April 27, 2024, 03:48:51 PM

Author Topic: Ames among leaders in Kapalua  (Read 3580 times)

Ames among leaders in Kapalua
« on: January 05, 2007, 08:15:35 AM »
Some Golf news this Friday morning:

KAPALUA, Hawaii (AP) -- Every player walked off the 18th green Thursday and deposited an autographed golf ball into the new FedExCup trophy that will be awarded at the end of the season.

Vijay Singh wants the trophy they hand out Sunday in the Mercedes-Benz Championship.

Convinced that he has figured out his flaws, determined not to let another opportunity on Maui slip away, Singh survived the raging trade wind at Kapalua to make six birdies for a 4-under 69, leaving him in a five-way tie for the lead -- along with Calgary's Stephen Ames -- as the PGA Tour season began in strenuous conditions.

"There's so much going on about FedExCup, I'm tired of listening to it," Singh said. "Yeah, I'm looking forward to it. It's going to be a good year. There's still tournaments out there that we have to focus on, and not focus on the FedExCup itself. Right now, my focus is going to be on winning golf tournaments."

This one might require some patience.

The wind was so strong that Ames had 152 yards to the hole at No. 13 and ripped a five-iron. He called it the toughest wind since Saturday at Muirfield in the 2002 British Open, the day Tiger Woods' hope for a Grand Slam ended with an 81.

The result was a crowd atop the leaderboard.

K.J. Choi struck the first shot of the season and was the first to post a 69 with a nice chip to tap-in range on the par-5 18th. Will MacKenzie, one of 13 newcomers to the Mercedes-Benz Championship, and Brett Wetterich and Ames eventually joined the lead.

Love was poised to join them until he hit a slight fade that the wind turned into a wild slice, the ball disappearing into the weeds on the 16th hole, forcing him to hit another. He escaped with a bogey, then finished with a two-putt birdie on the 18th after hitting 4-iron from 275 yards away with the wind at his back. He was one shot back at 70.

"I'm glad to get in under par," Davis Love III said. "I don't think if we were on vacation we would have played today."

This is the first of 40 events to earn points in a season-long competition that will end at the Tour Championship, with US$10 million going to winner of the FedExCup.

Stuart Appleby got off to a sluggish start in his bid to tie a PGA Tour record with his fourth straight victory at the same tournament. He had one birdie, one bogey and closed with 10 straight pars for an even-par 73.

Only a dozen players managed to break par.

In winning at Kapalua the last three years, Appleby has been a combined four shots better than Singh, who has not finished out of the top 10 in his last seven starts at the Mercedes-Benz Championship.

"Golf doesn't owe you anything," Singh said about his close calls in this event. "If you start feeling that way, then you've got a problem. I've had great finishes over here. You can look at it that way. I'm looking forward to the next three days and see what happens."

Singh has slipped to No. 7 in the world after winning only one tournament in his last 35 starts on the PGA Tour. He figured out what was wrong with his swing late last year, spent the off-season fixing it, and is ready to get his game going in the right direction again.

"If you finish the season and then you try to figure out what happened, then you've got a problem," he said. "I knew what was going on, and it was important for me to fix it." .

For the opening round of the year, it was important to hang on.

The Pacific Ocean below the Plantation course was speckled with white caps, and players at time struggled to walk uphill into the wind, with gusts up to 56 km/h. They mentioned words like "survival" and "patience," usually associated with the middle of June.

Some fared better than others.

Dean Wilson, the first player from Hawaii to play the Mercedes-Benz Championship in the nine years it has been on Maui, became the first player of 2007 to post an 80. Former British Open champion Ben Curtis joined him a short time later at 81. Eric Axley waited until the 18th hole to make his first birdie of the year, giving him a 78.

Singh played with Curtis, and told them as they walked up the ninth fairway, "If we had to play golf in this weather, I think I'd quit."

Choi handled it beautifully, which is not terribly surprising because he holds the course record at Kapalua, an 11-under 62 in the third round of the 2003 tournament. MacKenzie kept his focus off the wind by watching the surfers below, wishing he could join them. Instead, he delivered the first eagle of the year by chipping in from 50 yards on the par-5 ninth.

The surprise might have been Ames.

He missed the last few months of the PGA Tour season with back problems, returning at the Skins Game and World Cup a month ago, and taking time off in Calgary without hardly touching a club. Plus, it doesn't sound like he takes this tournament too seriously.

"The last time we were here felt the same way," Ames said. "Golf kind of gets in the way of my vacation."

He kept waiting for his swing to break down, especially in the wind, but he held it together long enough to make birdie for the first time on a par 5 at the closing hole.

"Today was just patience," he said. "I didn't expect anything. I tried to keep my thoughts to a minimum."

And he wasn't thinking about the FedExCup until he walked off the green and dropped a ball into the cup.

http://www.sportsnet.ca/golf/article.jsp?content=20070104_231418_4720

Re: Ames among leaders in Kapalua
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2007, 07:59:22 PM »
Ok, Ames have a great tournament
time to move up
http://www.pgatour.com/r/leaderboard/
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2007, 06:52:13 AM »
Ok, Ames have a great tournament
time to move up
http://www.pgatour.com/r/leaderboard/

He still in a good position. Tied for 8th and 5 shots back. But as you said..time to make a move  ;D

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2007, 06:30:20 AM »
Ames finished tied for 11th, closing with a 3-under 70

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2007, 06:51:16 AM »
Vijay Singh 1  69 69 70 70 278 $ 1,100,000.00
Adam Scott 2  73 69 69 69 280 $ 630,000.00
Trevor Immelman 3  71 68 72 72 283 $ 410,000.00
J.B. Holmes T4  73 68 71 72 284 $ 260,000.00
Davis Love III T4  70 71 75 68 284 $ 260,000.00
Will MacKenzie T4  69 70 73 72 284 $ 260,000.00
Luke Donald 7  72 71 71 71 285 $ 193,000.00
K.J. Choi T8  69 77 71 69 286 $ 170,000.00
J.J. Henry T8  74 73 68 71 286 $ 170,000.00
David Toms T8  75 72 72 67 286 $ 170,000.00
Stephen Ames T11  69 74 74 70 287 $ 145,000.00
Troy Matteson T11  73 70 70 74 287 $ 145,000.00

Not bad for a few days work on de links ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2007, 09:04:39 AM »

dat is small money

« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2007, 09:48:14 AM »
when ya think about it that is probably more than double what most people make in a year, and he making that in 4 days.
Having said that i ent too sure that i could personally do all that travelling

« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2007, 07:44:52 AM »

dat is small money

All money small when compared to "donald" oui!

After he cover expenses including he caddy, trainer, coach, mad dr etc.. he lucky if he have money for dennys.

« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2007, 10:55:10 AM »
ok, ok, "uncle" ;D
who is "Donald"?
please and Thanks

« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2007, 07:59:26 AM »
ok, ok, "uncle" ;D
who is "Donald"?
please and Thanks

You're fired  8) Juss ask TT.

« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2007, 08:36:17 AM »
ok, ok, "uncle" ;D
who is "Donald"?
please and Thanks
Michael Schumaker used to make over 50 mill per year
i wonder if Shag Top makes close to that
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 08:47:52 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2007, 10:52:48 PM »
ok, ok, "uncle" ;D
who is "Donald"?
please and Thanks
Michael Schumaker used to make over 50 mill per year
i wonder if Shag Top makes close to that

who you calling sjag top fella???

« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2007, 06:03:19 AM »
Shag Top = Donald Trump