March 28, 2024, 01:46:57 PM

Author Topic: Sunderland Forever Thread.  (Read 603075 times)

Re: Official Details - Trip to Sunderland
« Reply #330 on: March 19, 2007, 09:22:02 AM »
So I only need to get to London den you hooking up de ride to Sunderland. dais cool.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #331 on: March 19, 2007, 09:24:40 AM »
Yep, I doing all de hard work free of charge. Organising tickets, transport, entertainment, even food now....lol

Allyuh ass real spoil! All yuh have to do now is show up! (with yuh money of course  ;))
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #332 on: March 19, 2007, 09:37:09 AM »
well you could count me in  ;D

Offline Cartman

Sunderland Forever Thread.
« Reply #333 on: April 01, 2007, 04:55:19 AM »
160 Sunderland fans were on a plane at Bristol airport waiting to fly home when the steward kicked off a couple of fans for being a little drunk, one was actually disabled and not drunk. Anyway Quinny got involved and told them if they would not let the 2 lads fly then he wasn't flying either so he and all 160 fans got off the plane.

Quinny then arranged and payed for taxis to get the fans home, he was heard to say 'these are my people' can't imagine any other chairman doing this. There is a huge thread on SMB with witness accounts etc

The man is hero
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

Re: Niall Quinn, Sunderland chairman.....Legend
« Reply #334 on: April 01, 2007, 06:36:38 AM »
Quinn would have a good future in politics.

He is a bright fella, and not just compared to other footballers.

I can't like him too much as hr is a former Arsenal and City player. He also hung Keane out to dry over his testimonial but they have obviously made amends so that is not my grudge to bear.

« Reply #335 on: April 01, 2007, 05:50:17 PM »
160 Sunderland fans were on a plane at Bristol airport waiting to fly home when the steward kicked off a couple of fans for being a little drunk, one was actually disabled and not drunk. Anyway Quinny got involved and told them if they would not let the 2 lads fly then he wasn't flying either so he and all 160 fans got off the plane.
Quinny then arranged and payed for taxis to get the fans home, he was heard to say 'these are my people' can't imagine any other chairman doing this. There is a huge thread on SMB with witness accounts etc
The man is hero

Lyrics for: Quinn The Chairman

Everybody's building the big ships and the boats,
Some are building monuments,
Others, jotting down notes,
Everybody's in despair,
Every girl and boy
But when Quinn the Chairman gets here,
Everybody's gonna jump for joy.
Come all without, come all within,
You'll not see nothing like the mighty Quinn.

I like to do just like the rest, I like my sugar sweet,
But guarding fumes and making haste,
It ain't my cup of meat.
Everybody's 'neath the trees,
Feeding pigeons on a limb
All the pigeons gonna run to him.

A cat's meow and a cow's moo, I can recite 'em all,
Just tell me where it hurts ya, honey,
And I'll tell you who to call.
Nobody can get no sleep,
There's someone on everyone's toes
Everybody's gonna wanna doze.
  ;) ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Cartman

« Reply #336 on: April 02, 2007, 02:31:31 AM »
The man is hero

Lyrics for: Quinn The Chairman

Everybody's building the big ships and the boats,
Some are building monuments,
Others, jotting down notes,
Everybody's in despair,
Every girl and boy
Everybody's gonna jump for joy.

I like to do just like the rest, I like my sugar sweet,
But guarding fumes and making haste,
It ain't my cup of meat.
Everybody's 'neath the trees,
Feeding pigeons on a limb
All the pigeons gonna run to him.

A cat's meow and a cow's moo, I can recite 'em all,
Just tell me where it hurts ya, honey,
And I'll tell you who to call.
Nobody can get no sleep,
There's someone on everyone's toes
Everybody's gonna wanna doze.
  ;) ;)

You been drinking Westcoast  :rotfl:

The story is all over the british press this morning mate, more good publicity
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

« Reply #337 on: April 02, 2007, 03:17:28 AM »
What ???
That I changed the lyrics of Manfred Mann's Song :devil:

yeah I know it's a GREAT story
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline JW

• Mackem Abroad
  • Eat My Goal
    • Black Cats of North America
« Reply #338 on: April 02, 2007, 03:35:04 AM »
What ???
That I changed the lyrics of Manfred Mann's Song :devil:

yeah I know it's a GREAT story

Niall Quinn's taxi cabs are the best,
So shove it up your bollocks Easy-Jet,
Fat Fred would never do this for the Mags,
Niall Quinn's taxi cabs.

