April 25, 2024, 01:49:32 AM

Author Topic: Pro League Magazine & Website Info  (Read 4950 times)

Offline Girl Warrior

Pro League Magazine & Website Info
« on: October 01, 2006, 10:53:54 AM »
Forumites,

Just wanted to inform you that on Thursday 28th September, along with launching its new website the TTPL also lauched a new bi-monthly magazine.

The first issue will be distributed to locals through TTPost at no cost in order to market the magazine, however after the free distribution has stopped the cost will be TT$5.00 and US$2.00 for future issues.

On the cover of the first issue stars Maximus Dan and on page 13 he is featured in a Joel Villafana article. Villafana is the Editor of the magazine and sw.net / warrior nation member Patriot is one of the contributing Columnnists, who by the way made mention of sw.net in this first issue. Congratulations and Thank You Patriot!

Interviews, profiles, features, annotations and full page advertisments adorn the glossy pages of this magazine and therefore urges me to say... Good Job Trinidad & Tobago Pro League! We look forward to all you have in store for us and thank you for your commitment to continuous improvement.

Forumites, when you see the magazine for yourselves you would notice where improvements are needed, I'll leave that up to you to point out, however I like that the TTPL is less dormant and they are surprising us with these new activities.

Cheers,
GW

« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 09:23:01 PM by Girl Warrior »
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

Re: Pro League Magazine
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2006, 11:16:48 AM »
Amazing development  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:. I always knew that Patriot was a man about serious business. A new breed of trini is coming to the fore. They are really thinking outside the box and being crreative with marketing. Simply admirable and brilliant. Nothing can compare with sincere all out effort.

Congrats to Flex, Tallman, palos, Marc purcell, Patriot, Touches, KND, Alberta Trini, Andre Samuel and countless others (too many to mention) and all the founding fathers (and mothers) as you folks laid the foundation for a whole new breed of football enthusiasts and PATRIOTS (excuse the pun). That's why I didn't get down too hard on Skeene as he knew of these developments but for some reason was not letting the cat out of the bag. Sometimes in life yuh have to keep quiet about your plans as it always threatens somebody who would want heads up on it to attack it early

I am so happy to see this happen. Lots more work to do still. Thanks Girl Warrior. You are a founding mother. Respec'.

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2006, 03:19:25 PM »

sound great   :applause:

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2006, 08:45:05 PM »
Hey guys, more ProLeague news... The updated website is up... when you click on www.ttproleague.com you will be redirected to http://www.ultra-gamers.com/proleague/

A chat room and forum will be put in place soon (i'm sure it won't compare to ours of course)  :devil:

Foreign base: Systems are being put in place to allow you to purchase the magazine online.

Also, this first issue of the magazine will be available for viewing on the site so those who are waiting on their copy via the TTpsot method would be able to log on and check it out.

The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2006, 09:05:21 PM »
tanks for de info Gurl Warrior,
the site is definitly goin in the right direction,
a few links doh have content yet,  like de magazine buh say wha it still lookin real good
I doh have to geh ah copy of the magazine from TnT now
« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 09:12:59 PM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Pro League Magazine & Website Info
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2006, 02:00:23 AM »
Very impressive magazine. Currently a monthly magazine but hopefully it will reach weekly some day soon as there is tons of information to fill the magazine. The FCB final was apparently well attended. I wonder how many fans showed up. Anybody knows?

Congrats to Brian Springer, well known on this site. The man have real passion. I believe too that Skeene may have  redeemed himself somewhat after getting a serious shake up on this forum recently as folks were wondering what the hell is going on in the pro league and where was the vision. His answers during the socawarriors.net interview did not convey the ideas and passion now evident in the magazine.

« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2006, 03:03:33 AM »
Dissappointing to see they have no link to Flex site and yet Flex have a link to their site. This is why this site will always be successful because we not stingy. We are a family here.

