April 27, 2024, 10:31:25 PM

Author Topic: This Digicel team or World Cup Team for Gold Cup ??  (Read 12079 times)

This Digicel team or World Cup Team for Gold Cup ??
« on: January 19, 2007, 09:44:10 AM »
Tell me what you all think ??...I think we should use this team plus some who needs to be looked at also....now it have the want to WIN the gold cup factor...and for that TnT will need the best team possible....then it have the development factor...exposing new talent to international competition....
we are sure of 3 games vz concacaf opposition....unless they plan to put some caribbean teams in the same group..which should not be....2010 must be the big picture...but on the other hand...the gold cup will be the biggest international competition we can win...and i guess the confederations cup...but you must win the gold cup first.....who is to say some youngsters cant go and win it....i dont know....also...the main senior players have not gotten a summer off for 2 years....last gold cup and world cup....maybe they should be rested....because it will be gold cup prep...then gold cup...then into pre-season..... so thats..jack, ince,lawrence,sancho,avery,cyd,carlos,whitley.birchall,samuels,john,scotty,(sam,josh...i guess they can be part of it)...and so on.....also can someone tell me how many of this digicel team are u-23's....there are olympic qualifiers also coming up.....plus..with all the warm up /friendlies to prepare for the gold cup, that will increase caps for the younger players...so if some clubs come calling the work permit issue will be better prepared for....with all respect to the PFL...these players need to go abroad to really live in professional environments..and da da da....ah bun...ah going and eat....let me hear some views

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

Re: This Digicel team or World Cup Team for Gold Cup ??
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2007, 09:57:43 AM »
i think the question is  availability of players.  you always select your best available team, period. yes we can argue bout development of players but lets be real what are the avg. age of the players in the digicel team only 1 player under 21 i believe so  i would say go with your best side and  include a few upcoming stars

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2007, 10:03:56 AM »
A mixture of both...the vets and some youngsters. VIBES IT UP!!!

T&T above all esle!!!!

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2007, 10:18:28 AM »
go all local and US based, is them who get we to the Gold Cup, why de hell should they make room for the other foreign based who didnt work hard and labour, schupssssssss, the uk foreign based good right there for now, local and US based should be used, no one should lose their spot for the foreign, diz bullshit, men starting to sound like jamaicans now....

If we want depth and we want ah future for our football, we should use this gold cup to develop we other talent and get them exposed to higher levels of competition and opponents...

God is de BOSS....
« Last Edit: January 19, 2007, 10:21:59 AM by TrinInfinite »

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2007, 11:06:07 AM »
TI friendlies is for developing depth and giving exposure. In competitions we need to put our best foot foward wheter it is foreign based or local. Performing in the Gold Cup helps the team ranking and makes the team more marketable. A better ranking is also necessary for future overseas contracts

You doing as though it have no benefit for the locals in playing in the CFU. They get caps and international exposure. They get to see how a different coach does operate. Maybe the national team staff point out some things somebody else didn't see. Some men even getting the chance to get match fit  :devil:  :rotfl:

If they ready then by all means let them contend for a Gold Cup spot. If they at the same level as a foreign based I say let them play because the foreign based already have they contract. If they not ready they not ready. We will organize some friendlies and let them get exposure.

go all local and US based, is them who get we to the Gold Cup, why de hell should they make room for the other foreign based who didnt work hard and labour, schupssssssss, the uk foreign based good right there for now, local and US based should be used, no one should lose their spot for the foreign, diz bullshit, men starting to sound like jamaicans now....

If we want depth and we want ah future for our football, we should use this gold cup to develop we other talent and get them exposed to higher levels of competition and opponents...

God is de BOSS....

You lil short sighted. Dwight, Stern, Latas etc and the players before them made it possible for other Trinidadians to get contracts outside. They put in work, ride pine, went to foreign countries and establsih themselves. If you want to talk about who didn't work hard and put in labour we could talk bout footballers who have foot in mouth disease and bench they self. We could talk about men who showed unprofessionalism and walk away from teams. We could talk about men who inconsistent and admit that sometimes they just not commited.

