April 27, 2024, 06:24:30 PM

Author Topic: Sunderland Forever Thread.  (Read 608901 times)

Re: The Sunderland AFC 2007-2008 thread
« Reply #840 on: August 01, 2007, 02:44:18 PM »
 :o wow, nice move by stern and ah even sweeter chip pass to assist in that goal..ah did not know he had that in him  ;D

« Reply #841 on: August 01, 2007, 02:44:37 PM »
well stern if yuh cya score dem den set dem

« Reply #842 on: August 01, 2007, 02:45:28 PM »
followed by a goal !!

he could do both ah them mukumsplau  :devil:

« Reply #843 on: August 01, 2007, 02:45:40 PM »
doh worry, he now put down ah nice 1-2 with ah man and score ah nice goal too :applause:

« Reply #844 on: August 01, 2007, 02:45:48 PM »
sterrrrrrrrrrrnnnn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #845 on: August 01, 2007, 02:52:02 PM »
I like the work ethic ah seeing

« Reply #846 on: August 01, 2007, 03:15:54 PM »
I eh seeing the game but I like what I hearing. Good going Stern keep it up

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #847 on: August 01, 2007, 03:33:25 PM »
Just ah lil snipit from the SAFC forum on todays game. Had to do some editing, them fellas does real cuss on that forum.

Nice work from big Stern

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gerrin.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where they getting all the subs from - off the street?

For all their hard work they have just given away a soft goal.

They look very tired!!!

well worked goal that

Gerrin !!!! Stern John 4 - 0

ta, great ball for the third.

Stern's the future man.

Yeah, baby, yeah

gerrin John lad 

Stern John's tearing them apart.

stern john wow

lovely build up for the goal from John.

Think Galway have given up the ghost a bit now.

« Last Edit: August 01, 2007, 03:44:56 PM by TdotTrini »
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #848 on: August 01, 2007, 03:36:58 PM »
Anyone have to Stern goal on video yet?
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Offline Trinitim

SUNDERLAND vs GALWAY!!!!- THE GOALS WILL FLOW
« Reply #849 on: August 01, 2007, 03:42:40 PM »

Well well it seems as if the strikers of Sunderland are beginning to get back there sharpness in front of the goal as they defeated Galway 4-0.
 Chopra opened the scoring in the 6th minute
 Kieran Richardson added in the 56th minute
David Connolly in the 84th minute
And of Course our own Stern John in the 85th minute.

Re: SUNDERLAND vs GALWAY!!!!- THE GOALS WILL FLOW
« Reply #850 on: August 01, 2007, 03:51:43 PM »
oh geez nah, alyuh stop making life difficult for the mods and add it to the thread where men been following the game for the last 3 hours now nah ..

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #851 on: August 01, 2007, 03:59:04 PM »
yeah yeah.....keep it up stern.  Keep Bussin  dee net. Two goals and counting

« Reply #852 on: August 01, 2007, 04:08:53 PM »
Ah boy Midknight.... yuh see how it is...yuh create ah thread but man does have  to have they own toys so is like yuh thread go die out welcome to what ah this be trying to say. Why is it that flks cyar just add to a thread with the same  objective?

P.S Mr. Berris...ooops John let the boots do the talking... prove them wrong or prove them right.

« Reply #853 on: August 01, 2007, 04:33:18 PM »
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=12814

Roy Keane's reaction to Sunderland's win over Galway United:

"It was good. We took our chances and it was a nice way to finish off the trip.

"Our form hasn't been too bad, we created chances and we finished them with some good goals - it's always nice to score four goals.

"We've enjoyed the trip but I don't care who you are, when you've got your new club it's always nice to score and that's them [Chopra and Richardson] up and running and they were two very good finishes.

"Dave [Connolly] and Stern [John] got one each as well and it's always nice for the strikers to hit the back of the net.

"There were a few tackles going in, which I don't mind. The players enjoyed it and that's what you come to Ireland for - competitive games. Galway are 20-odd games into their season and they are fit and strong.