Skeene didn't redeem himself as the questions was not asking him to detail his website plans. Maybe some questions was to an extent, but not much,,,,, his interview he did for Flex was very poor.... as I said no one asked him to explain his life story or to get into deep issues, but his answers was poor. Face it...

I will support their website because they are local, lets see how consistant and co-operative they will be. I woulda like to get meh hand on one of them magazine though. Like foreigners get leave out this rounds..

I know Patriot will represent us doh matter what....
« Last Edit: October 03, 2006, 03:43:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2006, 05:51:13 AM »
A chat room and forum will be put in place soon (i'm sure it won't compare to ours of course)  :devil:

The PFL's chatroom and forum use de same software that we use on socawarriors.net, aldoh ah had tuh disable we chatroom recently because de web host was carrying on.

« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2006, 06:39:09 AM »
Good start.. however it seems the webmasters need to do some more testing, especially with different browsers and res etc. Def a step in right direction.

« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2006, 01:46:53 PM »
Well it's about time :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2006, 05:54:28 PM »
I see the new and improved ttpro league site is down already  :(

http://ultra-gamers.com/proleague/index.php

« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2006, 07:57:39 PM »
Check out the Jamaican NPL site  they even give you a little video intro  scroll down on the left hand side. look at the crowd support ... But unlike our league they have an official  sponsor

http://www.golocaljamaica.com/premierleague/
« Last Edit: October 23, 2006, 08:00:24 PM by Naminirt »

Offline rocwell

« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2006, 08:19:02 PM »
They've been back at http://ttproleague.com/index2.htm for a while now

« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2006, 08:24:56 PM »
It is improved and visually much more juicy. Ah givin' it a run to try to see how it compares to a few weeks ago whe the inaugural live stream was launched

« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2006, 08:27:02 PM »
They've been back at http://ttproleague.com/index2.htm for a while now

ah hope is not grand charge skeene on  i hope that site come back on

« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2006, 08:55:15 PM »
Some observations;

1. No website links for Jabloteh, North East Stars, Starworld Strikers, Rangers and W-Connection (of all people!)

2. Absence of video. Site neat but too sterile, no imagination. Jah Gol, Storebay Limer, Grande man, Trinbago, Palos, Tallman, Flex..they need allyuh bad, real bad. It's at a level that I would associate with Anguilla or Monsterrat (No offense). Not a tech savvy country like T&T. Too stingy with pictures and no labelling. What about the link to the live-stream, where is it. What about links to socawarriors.net and socawarriorstt.com?

3. Some stories needing updates bad. Site manager is too part-time? The history of the league has info pertaining to 2004 and the teams referred to need updating.

4. By that article, they were saying that the rules were that the minimum salary was to be $2000.00 TT per month for the players. Has that changed?

5. Article also referred to government injecting 2 million dollars a year. Is that so and do they intend to be so dedpendent. Where is the income generation expected to come from. How much is Jamaica pumping into ntheir league.

6. What was nice was to see the workshop held by Anton and Lincoln and ideas for coach/manager international exchanges. Very good. Nice to see Ex-Strike Squad man Philbert Jones getting in the act.

7. The journalism looks ok. Do they need more journalists?

« Reply #16 on: October 27, 2006, 01:52:33 PM »

Is today they streaming a game?

« Reply #17 on: October 27, 2006, 02:30:16 PM »
So are we seeing the game tonight? I have been looking for the link at the Pro League site, but could not find it (maybe just me).

« Reply #18 on: October 27, 2006, 03:33:00 PM »
boy that site down no live stream

T&T Pro League Magazine
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2006, 12:26:29 PM »
Yes people  ;D  the TTPRO league magazine can be viewed on online . Just go to the link very very informative :applause:. The November ,   edition can be viewed. check the link

Lester Peltier

http://www.ttproleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=49&Itemid=103#14

check bartholomew

http://www.ttproleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=49&Itemid=94#23
« Last Edit: December 05, 2006, 12:45:31 PM by triniman »

Offline Girl Warrior

Re: TTpro League Magazine
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2006, 01:06:10 PM »
Pro League magazine creating waves
Tuesday, December 5 2006
Newsday

THE RESPONSE to the recently launched Pro League monthly football
magazine is exceeding expectations, as local football fans show their
appreciation and an appetite for the product.

