April 17, 2024, 10:14:45 PM

Author Topic: Panama want Warriors.  (Read 5898 times)

Panama want Warriors.
« on: January 22, 2007, 10:31:09 PM »
Panama want Soca Warriors.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Panama's newly-installed Brazilian-born head coach Alexandre Guimaraes has arranged a friendly international match against Trinidad and Tobago's Soca Warriors in preparation for upcoming CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifiers against Honduras and Costa Rica. T&T will meet Panama Wednesday January 31 in the first of a two-match tour of Central America by the Soca Warriors.
A day after playing Panama, Trinidad and Tobago's footballers leave for Costa Rica for a meeting with their national team on February 4 in the mountainous Alajuela district.
Panama are coached by Guimaraes, who took Costa Rica to the 2006 World Cup but resigned after their poor showing as they lost to hosts Germany, Poland and Ecuador.
When Guimaraes took over midway through Costa Rica's World Cup qualifying campaign they were struggling but went on to lose just once in 11 matches. Since moving to Panama, Guimaraes has led them to a 1-1 draw with Armenia on January 14.
Panama will be fielding their best team against T&T, since they have Gold Cup qualifiers against Honduras on February 11 and Costa Rica on February 13.
Wim Rijsbergen, Trinidad and Tobago's head coach, had originally hoped to play Panama on February 7, which is an offical FIFA date for international matches. However, Panama thought the game was too close to their  Honduras match, to be played four days later.
Previously, Rijsbergen said these games represent a step up in class and are being used to see which of his players are capable of playing at a higher international level, as he builds a team for the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup and 2010 World Cup qualifiers.
Rijsbergen will be using much of the squad playing in tonight's Digicel Caribbean Cup Final and possibly some of the Jabloteh and W Connection players, who may be involved in the Caribbean Club Championship semi-finals and final which take place in Trinidad on Friday and Sunday. The Warriors leave for Panama a day after that club final.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2007, 06:08:17 AM by Flex »

Re: Panama want Warriors
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2007, 10:37:57 PM »
We go play them no probs

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2007, 11:02:39 PM »
How come no body want to play the Reggea boys no more???????? :rotfl:
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2007, 11:05:04 PM »
Here we go again, ok fellas no YORKE, JOHN BIRCHIE, KENWAYNE but I know all yuh could take them out
I have total confidence

BRING THEM ON WIM WE GO ADD ANOTHER WIN UNDER YUH BELT!!!! >:( >:( >:(

GOOOOO WARRRIORRRS GOOOO

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2007, 12:02:19 AM »

Doh start de passah, passah nah, if dey read yuh post, yuh go see how much ah dem go invade dis thread, in de next few days. :rotfl: HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2007, 12:18:16 AM »
Nice nice. I real looking forward to this game and to see what the Digicel squad can do. This continual training and match preparation doing our squad very well.

Panama coming back fuh licks, like they like it too bad

« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2007, 05:35:43 AM »
I aint go lie, some real nice vibes flowing around this new T&T team and the setup...

Wonderful if these game REALLY DO MATERIALISE, give the boys more time together.

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2007, 05:44:08 AM »
Pointman, leave the Reggae Boys alone, nah!  Let sleeping dogs lie.  No need to aggravate the brothers now.  Wait until we have to play them and then we could do all the trash talking and sledging we want.  For now let us be sympathethic to their plight of misssing the big tournaments.  Remember there little boys cut we tail the other day! 

Peace brithers, peace!

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2007, 07:16:18 AM »

Heh heh. good one there Pointman. But I am sure you are aware of the fact that we recently turned down Costa Rica...thus opening the door for you to play them on Feb 7th.

In any case, we just played two games vs Canada and Peru...

And by th eway, good luck in the Digicel cup finals later today.

Re: Panama want Warriors.
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2007, 07:59:32 AM »
This is great...In the month of January, the core of this team will have played 7 games. What's better is that we not only playing at home. The 2 away games against Panama and Costa Rica will be worth their weight in gold. Then we have the Gold Cup. This is a great period for the national team and so far Wim and co. are taking full advantage of it

Offline Israel

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2007, 08:07:01 AM »
Glad to see we getting some int'l games.........Keep this up.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2007, 08:53:25 AM »
Things looking good...but I will believe it when the whistle blow...

That said, we need to get a third game for the 7th. I wouldn't mind a revenge match with the Guatemalans or a nice friendly with the Hondurans. That way we could stay in Central America. and this could be the scene.

First match against Panama (mainly Digicell cup team) - non fifa matchday
Second match against Costa Rica (mainly younger foreign based and WC locals) - FIFA matchday
Third match against Guatemala/Honduras (whoever looking good) - FIFA matchday

Heck we could even see what Mexico showing under Hugo Sanchez if they ent organise a thing yet  ;D

Offline Israel

« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2007, 08:58:41 AM »
I don't think the CR match is a FIFA match date.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2007, 09:02:14 AM »
Like a thief in the night he will come, BE AFRAID!