"A lot has been asked of the players on this trip, it's been demanding and I think they've represented Sunderland very well.

"We've another match on Saturday then seven days until the Spurs game. We'll analyse it and see who we are going to put out against Spurs.

"There were one or two players who did themselves a favour tonight.

"We need a bit more strength in depth and we're working on that. We are making slow progress. If I'm learning one thing in this game, it is that the deals can drag out.

"A lot of it is out of your hands, it tests your patience but if you want something you have to bide your time. We're hoping we'll have a good season.

"We're back first thing in the morning and the next goal for us is trying to beat Juventus on Saturday."

« Reply #854 on: August 01, 2007, 09:22:38 PM »
Stern's assist to Connolly (from the replay it look like Stern's cross was going in):

http://www.sendspace.com/file/7tm3e7

Stern's goal after a nice knock with Connolly:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/llo0mt

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #855 on: August 02, 2007, 12:31:15 AM »
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2007/08/02/keano-nets-misfit-mido-89520-19557464/

Keano nets misfit Mido
EXCLUSIVE FOOTBALLSPY
By Martin Lipton 02/08/2007
Daily Mirror

Sunderland boss Roy Keane last night completed a shock £6million swoop for Spurs' Egyptian striker Mido.

Keane's biggest signing yet as a manager will see the 24-year-old hitman move to the North East on a four-year deal.

And Mido's first taste of competitive action in a Black Cats shirt will come against his former White Hart Lane pals when Tottenham visit the Stadium of Light on the opening day of the season.

Mido, pushed down the Spurs pecking order by the arrival of £16m Darren Bent, had been on the verge of a Birmingham move last month.

But the deal hit the rocks over personal terms and interest from Fulham also petered out.

Now, though, Keane has seized the moment and, while the full contract has yet to be agreed, it is understood terms between Sunderland and the player have been ironed out.

Mido is set to pick up £40,000 a week and become the club's seventh summer signing.

The forward, who arrived at Spurs on loan from Roma before completing a £3m deal last summer, scored 19 goals in 56 appearances for Martin Jol's North Londoners.

His move is set to be tied up today and confirmed this afternoon, after a medical which the striker is expected to pass.

It is a major boost for Keane, whose signings include Cardiff striker Michael Chopra, midfielder Kieran Richardson from Old Trafford, Reading's Greg Halford and Dickson Etuhu.

(Taking dis with a grain a salt,  we'll see later, check de source)
« Last Edit: August 02, 2007, 12:45:19 AM by takenoprisoners »

« Reply #856 on: August 02, 2007, 03:51:11 AM »
Yeah the mirror is not the most reliable source.

If it is true though Sunderland have a got themselves a temperamental but potentially very good signing on their hands.  When he's on his game he is an excellent but you never know which Mido is going to show up (hint: If he's overweight he'll be crap).  He does not respond well to rotation and needs to play constantly to get the best out of him.

Roy Keane will have his hands full with this one.

« Reply #857 on: August 02, 2007, 06:46:01 AM »
Still nothing on the Sunderland site.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #858 on: August 02, 2007, 06:52:27 AM »
Still nothing on the Sunderland site.

Yeah, the SMB forum dismissing the transfer talk as rubbish as well. 

« Reply #859 on: August 02, 2007, 07:10:39 AM »
ITS THE MIRROR WHAT DID YOU GUYS EXPECT??

« Reply #860 on: August 02, 2007, 08:00:11 AM »
Stern's assist to Connolly (from the replay it look like Stern's cross was going in):

http://www.sendspace.com/file/7tm3e7

Stern's goal after a nice knock with Connolly:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/llo0mt

can you upload them on another site eg zshare or youtube or dailymotion or attachmax

« Reply #861 on: August 02, 2007, 08:03:21 AM »

Do they actually apologise when they get their facts wrong?

« Reply #862 on: August 02, 2007, 09:54:11 AM »

Do they actually apologise when they get their facts wrong?