The league is currently publishing and distributing 20,000 magazines
monthly. The magazine is also available on the league's website and
selected bookstores.

T&T Pro League Chairman Larry Romany said the decision to publish a
magazine is part of the league's strategic marketing plan aimed at
establishing the league as a viable sport brand.

"The name of the game is generating revenue. The league in order to
achieve its long term vision must strive for self-sufficiency," Romany said.

According to Romany, the league's growing local and international fan
base are yearning for information about the league, its clubs and
players and the magazine is a great way to keep fans informed and
excited about the league.

Romany is delighted at the positive response to the Pro League
Magazine and said the best is yet to come.

"It's a work in progress; the T&T Pro League is about developing
people and striving for excellence, things can only improve from here
on," he stated.

"It continues to be an evolutionary process. Our research suggests
that the league now has a credible brand equity profile, but we
cannot be complacent, we have to keep improving in all areas, if we
are to meet the expectations of our stakeholders and target market, I
assure you the best is yet to come," Romany said.

The league's chairman, who is also the President of the Trinidad and
Tobago Olympic Committee also revealed the league's website
ttproleague.com has been doing extremely well.

"The website had 300,000 hits in September and this confirms there is
not only interest locally in the local professional league, but also
internationally and this augurs well for our strategic plan," said Romany.

"We continue to think big, our brand vision is consistent with our
overall vision. We have faced and will continue to encounter
challenges, but we have no fear of failure, we will press on," he said.

Romany also expressed confidence that the local players and coaches
in the league will continue to improve and that TT will qualify for
the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

"A vibrant and dynamic high quality Pro League will be the key
factor, if we are to be there in South Africa in 2010. I have seen a
paradigm shift in the attitude of the local professional footballers
and coaches. They are buying into the possibilities and coming to
terms with the responsibility of professionalism," he said.

Re: TTpro League Magazine
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2006, 06:46:24 PM »
Very pleasing news to hear. I find the quality of the magazine to be very impressive.

Was reviewing the TT Proleague magazine in www.ttproleague.com. Previously, was having difficulty downloading the later issues. Looked at the Dec 2006 and Jan 2007 editions and I was really impressed. Had seen the earlier editions. This magazine is going places and for the first time addresses some problems that were out of reach before. Just a FEW thoughts

1. Promising players that are relatively ignored by the main media, apart from some low priority mention at the end of the news, now have a face, personality and interview for the potential fans to identify with.

2. Unsung heroes (team leaders, managers, coaches) are getting publcity

3. Foreign players are getting recognition, like the brazilians in W Connection

4. Good young players are getting acknowledgement and encouragement

5. Advertizers are getting chance to better vizualize marketability and Sponsors can jump on the bandwaggon better

6. Without personality to the players, the doubting public would never believe that the league is really growing seriously. This is a crtical step. When a critical media exposure is reached and name recognition enhanced, there will be a sudden jump in attendance.

7. Foreign scouts are getting a nice vista.

8. Better opportunity to hear the stuff from the players' mouths instead of relying on speculation and rumour about players whether it be "hardest", Whitley, Rougier, Spann.

9. Chance to hear from the team coaches who they see as the real-deal upcoming talent. Good insight to have.

I personally would love to see a readable copy of the article about Cornell Glen and read the article on the league by Lasana Liburd. Fantastic job Villafana and crew.  Would like to hear what the forumites think about the impact and quality of the magazine and how critical this is
« Last Edit: January 03, 2007, 10:04:22 PM by dreamer »