Making it to the WC show the local based it have something to fight for more than a cheque in the PFL. Hopefully they will be hungry and when they chance come they take it with both feet. If a man not at the top of the pecking order he need to accept that and fight for his place because hopefully later on when he is at the top somebody will be behind him trying to displace him.

Right now the Gold cup is in the present and we need to win so that FIFA ranking will go up. Is not that I ungrateful is jsut that I think this rating crisis needs to be rectified. If we was ranked above 70 I could care less about the GC. The big prize is the WC but I think the current ranking is mcuh more urgent than WC qualifications. Friendlies could rectify WC qualification problems.

PS. I edited this post some what
« Last Edit: January 19, 2007, 11:34:36 AM by rippin »

« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2007, 11:15:12 AM »
TI friendlies is for developing depth and giving exposure. In competitions we need to put our best foot foward wheter it is foreign based or local. Performing in the Gold Cup helps the team ranking and makes the team more marketable.

You doing as thought it have no benefit for the locals in playing in the CFU. They get caps and international exposure. They get to see how a different coach does operate. Maybe the national team staff point out some things somebody else didn't see. Some men even getting the chance to get match fit :devil: :rotfl:

If they ready then by all means let them contend for a Gold Cup spot. If they at the same level as a foreign based I say let them play cause the foreign based already have they contract. If they not ready they not ready. We will organize some friendlies and let them get exposure.

My one gripe with the TTFF is that historically they do not organise enough friendlies. It doh have to be against Brazil and Argentina. Let the players play against teams at a slightly higher level. Costa Rica is a good start.

lets see now, so I guess the locals and US based should do all the work then get cut by a UK based squad to come into the gold cup and get praise, to me that is unfair, if you lack faith and confidence in our locals then by all means, let the uk based come back and play in the caribbean cup and also qualify for the gold cup, dont send the local and US based to qualify for the gold cup, then disregard them after they qualify, some fellahs on here dont understand the logic behind grooming a team and forming a squad, chopping and cutting is just going to kill the formula, let the locals and US based play in the gold cup and do their best, I think they will surprise alot of people, bc i see it in their play, alot of other people are obsessed with the uk based but they havent done anything to deserve playing in the gold cup, if they had got us there, then they have the right to but since they not sacrificing then why de hell should they walk on the squad, you should earn that priviledge to play and the locals and US based have earned that priviledge to play in the gold cup...

Offline 1989

« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2007, 11:32:42 AM »
TI, Hardest will get a run in the Gold Cup.  ;D :-X :rotfl:

I think that the best available team should play in the Gold Cup.  If Carlos is available why not let him play?  Don't we want to be the first Caribbean team to win a Gold Cup and play in the Confederations Cup?  Be realistic, this young team cannot win the Gold Cup - against the likes of USA and Mexico. 
There were players that got us to the point of the World Cup final six, and didn't make it to the World Cup.  It should be no different here.  This is not about giving players a chance, it is about winning.  If they want to make the team, let them play better than the available overseas players for it.
 At the same time, no overseas player should make the squad unless he is significantly better than the local alternative.  The days of secure places ended with the coming of Benhakker - just ask Latapy.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2007, 11:33:45 AM »
We playing the best team for the Gold Cup. Yorke hold off on retiring because he wanted to win the Gold Cup. He said as much by stating he won't be around for the next World Cup but will play IN CERTAIN COMPETITIONS for the next 2 years to pass on his experience to the youngsters coming through. It can only mean the Gold Cup cause he usually never wants to play the first 1 year of world cup qualifying, when we beating netherlands and dominica etc.

« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2007, 11:37:32 AM »
When you have a cold you go to a normal doctor. When you heart bad you go to a specialist.

The normal Dr. has his value and he need some experience before he specialize.

« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2007, 11:38:51 AM »
I want the best team play.

Change the whole defence, but if anybody hadda stay, I want Carlos or Cyd play right back before Seon Power.

I leaving the goalkeepers.

I agumenting the midfield with Whitley and Birchall.

I dropping 1 fwd and bringing in Kenwyne

But we know this ent happening cause the player impass has not been resolved.

This is our new team lets accept and see them grow.

« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2007, 11:45:20 AM »

Change the whole defence, but if anybody hadda stay, I want Carlos or Cyd play right back before Seon Power.

whitley and cyd are coming for the gold cup, cyd taking powers position as right back and whitley playing de holding mid where he should play.... other than that i cant see any changes, other than pacheco and touissant mixing with bleeder and hardest, tiger also, i think sancho would be a bess option for the back, giving bailey and roberts ah chance will be the bess ting for our development, winning the gold cup will be nice, but qualifying for the world cup is even better and thats more important, therefore developing these players is in our bess interest, along with the fact i think they will do better than many expect, juss as i predicted with the digicel cup, when others doubted me...

« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2007, 11:48:00 AM »
TI, Hardest will get a run in the Gold Cup. ;D :-X :rotfl:

I think that the best available team should play in the Gold Cup. If Carlos is available why not let him play? Don't we want to be the first Caribbean team to win a Gold Cup and play in the Confederations Cup? Be realistic, this young team cannot win the Gold Cup - against the likes of USA and Mexico.
There were players that got us to the point of the World Cup final six, and didn't make it to the World Cup. It should be no different here. This is not about giving players a chance, it is about winning. If they want to make the team, let them play better than the available overseas players for it.
 At the same time, no overseas player should make the squad unless he is significantly better than the local alternative. The days of secure places ended with the coming of Benhakker - just ask Latapy.

i not worried about hardest not playing, i want de team to play and all the players to get exposure bc they worked hard for it, they dont deserve to be shafted bc man on the site want edwards tuh run out, diz bullshit, dont compromise development of our national team juss to win the gold cup when our greater goal is qualifying for south africa with the depth we need to take us there...

« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2007, 11:52:38 AM »
When you have a cold you go to a normal doctor. When you heart bad you go to a specialist.

you dont replace a player who playing with heart and soul for a player who on de money tip, right now these locals and US based qualified, i am a fair person, maybe your not, would you like if you worked hard for something and got the opportunity to play in the gold cup but then you were told you cannot go bc you need to make room for the uk based, how would you feel, knowing you did all the hard work? ??? I think this team has a chance of making history if given the chance and support, nothing is impossible only if you make it impossible, like many on here doubted me that we would even qualify for the gold cup, many said we wouldnt even make it out of our group, we finished first bc i see something many others dont see in our players, juss like right now i stand by them and will support them over any other players at the moment, let them run out in the gold cup and play, heart and soul makes he difference, plus the fact they are playing and practising 2gether longer than our foreign based were able to... i rather 3-4 weeks training than 3-4 days as we had b4 with our uk based.....

« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2007, 12:00:43 PM »
TI read what spideybuff post. the youths especially would gain by playing alongside someone of yorke's calibre - especially if he sees the gold cup as an opportunity to pass some of his experience along. i think your reasoning does not account for this.

« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2007, 12:06:36 PM »
Alright TI I hearing what you saying but lemme show you it in a different light.

Lets us say Carlos and Powers are two students in TT football school.

Carlos is older and in form 6, while Powers just do he SEA, get in on the 20% and is in form 1.

The principal has been asked to send a team to the Maths Olympiad and wants the best students at the school to attend. Doing well in this Olympiad will get scholarship offers from Universities abroad and potential funds coming in to the schools progamme. It will also make the school look good in the regional rankings. It is coming up in six months time.

If you were the Principal.....

Do you send Powers to extra lessons, knowing he has a lot to learn, never did a CAPE mock exam and time is against him, seeing that his classmates are not up to task for teaching him what he knows right now and he will have to skip at least 5 forms to be competent.

Or

Do you select the student who passed all his mock exams and passed CAPE with Distinctions. But is just breezing in Lower six as he has completed his SAT and waiting to take up the Scholarship in a years time after school.

« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2007, 12:07:27 PM »

whitley and cyd are coming for the gold cup, cyd taking powers position as right back and whitley playing de holding mid where he should play.... other than that i cant see any changes, other than pacheco and touissant mixing with bleeder and hardest, tiger also, i think sancho would be a bess option for the back, giving bailey and roberts ah chance will be the bess ting for our development, winning the gold cup will be nice, but qualifying for the world cup is even better and thats more important, therefore developing these players is in our bess interest, along with the fact i think they will do better than many expect, juss as i predicted with the digicel cup, when others doubted me...

so if yuh say whitley go play de holding mid position...dat hada mean yuh dropping bleeder...rite  ???

« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2007, 12:08:50 PM »

you dont replace a player who playing with heart and soul for a player who on de money tip, right now these locals and US based qualified, i am a fair person, maybe your not, would you like if you worked hard for something and got the opportunity to play in the gold cup but then you were told you cannot go bc you need to make room for the uk based, how would you feel, knowing you did all the hard work? ??? I think this team has a chance of making history if given the chance and support, nothing is impossible only if you make it impossible, like many on here doubted me that we would even qualify for the gold cup, many said we wouldnt even make it out of our group, we finished first bc i see something many others dont see in our players, juss like right now i stand by them and will support them over any other players at the moment, let them run out in the gold cup and play, heart and soul makes he difference, plus the fact they are playing and practising 2gether longer than our foreign based were able to... i rather 3-4 weeks training than 3-4 days as we had b4 with our uk based.....

That is life. You does work you ass off for a company and when it get big they does bring a man from outside to be your boss. It have real men who work for 40 yrs and then a man with a Master's half they age come in. I not saying it fair but if the man more qualified and it in the best interest of the compan you have to eat humble pie.  

I not saying bring back eveybody. I just sayiing bring back men where we lacking. If you watch that Haiti game you would have to admit we were lucky. They also had scoring chances. Jan pulled off some great saves but better strikers would have buried those chances. Glasglow third goal (I think) the man do everything wrong and still had time to score. Letting him compete for a start can't hurt.

« Last Edit: January 19, 2007, 12:13:54 PM by rippin »

« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2007, 12:15:38 PM »
Alright TI I hearing what you saying but lemme show you it in a different light.

Lets us say Carlos and Powers are two students in TT football school.

Carlos is older and in form 6, while Powers just do he SEA, get in on the 20% and is in form 1.

The principal has been asked to send a team to the Maths Olympiad and wants the best students at the school to attend. Doing well in this Olympiad will get scholarship offers from Universities abroad and potential funds coming in to the schools progamme. It will also make the school look good in the regional rankings. It is coming up in six months time.

If you were the Principal.....

Do you send Powers to extra lessons, knowing he has a lot to learn, never did a CAPE mock exam and time is against him, seeing that his classmates are not up to task for teaching him what he knows right now and he will have to skip at least 5 forms to be competent.

Or

Do you select the student who passed all his mock exams and passed CAPE with Distinctions. But is just breezing in Lower six as he has completed his SAT and waiting to take up the Scholarship in a years time after school.

dont address as if i am an idiot, i take offence to when ah man feels he knows more, you were the same man who said we would not make it out of our group, so cool yuhself, I never said let powers play, why do you think gray is coming back, he will not be occupying the central mid, if anything gray will be our right back, plus if edwards comes back he is not playing in the defense, wim will want him as a winger in the mid, but i doubt with the current impasse this will happen, plus who said wim is keeping powers, there will be changes made to the defense, that is our big concern as i have told you many times, i know carlos worth but i rather have him running de wing and crossing the ball than playing defense, but if wim slots him into the right back and gray fits into the centre back, thats all good, then i am also fine bc right now our defenders are the liability, will it happen i highly doubt it....

« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2007, 12:21:38 PM »
TI read what spideybuff post. the youths especially would gain by playing alongside someone of yorke's calibre - especially if he sees the gold cup as an opportunity to pass some of his experience along. i think your reasoning does not account for this.

if yorke want tuh comeback, diz cool, but i havent heard anything, last i heard was wim requesting local players for the squad, if yorke comes back i doubt i would or anyone else would object..... bc he would pass on some well learned experience and he is class no doubt, but dropping a local with potential for yorke would be a mistake bc these guys are our future, so adding maybe a yorke wouldnt hurt, but if there is a mass exodus that has to occur i say no bc these US based and locals have earned their spot, lets take care of the deficiencies first which is the backline before we talk about yorkie, if hes even available, right now the mid field and strikers doing their job.....

« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2007, 12:25:17 PM »
How does what I typed infer that I think you are an idiot....

Stop calling yuhself names.

i take offence to when ah man feels he knows more,

You also take offence when a man feels he knows more eh TI..... ???

But who know more than you?

Breds I just use one example and all kinda feelings yuh toting comin out so on a Fri afternoon.

« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2007, 12:26:38 PM »

so if yuh say whitley go play de holding mid position...dat hada mean yuh dropping bleeder...rite ???

nah bleeder would move into an attacking midfield role with hardest, whitley would play holding and tiger on the left, we may even go 5 in the mid for the gold cup bc we are facing the likes of the US and mexico, it depends whether wim will still go 4-4-2... or 4-5-1

« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2007, 12:29:40 PM »
How does what I typed infer that I think you are an idiot....

Stop calling yuhself names.

i take offence to when ah man feels he knows more,

You also take offence when a man feels he knows more eh TI..... ???

But who know more than you?

Breds I just use one example and all kinda feelings yuh toting comin out so on a Fri afternoon.

breddah i understand what you said, you dont have tuh explain it with examples like if i am a preschooler who needs examples and illustrations, dont insult my intelligence, bc i dont insult yours, now you are going off topic, get back to the subject at hand, do you honestly think powers will start over gray at right back and where did you see edwards coming back to play?

« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2007, 12:41:45 PM »

That is life. You does work you ass off for a company and when it get big they does bring a man from outside to be your boss. It have real men who work for 40 yrs and then a man with a Master's half they age come in. I not saying it fair but if the man more qualified and it in the best interest of the compan you have to eat humble pie. 

I not saying bring back eveybody. I just sayiing bring back men where we lacking. If you watch that Haiti game you would have to admit we were lucky. They also had scoring chances. Jan pulled off some great saves but better strikers would have buried those chances. Glasglow third goal (I think) the man do everything wrong and still had time to score. Letting him compete for a start can't hurt.

so bc that is apart of life, i must accept an injustice and allow it to continue, perpetuation of injustices is what we should promote? i dont think so, I think if anything I am a person who will fight for change rather than conform to bullshit like that, our world is not fair i agree, but any chance i get to preach fairness i will do it and stand by it, just as i stand by our locals and US based getting de bligh ahead of we uk based, if we lacking in certain areas, then i say yes, bring in the few players, which wim has done with whitley and gray, so far we are averaging 3 goals a game, i think our strikers deserve a chance to shine, we gave stern all the chances in the world, why not these guys? ???so many chances that stern didnt even score in the world cup, so why not let roberts, glasgow and bailey play, even fellahs like findley, elcock and patterson also, why not try them? ??? we do we have to get jones and scotland, why not try a fellah like johnson on the wing instead, we already know what the world cup sqaud could do, lets see what these guys can do, dont compromise the program, we are doing something progressive for a change, lets not break that trend...

ask yourself the question, what makes the better striker? experience, playing time, playing against better opposition, gelling with a team, also playing for a better club, but right now the other factors are present, if yuh dropping glasgow, i say call in findley or elcock.....

Offline Swima

« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2007, 12:43:17 PM »
dont address as if i am an idiot, i take offence to when ah man feels he knows more,

I wonder how many times you've been offended.