Not for Transfer stories, only when they slur someones character (once per month or so!). In their defence, this pre-season not only the Mirror have had bogus transfer stories. Almost every daily has published at least one.

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #864 on: August 03, 2007, 02:48:14 AM »
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/sunderlandafc/news/tm_headline=mido-and-gordon-top-cats-8217-list%26method=full%26objectid=19562995%26siteid=50081-name_page.html

Mido and Gordon top Cats’ listAug 3 2007

by Stuart Rayner, The Journal

SUNDERLAND are edging closer to signing two of the three players Roy Keane has targeted before the end of the transfer window, but the Black Cats may be struggling to land either in time for tomorrow’s game against Juventus.

Keane wants a goalkeeper, a target man and a left-back and would like them in place by the time his side faces Tottenham Hotspur on August 11.

The Wearsiders have had a bid for striker Mido accepted by Spurs, while they have come to an agreement with Heart of Midlothian over a fee for Craig Gordon – although not over how and when it should be paid.

With talks yet to get under way with Egyptian striker Mido’s representatives, both deals are some way from being completed.

Sunderland have offered £6m for Mido – real name Ahmed Hossam – but the player’s experiences this year should serve as a cautionary tale. Steve Bruce’s Birmingham City thought they had signed the much-travelled star last month only for the move to break down over the size of his sell-on fee.................................................

Physically, Mido is just the kind of striker Keane has been searching for – a tall, strong target man who is good in the air. Stern John played that role in the second half of last season but, although he was top scorer on the club’s pre-season tour of Ireland which ended this week – scoring twice and creating a goal – the number of good chances he missed was alarming.

Long article , check link for the rest.
These critics will not give Stern credit for working to create those chances , in fact he gets little credit for being top scorer. How come he has more chances  than the rest of the team?
As Stern says, the goals will follow, if you don't create chances you can't score.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2007, 03:29:59 AM by takenoprisoners »

« Reply #865 on: August 03, 2007, 05:45:32 PM »
Seeing the intense amount of interest that the presence of several trinis in one premiership club has and will incite, I have taken the initiative of making one thread on the subject. It should help to keep the board clean as well...

Club : Sunderland Assocation Football Club
Nickname : The Black Cats
Founded : 1879
Official Website : http://www.safc.com
Stadium : Stadium of Light (since 1997) Capacity : 49 000
Manager : Roy Keane
Honour Roll (since 1992) : CHAMPIONSHIP Winners: 1996, 1999, 2005 & 2007

Kit :
Home (Sorry, can't yet find a stand alone pic of the home kit)
Away :
Third

Squad (summer recruits in bold) :

Goalkeepers
Trevor Carson, Darren Ward, Marten Fulhop

Defenders
Stephen Wright, Nyron Nosworthy, Peter Hartley, Danny Collins, Clive Clarke, Stanislv Varga, Greg Halford, Russell Anderson, Paul MacShane

Midfielders
Grant Leadbitter, Jake Richardson, Dean Whitehead, Arnau Riera, Tobias Hysen, Liam Miller, Graham Kavangh, Ross Wallace, Carlos Edwards, Bill Dennehy, Disckson Etuhu, Kieran Richardson

Forwards
Anthony Stokes, Darryl Murphy, Craig Connolly, Dwight Yorke, Stern John, Michael Chopra

Matches and Fixtures

Preseason
18/07 Darlington v Sunderland 0-2 (Wallace 12', Stokes 76')
21/07 Sc**thorpe v Sunderland 1-0
24/07 Berwick Rangers v Sunderland Reserves 2-3
28/07 Sunderland v Bohemians  1-0 (John 77')
30/07 Cork City v Sunderland 1-1 (Miller 75')
01/08 Galway Utd v Sunderland 0-4 (Chopra 6', Richardson 56', Connolly 83', John 85')
04/08 Sunderland v Juventus
07/08 Sunderland Reserves v Hartlepool
15/08 Durham City v Sunderland Reserves
20/08 Hebburn Town v Sunderland Reserves

