December 04, 2023, 01:18:38 PM

Author Topic: Sunderland Forever Thread.  (Read 574579 times)

Re: Sunderland v Middlesborough Preview/Game thread.
« Reply #1020 on: September 21, 2007, 09:02:40 AM »
Mr. Lawrence Fulwell, as a great Queens Royalian would say, you is ah real eedyat.
big, long, wet, loud steeeeuuuups.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 09:35:20 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #1021 on: September 21, 2007, 11:09:23 AM »
Kenwyne Jones. Now this lad looks the part. Reminds me of Len Shackleton in his prime, obviously when Len was working part time down the coal mine that is.

Not sure how to take this. I suppose if we made the inverse comment about Birchall on the TNT team to liken him to whatever energetic TNT defensive bulldog midfielder we had, I might not have noticed it, but something just sounds wrong here...

I guess if its any consolation, this excuse for a journalist who feels hes funny didn't spare either side...

« Reply #1022 on: September 21, 2007, 11:17:17 AM »
Kenwyne Jones. Now this lad looks the part. Reminds me of Len Shackleton in his prime, obviously when Len was working part time down the coal mine that is.

Not sure how to take this. I suppose if we made the inverse comment about Birchall on the TNT team to liken him to whatever energetic TNT defensive bulldog midfielder we had, I might not have noticed it, but something just sounds wrong here...

I guess if its any consolation, this excuse for a journalist who feels hes funny didn't spare either side...

It isn't a journalist.

It is a Boro fan site.

Don't take it on.

« Reply #1023 on: September 21, 2007, 11:20:03 AM »
that Shackleton was a good player
check here
I like what he says here, ""I'm not biased when it comes to Newcastle - I don't care who beats them!"" ;D
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 11:22:44 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #1024 on: September 21, 2007, 11:23:51 AM »
check here

Yeah but he is making fun of Kenwyne by comparing him to Shackelton's non-footballing prowess.

The author is just trying to be funny IMO.

« Reply #1025 on: September 21, 2007, 11:32:27 AM »
check here
Yeah but he is making fun of Kenwyne by comparing him to Shackelton's non-footballing prowess.
Yeah, ya right that de guy tryin hard to be funny but I ent taking him on at all
We ALL know that KJ is a boss player and dont need to waste our time wid dis character.
just pointing out Shackelton's abilties on the pitch is worth reading about.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 12:27:21 PM by WestCoast »

Offline JW

• Mackem Abroad
  • Eat My Goal
    • Black Cats of North America
« Reply #1026 on: September 21, 2007, 03:05:14 PM »
check here

Perhaps I read it wrong, but I thought he was comparing Jones's skin colour to that of Shack after he had been down the pit....  :-X
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here!

« Reply #1027 on: September 21, 2007, 03:52:07 PM »
check here

Perhaps I read it wrong, but I thought he was comparing Jones's skin colour to that of Shack after he had been down the pit....  :-X

Thats what i understood...

Thanks for the heads up JDB. I guess not everyone with a pen should be entitled to be called a journalist...same goes for everyone with a keyboard

« Reply #1028 on: September 21, 2007, 03:58:57 PM »
and its middlesborugh Vs sunderland home team is listed first

« Reply #1029 on: September 21, 2007, 06:05:01 PM »
Middlesbrough  Sunderland
(Vitalfootball.co.uk)

The Riverside
22nd September 2007
15:00

Sunderland take the short trip to Middlesbrough for their first derby match of the season.

A last a derby we haven`t had one of them for a while, so it would be nice to win so we can have the bragging rights on Wearside. 

Middlesbrough Team News:

Jeremie Aliadiere, Robert Huth and Emanual Pogatetz are out.

Player to watch: Julio Arca 
Julio will be out to get one over his former employers. The Argentinean is a skilful player who is very creative and hardworking. We will have to keep him quite to get something out of the game.

Sunderland Team News:
Dean Whitehead, Carlos Edwards, Russell Anderson, Stan Varga, Andrew Cole and Kieran Richardson are all out injured.

Roy Keane is expected to name an unchanged side for the 3rd consecutive game.

Player to watch: Kenwyne Jones
After scoring his first goal for the club last weekend the Trinidad and Tobago front man will be wanting to add to his tally, who would bet against him if they seen him play against Reading.

Match Facts & Stats
Last time we took the trip to the part of Yorkshire that clean air forgot, we won 2-0 Tommy Miller scored our first. Julio Arca then scored a cracking free kick, It`s a travesty to see Arca playing for the smog monsters I hope he has a bad game.

In our last six league games at The Riverside We have Won 1, Draw 2 and Lost 3

Ref Watch: Howard Webb
Match Prediction: I think this will be a tight game so I will have to go for 1-1 Draw
Next Fixtures: Sunderland V Blackburn Saturday 29th of September 2007 

« Reply #1030 on: September 21, 2007, 06:20:34 PM »
       >:( >:( Steups

« Reply #1031 on: September 21, 2007, 07:59:02 PM »
Allyuh men need to seriously lighten up...that's pure sardony at it's best.

« Reply #1032 on: September 22, 2007, 04:52:56 AM »
Game time like 10 rite . Gonna miss this game however ,enjoy forumites .

« Reply #1033 on: September 22, 2007, 05:11:40 AM »
Game time like 10 rite . Gonna miss this game however ,enjoy forumites .
Being aired at 4 pm EST on FSC in the US...if yuh here.

