March 29, 2024, 06:50:38 AM

Author Topic: Have you ever been called a TriTob?  (Read 1468 times)

Have you ever been called a TriTob?
« on: November 02, 2006, 03:09:58 PM »
I'm now reading an article on the upcoming Austria game and see the headline say "TriTobs" Never heard that reference before so I googled it - seems to be just a German language thing. The only pages that came up are in German. I never heard it used until now. Didn't notice the term used at all during the World Cup.

Re: Have you ever been called a TriTob?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2006, 03:29:58 PM »
Been called many names in my life, but never ah "TriTobs"  ;D da sound like some tribe from Africa  :rotfl:

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2006, 04:05:54 PM »
wha dey neck is dat

me ain't know if tur cuss dey person or tur blush :devil:

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2006, 05:18:57 PM »
E-Mann, people can call me any ting, as long as day ent call me "late for Supper"  ;D ;D ;D ;D
ya kno I is ah man who like he food ;) ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2006, 05:32:00 PM »
I was digging a little further. The contraction (of Trinidad and Tobago) looks like it came from a guy who bet on T&T during the Sweden game. On this page in the comments it says:

Comment by Spundflasche Sat, 10 Jun 2006, 19:58
Yeah! Just won 3 Euros. I'll mark the occasion to create a nicer nickname than "Trinis" and will call the boys "TriTobs" from now. (pronounced similar to the soda) We'll see how many sports journalists take my lead.

Looks like a few did, but google only turns up about 3 pages. I guess he means this particular fizzy drink:

« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2006, 05:46:19 PM »
see how ting does start  ;D next ting dey break it down and jus start calling us Trobs  :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2007, 01:02:22 PM »
Have mercy.

Ok...yuh think the people from the island of Tobago would be happier if we were referred to as  "Tritobs" instead of "trinis" ?   :-\

whey storebay....Baygo Boy...any people from the island of tobago have anything to say?

I ain't looking for an argument...just some middle ground.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2007, 01:05:29 PM by dcs »

« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2007, 01:19:57 PM »

dis beginning to look like ppl in identidy crisis .... steupss