Re: T&T Pro League Magazine
« Reply #23 on: January 03, 2007, 10:11:09 PM »
Well mathew bartholomew  at connection till 2010. and wasa say dey ready  fuh d pro league a play off with tobago united

look how nigel pierre looking need to drop some weight
http://www.ttproleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=49&Itemid=114#8

a nice free style clip

http://www.ttproleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=222&Itemid=109
« Last Edit: January 03, 2007, 10:22:17 PM by triniman »

« Reply #24 on: January 04, 2007, 07:01:52 AM »
Agree with your point's dreamer. It is easy to read the articles by moving your mouse pointer to the centre of the magazine page then click on the light bulb icon that appears. It will enlarge the Article to a very readable size. Of course your Internet connection speed will affect how long it takes to view the page. The magazine is impressive and they don't seem to be following the route of many in house produced publications by writing only mundane self promotion pieces.

Had to comment on two of the January Issue articles. The profile on Connection's Brazilian Olivera and Lasana's article.

There was a comment in Olivera's piece that he was yet to represent his national team like if it was disappointing that it hadn't happened yet. Well, not to be too critical of the standard of the Pro League or young William's talent but does anyone honestly believe that any Brazilian national side (Futsal and Beach football included) would select a player that plys his trade in T&T?

As fuh Lasana, yuh got to respect this guy. Never far from speaking his mind and always willing to give an alternative view to the party line. However, not sure about him stitching up Dennis Lawrence and Josh Johnson. OK, its unlikely many Wrexham or Swansea fans would read the magazine but yuh never know? Man say if yuh was to ask Dennis or Josh to comment on the standard of their UK teammates they would tell you many would struggle to make the squads of the Defence force and Jabloteh team's they played for. True or not, hope they were happy for him to make that claim.
He was arguing, are our local based coaches and player as bad as Wim and Beenhaker seem to suggest seeing that virtually all our foreign based did actually get spotted while playing locally. I think he missed a point which I always point out, rather than lack of coach talent or tactical knowledge, is it not possible that local coaches command less respect from local players due to a perceived lack of Real achievement and notable experience. Therefore hindering them from getting the maximum effort and realising genuine potential in players. I give our current three top club sides as an example. Jabloteh - all local squad but foreign coach. Connection and Joe Public both with local coaches (fervier is Caribbean and been in T&T long time) but both with the highest number of non-Caribbean players in the league. Could it be that foreign players have brought something to the Pro League that many Local players seem to lack? In my opinion it is an aspect of professionalism has often shown to be wanting in local Pro's. The ability to truly understand and demonstrate what the terms employee and opportunity really should mean to a professional baller. Then again, if TI's favourite, 'Hardest' is apparently seeming to finally be realising what this means, I guess things must be changing, cause ah never thought he would!

« Reply #25 on: January 04, 2007, 07:26:02 AM »
that does not happen with me when i clcik on the bulb it doh enlarge and i have high speed :-\

« Reply #26 on: January 04, 2007, 07:35:47 AM »
that does not happen with me when i clcik on the bulb it doh enlarge and i have high speed :-\

maybe it's yuh browser. I doh use internet explorer I use Firefox.

it is! I just tried to open with explorer but does not work!

« Reply #27 on: January 04, 2007, 07:37:38 AM »

maybe it's yuh browser. I doh use internet explorer I use Firefox.

it is! I just tried to open with explorer but does not work!

ok thanks

« Reply #28 on: January 04, 2007, 09:39:32 AM »
It is nice now to be able to watch videos of Pro League games on the TT Proleague website. Can analyze the players and see who really in form. One important thing needed is commentary to help identify the players. Is a waste to have a youth playing good ball on the video and a scout (international or local or foreign-based) is noticing but cyah identify who he is and not hear some big-up talk about him. Must fix dat URGENTLY. The Proleauge website has improved quite a bit compared to when I made comments in October. The Pro League must be encouraged when they are doing something right.

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #29 on: January 04, 2007, 09:48:41 AM »
Ah have a in law working with the pro league website.  A lot of hard work has gone into this.  Good to see that its professional enough for us.  I donr get sound on the video though but he told me they're working on that.