(courtesy of cipp)
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here!

« Reply #339 on: April 02, 2007, 03:46:33 AM »
Quinn rescues stranded fans

Breaking news

View GalleryBy Fiona Thompson
Niall Quinn stepped in to get 80 Sunderland supporters home after their flight was cancelled by airline bosses.

The club chairman was one of the passengers due to travel on the easyJet plane from Bristol to Newcastle last night following the team's 1-0 victory over Cardiff.

A dozen fans were taken off the aircraft and more than 100 were left waiting on board for more than an hour before the captain announced that it was being cancelled.

Staff claimed drunk passengers were causing a security risk, but fans and the club have said they saw no evidence of trouble.

The Irishman and his staff took action and called on a fleet of 18 taxis to make the 310 mile journey back to the North East

A total fare of £8,000 was run up on the taxis, with Quinn and his party also making sure those who had decided to catch the next flight were safe before they too headed home in one of the cars.

EasyJet said it scrapped the 9.25pm flight due to "disruptive behaviour" caused by those who had been drinking and offered passengers hotel accommodation and a transfer onto the next available flight.

Witnesses say two vans of police officers were called to escort fans from the plane and have praised Quinn for coming to their rescue.
http://www.sunderlandtoday.co.uk/ViewArticle.aspx?ArticleID=2207042&SectionID=1107

Fans thrown off plane over Niall Quinn's Disco Pants

Audrey Gillan
Monday April 2, 2007
The Guardian

It began with a crowd of fans singing Niall Quinn's Disco Pants, led to the cancellation of an easyJet flight and ended with the aforenamed chairman of Sunderland football club shelling out £8,000 on taxis so they could all go home.
A 1-0 victory over Cardiff in the Championship on Saturday left Sunderland fans in a merry mood. On sighting the chairman - christened Saint Niall for rekindling fortunes at the Stadium of Light - the fans, to the tune of Here We Go, belted out: "Niall Quinn's disco pants are the best. They go up from his arse to his chest. They're better than Adam and the Ants. Niall Quinn's disco pants."
When they continued singing on the plane, easyJet called the police. Some fans were ejected and the flight was cancelled after missing its take-off slot. Quinn and some of his staff had been aboard, while the players had caught an earlier flight.
Around 100 Sunderland supporters were stuck at the airport until Quinn ordered taxis for everybody. One fan said: "It must have cost a fortune but it shows again that he's the most decent bloke in football. I can't think of a single chairman or a single club that would do something like that for its fans ... everyone thanks him from the bottom of their hearts."

A spokesman for easyJet said a group of passengers had been ejected for disruptive behaviour "and the flight was consequently cancelled. The airline offered those passengers not involved a free transfer on to the next available flight and hotel accommodation."

This account was disputed by Quinn, who said there was no disruptive behaviour. "The mood was humorous and everyone was in good spirits after our fine victory. Nevertheless we were faced with a situation where our fans were stranded and needed assistance. The club was happy to provide transport back to the north-east for the group, which included children, elderly and disabled fans, as their safety and wellbeing was paramount.

"We also deny the airline's claim that overnight accommodation was offered and this was witnessed by several independent parties. Thankfully everyone returned home safely and we will now draw a line under this. To any fans who still feel aggrieved, remember the three points came home as well."

The former Ireland international had his disco pants immortalised when he played for Manchester City - released as a single, the song peaked at No 56 in the UK singles chart in April 1999.