« Reply #1034 on: September 22, 2007, 05:23:40 AM »
Nice ,might kecth the second half then .

« Reply #1035 on: September 22, 2007, 06:24:33 AM »
Allyuh men need to seriously lighten up...that's pure sardony at it's best.

lord have mercy...

Re: The Sunderland AFC 2007-2008 thread
« Reply #1036 on: September 22, 2007, 06:47:14 AM »
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=13223

What a difference a year makes!

Sunderland's 2007-08 team photo is barely recognisable from the one taken 12 months ago. It has been a year of transformation at the Stadium of Light.

From the 32 players on Sunderland's 2006-07 line-up, only 11 survived when they gathered for this year's shot.

They are - Dwight Yorke, Dean Whitehead, Graham Kavanagh, Grant Leadbitter, Ross Wallace, Liam Miller, Nyron Nosworthy, Darren Ward, Daryl Murphy, Peter Hartley and Jake Richardson.

Stanislav Varga and David Connolly were due to attend the photo call but both missed it, Varga because of injury and Connolly due to illness.

Seventeen players have left the Stadium of Light since last season's photo.

They are - Tommy Miller (Ipswich), Rory Delap (Stoke), Chris Brown (Norwich), Jon Stead (Sheffield United), Ben Alnwick (Tottenham), Robbie Elliott (Hartlepool), Clive Clarke (Leicester City, loan), Kevin Smith (Dundee), Arnau (Falkirk), William Mocquet (unattached), Andy Welsh (Blackpool, via Totonto), Tobias Hysen (IFK Gothenburg), Stephen Elliott (Wolves), Stephen Wright (Stoke, loan), Kenny Cunningham (retired), Steve  Caldwell (Burnley) and Neill Collins (Wolves).

As for the coaching staff, there are four new arrivals this year - Neil Bailey (first-team coach), Raimond van der Gouw (goalkeeping coach), Mike Clegg (strength and conditioning coach) and Scott Ainsley (fitness coach/sports scientist).

Roy Keane, Sunderland's manager, admits the changes have been unyielding and he is hoping his second year in charge will be more stable.

He said: "There have been lots of changes and I think lots of progress. That's football; it does change very, very quickly.

"You look at the photo we had last year to the people who are around now - lots and lots of changes, probably more at this club than at most other clubs.

"Hopefully there won't be that amount of changes over the next few years. We did have to make changes, we couldn't just sit back and hope things would get better.

"We had to go out there and be aggressive in changing the playing staff and one or two of the coaching staff."
« Last Edit: September 22, 2007, 06:49:06 AM by Midknight »

Re: The Sunderland AFC 2007-2008 thread
« Reply #1037 on: September 22, 2007, 06:48:47 AM »
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=13221

Keane's Boro hope

Roy Keane eyed up his first derby as a manager and admitted: "It's just like any other game."

Sunderland go to Middlesbrough tomorrow when Keane will celebrate his 50th match in charge of the Black Cats.

But there will be no special approach just because it is the Tees-Wear derby.

He said: "I'm well aware that it is important to the fans, they want the bragging rights for the area, though it's a bigger issue when we play Newcastle.

"But I tried to go into every game as a player with exactly the same mentality. I just want to beat the opposition, no matter who they might be. This game is no different.

"If we win tomorrow we get three points, not four or five - just the same as if we were playing Liverpool, Newcastle or Manchester United, things don't change in that respect.

"I think you have to stay focused and treat every opponent with respect, be they at the top or bottom of the league, local rivals or otherwise.

"But I've got to say I'm looking forward to the game and I'm pleased that we are going into it on the back of a good result."

« Reply #1038 on: September 22, 2007, 08:04:42 AM »
Sunderland score .. Leadbitter i think

« Reply #1039 on: September 22, 2007, 08:07:55 AM »
tvants doh have it  ??? ??? ???

« Reply #1040 on: September 22, 2007, 08:11:49 AM »
Sunderland score .. Leadbitter i think

Yeah, he scored in the 2nd minute

« Reply #1041 on: September 22, 2007, 08:13:57 AM »
Video links anyone??
anyone??

here is an audio link for Sunderland
http://mfile.akamai.com/6095/live/reflector:35549.asx?bkup=35550

« Reply #1042 on: September 22, 2007, 08:17:04 AM »
Game tied. 1-1

« Reply #1043 on: September 22, 2007, 08:28:20 AM »
Dwight like he just mash up the goalscorer on a fair challenge

« Reply #1044 on: September 22, 2007, 08:40:56 AM »
sunderland sound like they playing too much long ball - they need to get KJ more involved

« Reply #1045 on: September 22, 2007, 08:45:29 AM »
fsc showing d game 4:30 Et time

« Reply #1046 on: September 22, 2007, 09:26:31 AM »
that ref real messing up

« Reply #1047 on: September 22, 2007, 09:29:32 AM »
that ref real messing up

For real, but somebody will get send off before the end

Oh shit, boro just score

« Reply #1048 on: September 22, 2007, 09:30:25 AM »
2-1 Boro :(
Sunderland, We need TWO Goals!!!!

« Reply #1049 on: September 22, 2007, 09:33:33 AM »
2-1 Boro :(
Sunderland, We need TWO Goals!!!!

i think they would be happy with 1..

Dwight off/Stokes on

Come on Kenwyne!