LOOK OUT FOR THE RETURN OF STING PANA!!!!!!!!! :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :violin: :violin: :yapping: :yapping:

Bring on Panama :challenge: :challenge:

« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2007, 09:20:42 AM »

LOOK OUT FOR THE RETURN OF STING PANA!!!!!!!!! :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :violin: :violin: :yapping: :yapping:

Oh yes.....de minute ah read bout Panama mih mind run on he but couldn't remember he username....

Oh lord his return is imminent I'm sure......Bring on Panama fuh real.......but ah like him.....he does just take he licks and disappear....unlike we good friends up North.....who just wont go away.... ;D

« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2007, 01:46:36 PM »

.Bring on Panama fuh real.......but ah like him.....he does just take he licks and disappear....unlike we good friends up North.....who just wont go away.... ;D

Offline marcpurcell

« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2007, 01:51:17 PM »
Bring them on. This is the type of stepping stones we need to maintain a good program after the world cup.
2007 Concacaf AND Soutth American teams
2008 Middle power European teams. (I want revenge on Ireland!!!)
Born in Montreal
Living in Toronto
But still a Barataria boy at heart

Offline Warlord

« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2007, 03:01:55 PM »
Things looking good...but I will believe it when the whistle blow...

That said, we need to get a third game for the 7th. I wouldn't mind a revenge match with the Guatemalans or a nice friendly with the Hondurans. That way we could stay in Central America. and this could be the scene.

First match against Panama (mainly Digicell cup team) - non fifa matchday
Second match against Costa Rica (mainly younger foreign based and WC locals) - FIFA matchday
Third match against Guatemala/Honduras (whoever looking good) - FIFA matchday

Heck we could even see what Mexico showing under Hugo Sanchez if they ent organise a thing yet  ;D

not disrespecting Honduras/Guate because I like both those teams but I think getting a South American team like Chile, Ecuador or Uruguay would be a better test for the Warriors. If the Federation could get a game with one of those teams that would be something.
"I love to see my people living in love, hate to see dem fighting and swimming in blood."

« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2007, 06:34:44 PM »
ah whim eh call of these games

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2007, 09:31:29 PM »

OK OK OK iM HERE......HERE WE GO AGAIN!

REVENGE SWEET REVENGE????

WHATS UP WITH YOUR UNDER 20 TEAM? PANAMA TO CANADA 2007....

AND SOON PANAMA TO SOUTH AFRICA 2010!

T&T 1 - HAITI 2 ------ FUNNY!....LOSE WITH A LITTLE TEAM.....

Offline nazkeeper

« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2007, 09:47:55 PM »
does anyone have PICTURES of the current SOCA WARRIORS

« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2007, 08:50:26 AM »

We always welcome the opportunity to bash all yuh team. Welcome back PANA, yes we are building some of our locals to widen our talent pool, so you may not be facing your nemisis team in the form of the YORKE'S JOHN, JONES, EDWARDS, BIRCHALL, LAWRENCE etc, but you will have a new list of players to put water in your eyes. My colleagues on the forum will fill you in

GO WARRIORS GO

« Reply #23 on: January 24, 2007, 12:34:06 PM »
Sting, do you have any info on internet access to the game, radio or TV from Panama?

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #24 on: January 24, 2007, 01:43:50 PM »
Sting, do you have any info on internet access to the game, radio or TV from Panama?

Hello my freinds!!!

The game will be passed on TV and Radio here in Panama.  But Internet access only in radio!...there are many radio stations that will transmit the game.....WHEN the game is comming I will post the URL of the stream!......in SPANISH!!! Sorry!

« Reply #25 on: January 24, 2007, 02:45:57 PM »

lol this fella is funny

Sting Pana were any of the Digicel games on tv in Panama?

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #26 on: January 24, 2007, 05:20:48 PM »

lol this fella is funny

Sting Pana were any of the Digicel games on tv in Panama?

NOPE....

If don't go to the stadium I can inform here the game minute by minute......

By the way...The PANAMA RED TYDE have a forum that have a thread opened about the game...
(http://www.futbolextremo.com/foro/viewforum.php?cate=21&f=6)

See You later fellas!

« Reply #27 on: January 24, 2007, 08:30:58 PM »

Heh heh. good one there Pointman. But I am sure you are aware of the fact that we recently turned down Costa Rica...thus opening the door for you to play them on Feb 7th.

In any case, we just played two games vs Canada and Peru...

And by th eway, good luck in the Digicel cup finals later today.

They mother country !!! period

« Reply #28 on: January 29, 2007, 10:56:02 AM »

PANA LIKE YUH KEEPING CLOSE TABS ON TRINI BOY! ANYONE DOING THAT CONSIDERS THE FACT THAT WE ARE A THREAT IN THE REGION

« Reply #29 on: January 29, 2007, 11:49:39 AM »
thank for the links in advance sting_pana.