder Barry Ferguson, who was dropped and stripped of the captaincy for Tuesday's league win at Motherwell to the anger of many fans.

"I am disappointed to leave but I think it is the best solution for all concerned," Le Guen told the club's Web site (www.rangers.premiumtv.co.uk). "I would like to thank all the people who helped me and my team during my spell in Scotland.

"In particular I would like to thank the directors, who at all times gave me their total support."

Chairman David Murray said: "Having met with Paul it was clear that in the interests of the club and all concerned we agreed jointly to him stepping down.

"We are all clearly disappointed with our current circumstances and will now focus on securing a suitable replacement."

FINAL STRAW

When Le Guen replaced Alex McLeish, hopes were high the flair that helped clinch three successive Ligue 1 titles for Olympique Lyon would inspire Rangers to challenge champions Celtic.

Instead, his time in Glasgow has been a catalogue of disappointments.

The Ferguson saga proved the final straw for Le Guen, who oversaw one of the club's worst home cup results when they crashed out of the League Cup to second division St Johnstone 2-0 in November, a loss which sparked protests outside the stadium.

Rangers, who trail arch-rivals Celtic by 17 points, also endured home and away defeats by Inverness Caledonian Thistle while Murray appeared beside his manager at one routine pre-match news conference to show support for Le Guen.

After dropping Ferguson, fans chanted for the popular player at Motherwell and several held up banners demanding Le Guen quit.

The only chink of daylight for Rangers has been their qualification for the last 32 of the UEFA Cup.

Success in that competition is unlikely, though, and Rangers face bottom club Dunfermline away in the Scottish Cup third round on Sunday in what is their last realistic hope of lifting silverware this term.

Re: He shouldna surplus Dog - Le Guen's Rangers reign ends in record time
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2007, 11:18:09 AM »
damn right! what le guen did but take rangers backwards in 6 months?

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2007, 11:25:44 AM »
Blame LeGuen how much dey want but the bottom line is Rangers are crap.

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2007, 11:51:11 AM »

...and t&t before wim took over  ? I am sure Rangers expected the manager to change that, as Wim did . If you fail you go... that's football. If like rijkard you succeed you stay and slice bread cant touch you.

« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2007, 12:39:05 PM »

...and t&t before wim took over  ? I am sure Rangers expected the manager to change that, as Wim did . If you fail you go... that's football. If like rijkard you succeed you stay and slice bread cant touch you.

Well LeGuen is proven. The fact is Rangers struggling for years. Look good at Rjkaard he was under the gun when he first arrived, they were 11th on the table at one point. But the president stuck by him and the rest is history. Le Guen is a modern manager and rumor has it that the Rangers players did not like the way he wanted them to change their habits. So player power rules.

« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2007, 03:22:07 PM »
the wrath of dog.....rangers have suffered consequences

« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2007, 03:33:43 PM »
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=21443.msg226791#msg226791

Yup...I warn them...I guess I shoulda be more specific and say Le guen better be careful

« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2007, 03:37:38 PM »

...and t&t before wim took over  ? I am sure Rangers expected the manager to change that, as Wim did . If you fail you go... that's football. If like rijkard you succeed you stay and slice bread cant touch you.

Well LeGuen is proven. The fact is Rangers struggling for years. Look good at Rjkaard he was under the gun when he first arrived, they were 11th on the table at one point. But the president stuck by him and the rest is history. Le Guen is a modern manager and rumor has it that the Rangers players did not like the way he wanted them to change their habits. So player power rules.

Best comment thus far.  I will not question Le Guen's coaching pedigree, cause he is the man that built Lyon.  Yuh doh win 3 titles by luck.  For Le Guen to be successful, he would have to overhaul the structure at Rangers.  That club as British as could be, even more than Celtic.  They play like an old-school British club, and Le Guen was surprised and frustrated with the lack of pieces to the puzzle that would allow him to be successful in Europe and Scotland.  He was going and scrap that team in the summer anyway.  Doh feel Le Guen will not be sought after by other clubs.  And Dog was not going to fit into Le Guen's continental style of play.

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2007, 03:41:03 PM »

...and t&t before wim took over  ? I am sure Rangers expected the manager to change that, as Wim did . If you fail you go... that's football. If like rijkard you succeed you stay and slice bread cant touch you.

Best comment thus far.  I will not question Le Guen's coaching pedigree, cause he is the man that built Lyon.  Yuh doh win 3 titles by luck.  For Le Guen to be successful, he would have to overhaul the structure at Rangers.  That club as British as could be, even more than Celtic.  They play like an old-school British club, and Le Guen was surprised and frustrated with the lack of pieces to the puzzle that would allow him to be successful in Europe and Scotland.  He was going and scrap that team in the summer anyway.  Doh feel Le Guen will not be sought after by other clubs.  And Dog was not going to fit into Le Guen's continental style of play.

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2007, 05:02:56 PM »
looks like the player got the better treatment than the manager in this battle