September 15, 2024, 08:27:51 AM

Author Topic: Leo Beenhakker, tough taskmaster for Trinidad  (Read 4318 times)

Leo Beenhakker, tough taskmaster for Trinidad
« on: July 14, 2005, 10:56:47 AM »
Leo Beenhakker, tough taskmaster for Trinidad.
By: Keyvan Antonio Heydari.

"I have spent 40 years in the game. I have been asked every question. I have told my story, answered everything", say Beenhakker.
In soccer, many coaches like to have a hard man at the back or in the middle. Trinidad has their hardest man at the head of the national team. Dutchman Leo Beenhakker coached the Soca warriors in the Gold Cup and now that they are out of the tournament after a respectable showing, must refocus his players as they try to get back in the race for a World Cup qualifying spot. His no-nonsense demeanor is starting to filter down. Trinidad has no time to waste.
"I have spent 40 years in the game. I have been asked every question. I have told my story, answered everything. I give you five minutes."
Trinidad' s limited player pool was reflected in the few changes made by Beenhakker in the starting lineup in the Soca Warriors' three matches during Gold Cup. But his discipline has produced a more organized and compact team, which played in Miami without its biggest star, former Manchester United forward Dwight Yorke, now in Australia. His limited pool of players notwithstanding, Beenhakker is molding a team in his image, less flashy and more direct. New addition Chris Birchall, who grew up in Stoke, England but now a Trinidadian international (by virtue of his mother) showed promise and scored a goal in the 1-1 tie against Honduras. The players are gaining in confidence and Columbus Crew forward Cornell Glen scored an injury-time equalizer against Panama. "We have the best coach," exclaimed Glasgow Rangers defender Marvin Andrews during a break in a steamy training session in Miami.
Beenhakker's coaching staff includes countrymen Theo de Jong and Wim Rijsbergen, both veterans of the legendary Dutch team from the 1974 World Cup. Rijsbergen conducts the training sessions while the 70-year-old Beenhakker observes and paces. At the hotel, they huddle to discuss tactics and player choices.
In Holland, they say that two Dutchmen discussing any subject will have three opinions on the matter. And this tendency to question and criticize openly has perhaps hardened coaches such as Beenhakker, and many say has hurt the cohesion on the Netherlands squads during long tournaments such as the World Cups. But Beenhakker was not brought in to impose a Dutch system, but to get results in a hurry. He was hired by the Trinidad federation and Concacaf president Jack Warner because of his previous experience with Concacaf soccer scene, and in particular his knowledge of Mexican soccer.
"Trinidad is a very small country, with no international soccer pedigree, which once in a while fights for a chance to enter a big tournament like a World Cup," he explains. "People there live the game with great enthusiasm and passion, and their national team has a chance to qualify. In that sense, it's different from Mexico, where they have great infrastructure and a very strong league. And now Mexico has players with double nationality, and that helps to strengthen the national team greatly."
Beenhakker was the coach of the Dutch team in World Cup 1990, where a team with talents such as Marco van Basten, Ruud Gullit and Frank Rijkaard was eliminated in the second round by the eventual champ West Germany in what was perhaps the best match of the whole tournament. Yet Beenhakker is remembered more for his club stints, having coached Ajax and Feyenoord in Holland and spent six seasons at Real Madrid, plus stints in Saudi Arabia, Switzerland and twice at America of Mexico, where his brusque manner and testy relationship and exchanges with the local media at press conferences were legendary.
Behind that hard exterior, perhaps, is a man who is aware his talents and vast experience are applied in a footballing backwater, but with the possibility of a triumphant return to the main stage. Trinidad has climbed back into the World Cup picture by beating Panama but losing to Mexico in the last two qualifying matches. They are in fifth place in the final Concacaf qualifying group, but the top three advance (and the fourth-place team faces a playoff with a country from the Asia region).
But the next Trinidad fixture is in August in Birmingham against the United States, which will be looking to clinch its ticket to Germany 2006. The closest the island nation came to qualifying for a World Cup was - coincidentally - Italia 90, when the United States won 1-0 in Port of Spain to spoil the party and wrest the World Cup ticket from the Soca Warriors.
The last time Beenhakker's hard exterior was breached and he got emotional in the sport of soccer, he reveals, was when he led Feyenoord to the Dutch title in 1999. "It was May 1999, and 250,000 people came to celebrate the title of the team in the city where I was born. It was very special".
True to his conditions stated before the chat, Beenhakker winds down the interview after just five minutes. "Last question," he declares. -How would you like to be remembered? Frankly, I don t care," he barks, before concluding the interview.

goldcup.org
« Last Edit: July 14, 2005, 12:41:13 PM by Flex »

Re: Leo Beenhakker, tough taskmaster for Trinidad
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2005, 11:40:19 AM »
Leo Beenhakker, tough taskmaster for Trinidad

Keyvan Antonio Heydari

"I have spent 40 years in the game. I have been asked every question. I have told my story, answered everything", say Beenhakker.