It is not Quinn's first act of generosity. In 2002 he donated the proceeds of his testimonial match between Sunderland and the Republic of Ireland to charity. Quinn, who played for both teams during the match, received an MBE. Instead of an appearance fee for the game, all the players received a letter from a sick child.
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,2048124,00.html
« Last Edit: April 02, 2007, 03:54:42 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #340 on: April 02, 2007, 06:16:47 AM »
Looking forward to meeting my buddy Niall this Easter Saturday!

He's a great lad isn't he?! :chilling:

Offline JW

• Mackem Abroad
  • Eat My Goal
    • Black Cats of North America
Southampton vs Sunderland, Easter Monday...
« Reply #341 on: April 04, 2007, 02:14:20 PM »
Confirmed on Setanta North America at 12pm, for a 12.15pm k.o.

Anyone in TO fancying a beer, see ya in Scallywags... :beermug: :beermug:
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here!

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
Re: Southampton vs Sunderland, Easter Monday...
« Reply #342 on: April 04, 2007, 02:49:46 PM »
Hopefully all our Trini players have a good game in this contest...I wah Kenwyne score..becuase since comin off dat injury he has not played in his normal skin..so a goal would restore some of that old confidence
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #343 on: April 04, 2007, 03:05:00 PM »
decisions decisions decisions..hmmm maybe ah draw would be best here oui. Hopefully Sunderland Wins their 1st game over de weekend  ;D Southampton needs some points to get into the top 6  :beermug:

« Reply #344 on: April 04, 2007, 08:32:33 PM »
Who goin to make sure they get their hot cross buns. It is easter after all

Sunderland Forever Thread.
« Reply #345 on: April 07, 2007, 07:54:23 AM »
Game starting in 10 mins

All info should be posted in this thread

Lets go Sunderland!

Any stream???

Offline Israel

Re: Thread for Sunderland vs. Wolves
« Reply #346 on: April 07, 2007, 07:55:19 AM »
audio link?
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

Offline Israel

« Reply #348 on: April 07, 2007, 08:08:25 AM »
stern starting
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #349 on: April 07, 2007, 08:14:06 AM »
Carlos playing nice  ;D

Offline lp

« Reply #350 on: April 07, 2007, 08:14:33 AM »
And Carlos.... and he is already making his presence felt even as I type.....
Go Subderland!!!!

« Reply #351 on: April 07, 2007, 08:27:29 AM »
1-0 Sunderland....

D.Murphy..according to livescore

Come on Stern and Carlitos!

« Reply #352 on: April 07, 2007, 08:49:55 AM »
1-0 HT

How are our boys playing??

« Reply #353 on: April 07, 2007, 08:50:31 AM »
I not hearin de WN riddim section  ;)

how much ah dem went?

« Reply #354 on: April 07, 2007, 08:51:10 AM »

how much ah dem went?
i was now going to say i eh hearing dem..
i sure they will represent though
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #355 on: April 07, 2007, 08:52:16 AM »

how much ah dem went?
i was now going to say i eh hearing dem..
i sure they will represent though

they on now!  niceness

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #356 on: April 07, 2007, 08:58:05 AM »
Good luck Sunderland in de 2nd half...keep up de pressure

Happy Easter....

Point me to de cross buns
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #357 on: April 07, 2007, 09:00:39 AM »
the Lads on the Sunderland chat room say there are 7 Trinis there :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline lp

« Reply #358 on: April 07, 2007, 09:08:22 AM »
the Lads on the Sunderland chat room say there are 7 Trinis there :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Spoke to Soca pro & ThemanFriday this morning as they were travelling and Theman said they were on a 35 seater coach with about two empty seats. So it is definitely not that bad.... don't believe everything yuh read. There are also people who made theiir own way down(up), as I was planning to do from Wolverhampton.

« Reply #359 on: April 07, 2007, 09:09:19 AM »

Spoke to Soca pro & ThemanFriday this morning as they were travelling and Theman said they were on a 35 seater coach with about two empty seats. So it is definitely not that bad.... don't believe everything yuh read. There are also people who made theiir own way down, as I was planning to do from Wolverhampton.
what funnya bout that ???
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge