April 24, 2024, 11:05:23 PM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors go after more bonuses in Digicel Cup.  (Read 3377 times)

Soca Warriors go after more bonuses in Digicel Cup.
« on: January 19, 2007, 06:06:22 PM »

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers putting on the national shirt in the current Digicel Caribbean Cup received their bonus payments on Friday from the T&T Football Federation and will now step on to the pitch going for more glory when they face off with Cuba in the second of the two semi finals at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Saturday.
In a meeting of the tournament’s Local Organizing Committee, it was agreed that T&T’s match will be played from 7pm while the other contest between Haiti and Guadeloupe will kick off at 5pm at the same venue.
On the eve of the encounter, following a full work out at the Ato Boldon Stadium training pitch, skipper Densill Theobald and his teammates were paid out their match fees and bonuses by the TTFF for matches played in the Digicel Cup so far. These appearance and match fees amounted to TT$321,300 while the technical staff including the head coach received in total TT$129, 937. These payments were made prior to any winnings collected from the Digicel for the tournament so far.
Away from that, head coach Wim Rijsbergen said his players remained focused on the task at hand as they eye the first prize of USD120,000 of which they will also receive bonus payments.
“We will try to go to the win so in that way we have we have to approach the match with a winning spirit,” Rijsbergen told TTFF Media after the training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday morning. “Hopefully with that in mind we can get the job done and move on to the finals. We have sent our coaches to get the information on Cuba from their last game and that’s the information the players will get,” he added when asked about his knowledge on Cuba.
The Dutchman complimented his players for being a bunch willing to learn at every turn and gave his thoughts on what could be the appropriate approach towards defeating the Cubans and whoever T&T possibly faces in the final next Tuesday.
“In every game and you should start from the back with a solid defense we haven’t been as solid as we should be in the recent games. But if we have a good organized team.. we have proven already that we will have chances every game to score goal… so we should be solid at the back and then use our creativity to score some goals and that could get the job done,” Rijsbergen added.
The likes of Kerwyn Jemmott and Gary Glasgow, two of the veterans in the team so to say, have performed to the call but Rijsbergen said he wasn’t judging any player based on their past.
“I told people before I am not going with history. I observe what is happening in training and in games and we take it from there. Some guys have a bad history and some have a good one. We are facing them on the training pitch and how we see them against the opponent and we do our work based on that. It will be the same in the future… I like history but it’s also old history.”
With that in mind, T&T will hope to wipe off their recent record against the Cubans. In a Caribbean zone Gold Cup qualifier back in March 2003, Cuba ousted T&T 3-1 at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium before T&T bounced back with a 2-1 win in a friendly in November that year. The last meeting between these two however saw Cuba coming away 2-1 winners in the Digicel Cup Finals in Barbados in February 2005. Cornell Glen was T&T’s lone scorer and three members of the current T&T squad, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Scott Sealy and Densill Theobald were on the pitch that day.
“We know Cuba’s style of play. They try to be very correct and they can punish you when you slip up so with that in mind we know we have to make very little mistakes,” Theobald said. “It’s good to be a team where the confidence is growing. We will try to make it stay that way with a good performance and hopefully a good victory,” he added,
Cuba meantime, coming with what head coach Raul Gonzalez Triana described as their best team, all locally-based players, will be cautious but not fearful of T&T.
“We have nothing to fear and it’s the same with any team. We prepare and we play our game and we let the next team play. We are not worried about our game. We just wait to see what is the strategy of the next team,” Triana said via a translator looking ahead to Saturday’s game. “We are all based locally and this is our best team. We have sent our people abroad, both players and coaches to train and then we return home and prepare our team. We have a desire to do well and we want to compete for the South Africa World Cup. Of course we are happy to make the Gold Cup and we want to win this tournament. We will play to win,” he added. Cuba had previously taken a squad for training in Germany in July/August 2006. Their captain Jenier Molina was also optimistic saying “We prepare for Trinidad and we will see how they play their game. We are excited and we think our chances are as good as any team.”
In the earlier game, Haiti tackles Guadeloupe from 5pm. For the two semi-final outings, all yellow cards have been waived which sees T&T’s Dwayne Jack, Cuba’s Jaine Colome and Haiti’s Brunel Fucien all going in with a clean slate.
And the match officials will be Roberto Moreno (Panama) as referee and Egbert Paesch (Aruba) and Joseph Taylor (T&T) being the assistants for the Haiti vs Guadeloupe clash while for T&T versus Cuba, Jamaican Courtney Campbell carrying the whistle and his countrymen Anthony Garwood and Ricardo Morgan running the flags.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2007, 05:44:55 AM by Flex »

Re: Soca Warriors go after more bonuses in Digicel Cup
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2007, 06:13:33 PM »
TT321,300

divide by 18 players (correct?)

TT17,850 = US$2843 = GBP1440

Nice, they've already made more than than the squad got for the World Cup.

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2007, 07:05:11 PM »

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers putting on the national shirt in the current Digicel Caribbean Cup received their bonus payments on Friday from the T&T Football Federation and will now step on to the pitch going for more glory when they face off with Cuba in the second of the two semi finals at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Saturday.
In a meeting of the tournament’s Local Organizing Committee, it was agreed that T&T’s match will be played from 7pm while the other contest between Haiti and Guadeloupe will kick off at 5pm at the same venue.
On the eve of the encounter, following a full work out at the Ato Boldon Stadium training pitch, skipper Densill Theobald and his teammates were paid out their match fees and bonuses by the TTFF for matches played in the Digicel Cup so far. These appearance and match fees amounted to TT$321,300 while the technical staff including the head coach received in total TT$129, 937. These payments were made prior to any winnings collected from the Digicel for the tournament so far.
Away from that, head coach Wim Rijsbergen said his players remained focused on the task at hand as they eye the first prize of USD120,000 of which they will also receive bonus payments.
“We will try to go to the win  so in that way we have we have to approach the match with a winning spirit,” Rijsbergen told TTFF Media after the training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday morning. “Hopefully with that in mind we can get the job done and move on to the finals. We have sent our coaches to get the information on Cuba from their last game and that’s the information the players will get,” he added when asked about his knowledge on Cuba.
The Dutchman complimented his players for being a bunch willing to learn at every turn and gave his thoughts on what could be the appropriate approach towards defeating the Cubans and whoever T&T possibly faces in the final next Tuesday.
“In every game and you should start from the back with  a solid defense we  haven’t been as solid as we should be in the recent games. But if we have a good organized team.. we have proven already that we will have chances every game to score goal… so we should be solid at the back and then use our creativity to score some goals and that could get the job done,” Rijsbergen added.
The likes of Kerwyn Jemmot and Gary Glasgow, two of the veterans in the team so to say, have performed to the call but Rijsbergen said he wasn’t judging any player based on their past.
“I told people before I am not going with history. I observe what is happening in training and in games and we take it from there. Some guys have a bad history and some have a good one. We are facing them on the training pitch and how we see  them against the opponent and we do our work based on that. It will be the same in the future… I like history but it’s also old history.”
With that in mind, T&T will hope to wipe off their recent record against the Cubans.
In a Caribbean zone Gold Cup qualifier back in March 2003, Cuba ousted T&T 3-1 at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium before T&T bounced back with a 2-1 win in a friendly in November that year. The last meeting between these two however saw Cuba coming away 2-1 winners in the Digicel Cup Finals in Barbados in February 2005. Cornell Glen was T&T’s lone scorer and three members of the current T&T squad, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Scott Sealy and Densill Theobald were on the pitch that day.
“We know Cuba’s style of play. They try to be very correct and they can punish you when you slip up so with that in mind we know we have to make very little mistakes,” Theobald said. “It’s good to be a team where the confidence is growing/ We will try to make it stay that way with a good performance and hopefully a good victory,” he added,
Cuba meantime, coming with what head coach Raul Gonzalez Triana described as their best team, all locally-based players, will be cautious but not fearful of T&T.
“We have nothing to fear and it’s the same with any team. We prepare and we play our game and we let the next team play. We are not worried about our game. We just wait to see what is the strategy of the next team,” Triana said via a translator looking ahead to Saturday’s game. “We are all based locally and this is our best team. We have sent our people abroad, both players and coaches to train and then we return home and prepare our team. We have a desire to do well and we want to compete for the South Africa World Cup. Of course we are happy to make the Gold Cup and we want to win this tournament. We will play to win,” he added. Cuba had previously taken a squad for training in Germany in July/August 2006. Their captain Jenier Molina was also optimistic saying “We prepare for Trinidad and we will see how they play their game. We are excited and we think our chances are as good as any team.”
In the earlier game, Haiti tackles Guadeloupe from 5pm. For the two semi-final outings, all yellow cards have been waived which sees T&T’s Dwayne Jack, Cuba’s Jaine Colome and Haiti’s Brunel Fucien all going in with a clean slate.
And the match officials will be Roberto Moreno (Panama) as referee and Egbert Paesch (Aruba) and Joseph Taylor (T&T) being the assistants for the Haiti vs Guadeloupe clash while for T&T versus Cuba, Jamaican Courtney Campbell carrying the whistle and his countrymen Anthony Garwood and Ricardo Morgan running the flags.

De statement in red suggests that Wim is not afraid of creative play. As a matter of fact it looks like he applauds it.  Sure up de back and then go work de magic.....

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2007, 07:18:03 PM »
7pm....   confirmed...  finally

but if dey have extratime in d haiti game den we game will get push back to 8 rite?

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2007, 09:21:42 PM »
Thanks SM but I fraid the TTFF I better reach the stadium for 5

Soca warriors pocket $.3m bonus
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2007, 06:16:07 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sports1.html     

T&T senior footballers and management staff received TT$451, 237 in bonus payments yesterday, from the T&T Football Federation.

