0 (0%)
Shaka Hislop
6 (10%)
Brent Sancho
0 (0%)
Other
1 (1.7%)

Total Members Voted: 60

Author Topic: Soca Warriors 2006 Player of the Year  (Read 4120 times)

Soca Warriors 2006 Player of the Year
« on: January 03, 2007, 10:45:42 AM »
i eh know if allyuh do this yet as i was on holidays.

anyhow if allyuh want to talk bout this please contribute to the thread.

i consider mainly the WCQ and WC performances as we normally doh see these fellas play club ball. only know bout their stats for that.

Re: Soca Warriors 2006 Player of the Year
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2007, 10:53:26 AM »
well I would like to start by saying I goin an pick 23 names
allya can figure out who those names are
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Quinderland

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2007, 10:56:31 AM »
i voted for carlos, cos i want our new kid to get an award but I've seen Yorke play some lovely football, especially when he first dropped back to midfield. Seems to get tired a bit early but has some amazing ability and natural skills

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2007, 11:12:55 AM »
Dennis Lawrence...cause he hasn't had a bad game for the year for club or country (it seems).

Dwight, Carlos and Stern haven't been as consistent.

Offline G Force

« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2007, 11:15:00 AM »
Dennis Lawrence...cause he hasn't had a bad game for the year for club or country (it seems).

Dwight, Carlos and Stern haven't been as consistent.

Well you would say that about Dwight & Carlos....  ;D ;)

« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2007, 11:22:48 AM »
Carlosssssssssss

« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2007, 12:08:42 PM »
latapy- cause our resurgence to make the world cup coincided with his return

« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2007, 12:36:57 PM »
Dat was in 2005

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2007, 03:30:04 PM »
Is ah tight race between Lawrence (for obvious reasons + consistency + leadership) AND Latas (again for obvious reasons ...he is a dan..+ he was the catalyst for our final push through qualification)

Without them two fellas..we not even having this discussion....honorable mention goes to Yorke...

The Soca Warriors Un-Player (aka "Pull Stones") of the Year ...goes to??
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2007, 03:41:26 PM »
so wah???
stern eh gettin no love ?? :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil:

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2007, 03:55:25 PM »
Dat was in 2005

Oh gawsh man Tallman..yeh gettin technical dey...yuh know is 05/06 we talking bout :beermug: ;D

Bless
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2007, 01:02:35 PM »
i voted for carlos, cos i want our new kid to get an award but I've seen Yorke play some lovely football, especially when he first dropped back to midfield. Seems to get tired a bit early but has some amazing ability and natural skills

The man ask to vote for player of the 2006.  Carlos go get his award next year.

« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2007, 09:40:35 AM »

2005 = Dwight Yorke
2006 = Carlos Edwards (gets the edge despite Stern's 15 goals for his club in the year  :()

2005-2006 = its a toss up between Stern cos he had a terrific club run in the second half of the season (10 goals) and led the WCQ charge in the first half of the season, yorke for his leadership in the runup to the world cup, and Carlos for his all around good performances.

It basically boils down to where your priorities are. Consistency or stepping up at the crusial moment, getting the goods or providing intangible benefits.

If you judge only on the WC run (including the actual tournament and warm ups) I'd give it to Carlos...

« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2007, 10:06:21 AM »
Dwight for obvious reason. He lead the TT team in the WC. The entire world was watching little TT take on the giants of World football. Then his performance in Australia was magnificent. He should be TT Sportsman of the Year. He should have gotten it when Manu got the treble, but dotish TTFF never submitted his name.

« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2007, 10:27:45 AM »
Dwight for obvious reason. He lead the TT team in the WC. The entire world was watching little TT take on the giants of World football. Then his performance in Australia was magnificent. He should be TT Sportsman of the Year. He should have gotten it when Manu got the treble, but dotish TTFF never submitted his name.

so who did they submit? and who won it?

« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2007, 11:46:33 AM »
I can't remember. But I know he was not nominated