Just wondering and ah hoping meh hunch is wrong but does this sound like maybe the coach  a little complacent? Yuh know yuh cyar teach an old dog new tricks!!!! what if the man eh seeing the forest for the trees? or eh willing to change up things when it eh working just because he  been in the game fuh that long and he KNOWS IT ALL!!!!!
Just a thinking out loud fellas.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2005, 11:42:24 AM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2005, 12:14:19 PM »
Hey AlbertaTrini, just join Palos myself and others in the BSC (Blind Supporters Club) and save yuhself the grief sah!

We simply turn up to whatever games we can and support! We leave all analysis etc to our big name coaches who ever they are!  8)

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2005, 12:20:26 PM »
It looks to me like he is headstrong rather than complacent. Nutting eh wrong with dat if yuh making de right decisions. However, when yuh start producing these type of results (Gold Cup), yuh have to be open to the opinions and suggestions of yuh supporting staff and de people yuh represent.
In spite of this, I think his strategy is to yeild favorable long-term results rather than immediate results. I still have faith!!!  

« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2005, 12:42:37 PM »
Socapro,

Ah getting tuh the point wher I may yield  meh analysis tuh the ummmmBEEN there with over 40 years of experience; I answer it all already man.

Remember  ent ah tell allyuh  this: LOCAL COACH : JACK AND DE BIG BOYS TELL HE WHAT TUH DO.

FOREIGN COACH:  HE TELLWE WHAT TUH DO; What we eh have brains? we cyar ssee fuh we self and suggest  what we think? wha happen  like the man say we eh have an " INTERNATIONAL PEDIGREE" SO WHAT?  when we go start having one?

Man the more ah try tuh stay quiet , the more meh brain working overtime with all this. Ah calling for Tallman and Flex tuh compile all  the statements in teh Forum and submit to the TTFF for a complete feasibility study on the : Preparation, Development  and Growth of football in our coutry. And Jack doh make football a political ploy!!!! what happens inthe party stays in de party!!!! but leh we join forces at all levels fuh the good and betterment of TNT.

« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2005, 12:50:04 PM »
 For men who saw the games : Anyone think that maybe offensively we are being 'overcoached'? are we playing too tight  up front and not allowing for our players to be more creative and versatile with the ball?

« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2005, 12:54:13 PM »
HMMMMMMMM.. Besides all the awards and international experience.. Who does he remind you of ?...  hmmmmmm... hmmmmmmm.

Sounds Head strong there.. His temperiment sounds similar to someone we had a coach before..

Offline rocwell

« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2005, 12:59:18 PM »
For men who saw the games : Anyone think that maybe offensively we are being 'overcoached'? are we playing too tight up front and not allowing for our players to be more creative and versatile with the ball?

We couldn't complete 2 passes and you're talking about "creative an versatile"?

« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2005, 01:00:57 PM »
For men who saw the games : Anyone think that maybe offensively we are being 'overcoached'? are we playing too tight up front and not allowing for our players to be more creative and versatile with the ball?

Over coached.. lol.. I seriously doubt that .. Over coaching cyar be the reason for an Experienced Forward to misss SITTTERS!!!! .. repeatedly.. We are creating the chances and not taking them ..

« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2005, 02:25:58 PM »

We couldn't complete 2 passes and you're talking about "creative an versatile"?

well said!

Offline Sando1515

« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2005, 08:48:27 PM »
I think the coach has a credible history and demonstrated ability to lift the Trinidad football to a higher level. That said, I am not particularly please with the reference to our football as "backwater" and such inference. It implies that there isn't much hope and if not for the coach we are nothing. Trinidad have a rich history of football and while we are not in the upper echelon of world soccer we are quite capable of giving a good account of ourselves on the field of play. The fact that our play has been lethargic of late does not erase the history and talent still budding on the local scene. One of the main reason for the recent dissappointing performance in the Gold Cup is the obvious lack of understanding of the Trini culture by the coaching staff. After making some good progress by introducing discipline, structure and organization, they immediately shot themself in the foot by giving the team a big layoff after the first two WC games. We Trinies know that any let up on a working system of play is a formular for complete complacency by the players. We need to be consistent in our approach and continue with the weekly camps and regular practice games to further develop the team.  The role of a coach is to prepare the team for excellence, to motivate the players to give 110%, to maximize the strengths and compensate for the weaknesses and produce good result. At the end of the day it is not the limitation of the players or size of the country but the effectiveness of the coach. Mr Beenhakker we thank you for helping our soccer but please respect the fact that we are capable of great things despite our underacheivements of late. There is a saying "never look down on a man unless you are picking him up" so if you want success please tell us our potential and develop approaches to bring it out and we will love you for it. 

Offline rocwell

« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2005, 10:09:58 PM »
Sando could you please detail our "rich history of football" and explain how it is at least as rich as England, Holland, Germany, Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Italy et al?

"The big layoff" as you put it was due t the fact that our players had to return to their clubs (even our local players).  Look around the world you'll notice that all teams with prfessional players had similar layoffs.  It had nothing to do with culture.

What is truly offensive is your suggestion that Trinidadians fall into complacency at any given opportunity.  If this were truly the case then why even bother attempting to accompish anything ever!?  Why stereotype an entire nation lke that?  Are you even trinidadian?

