April 16, 2024, 09:02:53 AM

Author Topic: Sunderland Forever Thread.  (Read 605934 times)

Re: Sunderland Forever Thread.
« Reply #2820 on: December 06, 2009, 10:26:00 AM »
BATTLE of the TRINIS ;D

things picking up for Sunderland
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #2821 on: December 06, 2009, 11:00:13 AM »
Am guessin Sunderland lose 1-0 on a Zamora goal  ???... Did KJ look good today?

« Reply #2822 on: December 06, 2009, 11:34:31 AM »
Nobody looked good today. He didn't look terrible.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #2823 on: December 06, 2009, 11:51:26 AM »
Nobody looked good today. He didn't look terrible.
Scene thanks Gazette :beermug:

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #2824 on: December 06, 2009, 12:48:03 PM »
Woeful 1st half, made Zamora look like Drogba.  A little better 2nd half but truth be told that wouldn't of been hard. 

The defence was woeful another 2 changes, pointless changing it every game just makes it worse.

Don't really understand the Kenwyne sub unless with so many weeks out and his injury he was feeling the pace.  Some commented earlier in teh season why I wasn't over impressed with the performances despite the results, its simply because I am a great believer for the most part the performance gain you the points, although not in every case as with Spurs but we got the rub of the green against a few teams and got more than we deserved.  Again Malbranque & Richardson ineffective as have been for most of the season. 

Kenwyne had 2 chances one the keeper saved with his arse, was on top of him so good chance of blocking it with something the only other thing he could of done was pull it back rather than shoot, teh other was a low cross from Bardsley he failed to connect with at the near post, both never really got any service. 

« Reply #2825 on: December 06, 2009, 01:02:22 PM »
Thanx Kev.. Was reading the updates, but obviously does not give u a good perspective.

« Reply #2826 on: December 06, 2009, 04:45:55 PM »
No one else notice Bobby Zamora goal 'celebration' ? As soon as he score, he turn around and start to shout 'shut the f^^k up' to someone up the other end of the field. The cameras didn't pick up which player it was directed it.

His teammates came to congratulate him, and he was still cussing and even start to push and shove Pantsil who was trying to calm him down.

Who knows if Kenwyne was teasing him at the start of the game and telling him he would never play in a WC, not for Trinidad, not for England-pure speculation, but that would have been funny.  :devil:

Whichever player it was and whatever was said, it get under Zamora skin.

p.s Zamora is an ass

Offline kev

« Reply #2827 on: December 12, 2009, 12:37:51 AM »
Sunderland v Portsmouth KO 3.00 GMT

Plenty of EPL games this afternoon so only being carried by 2 foriegn channels so may well struggle to get a link.

Usual links not updated as of yet
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=57961&part=sports
http://atdhe.net/
http://www.iraqgoals.net/

AS some of you will be aware I wasn't that happy the squad was left so thin at the end of the transfer window, didn't have a problem with any of the players being sold just thought it left us vulnerable to suspensions / injuries far too easily. 

Not sure who / how the team is going to line up today, or how the game will pan out tbh.

Bardsley & Richardson suspended
Cattermole (starts training next week), Mensah (is he ever fit), Zenden, Ferninand, McCartney all injured.

He will have to juggle the defence as no real right back and possibly put Da Silva in as LB or a youngster (Liddle).  Nosworthy maybe CH or move Cana back into CH with Turner.  This would leave our midfield with no real tackler at all and he will have to bring in Murphy.  (god I didn't think/hoped I would have to type that ever again) That will leave no real midfielder / defender on the bench. 

A couple of youngsters will be in the squad he is bringing in a forward from the U18's / Reserves called Noble who is only 17 on the bench, he has scored 32 goals in 23 games this season for the U18's / Reserves and that takes some doing, be interesting to see him if he gets on for a few minutes, by his picture he is physically still very much a bairn.

Have a nice weekend

« Reply #2828 on: December 12, 2009, 01:08:29 AM »
aye Kev, thanks for the info, but has Noseworthy played much this season?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline kev

« Reply #2829 on: December 12, 2009, 12:50:00 PM »
Gave away 2 points to a very poor side today with an inability to defend and just playing too deep ala last season.  As I said above with the team didn't expect a great deal but should of seen out teh match easily.  Bruce's subs I find strange, Kenwyne taken off with an injury? and replaced by Murphy (FFS :o) and Bent with Malbranque.  Kenwyne played quite well had a chance missed the target a couple of other half chances control let him down.

aye Kev, thanks for the info, but has Noseworthy played much this season?

Hasn't really played this season, strangely brought on last week when Ferninand was injured in preference to Da Silva, which again baffled me and didn't play particularly well.  Was RB today and had a decent game, but he is what he is and hoped not to see him in the defence again tbh. 