To touch on the topic, I think if we end the impasse that we should go to the Gold Cup with a team that is both experienced and hungry. Some of the older heads should come back, but we should maintain the youthful exuberence that the current team has in highlighting the most promising of the lot. The average age of the Gold Cup team should be around 25-27. We should be looking at holding this as a dress rehearsal for World Cup qualifying, given that the teams we face in the Gold Cup will obvisoulsy be the teams we face in WCQ. We should also be looking to cement ourselves as a force in CONCACAF. Teams should not be eager to face us by the time 2008-9 rolls around, and the truest way to send a clear message that we mean business is by putting on a performance that causes them to take notice in this Gold Cup. And just imagine if by some strange force of nature, we qualify for the CONFED Cup and get to go to South Africa a year earlier, in addition to going to the real thing. A possible meeting with Brazil?? (Copa America) Holland?? (Euro 2008  ;D) Japan?? (Asian Cup of Nations). It's worth dreaming about.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2007, 12:50:45 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Noone should ever feel their national team spot is secured. That is the nature of the sport at its highest level and if we want to develop it the right way in T&T, we have to accept that reality. Thsoe who are not performing up to par in the Digicel will get dropped, no matter how much blood, sweat and tears they put in to help us qualify for the GC. It is the same for every nation in the world and for every tournament, including the World Cup. At the same time, our ultimate goal should be WC 2010 and it is in Wim's best interest to take along a select group of younger, or less experienced players who have the potential to contribute to that effort, even if there are a few foreign based players who are currently better players. This also will establish some comeraderie in the team. Wim cannot phase out all the locals, or they will not play as hard for him in the future if he needs them due to injuries or loss of form from the foreign-based. It would bea  bad, short-sighted move. It is OK to drop a few foreign based...let them know their places eh that secure either. It will make them hungrier, better players as well. The best foreign based can help the locals train better, and by making us more competitive in GC games, they can the raise the level of the local guys...international experience and development also comes from within the squad, not just from playing other teams. The best thing would be a mix imho

« Reply #25 on: January 19, 2007, 12:53:01 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Noone should ever feel their national team spot is secured. That is the nature of the sport at its highest level and if we want to develop it the right way in T&T, we have to accept that reality. Thsoe who are not performing up to par in the Digicel will get dropped, no matter how much blood, sweat and tears they put in to help us qualify for the GC. It is the same for every nation in the world and for every tournament, including the World Cup. At the same time, our ultimate goal should be WC 2010 and it is in Wim's best interest to take along a select group of younger, or less experienced players who have the potential to contribute to that effort, even if there are a few foreign based players who are currently better players. This also will establish some comeraderie in the team. Wim cannot phase out all the locals, or they will not play as hard for him in the future if he needs them due to injuries or loss of form from the foreign-based. It would bea  bad, short-sighted move. It is OK to drop a few foreign based...let them know their places eh that secure either. It will make them hungrier, better players as well. The best foreign based can help the locals train better, and by making us more competitive in GC games, they can the raise the level of the local guys...international experience and development also comes from within the squad, not just from playing other teams. The best thing would be a mix imho

well said. :applause:

« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2007, 12:55:53 PM »
dont address as if i am an idiot, i take offence to when ah man feels he knows more,

I wonder how many times you've been offended.

To touch on the topic, I think if we end the impasse that we should go to the Gold Cup with a team that is both experienced and hungry. Some of the older heads should come back, but we should maintain the youthful exuberence that the current team has in highlighting the most promising of the lot. The average age of the Gold Cup team should be around 25-27. We should be looking at holding this as a dress rehearsal for World Cup qualifying, given that the teams we face in the Gold Cup will obvisoulsy be the teams we face in WCQ. We should also be looking to cement ourselves as a force in CONCACAF. Teams should not be eager to face us by the time 2008-9 rolls around, and the truest way to send a clear message that we mean business is by putting on a performance that causes them to take notice in this Gold Cup. And just imagine if by some strange force of nature, we qualify for the CONFED Cup and get to go to South Africa a year earlier, in addition to going to the real thing. A possible meeting with Brazil?? (Copa America) Holland?? (Euro 2008  ;D) Japan?? (Asian Cup of Nations). It's worth dreaming about.

i see your ambitions, i wish the same for our team, but is it realistic, will our uk based players put aside the world cup fiasco` and make themselves available to suit up for the national team or will the ttff deny their access or not call them atall, realistically i think we can win the gold cup with a strengthened backline but this very same team, only mexico and the US stand in our way, maybe even canada.. i think we can pull off a few surprises and do very well, i believe in the team and we must also bc right now it doesnt look like the impasse will end anytime soon bc money is still supposedly still pending and trust is a big issue also...

however i think we can make it with this current team bc by then they will have spent alot of time together and will have played many games and gelled as a unit...

« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2007, 01:05:19 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Noone should ever feel their national team spot is secured. That is the nature of the sport at its highest level and if we want to develop it the right way in T&T, we have to accept that reality. Thsoe who are not performing up to par in the Digicel will get dropped, no matter how much blood, sweat and tears they put in to help us qualify for the GC. It is the same for every nation in the world and for every tournament, including the World Cup. At the same time, our ultimate goal should be WC 2010 and it is in Wim's best interest to take along a select group of younger, or less experienced players who have the potential to contribute to that effort, even if there are a few foreign based players who are currently better players. This also will establish some comeraderie in the team. Wim cannot phase out all the locals, or they will not play as hard for him in the future if he needs them due to injuries or loss of form from the foreign-based. It would bea  bad, short-sighted move. It is OK to drop a few foreign based...let them know their places eh that secure either. It will make them hungrier, better players as well. The best foreign based can help the locals train better, and by making us more competitive in GC games, they can the raise the level of the local guys...international experience and development also comes from within the squad, not just from playing other teams. The best thing would be a mix imho

that was my initial idea when i submitted the ideas to flex on the board, but will this happen? ??? I doubt it, bc the impasse has not subsided, mixing the local with the foreign is not a bad idea but many on here would just go all foreign, i think certain positions should be filled yes, but blood sweat and tears is also counted, you never know how good a player can become with some confidence and experience, which is badly needed for our locals and US based, at present in my opinion, jones, stern, edwards, samuel and sancho would add to this local and US based team, but then also, wim is still searching, we have players like findley and elcock which need a run also, patterson and maybe johnson, people have to remember it is about chemistry, finding the right chemistry, if the foreign based are with this current team for 2 weeks or longer then it is worth it bc how can you gel a team in 4 days? ??? i think we should see the US based strikers first as an option for the gold cup and if we still need defenders, bring back sancho and maybe edwards.... if they will come and if the ttff call dem...

« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2007, 01:38:58 PM »
Aye guys what going on here not getting us any where,it's more about what each individual feels,i don't think there is any need to get worked up because of how each other feels.

By now every one knows how i feel about our locals and local Football,there should never be an issue when it comes to our local and foreign players,this about Football,Country,we can't pick and choose when players should play because it depends on if they are available to do so,i'm all for the best team available to play weather it's local or foreign based.

As a coach i knew this would happen,a lot of ppl are surprised at the performance of this team but i am not,as long as you have a bunch of determined players anything can happen,that is what Jamaica have and we don't.For the WC players were going out of their way to come home to represent,clubs releasing everybody,now we begging players to play everybody big,this country have good players and we are reaching to the stage where anybody we play with we will do well.

We have a very insecure mentality that we can't do without this one and that one,Benie prove that with Latapy,no other Coach could have done that somebody would have killed him,Birchal benching all season but we want him here to start on our team,many others have the same fate,not because they play in a WC they are WC standard.

« Reply #29 on: January 19, 2007, 01:54:36 PM »
Aye guys what going on here not getting us any where,it's more about what each individual feels,i don't think there is any need to get worked up because of how each other feels.

By now every one knows how i feel about our locals and local Football,there should never be an issue when it comes to our local and foreign players,this about Football,Country,we can't pick and choose when players should play because it depends on if they are available to do so,i'm all for the best team available to play weather it's local or foreign based.

As a coach i knew this would happen,a lot of ppl are surprised at the performance of this team but i am not,as long as you have a bunch of determined players anything can happen,that is what Jamaica have and we don't.For the WC players were going out of their way to come home to represent,clubs releasing everybody,now we begging players to play everybody big,this country have good players and we are reaching to the stage where anybody we play with we will do well.

We have a very insecure mentality that we can't do without this one and that one,Benie prove that with Latapy,no other Coach could have done that somebody would have killed him,Birchal benching all season but we want him here to start on our team,many others have the same fate,not because they play in a WC they are WC standard.

:applause: :applause: :applause: thank u breddah, very well said... i think this team has alot to prove still and will prove it, one step at a time, i think we have quality players locally and US based that can do the job and do well in the gold cup..... there are only a few of us who dont suffer from that insecurity complex....