You stated "it is not the limitation of the players or size of the country but the effectiveness of the coach"

This gives me the impression that Beenhakker is standing on the sidelines with a PS2 controller, manipulating the players every move.  In truth and fact the players have much to do with it.  So if the players' ability is limited such that they cannot carry out the coach's instructions then what?

Beenhakker's here to help, but he's been asked to produce results that take years, in a few months. 

Offline Sando1515

« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2005, 08:29:37 AM »
While I received your comment with grace. You are misrepresenting the spirit of my comments. In the first place Trinidad do have a rich history of football. As pointed out we are not in the top echelon of World soccer but our history is rich all the same "see the history on this wed site". We were cheated out of qualification in 1973 when the Concacaf spot was one and the WC was 16 teams. We beat Argentina in the 1967 Olympics and despite our humble beginnings once defeated mighty Mexico 4 goals to nil. This at times when players were not paid worked a regular job and made time to train, when the love of the game was such that a player will make any sacrifice and thought it an honour to wear the national shirt.That said, a rich history reflects not so much the acheivements but the past passion and vigour for the game. The fact that our current game is plague by indiscipline (on and off the field), lack of pace, lack of commitment is not an assertion or opinion. The recent turn around by Beenhakker testifies to this. The players are basically the same, are they? Taking   my comments on player complacency to suggest that Trinidadians are lazy etc. is not only irresponsible but demonstrates the very point that instead of dealing objectively with the state of our play we prefer to resort subterfuge and subjectivism. I am a Trinidadian and love my country and my people very much. I love them enough to say the truth as I see it. "Is that not what this web site is about?" . The excuses of club commitment is also baseless since the local PL was in full swing during the earlier camps. The obvious value of the camp is such that while losing our first game to North East Stars we went on to beat Panama and played a competitive game with Mexico. The team must first be built around the local "available" players and incorporate the foreign players as time and need allows. A good example of this is the Jamaican team. After bowing out of the WC they concentrated on the local players with regular camps and practice games even during the height of their NPL season. "They were not even training for WC qualifiers like us". The coach is a local coach but the approach is what I am speaking about.  The Jamaican team not only comprise for the most part local players but youth. We need to understand that if we want to get somewhere we need to put in the extra effort precisely because of the weaknesses in our game. The assertion that the talent pool is limited is not good enough. Greece won the European cup with limited talent. When you have limited talent is precisely the time when your work ethics and deligence must increase. The coach does not remote control the players but he dictates the preparation and therefore is the focal point for the results, so it is in all sports. Did we not practice that same thing by replacing StClair? We will not reach anywhere if our commitment and resolve does not match the task ahead.

Note# This is not a complaint about the coach or coaching staff. I am impress with the turn around and results, and look forward to the future with hope.

Thank you for your comments, This is my opinion. I RESPECT YOURS!
Sando   
« Last Edit: July 15, 2005, 08:53:27 AM by Sando1515 »

Offline rocwell

« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2005, 10:30:45 AM »
One swallow does not a summer make, nor does one fine day
- Aristotle

Excellence is not a singular act, but a habit
- Aristotle

Beating Mexico decades ago (and again 4 years ago) and defeating Argentina in '67 are nice, but it doesn't say much.  For every one of those memories countries like Spain have 20.  While our love for the  game may be indeed vigourous, the same can be said for many other countries who's football reputation isn't highly regarded.  Try to look at it objectively.

My 'excuse' of club committments is far from baseless, welcome to 2005, these players salaries are paid by their clubs.  The earlier camps lasted a week, that's always possible, but you suggest keeping these guys for a month, you would then put their careers in jeapordy, that doesn't just include Trinidad.  It includes nations as large as Brazil.  Many of our foreign based are rightful mainstays in the team because they are our best players.  The best players should be on the team.  Also what happens when, inevitably, some of your local based sign to clubs overseas?  Would you exclude them because they now ply their trade outside of T&T?

Citing Jamaica as an example is a bit misleading, as they will surely include their foreign based, when given the chance (as would anyone).

How much responsibility do you place on the payers?  You seem to place the entire burden of results on the coach.  The players aren't children.  They too must be responsble for their actions on the field, the coach gives instructions and it's up to the players to execute.  Again I ask who do you blame if they are unable to execute instructions?  With your point of view T&T will always be prone to premature and misguided firing of  our coaches (including Beenhakker).

Greece won the Euro Cup, however their football infrastructure is well developed, and the football history is somewhat 'rich' with clubs such as Panathinaikos and Olympiakos being 2 clubs of note.

We all want success for T&T  but we must realise that we're not the only country trying to play football, other countries have been doing things properly for years, facing similar obstacles, we must learn from their successes and mistakes.  Until we begin to do things properly, there will be a million scapegoats.

Offline Sando1515

« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2005, 04:23:33 PM »
My brother, I concede on this since this seem to be an exercise in futility. I think however, you should read my reply carefully before attributing erroneous meaning and conclusions not in the text. I admire your passion for the sport or may I say "TALK". Good Sport.
While we may disagree, let us not be disagreeable!
Sando