The team will now step on to the pitch going for more glory when they face off with Cuba in the second of today’s semifinal double-header at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo from 7.15 pm.

Haiti tackles Guadeloupe in the first semifinal from 5pm for a place in Tuesday’s final at the same venue.

On the eve of the encounter, following a full work out at the Ato Boldon Stadium training pitch, skipper Densill Theobald and his teammates were paid out their match fees and bonuses by the T&TFF for matches played in the Digicel Cup so far.

These appearance and match fees amounted to TT$321,300 while the technical staff including the head coach received in total TT$129, 937. These payments were made prior to any winnings collected from Digicel for the tournament so far.

Re: Soca Warriors go after more bonuses in Digicel Cup.
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2007, 08:21:00 AM »
NICE
Last game ah went tuh sleep and no body wake meh up ;D Ah now realize dat T&T only 4 hrs behind Germany right now apparently. So ah go be in de chat room partying

T&T...Bam-Bam.........We want ah Goal... Bam-Bam

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2007, 08:21:59 AM »
while for T&T versus Cuba, Jamaican Courtney Campbell carrying the whistle and his countrymen Anthony Garwood and Ricardo Morgan running the flags.

Oh lord a Jamaican officiating crew  :'(

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2007, 08:24:56 AM »
Well lewe we see who getting favored now. yuh know dem JA doh like we. Dey go be mad tuh lehwe win de game.

NICE fuh real

« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2007, 08:56:16 AM »
Well lewe we see who getting favored now. yuh know dem JA doh like we. Dey go be mad tuh lehwe win de game.

NICE fuh real

Dat is de same referee who was in charge of de Haiti game.

« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2007, 09:37:21 AM »
Dis is nice....and ah hear in one of pre-tournament press conferences, that Digicel promise to pay the winner the day after the tournament....even better...

all we need now is for dem boys foot to do de talking...

GO WARRIORS!!!...   

« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2007, 10:34:53 AM »
If this is what motivates the players then cool, anything to make them fight for the win.

« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2007, 11:40:39 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sports1.html     

T&T senior footballers and management staff received TT$451, 237 in bonus payments yesterday, from the T&T Football Federation.

The team will now step on to the pitch going for more glory when they face off with Cuba in the second of today’s semifinal double-header at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo from 7.15 pm.

Haiti tackles Guadeloupe in the first semifinal from 5pm for a place in Tuesday’s final at the same venue.

On the eve of the encounter, following a full work out at the Ato Boldon Stadium training pitch, skipper Densill Theobald and his teammates were paid out their match fees and bonuses by the T&TFF for matches played in the Digicel Cup so far.

These appearance and match fees amounted to TT$321,300 while the technical staff including the head coach received in total TT$129, 937. These payments were made prior to any winnings collected from Digicel for the tournament so far.

&T’ footballers, from left, DARRYL ROBERTS (#11), OSEI TELESFORD (#5), KEERON BENITO (#7), KWAME WILTSHIRE (#8), KERRY BAPTISTE (#14), HAYDEN TINTO (##13), KERWYN JEMMOTT (#10) and GARY GLASGOW (#12) lead their team-mates through a jugging exercise at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva yesterday. Photo courtesy T&TFF.

« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2007, 01:45:05 PM »
Very good picture.

« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2007, 02:50:43 PM »

&T’ footballers, from left, DARRYL ROBERTS (#11), OSEI TELESFORD (#5), KEERON BENITO (#7), KWAME WILTSHIRE (#8), KERRY BAPTISTE (#14), HAYDEN TINTO (##13), KERWYN JEMMOTT (#10) and GARY GLASGOW (#12) lead their team-mates through a jugging exercise at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva yesterday. Photo courtesy T&TFF.

what exactly is jugging?...is that a combination of jogging and juggling?  ;)

« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2007, 05:04:04 PM »
ah only tik out de pichar ah didden write de caption..... :D

« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2007, 05:18:19 PM »
ah only tik out de pichar ah didden write de caption..... :D

hahaha...i figured as much. i actually like it..from now on when men does run with the ball and juggle it at the same time I calling it jugging or maybe joggling ;D

« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2007, 06:16:29 PM »

lololol i now see the caption yess  :rotfl:

anyoe know offically how much each player gettin paid from the bonus money..

« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2007, 07:32:20 PM »
Jugging these people really serious  lol   :rotfl:

« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2007, 08:23:23 PM »
nice pix, but the red and yellow boots!!. Is the worse.!!!!

« Reply #20 on: January 20, 2007, 08:25:57 PM »
nah man Deeks.....ah giving yuh de yellow boots but de red boots could pass part ah de colour scheme

« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2007, 08:28:56 PM »
Wit people getting kidnapped left and right in Trinidad ah wish they wouldnt advertise wah money dem man dem making, but ha guess is public disclosure.