Next game Villa on Tuesday night, just have to see what was up with Kenwyne. 

On another note this was in the paper today, probably explains why Bruce keeps trying to gee him up through the papers, been done to death on here but thought I would include it.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

STEVE Bruce has admitted he can not work out how to motivate Kenwyne Jones even though he knows Sunderland are a far better team with the striker than without.

Whether Jones has a long term future at the Stadium of Light is open to question given the importance Bruce attaches to putting a squad together made up of players with the right mental attitude.

But he is clever enough to realise he can not afford to lose the Trinidad and Tobago international at this stage of his Sunderland project. Jones is as laid back as they come and it seems as though his new manager is struggling to work out how to get the best from him on a consistent basis. However, that is one of the main challenges of football management and Bruce recognises it is up to him to ensure Jones rediscovers his best form.

He said: “Do I sense a hunger in Kenwyne? Kenwyne and hunger don’t really seem to go together. Kenwyne and laid back go together.

“How do you give that hunger to a player? It’s very difficult. You are born with it, that’s for sure. I know for a fact we are a better team with Kenwyne in.

“He is the perfect foil for Benty and we are more of a goal threat when he plays up there. I expect him to be fresh, but raring to go and give us that threat we had before we got suspended. If you look at the stats and the figures we are better with him than without him.

“Kenwyne is disappointed with himself, that’s for sure. To be fair, he took his punishment like a man. He’s been missing for five or six weeks and he needed that game at Fulham. I’m hoping he’ll come in and spark the team again

Offline kev

« Reply #2830 on: December 15, 2009, 10:43:08 AM »
Sunderland v Villa KO 7.45 GMT

Being carried by a few foriegn channels so might get a working link.

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=57965&part=sports
http://www.iraqgoals.net/ch6.html
http://atdhe.net/11016/watch-sunderland-vs-aston-villa
http://www.p2p4u.net/

Kenwyne should be OK to play, Richardson & Bardsley back from suspension.

Don't know whats going to happen tonight, Villa are a side where we have not had any luck (especially decisions) since back in the prem.  Would settle for a draw and a half decent performance tbh.

« Reply #2831 on: December 15, 2009, 01:56:19 PM »
i looking for sunland to do the job and take some points from aston villa.

Offline nunu

« Reply #2832 on: December 15, 2009, 04:36:36 PM »
Its seems atleast  4 teams closing in on the 7th spot , which qualifies for europe .
Liverpool,fulham,sunderland, stoke .  stoke is a creepy team they can edge out
sunderland ,liverpool and fulham by a single point and a negative
goal difference .u see di sunderland team cant pull away from stoke.

« Reply #2833 on: December 16, 2009, 12:05:49 AM »
i looking for sunland to do the job and take some points from aston villa.

It was the other way around. Maybe next time, maybe...

Offline kev

« Reply #2834 on: December 16, 2009, 12:54:34 AM »
The game was OK tbf, looked an open game could of went either way until Villa scored then there was only going to be 1 winner, sad to say schoolboy defending again.  Cattermole came on 2nd half good to see him back, Cana got sent off  (2 yellows) so is now suspended, the only surprise is that it has taken him so long. 

Kenwyne played like Kenwyne.

Next game Man City away, another team like Villa we never get the decision or had any luck with so not expecting anything.  I really hope Bruce buys a couple of players in Jan because we are short.

« Reply #2835 on: December 16, 2009, 08:06:42 AM »
The game was OK tbf, looked an open game could of went either way until Villa scored then there was only going to be 1 winner, sad to say schoolboy defending again.  Cattermole came on 2nd half good to see him back, Cana got sent off  (2 yellows) so is now suspended, the only surprise is that it has taken him so long. 

Kenwyne played like Kenwyne.

Next game Man City away, another team like Villa we never get the decision or had any luck with so not expecting anything.  I really hope Bruce buys a couple of players in Jan because we are short.

4 words, a world of meaning...

Offline kev

« Reply #2836 on: December 19, 2009, 01:07:39 AM »
Man City v Sunderland KO 3.00 GMT

Carried by a few foriegn channels so a sporting chance of getting a link, following not updated yet as usual.

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=58867&part=sports
http://atdhe.net/
http://www.iraqgoals.net/
http://www.p2p4u.net/

Turner looks very doubtful, no big deal to me as he has looked average, but yet another different back 4, same every week.

As mentioned previously, never had any luck with City especially decisions, so don't expect anything.  I think Bruce is losing patience very quickly.

Have a nice weekend everybody.

As this is the last game before Christmas, I hope you all have a happy Christmas and wish you and your famalies all the best for a happy and safe New Year / 2010.  Please remember be good, if you can't be good be careful, if you can do neither just blame it on the Rum / Wacky Baccy.

PS still waiting for that fat bar steward in a red coat to bring me the players I wanted last year, hope he remembers this year, but I've been naughty (again) ;)

« Reply #2837 on: December 19, 2009, 01:33:06 AM »
Game's being shown on FSC here in the US... 10 am DST.

« Reply #2838 on: December 19, 2009, 08:58:13 AM »
playing on Sports Net here in the Great White North
kick off is imminent ;)

Grog goin an score ah penalty to make it 2-0 now :D

appps........goal by Mensah 2-1

nice.....equalisation by henderson
 :waiting: orrite Bruce bring on KJ ;)

right...KJ is on
« Last Edit: December 19, 2009, 09:42:17 AM by WestCoast »

Offline kev

« Reply #2839 on: December 19, 2009, 09:46:54 AM »
Was going to say the way the defence is hitting panic stations and can't cope with anything in the air, he should move back to 442 and bring Kenwyne on, if he can jump.

Don't think it was a penalty, this could end up 6-6 the way its going.

« Reply #2840 on: December 19, 2009, 09:49:06 AM »
Was going to say the way the defence is hitting panic stations and can't cope with anything in the air, he should move back to 442 and bring Kenwyne on, if he can jump.

Don't think it was a penalty, this could end up 6-6 the way its going.
definetly not a penalty
both over ran the ball and stopped to go back and bellamy fell
should have been another red for bellamy :devil:

and now SW-P wid he divin ::)

talkin bout divin ;D
KJ SCORES a divin header :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: 3-3
« Last Edit: December 19, 2009, 10:22:45 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #2841 on: December 19, 2009, 10:22:41 AM »
KJ !!!!!!!

« Reply #2842 on: December 19, 2009, 10:24:56 AM »
De man wine on de post in his goal celebration yes. ;D  Well done KJ!

« Reply #2843 on: December 19, 2009, 10:30:00 AM »
dem linesmen KNOW what de FORK offside is

take ah small listen
http://www.zshare.net/audio/69011728d3d61274/

hear nuh....who de arse is dis referee
commentators sayin he is controversial
« Last Edit: December 19, 2009, 10:54:42 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #2844 on: December 19, 2009, 10:56:11 AM »

the season started out so well, men was even starting to talk going to Europe...

now 5 pts from the drop zone.... ::)

Offline kev

« Reply #2845 on: December 19, 2009, 10:59:24 AM »
All the game told us was how bad our and City's defence is.

A few posts up I mentioned the games coming up and decision, don't think it was a penalty or sending off personally.

Next week Everton, again never get anything.

Once again have a nice Xmas

« Reply #2846 on: December 19, 2009, 11:47:05 AM »
Jones only have 6 goals.  Come on KJ I looking for you looking for you in the top 5 man.

« Reply #2847 on: December 21, 2009, 01:43:38 PM »
PREMIER LEAGUE NEWS
Sunderland officially appeal Turner sending off
December 22, 2009
Soccernet.com

Sunderland have appealed against the red card handed out to Michael Turner at Manchester City on Saturday.

Turner was dismissed after catching Gareth Barry in the face with an elbow during an aerial duel in the latter stages of the Black Cats 4-3 defeat.

Manager Steve Bruce branded Andre Marriner's decision as ''a joke'' and indicated Sunderland would challenge the punishment, which if confirmed, would bring an automatic three-match ban.

The FA have confirmed the appeal has been lodged and the case will now be assessed to decide whether Turner has a case.

Not that Bruce was holding out much hope in the immediate aftermath of the incident, having revealed he complained about Marriner's performance during a recent encounter with West Ham, when the West Midlands official sent off Kenwyne Jones.

''Because I have complained about him, I get that decision,'' outlined Bruce. ''I hope he can have a look at it and he can see it was a shuddering challenge between two of the most honest professionals you are going to get.

''Michael Turner got higher. That is the only reason he has caught Gareth Barry. You have got to raise your elbows when you are jumping for a ball. I might as well tell my centre-half not to head it next week because he might sent off.

''I hope the referee looks at it again. I doubt it though.''

Offline kev

« Reply #2848 on: December 23, 2009, 11:53:17 AM »
The appeal got rejected and he got an extra game for a frivilous appeal so now banned for 4 matches.

Personally didn't think it was a sending off offence myself.

« Reply #2849 on: December 23, 2009, 12:41:07 PM »
The appeal got rejected and he got an extra game for a frivilous appeal so now banned for 4 matches.

Personally didn't think it was a sending off offence myself.
That's crazy. Even if the appeal was rejected, the grounds were far from frivolous.