April 27, 2024, 02:50:24 PM

Author Topic: John going back to Blues?  (Read 9284 times)

Offline 1989

Re: John going back to Blues?
« Reply #30 on: January 04, 2007, 06:43:39 PM »
Hmm... well if Stern can find a way to ensure proper treatment and cash I would advise that he goes, because that would mean back to the primiership next season.  At the same time, he has to perform at that level. 
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #31 on: January 04, 2007, 06:58:44 PM »
With respect to Stern getting benched at Coventry. This has nothing to do with form. He started getting benched after his return from Austria, where he got injured. Prior to that he was in form and had the fans and manager singing his praises.

This has all to do with pressure to sign a new contract. They want him to retire from international football but he doesn't want to. Their only leverage is to bench him to decrease his value to outsiders. A off form team wouldn't just bench their leading scorer just so. I believe their benching of Birchall has a similar smell to it.

He should stick to his guns and leave them if they continue their hard-line approach.

« Reply #32 on: January 05, 2007, 05:39:56 AM »
agree with u above, but we hadda also accept that as phenomenal as stern is for T&T, he does not fulfil his true potential at club level.

If he was doing that, they would not be playing games with him like that.

Could you imagine they using similar tactics with Didier Drogba?

Its all about the stats as a forward.

« Reply #33 on: January 05, 2007, 07:04:12 AM »
Just a side question. Now looking at the profile of the top stirkers in the EPL, Drogba, Ronaldo, Rooney, Bent, Kanu. Do you guys think, Stern, Jones or any of our strikers can match up with these guys and deliver the goods in the EPL?

« Reply #34 on: January 05, 2007, 07:30:27 AM »

This has all to do with pressure to sign a new contract. They want him to retire from international football but he doesn't want to. Their only leverage is to bench him to decrease his value to outsiders. A off form team wouldn't just bench their leading scorer just so.

He should stick to his guns and leave them if they continue their hard-line approach.

I definitely agree!! This is factor that so many people are ignoring!!

« Reply #35 on: January 05, 2007, 08:02:11 AM »
Just a side question. Now looking at the profile of the top stirkers in the EPL, Drogba, Ronaldo, Rooney, Bent, Kanu. Do you guys think, Stern, Jones or any of our strikers can match up with these guys and deliver the goods in the EPL?

No...........

« Reply #36 on: January 05, 2007, 08:36:09 AM »
With respect to Stern getting benched at Coventry. This has nothing to do with form. He started getting benched after his return from Austria, where he got injured. Prior to that he was in form and had the fans and manager singing his praises.

This has all to do with pressure to sign a new contract. They want him to retire from international football but he doesn't want to. Their only leverage is to bench him to decrease his value to outsiders. A off form team wouldn't just bench their leading scorer just so. I believe their benching of Birchall has a similar smell to it.

This is correct! Alot of forumites doh realize how manipulative these managers are.

« Reply #37 on: January 05, 2007, 09:12:33 AM »

???? Of course man....Drogba was shite last year. Kenwyne Jones can be better than him if he is allowed a first year of failure in the Premier League. Dwight take 10 years to become one of the best players in the world at ManU in 1999.

Bent was ripping up just as much with Ipswich in the lower leagues but he wasn't rated then. Kanu?? You find none of our strikers can match up to kanu who having one good season after so many poor ones?
Ronaldo and Rooney are gems...but all them other strikers? I would match up Stern and Kenwyne against them, once we not talking form, which is temporary.

Drogba is in a similar position to Stern regarding his national team being "weak"...check the international stats and see if Stern outclassed.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2007, 01:08:09 PM by spideybuff »

« Reply #38 on: January 05, 2007, 09:52:20 AM »

No...........

(to the beat of fergalicious)

c to the u to the n to the t, h, o, l, e

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #39 on: January 06, 2007, 02:06:34 PM »
Stern come thru with a timely equalizer improving his stock. He love pressah!
BTW Adams say he had a striker at right back, meanwhile Birchy on de bench ???

BBC Sport      Football

Bristol City 3-3 Coventry
Coventry staged a stirring comeback against Bristol City to force a replay.
The Sky Blues took the lead when Colin Cameron converted Dele Adebola's cross but the hosts levelled a minute later through Steve Brooker's stunning drive.

Headers from Enoch Showunmi and Phil Jevons put the Robins in control but Coventry hit back when Leon McKenzie pounced on Michael Doyle's cross.

Substitute Stern John completed the comeback after the break when he swept home McKenzie's cutback.

Bristol City manager Gary Johnson:
"I was delighted with how we played and that we were involved in such a fantastic cup tie.
"The lads are down in the dressing room about letting a two-goal lead slip, but we are still in the hat and still very much in the tie.

"We will go to the Ricoh Stadium confident of getting through. From a financial point of view, having another game is like being through to the next round anyway."

Coventry City manager Micky Adams:
"People were saying I would be out by 5pm if we lost - well, it's ten past five and I'm still here and still smiling.
"We knew it would be tough game and we weren't disappointed. I have the utmost respect for Bristol City and their manager Gary Johnson, who has been very well organised.

"But we showed great spirit at 3-1 down. Don't forget we had a striker playing at right-back, a right-back at left-back and Ben Turner, who was excellent, making his debut."

Bristol City: Basso, Orr, McCombe, Keogh, McAllister, Murray, Russell, Johnson, Showunmi, Brooker, Jevons (Skuse 61).
Subs Not Used: Weale, Fontaine, Noble, Myrie-Williams.

Booked: Johnson, McAllister.

Goals: Brooker 14, Showunmi 18, Jevons 21.

Coventry: Steele, Virgo, Page, Turner, Whing, Cameron, Osbourne, Doyle, McKenzie, Adebola (John 46), Kyle (Andrews 52).
Subs Not Used: Marshall, Birchall, Tabb.

Booked: Doyle, Kyle, Virgo.

Goals: Cameron 13, McKenzie 33, John 81.

Att: 13,336

Ref: P Joslin (Nottinghamshire).
« Last Edit: January 06, 2007, 02:15:44 PM by takenoprisoners »

« Reply #40 on: January 10, 2007, 06:45:21 AM »
Bags of Talent, but no Engine!

If his commitment was as good as his undoubted talent, What a player Coventry would have."This is why he's had more clubs than Tiger Woods" I think hes The most skillful player in the club ! But if he dont get the ball hes lazy.
A real luxury player, Who needs to be playing in a very strong side, So They can carry him just for his goals, I'm not so sorry about him leaving Coventry {If he goes} Goodbye! Not stern enough John!

By the way, Anthony Stokes played under Latapy at Falkirk and now he joins Sunderland under Yorke, he is gaining some good experiece from both, wish we had a T&T player under them as well, Stokes was very succeful playing with Latapy, hew said so himself...
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 06:51:54 AM by Flex »