Premier League
11/08 Sunderland v Tottenham, 12:45
14/08 Birmingham v Sunderland, 19:45
18/08 Wigan v Sunderland, 15:00
25/08 Sunderland v Liverpool, 12:45
01/09 Man Utd v Sunderland, 17:15
15/09 Sunderland v Reading, 15:00
22/09 Middlesborough v Sunderland, 15:00
29/09 Sunderland v Blackburn, 15:00
07/10 Arsenal v Sunderland, 12:00
21/10 West Ham v Sunderland, 16:00
27/10 Sunderland v Fulham, 15:00
05/11 Man City v Sunderland, 20:00
10/10 Sunderland v Newcastle, 12:45
24/11 Everton v Sunderland, 15:00
01/12 Sunderland v Derby, 15:00
08/12 Chelsea v Sunderland, 15:00
15/12 Sunderland v Aston Villa, 15:00
22/12 Reading v Sunderland, 15:00
26/12 Sunderland v Man Utd, 15:00

ah cyar wait!!

« Reply #866 on: August 04, 2007, 01:19:58 PM »
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=12834

Roy Keane's reaction to Sunderland's draw with Juventus:

"I thought the game was excellent, we're heading in the right direction.

"It's not often you get the chance to play against a team like Juventus.

"It was an opportunity for my players to challenge themselves against some good players and they stood up to it.

"I thought we we did well but the real challenge is next week, against Spurs.

"I'm delighted with all of them. It was a bigger challenge than in the last few weeks and they are happy in the dressing room.

"We just have to focus on the Tottenham match now and we'll be ready.

"Are we equipped for next season? Only time will tell. We have a good squad of players and the fans are right behind us at this moment in time. It's full steam ahead now.

"I'm pleased with the new players. They have done well but we have to give them time to settle.

"We had a flow and even when we conceded the goal, in the last couple of minutes the players showed a great desire to try to win the game.

"That's what you need, you have to have that desire to win football matches.

"Maybe we were unlucky not to have won it at the end but Juventus had plenty of possession and one or two chances themselves. Drawing the game is not the end of the world."

« Reply #867 on: August 04, 2007, 06:12:26 PM »
Sunderland's decidedly Trini flavour  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6V0Cm6Kona4

« Reply #868 on: August 08, 2007, 04:27:16 AM »
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=12858

Edwards and Halford are Cats injury worries

By Nick Alexander

Greg Halford and Carlos Edwards are fighting injuries ahead of Sunderland's Barclays Premier League opener against Tottenham.

Edwards has a hip injury while Halford hurt his hamstring in training yesterday.

Both players are likely to start against Spurs, forming the right side of Sunderland's team, if they are fit.

Boss Roy Keane said: "We hope Carlos will be all right. He joined in training yesterday and we'll gauge it over the next one or two days.

"Greg has a slight hamstring strain so it will be touch and go for him.

"But overall the injury problems are not too bad. I look at the situation at other clubs and I think we've been very lucky.

"The aim in pre-season is not to pick up injuries but it's difficult when you play games. Inevitably one or two players are going to pick up knocks."

With the new season almost upon them, Keane says the excitement is starting to build in the Sunderland camp.

"Spurs is a great game to start with," he said. "There is definitely a feeling of excitement and anticipation around the place.

"We've had a good pre-season and now we have three or four days on the training ground before it all starts."

Sunderland will also be without Grant Leadbitter against Spurs, he has a knee injury that is set to keep him out for two weeks.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #869 on: August 08, 2007, 05:15:00 AM »
Sunderland 2007/08 preview

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11695_2643444,00.html

Keane's former Manchester United team-mate Dwight Yorke, who will be one of the oldest players in the Premier League at the age of 35, Graham Kavanagh, and strikers Stern John and David Connolly will all bring their knowledge to the side.

Saturday Game on Setanta. KO 7:30